Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 33 of 221«123132333435220221»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
SalvoDate: Saturday, 12.09.2015, 11:46 | Message # 481
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Italy
Messages: 1400
Status: Offline
Oatmeal_Spigeon, unfortunately with the current rendering method is impossible. Planets has an heightmap that represents the height of the land in a particular point, this method can't be used to make caves, unless if you use holes and other gpu-expansive methods...

If SE was voxel-based (more or less like Minecraft) it would be possible smile

Brett001, if I'm not wrong SE can't calculate so accurately orbits, it would require a new algorithm, so there is nothing wrong with you actually.





The universe is not required to be in perfect harmony with human ambition.

CPU: Intel Core i7 4770 GPU: ASUS Radeon R9 270 RAM: 8 GBs

(still don't know why everyone is doing this...)


Edited by Salvo - Saturday, 12.09.2015, 13:22
 
the_other_rootsDate: Saturday, 12.09.2015, 15:43 | Message # 482
Observer
Group: Users
Germany
Messages: 17
Status: Offline
I wonder how, I wonder why...
planets suddenly turn black, as you can see in the top of the attached image.

The missing terrain rectangles seem to appear, when I overburdened the computer by moving around too fast for example. So do the black planets.

Attachments: 4921375.jpg(487Kb)


Edited by the_other_roots - Saturday, 12.09.2015, 21:57
 
AtmoscatDate: Sunday, 13.09.2015, 00:37 | Message # 483
Astronaut
Group: Users
Germany
Messages: 68
Status: Offline
@ Brett001

see here:
http://en.spaceengine.org/forum/8-344-1





PC: Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor E8500 @ 3.16GHz, 3.25 GB / 4.00 GB DDR3 RAM, GeForce GTX750Ti 2048 MB VRAM, WinXP Home 32bit / Windows7Pro 64bit
 
Oatmeal_SpigeonDate: Sunday, 13.09.2015, 09:10 | Message # 484
Space Tourist
Group: Users
New Zealand
Messages: 39
Status: Offline
If caves can't be added, what about having erosion/land formations affected by gravity? As in, an Earth-like planet with 1.5g-4g would have shorter mountains, smoother surfaces, and more fractionate continents; this would allow for some archipelagos/island planets. Though how extreme this is, again, depends on the amount of gravity: take Olympus Mons on Mars as an example.




"I am neither Oatmeal Spigeon Nor Oatmeal Spigeon Nor."
 
Brett001Date: Sunday, 13.09.2015, 10:34 | Message # 485
Space Pilot
Group: Users
Hungary
Messages: 81
Status: Offline
Quote Atmoscat ()


Thanks! smile

I know that the SE rather space simulation program, not in the strictest sense planetarium program (such as Celestia or Starry Night), but it's a little disappointing that it has not been this  problem fixed since of 2011. I wanted to demonstrate scenarios in local amateur astronomers club about the lunar eclipse the with SE . sad
"This is a known problem. SpaceEngine handles orbits as Kepler ellipces, but the Moon requires a more accurate analytic trajectory representation. In some of the future versions I'll implement vsop87 numerical model of our Solar system, so the eclipses will be right. " wrote Space Engineer 10.12.2011.


Edited by Brett001 - Sunday, 13.09.2015, 10:40
 
carlsaganDate: Monday, 14.09.2015, 03:31 | Message # 486
Observer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 11
Status: Offline
Excellent posts and feedback by everybody!




"Somewhere, something incredible is waiting to be known."

-Carl Sagan-
 
InariusDate: Monday, 14.09.2015, 17:24 | Message # 487
Explorer
Group: Local Moderators
France
Messages: 236
Status: Offline
I honestly don't care about that, since I don't go to the sun system very often. If it is something which would take too much time, i would really prefer that SE doesn't become Celestia bis.
 
Destructor1701Date: Tuesday, 15.09.2015, 12:05 | Message # 488
Pioneer
Group: Users
Ireland
Messages: 531
Status: Offline
Has anyone else run into problems where they exit the program with a ship or ships in view, and when you restart, some or all of the ships don't load fully (missing textures, models, thrusters, or components of multimodule ships)?

It doesn't happen all the time, but it's been a real bane while working on my recent Harb Space Shuttle modification.

There's never anything out of the ordinary in the SE.log file.







Edited by Destructor1701 - Tuesday, 15.09.2015, 12:06
 
JackDoleDate: Tuesday, 15.09.2015, 21:19 | Message # 489
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1734
Status: Offline
Is this a known glitch?

Ghost sun:




Same time, same place, without atmosphere:




After new start of SpaceEngine, again same time, same place:


Attachments: 0896982.jpg(75Kb) · 1880349.jpg(88Kb) · 7580593.jpg(80Kb)





Don't forget to look here.

 
VoekoevakaDate: Tuesday, 15.09.2015, 23:05 | Message # 490
World Builder
Group: SE team
France
Messages: 1016
Status: Offline
This look like bloom on an aliased ring




Want some music of mine ? Please go here !

 
Thomas988Date: Tuesday, 15.09.2015, 23:20 | Message # 491
Space Pilot
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 125
Status: Offline
Quote Voekoevaka ()
Is this a known glitch?


It is, and I've gotten it a lot in the past with previous patches. They're not nearly as common in patch 5 but they do occur ever so rarely.





All you need in life are space games and typhlosions.
 
JackDoleDate: Wednesday, 16.09.2015, 00:35 | Message # 492
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1734
Status: Offline
Voekoevaka,

This is a self-created moon and it has no rings. My self-created objects have only rings when it is dramatically necessary. I find the SpaceEngine universe has already more than enough rings.


Attachments: 2913625.jpg(49Kb)





Don't forget to look here.

 
n0b0dyDate: Wednesday, 16.09.2015, 05:56 | Message # 493
Explorer
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 297
Status: Offline
Quote Destructor1701 ()
Has anyone else run into problems where they exit the program with a ship or ships in view, and when you restart, some or all of the ships don't load fully (missing textures, models, thrusters, or components of multimodule ships)?

It doesn't happen all the time, but it's been a real bane while working on my recent Harb Space Shuttle modification.

There's never anything out of the ordinary in the SE.log file.


No but I have a spacecraft related bug when I exit SE. They drop out of orbit especially those that are not in view or not controlled by me. Whe I restart I foind them under the surface of the planet they were orbiting but not in the center of the planet. About 1/3 ~ 1/4 from the surface below. Strange bug. And yes they are well above the atmosphere cutoff altitude in case it was atmospheric drug that was causing it. I am using patch 05.
 
Destructor1701Date: Wednesday, 16.09.2015, 10:55 | Message # 494
Pioneer
Group: Users
Ireland
Messages: 531
Status: Offline
Quote n0b0dy ()
no


Hmm, I wonder if it some issue with my computer...

Quote n0b0dy ()
but I have a spacecraft related bug when I exit SE. They drop out of orbit especially those that are not in view or not controlled by me.

Yeah, I get that one too, and nothing you do will excavate them out of the planet, not engines, not hyperdrive, not a plotted jump, not even the ufo cheat "teleport here" button!

The only option with such a burial is to destroy the ship.

It only seems to be happening since the update that was supposed to have fixed the orbits and made ships stop when they collide with a planet.

SE, I know you're probably reading this thinking "dammit! More ship bugs! I want to move on to implementing more awesome-depth-buffer-enabled stuff!!!", so, sorry!

Quote Brett001 ()
I know that the SE rather space simulation program, not in the strictest sense planetarium program (such as Celestia or Starry Night), but it's a little disappointing that it has not been this  problem fixed since of 2011. I wanted to demonstrate scenarios in local amateur astronomers club about the lunar eclipse the with SE .
"This is a known problem. SpaceEngine handles orbits as Kepler ellipces, but the Moon requires a more accurate analytic trajectory representation. In some of the future versions I'll implement vsop87 numerical model of our Solar system, so the eclipses will be right. " wrote Space Engineer 10.12.2011.


Agreed, I'd also like to see this tackled. Space Engineer will get to it eventually, but his to-do list is longer than three of your arms, we must all be patient for the specific features we want, he'll get to them.







Edited by Destructor1701 - Wednesday, 16.09.2015, 11:05
 
the_other_rootsDate: Friday, 18.09.2015, 01:19 | Message # 495
Observer
Group: Users
Germany
Messages: 17
Status: Offline
@Destructor1701 and n0b0dy

I had the exact same issue!!!!
See message #472.


Edited by the_other_roots - Friday, 18.09.2015, 01:19
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Page 33 of 221«123132333435220221»
Search: