Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 202 of 221«12200201202203204220221»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Donatelo200Date: Friday, 01.07.2016, 17:04 | Message # 3016
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 261
Status: Offline
That isn't wrong. The atmosphere will still trap heat from the planet itself.




CPU: Intel Core i7-4790K
GPU: Nvidia GTX 1080
SSD: Samsung 850 Evo 250GB
HDD: Toshiba DT01ACA200 2TB
HDD: WD Blue 1TB (2012)
RAM: Unknown 16G-D3-1600-MR 2x8GB
MBD: MSI Z97S SLI Krait Edition (MS-7922)
 
HetairosDate: Friday, 01.07.2016, 17:25 | Message # 3017
Observer
Group: Users
Poland
Messages: 18
Status: Offline
Can it generate enough heat to keep it that hot? It's about 8,5 bln years old and I doubt it's too geologically active. Not that SE accounts for that.

Although I suppose the heat loss could be slow enough. There is a way to calculate that, isn't there?

Anyway, I tried to take a look on it again and there's a frozen titan in its place. Same moons, same age, but the planet's different.
 
JackDoleDate: Friday, 01.07.2016, 18:18 | Message # 3018
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1737
Status: Offline
Quote simonecinque1992 ()
JackDole, Is it for RC3?

Yes. This error is only in RC3.





Don't forget to look here.

 
JackDoleDate: Friday, 01.07.2016, 18:28 | Message # 3019
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1737
Status: Offline
abyssoft,
SpaceEngine calculates the orbital periods not properly if the center is a Baryenter. I always calculate then by hand the orbital period.


If the 'SemiMajorAxis' is the same as in your script, it would be ~1.4295832 years.





Don't forget to look here.



Edited by JackDole - Friday, 01.07.2016, 18:39
 
abyssoftDate: Friday, 01.07.2016, 19:00 | Message # 3020
Space Tourist
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 27
Status: Offline
SemiMajorAxis is same, I've attached a screenshot showing the issue.

Script portion showing Planet on right side and SE Showing Orbit info on Left



Hopefully this can make it into the bug pile to be fixed before 0974 goes from RC3 to GA

Attachments: 5640695.png(223Kb) · 5545304.png(20Kb)


Edited by abyssoft - Friday, 01.07.2016, 20:32
 
SpaceHopperDate: Friday, 01.07.2016, 21:16 | Message # 3021
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 183
Status: Offline
I would really love Carbon stars, Zirconium stars, and Wolf-Rayet stars to be procedurally generated




3.14% of all seafarers are PIrates.
***
Got Mole Problems? Call Avogadro at 602-1023
***
Google Search my picture to discover whom it depicteth.
 
JCandeiasDate: Saturday, 02.07.2016, 00:41 | Message # 3022
Pioneer
Group: Translators
Portugal
Messages: 382
Status: Offline
Quote SpaceEngineer ()
What? Do you say what installer cleared up the addons folder? This is impossible...


Very possible. Just happened to me. :/





They let me use this!
 
SpaceEngineUser9021Date: Saturday, 02.07.2016, 00:44 | Message # 3023
Observer
Group: Newbies
United States
Messages: 1
Status: Offline
I am noticing a major issue on the latest Nvidia drivers (368.39) on my gtx 950 in Space Engine 0.9.7.4. I am aware that others have reported experiencing related issues on the latest drivers as well, but mine seem quite different. All terra planets are completely flat. Reverting back to older drivers (365.19) seems to fix the problem as others have reported.

Here are some pictures of Kepler-452b illustrating the issue:

368.39: Flat with weird lava flows which occasionally morph into rivers...

359.19: Usual awesomeness

Attachments: 1659589.jpg(268Kb) · 9373421.jpg(298Kb)
 
JCandeiasDate: Saturday, 02.07.2016, 02:14 | Message # 3024
Pioneer
Group: Translators
Portugal
Messages: 382
Status: Offline
Just downloaded and installed the newest version and...

... I'm frustrated by it.

Remember the old SolarSys3000 addon? It was a cute speculation about the state of the Solar System in the year 3000, with lots of terraformed real estate all over the inner Solar System, Ceres in orbit around Mars (and Mercury around Venus), and a very insteresting jovian system, after Jupiter having been transformed into a brown dwarf, somehow.

It was originally a replacement addon, to be used instead of the actual Solar System, but I liked it enough to set it free, placing it in the Large Magellanic Cloud with a nice view to the Milky Way.

And I can't use it anymore.

Why?

Because there's this annoying bug, you see? A bug that seems to be ignored, by which a brown dwarf in a regular planetary orbit around another star turns the star it orbits into another brown dwarf of the same type and size. It kind of contaminates it, zombifying it.

Let me show you.

Here I'm near Earth II, in the SolarSys3000 addon. I did a few changes to the original addon, updating textures, adding night lights (and never mind that in the far future night lights shouldn't be as they are today), etc., and, most importantly, commenting Jupiter out.



Pretty, innit?

But then I go and remove the comments, putting Brown Dwarf Jupiter back in, and this is what I get. Same time, same place, totally different scenery.



This bug is annoying! It shouldn't happen. It didn't happen until 0.9.7.3, if I recall correctly.

Attached is the current state of my version of SolarSys3000. Never mind Sol3; it was a test to see if I could place a star in the Andromeda galaxy. Also, only the inner Solar System has updated textures; everything beyond the Asteroid Belt is still waiting for this bug to be sorted out.

Attachments: 3791202.jpg(307Kb) · 2293381.jpg(285Kb) · Sol2.sc(0Kb) · SolarSys3000.sc(51Kb)





They let me use this!
 
JackDoleDate: Saturday, 02.07.2016, 02:19 | Message # 3025
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1737
Status: Offline
Quote JCandeias ()
Quote SpaceEngineer ()
What? Do you say what installer cleared up the addons folder? This is impossible...

Very possible. Just happened to me. :/

You should have read this!
Quote SpaceEngineer ()
Ok, SE installer indeed deletes ALL files and folders in the installation directory before install. I fixed this in installer script, it will not do this in future

Only two posts below.





Don't forget to look here.

 
JCandeiasDate: Saturday, 02.07.2016, 02:30 | Message # 3026
Pioneer
Group: Translators
Portugal
Messages: 382
Status: Offline
Quote JackDole ()
You should have read this!


Indeed.





They let me use this!
 
abyssoftDate: Saturday, 02.07.2016, 16:42 | Message # 3027
Space Tourist
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 27
Status: Offline
JackDole one of the note you provided was that for SE 1 AU = 149597870.691 km
This varies from the current value of 149597870.700 km by definition.
Which albeit is only a small variance (6.016e-9%) it does add up on larger distances and increases cumulative errors.

So I am wondering, if other constants vary from the current adopted values in SE

G 6.67408E-11 m^3 kg^-1 s^-2 CODATA 2014
lyr 9460730472580800 m by definition
pc 30856775814671900 m by definition

The following also vary based on information in various threads

Julian Year 365.25 days of 86400 seconds definition

1 SE year = 365.24218985 days indicated in the Planet mod thread. (this looks like the tropical year)

can anyone tell me what does and doesn't vary and current values so I can have my calculators up to date for SE 0974 calculations.


Edited by abyssoft - Saturday, 02.07.2016, 16:54
 
JackDoleDate: Saturday, 02.07.2016, 20:52 | Message # 3028
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1737
Status: Offline
abyssoft,
Astronomy/Mathematics - Wikiversity has this value:
Code
1 AU = 149,597,870.691 km


The programs that I use - 'ConvertAll' and 'SpeedCrunch', provide both 149597870691 m.

I do not know what value SpaceEngine used.

SpeedCrunch:
Code

Gravitational constant: 6.67408e-11
Speed of light:         299792458 m
Light year:             9.4607304725808e15 m
Parsec:                 3.08567802e16
Julian year             365.25

ConvertAll:
Code

Seconds per day:        86400


It would be good to know what values are used by SpaceEngine.
SpaceEngine uses 365.24218985 days for the length of a year.





Don't forget to look here.

 
abyssoftDate: Saturday, 02.07.2016, 23:20 | Message # 3029
Space Tourist
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 27
Status: Offline
from IAU Commission 25 Resolution B2 (which was ratified) it has the same value as I was using Astronomy/Mathematics - Wikiversity seems to be out of date.
 
JackDoleDate: Saturday, 02.07.2016, 23:35 | Message # 3030
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1737
Status: Offline
It may be that this is the 'official' value. In any case it is a rounded value. I think more accurate is 149597870691 m.

But as I said, I would use the value that is used by SpaceEngine. If I knew it.





Don't forget to look here.

 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Page 202 of 221«12200201202203204220221»
Search: