Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 211 of 221«12209210211212213220221»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
steeljaw354Date: Tuesday, 19.07.2016, 02:56 | Message # 3151
World Builder
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 862
Status: Offline
You do, it's called planet filter.
 
admiralsirjohnDate: Tuesday, 19.07.2016, 02:56 | Message # 3152
Astronaut
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 64
Status: Offline
Use the star browser, set the search parameters to search planets only and a temperate terra. They usually find Earth-like planets.




John H. Harris
Lightwave user, Trekkie, and wannabe Hugo Award winner.
(Ah, who am I kidding...?)
 
richardreis111Date: Tuesday, 19.07.2016, 16:03 | Message # 3153
Observer
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 15
Status: Offline
Holy Sh biggrin t thanks much
 
johnhaslam13Date: Tuesday, 19.07.2016, 16:47 | Message # 3154
Observer
Group: Newbies
Pirate
Messages: 1
Status: Offline
Hello, I was just wondering how to solve a small issue I have with 0.9.7.4. Clouds and gas giant textures are mostly disappearing when I am a certain distance away from the respective stellar body. They reappear if I am farther away or really close, but in between that there is just a small square of texture showing. I have updated my video card driver to the most recent release, so its not a problem there. Any tips? smile
Attachments: 9080358.jpg(268Kb) · 2427247.jpg(256Kb)


Edited by johnhaslam13 - Tuesday, 19.07.2016, 16:55
 
admiralsirjohnDate: Tuesday, 19.07.2016, 21:52 | Message # 3155
Astronaut
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 64
Status: Offline
I figured out what I did wrong on the Intar textures. I tried to append them, rather than having them as a separate surface section. Once I did that, they started working.

But now, for some strange reason, a lot of the stars (especially G-class, including Sol) have lost their textures.





John H. Harris
Lightwave user, Trekkie, and wannabe Hugo Award winner.
(Ah, who am I kidding...?)


Edited by admiralsirjohn - Tuesday, 19.07.2016, 21:52
 
JackDoleDate: Tuesday, 19.07.2016, 22:39 | Message # 3156
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1737
Status: Offline
Post your 'se.log'.
But if I have to guess you've forgotten somewhere a closing parenthesis in your scripts!





Don't forget to look here.

 
admiralsirjohnDate: Tuesday, 19.07.2016, 22:44 | Message # 3157
Astronaut
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 64
Status: Offline
Okay. Don't know why, since I haven't done anything special with the star textures...
Attachments: 4533367.log(54Kb)





John H. Harris
Lightwave user, Trekkie, and wannabe Hugo Award winner.
(Ah, who am I kidding...?)
 
JackDoleDate: Tuesday, 19.07.2016, 23:26 | Message # 3158
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1737
Status: Offline
admiralsirjohn,
there are a lot of error messages in your log.

First off all:
Remove the file 'StarTrek.pak' from the 'export' directory. SpaceEngine reads ALL .pak files located within the SpaceEngine folder. Since the data structures are not right, if they are not in the correct directories, this must lead to problems.
Which does not mean that this is already the solution.

Furthermore, you are using an outdated version of StarTrek.
Which does not work properly with SE 0.974 RC3. You should download the slightly newer version here: http://en.spaceengine.org/forum/17-2849-62311-16-1460750369

Also, I would recommend not to install your own scripts in this .pak file.

Otherwise I do not see anything in the protocol, which could be the cause of the problem.
But if it is not due to the superfluous .pak file, I suspect that your scripts are somehow the cause.





Don't forget to look here.

 
admiralsirjohnDate: Tuesday, 19.07.2016, 23:57 | Message # 3159
Astronaut
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 64
Status: Offline
I did update the StarTrek.pak

As for the scripts, why would one star remove the textures from an entire class of stars? Other star classes seem to show up just fine. Also, I've edited the entry for Intar Stelis so that it conforms to the rest of the TrekStars.sc file, with no effect.

I'm not doubting you, just wondering what specific part it might be. Maybe if I post the scripts themselves?





John H. Harris
Lightwave user, Trekkie, and wannabe Hugo Award winner.
(Ah, who am I kidding...?)
 
admiralsirjohnDate: Wednesday, 20.07.2016, 00:06 | Message # 3160
Astronaut
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 64
Status: Offline
Wait, okay. Sorry about that, I didn't update. Let me see if I can do that (it doesn't want to cooperate with Chrome...)




John H. Harris
Lightwave user, Trekkie, and wannabe Hugo Award winner.
(Ah, who am I kidding...?)
 
JackDoleDate: Wednesday, 20.07.2016, 00:27 | Message # 3161
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1737
Status: Offline
Be careful when you download the file!






Don't forget to look here.

 
admiralsirjohnDate: Wednesday, 20.07.2016, 00:29 | Message # 3162
Astronaut
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 64
Status: Offline
Okay, updated the Star Trek systems, but the textures on most of the stars are still gone.

Intar Stelis and Sol show as blank white disks, Deneb shows as a flattened disk (sort of flexes as one flies around it) but Arcturus still has its textures.





John H. Harris
Lightwave user, Trekkie, and wannabe Hugo Award winner.
(Ah, who am I kidding...?)
 
admiralsirjohnDate: Wednesday, 20.07.2016, 00:34 | Message # 3163
Astronaut
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 64
Status: Offline
Yeah, I had to use Firefox. (I adamantly refuse to use IE.)

Another thing I've noticed is that all the coronas are gone, whether the star's atmospheric textures are there or not.





John H. Harris
Lightwave user, Trekkie, and wannabe Hugo Award winner.
(Ah, who am I kidding...?)
 
JackDoleDate: Wednesday, 20.07.2016, 00:37 | Message # 3164
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1737
Status: Offline
Quote admiralsirjohn ()
just wondering what specific part it might be.
I know that a missing parenthesis may be the reason that whole Star systems disappear.

Because a missing parenthesis in a script can be the cause that all systems no longer function, which are loaded after this script.

However, a missing parenthesis would be reported as an error in the log. So this can not be the cause.

Quote admiralsirjohn ()
Maybe if I post the scripts themselves?

That might be the best.

And because of the update once again the log file.





Don't forget to look here.

 
admiralsirjohnDate: Wednesday, 20.07.2016, 00:39 | Message # 3165
Astronaut
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 64
Status: Offline
Okay, let me start with the log file.
Attachments: 7779016.log(48Kb)





John H. Harris
Lightwave user, Trekkie, and wannabe Hugo Award winner.
(Ah, who am I kidding...?)
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Page 211 of 221«12209210211212213220221»
Search: