Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 46 of 221«124445464748220221»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Oatmeal_SpigeonDate: Saturday, 24.10.2015, 07:34 | Message # 676
Space Tourist
Group: Users
New Zealand
Messages: 39
Status: Offline
Nevermind, I reinstalled my NVIDIA drivers and everything's working well again, apparently it was conflicting when I installed Windows 10.




"I am neither Oatmeal Spigeon Nor Oatmeal Spigeon Nor."
 
CharlieDate: Saturday, 24.10.2015, 14:16 | Message # 677
Observer
Group: Newbies
United States
Messages: 3
Status: Offline
Good Morning. Just a quick question. Have been using the .974 beta for a couple of weeks now and was wondering if anyone was experiencing crashes after landing on a planet and increasing the LOD to 2? I have searched for anyone having a similar problem but haven't had luck. Included is my SE log. .974 is a fresh install and have tried everything but to no avail, otherwise the program runs beautifully.

In advance, Thanks Space Engine and all the individuals who are helping with this program version. It is truly a great program, really, a work of art smile

Attachments: 4047099.log(43Kb)





Dell XPS-8700 (modified)
Intel Core i7-4790 3.6 GHz
32GB (4x8GB) DDR4-1600 Memory
PNY GeForce GTX-980 Ti 6GB DDR5
 
AerospacefagDate: Saturday, 24.10.2015, 14:31 | Message # 678
Pioneer
Group: Users
Russian Federation
Messages: 401
Status: Offline
Charlie, it is not recommended to increase LOD over 0 value because it will overload the system with little to no quality increase, it is only recommended to do this in stationary position and stopped time to get screenshots with unprecedencted level of details.
 
InariusDate: Saturday, 24.10.2015, 16:43 | Message # 679
Explorer
Group: Local Moderators
France
Messages: 236
Status: Offline
Quote
Charlie, it is not recommended to increase LOD over 0 value because it will overload the system with little to no quality increase


Are you sure ? LOD 2 seems much better than LOD 0, for me
 
RedRuinDate: Saturday, 24.10.2015, 17:11 | Message # 680
Space Tourist
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 34
Status: Offline
Charlie, this happens to me as well. I'm pretty sure the game crashes when you run out of VRAM.
 
SalvoDate: Saturday, 24.10.2015, 18:51 | Message # 681
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Italy
Messages: 1400
Status: Offline
Quote SpaceEngineer ()
This is not bug, but limitation.

Yeah, stupid computer graphics.



I hate transparent things. cry





The universe is not required to be in perfect harmony with human ambition.

CPU: Intel Core i7 4770 GPU: ASUS Radeon R9 270 RAM: 8 GBs

(still don't know why everyone is doing this...)
 
CharlieDate: Saturday, 24.10.2015, 21:31 | Message # 682
Observer
Group: Newbies
United States
Messages: 3
Status: Offline
Thanks All for your help and advice, much appreciated!! Was pullin' my hair out trying to figure out what was up, thought it was my system. I will set the LOD accordingly. Thanks Again smile




Dell XPS-8700 (modified)
Intel Core i7-4790 3.6 GHz
32GB (4x8GB) DDR4-1600 Memory
PNY GeForce GTX-980 Ti 6GB DDR5
 
VilfateDate: Saturday, 24.10.2015, 22:07 | Message # 683
Astronaut
Group: Users
China
Messages: 49
Status: Offline
SpaceEngineer, I see... My bad. Thank you so much for your time explaining. happy




 
ZatSoloDate: Saturday, 24.10.2015, 22:40 | Message # 684
Space Pilot
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 111
Status: Offline
Quote ZatSolo
Apparently in the patch 03 has changed the algorithm for terrain generation. My saved places with mountains now have become almost flat ...


Well, after exploring many deserts and terras, I can safely say that mountains, in deserts, are more frequent and higher than those on terras. Terras, in other words, are flatter than the deserts.

In version 0.9.7.3 up to version 0.9.7.4 p02 this was not the case. It's a deliberate feature or a mistake?
 
11ryancDate: Sunday, 25.10.2015, 08:24 | Message # 685
Observer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 18
Status: Offline
Probably mentioned elsewhere, but will Mars and Venus ever have procedural detailed surfaces?




Intel Core i7 4790k, MSI Z97 PC Mate, EVGA GTX 950, 16GB 1600 MHz, SanDisk SSD Plus 120GB, 2 TB WD Green, 2 TB Seagate Barracuda, Cooler Master Elite 350 Mid Tower
Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1, Windows Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
 
isdebeslDate: Sunday, 25.10.2015, 09:06 | Message # 686
Space Pilot
Group: Users
Indonesia
Messages: 87
Status: Offline
I'm just curious, any star catalogue will be added in the future??
 
parameciumkidDate: Sunday, 25.10.2015, 10:11 | Message # 687
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 277
Status: Offline
Yes, and yes.
Last I heard SpaceEngineer does not have plans to add procedural surface details to mapped planets in the immediate future, but it is an eventual goal for the game. In the meantime, surface detail can be improved using the HD texture pack available in the website's Downloads section.
SE's star catalogs get updated every few versions, so it's reasonable to predict that future editions of SE will include new or updated star catalogs.





Intel HD Graphics 4000 ;P
 
The_BlazerDate: Sunday, 25.10.2015, 10:45 | Message # 688
Space Tourist
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 34
Status: Offline
Quote ZatSolo ()
mountains, in deserts, are more frequent and higher than those on terras


Well, it would make sense from a geological perspective - Terras are earth-like planets containing liquid water, so rain and liquid flow would slowly erode and flatten the mountains, while Deserts have no water, therefore mountains can grow to virtually any size there.





Born too early to explore space... But just in time for Space Engine.

PC Specs:
GTX 770 (2GB VRAM) - i5 4570 - 8GB RAM
 
AlekDate: Sunday, 25.10.2015, 18:44 | Message # 689
Pioneer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 319
Status: Offline
Quote The_Blazer ()
Well, it would make sense from a geological perspective - Terras are earth-like planets containing liquid water, so rain and liquid flow would slowly erode and flatten the mountains, while Deserts have no water, therefore mountains can grow to virtually any size there.


But also, water allows plate tectonics, as we see Venus and Mars have little to no liquid water and so no plate tectonics. Is there some way you can build a whole mountain range (or many, for that matter) without plate tectonics, without the cause being volcanic?





Living among the stars, I find my way. I grow in strength through knowledge of the space I occupy, until I become the ruler of my own interstellar empire of sorts. Though The world was made for the day, I was made for the night, and thus, the universe itself is within my destiny.
 
ZatSoloDate: Sunday, 25.10.2015, 19:32 | Message # 690
Space Pilot
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 111
Status: Offline
Quote The_Blazer ()
Well, it would make sense from a geological perspective ... rain and liquid flow would slowly erode and flatten the mountains, while Deserts have no water .... .


Yes, this is, indeed, a plausible explanation.

However, "flatter" terras appear only since version "0.9.7.4 patch03"; in the other 0,9.7.x do not, so it would be interesting to have some clarification from SpaceEngineer, if possible wink
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Page 46 of 221«124445464748220221»
Search: