Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 2 of 221«1234220221»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Tac1017Date: Friday, 08.05.2015, 20:26 | Message # 16
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 167
Status: Offline
Sometimes, the display driver will crash, but otherwise, the quality is beautiful; it even looks real to some degree!




The Terra Hunter of the Milky Way!

(By the way, I was born in 2001, NOT 1972 XD)
 
Destructor1701Date: Saturday, 09.05.2015, 03:13 | Message # 17
Pioneer
Group: Users
Ireland
Messages: 531
Status: Offline
I've gotten this on the first and second launch of my newly-patched existing 0.9.7.3 install. On the first launch it rebuilt my shaders.



log file attached.

Attachments: 4462094.log(14Kb)







Edited by Destructor1701 - Saturday, 09.05.2015, 03:13
 
masterchief117kdDate: Saturday, 09.05.2015, 15:30 | Message # 18
Astronaut
Group: Users
Canada
Messages: 55
Status: Offline
destructor1701 i have the same problem too
 
masterchief117kdDate: Saturday, 09.05.2015, 15:39 | Message # 19
Astronaut
Group: Users
Canada
Messages: 55
Status: Offline
here's my same problem
Attachments: 2824577.png(166Kb)


Edited by masterchief117kd - Saturday, 09.05.2015, 15:40
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Saturday, 09.05.2015, 15:50 | Message # 20
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4796
Status: Offline
Ok I think I fixed this problem. Please test and attach the log file (I'm curious why there are warnings on AMD cards).

SE 0.974 patch 02 (2 Mb)

Changes:
- Added loader timing slider to the Graphics settings menu
- Removed settings "Atmo from sea level" and "Atmo extinction" from the Graphics settings menu

Bugfixes:
- Fixed non-loading of procedural generator shaders it were a warning during compilation





 
SpaceEngineerDate: Saturday, 09.05.2015, 16:02 | Message # 21
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4796
Status: Offline
So I added a new setting to the F4 menu - "loader timing". This is the max time in milliseconds during which loader can generate/load planet textures for each frame. The lower the value, the less the lags while terrain is generated, but the overall loading time will increase. You can balance this value for your own taste.

For example, my desktop computer can use timing = 20 with FPS drop from 60 to 30, which is playable, and loading time is very fase (10-15 seconds for planet at LOD 0). Computer have GTX 780 and generate 10-15 textures per frame with this setting. But my laptop with timing = 20 is lagging a lot while generating a planet, FPS drops down to 5-7. A timing value of 5 is good for it, FPS drops from 40 to 20. But it allows it to generate only 1-2 textures per frame, so planet at LOD 0 needs 30-40 seconds to full load.

A question for communitiy: how to call this new slider, so it could be easy to understand its function? Something like "Lags vs loading speed", or keep it "Loader timing"?





 
masterchief117kdDate: Saturday, 09.05.2015, 16:38 | Message # 22
Astronaut
Group: Users
Canada
Messages: 55
Status: Offline
here's log file
Attachments: 5478438.log(512Kb)
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Saturday, 09.05.2015, 17:57 | Message # 23
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4796
Status: Offline
masterchief117kd, did it crashed? Your log file is not complete.




 
Destructor1701Date: Saturday, 09.05.2015, 17:58 | Message # 24
Pioneer
Group: Users
Ireland
Messages: 531
Status: Offline
Quote SpaceEngineer ()
A question for communitiy: how to call this new slider, so it could be easy to understand its function? Something like "Lags vs loading speed", or keep it "Loader timing"?


How about "Loading time per frame"?

EDIT:

Patch 02 worked, thanks! It took ages to load - got stuck loading one of the tg_Selena shaders (forget which, sorry) - but I had deleted my cache folder, so it may have hung while rebuilding that.

EDIT:

Zooming is indeed much improved. A planet in the frame still causes a bit of lag, though - I think it might be calling for higher and higher fidelity landscapes to load during the snap zoom when you toggle zoom - perhaps suspend those calls until the zoom is complete?

Another minor issue is with input - this is something I've noticed since 0.9.7.3 - I have the solar system browser (F2) assigned to a button on my gamepad's POV hat. It might be an issue with my controller (PS3 Dual Shock 3 masquerading through drivers as an Xbox 360 pad - no issues with any other software) but the list flashes up and is gone again so fast that it's difficult to see it. It can take a number of presses to get it to stay. Not a major issue, just something that might need a tweak.







Edited by Destructor1701 - Saturday, 09.05.2015, 18:21
 
SolarLinerDate: Saturday, 09.05.2015, 18:55 | Message # 25
Explorer
Group: Users
France
Messages: 267
Status: Offline
Quote SpaceEngineer ()
A question for communitiy: how to call this new slider, so it could be easy to understand its function? Something like "Lags vs loading speed", or keep it "Loader timing"?

"Loading frequency", or "Loader timeout"





custom landing page to share: http://bit.ly/spaceengine
 
DiscovererOfWorldsDate: Saturday, 09.05.2015, 19:55 | Message # 26
Space Pilot
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 120
Status: Offline
speed generation of surface




the universe is made to be explored, but no one will ever visit it all
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Saturday, 09.05.2015, 20:07 | Message # 27
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4796
Status: Offline
Maybe something like "Smoothness <--> Speed"?
The string must be short enough to fit the GUI.





 
MosfetDate: Saturday, 09.05.2015, 20:14 | Message # 28
World Builder
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 719
Status: Offline
Quote SpaceEngineer ()
Maybe something like "Smoothness <--> Speed"?


how about a more generic "Quality <--> Speed"?





"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so."
Douglas N. Adams
My mods
Asus x555ub: cpu i5-6200u - ram 4gb - gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram
 
NewWayDate: Saturday, 09.05.2015, 20:25 | Message # 29
Observer
Group: Newbies
Germany
Messages: 3
Status: Offline
Good work SpaceEngineer!
With this patch Space Engine runs alot smoother and overall better!





The measure of an individual can be difficult to discern by actions alone.
~ Thane
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Saturday, 09.05.2015, 20:33 | Message # 30
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4796
Status: Offline
Quote Mosfet ()
how about a more generic "Quality <--> Speed"?

It is don't control a quality, but the rendering performance or smoothness over the loading speed. "Quality - Speed" is the LOD control slider.





 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Page 2 of 221«1234220221»
Search: