Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 181 of 221«12179180181182183220221»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
SpaceEngineerDate: Thursday, 02.06.2016, 10:06 | Message # 2701
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4798
Status: Offline
Quote meegja ()
There is more: the textures of clouds on terra's is disappearing when coming closer.

This is because of volcano. They are flooded entire planet with lava, rising up its surface to 10-20 km. So clouds became below surface. Oceans are also completely disappeared because of this.





 
MosfetDate: Thursday, 02.06.2016, 12:49 | Message # 2702
World Builder
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 719
Status: Offline
Quote JackDole ()
Have you looked here?

frankly no biggrin thanks





"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so."
Douglas N. Adams
My mods
Asus x555ub: cpu i5-6200u - ram 4gb - gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram
 
HornblowerDate: Thursday, 02.06.2016, 13:32 | Message # 2703
World Builder
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 709
Status: Offline
If I can contribute at all, when I had the new graphics driver about a week ago, the only formations on both deserts and terras seemed to be the Venus features
 
meegjaDate: Thursday, 02.06.2016, 15:45 | Message # 2704
Space Tourist
Group: Users
Netherlands
Messages: 32
Status: Offline
Quote SpaceEngineer ()
Quote meegja ()
There is more: the textures of clouds on terra's is disappearing when coming closer.

This is because of volcano. They are flooded entire planet with lava, rising up its surface to 10-20 km. So clouds became below surface. Oceans are also completely disappeared because of this.


No, that is not what we mean.
For example, the planet in the preset "You can't breath here". It is a green planet. When clicking on GoTo in the preset windows, you land on the planet, you see the green surface, you also see some cloud texture loading and then suddenly all clouds disappear.
The same planet, but now going to it from space. In screenshot 1 you see cloud texture, and a little bit more movement towards the planet, the clod texture disappears, see screenshot 2.
With Nvidia drivers from (lets say) 2 months ago, this is not happening. But with the latest drivers, this is happening.
Plus, what HornBlower is writing: all terra and dessert planets look more flat. Here also: with older Nvidia drivers they have more structure/heights, with new Nvidia drivers more flat.
Here a terra that is flat (with exceptions of some vulcanos) and also there: clouds from a distance but when coming closer and landing, cloauds are gone. All terras look like this with new Nvidia drivers. Not in texture but in height maps:

Code
Place    "Flat terra"
{
    Ver  974
    Body    "RS 8476-1353-8-11843189-519 3"
    Parent    "RS 8476-1353-8-11843189-519 3-3.1"
    Date    "2016.03.31 01:52:59.42"
    Pos  (+00000000000000103CA61D50FB1993E5 +000000000000000AF2761D156E1D9802 +00000000000000162425DF012CCDF4A9)
    Rot  (0.7645617314621739 0.5367750094753048 -0.1031170760473428 0.341591593300824)
    Vel  7.6356296e-011
    Mode    2
}



Clouds


Clouds suddenly gone

Attachments: 0706579.jpg(194Kb) · 9383862.jpg(195Kb)





Always be yourself (unless you suck)
Intel i5 4690k 3.5 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 2400 RAM, MSI GTX 1080 Founders Edition


Edited by meegja - Thursday, 02.06.2016, 16:04
 
JackDoleDate: Thursday, 02.06.2016, 17:25 | Message # 2705
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1737
Status: Offline
Quote Silicon ()
Why is it that under the "Number of Planets" statistic for stars it includes dwarf planets? Dwarf planets are not planets.

You're right! Actually it should read: 'Number of planets and dwarf planets'.
But I think the string is too long. He would destroy the layout of the Info output. biggrin





Don't forget to look here.

 
Bells_TheoremDate: Thursday, 02.06.2016, 17:55 | Message # 2706
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 188
Status: Offline
I think you can contend that a dwarf planet is a sub class of planet. I'm fine with calling them planets.
Quote Silicon ()
I think you can contend that a dwarf planet is a sub class of planet. I'm fine with calling them planets.


I think one can argue that a dwarf planet is just a sub class of planet. I'm fine with calling them planets.
 
SiliconDate: Thursday, 02.06.2016, 19:12 | Message # 2707
Astronaut
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 51
Status: Offline
Quote Bells_Theorem ()
I think one can argue that a dwarf planet is just a sub class of planet.

No you can not. The IAU have specifically stated that dwarf planets are NOT a sub-class of planets.
https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikiped....ies.svg
 
Bells_TheoremDate: Thursday, 02.06.2016, 22:58 | Message # 2708
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 188
Status: Offline
Quote Silicon ()

No you can not. The IAU have specifically stated that dwarf planets are NOT a sub-class of planets.


Space Engine isn't bound by the IAU, nor does the IAU have the authority to dictate what can and cannot be argued, especially outside the realm of academia.

If Vladimir wants to classify them as planets for the purposes of this application, I'm fine with it. And I doubt the IAU will be calling.


Edited by Bells_Theorem - Thursday, 02.06.2016, 23:17
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Friday, 03.06.2016, 18:56 | Message # 2709
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4798
Status: Offline
I working on the last major issues in 0.974 beta - broken volcano and cut cyclones. First is new volcano, WIP, but almost done:








Attachments: 6593864.jpg(283Kb) · 7992122.jpg(285Kb) · 4390051.jpg(266Kb) · 9704396.jpg(456Kb)





 
The_BlazerDate: Friday, 03.06.2016, 19:27 | Message # 2710
Space Tourist
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 34
Status: Offline
Quote SpaceEngineer ()
new volcano


Those volcanos looks great! I really like all the little lava flows coming down from the first one. By the way, will volcanos be a little less... "isolated" in the next version? Right now they have a tendency to spawn completely alone in the middle of nowhere, instead of being included in mountain ranges and other features, which looks really weird.

Can't wait for RC3 (or release!)





Born too early to explore space... But just in time for Space Engine.

PC Specs:
GTX 770 (2GB VRAM) - i5 4570 - 8GB RAM
 
FireintheholeDate: Friday, 03.06.2016, 20:02 | Message # 2711
Pioneer
Group: Translators
Sweden
Messages: 356
Status: Offline
SpaceEngineer, now that's some very nice looking volcanoes! Nice to hear from you again, by the way. I was a little worried something happened to you. smile




Love SpaceEngine!
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Friday, 03.06.2016, 22:25 | Message # 2712
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4798
Status: Offline
Quote The_Blazer ()
By the way, will volcanos be a little less... "isolated" in the next version?

No. Generation algorithm doesn't allow this.

Quote Fireinthehole ()
I was a little worried something happened to you.

lol just a lot of moving from place to place.





 
Bells_TheoremDate: Friday, 03.06.2016, 22:59 | Message # 2713
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 188
Status: Offline
The new volcanoes look awesome. Are the sizes and shape going to be varied? Will the ratio of dormant to active be based on the planet properties?
 
JCandeiasDate: Saturday, 04.06.2016, 00:58 | Message # 2714
Pioneer
Group: Translators
Portugal
Messages: 382
Status: Offline
Quote SpaceEngineer ()
I working on the last major issues in 0.974 beta - broken volcano and cut cyclones.


Does it mean the issue of the "contamination" of the parent star by an orbiting brown dwarf is solved?





They let me use this!
 
JCandeiasDate: Saturday, 04.06.2016, 01:02 | Message # 2715
Pioneer
Group: Translators
Portugal
Messages: 382
Status: Offline
Quote JCandeias ()
Quote The_Blazer ()
By the way, will volcanos be a little less... "isolated" in the next version?

No. Generation algorithm doesn't allow this.


Hm... I see why it would be difficult to generate volcanos in mountain ranges without simulating tectonics, but hotspot clusters, at the first sight, shouldn't be too difficult to mimic.

(and these new volcanos do look great)





They let me use this!
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Page 181 of 221«12179180181182183220221»
Search: