Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 161 of 221«12159160161162163220221»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
PlutonianEmpireDate: Monday, 25.04.2016, 17:29 | Message # 2401
Pioneer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 474
Status: Offline
Shouldn't the moon slightly offset the binary to form a secondary barycenter, like in a trinary system?




Specs: Dell Inspiron 5547 (Laptop); 8 gigabytes of RAM; Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-4210U CPU @ 1.70GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.4GHz; Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit; Graphics: Intel® HD Graphics 4400 (That's all there is :( )
 
ksgDate: Monday, 25.04.2016, 17:44 | Message # 2402
Observer
Group: Newbies
Finland
Messages: 5
Status: Offline
Quote PlutonianEmpire ()
Shouldn't the moon slightly offset the binary to form a secondary barycenter, like in a trinary system?


As far as I understand, it doesn't form another one; it just bends the position of the existing barycenter towards it slightly, naturally also altering the other objects' orbits. Having two barycenters would seem to be against the reason we even define one. You can't have more than one "center point," right?
Correct me if I'm wrong, though.

EDIT: Now that I think about it, technically calculating where the barycenter is after the addition of the third planet would be done by taking each possible pair of objects, calculating the barycenter of each these pairs and then placing it in the middle of the three results. Still only one actual barycenter though, just adding this because why not. :P


Edited by ksg - Monday, 25.04.2016, 17:56
 
JackDoleDate: Monday, 25.04.2016, 18:37 | Message # 2403
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1734
Status: Offline
PlutonianEmpire, ksg,
I think it is done that way.





Small correction at the script.

Attachments: 8275539.jpg(237Kb) · 1999TC36.sc(2Kb)





Don't forget to look here.



Edited by JackDole - Monday, 25.04.2016, 19:01
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Monday, 25.04.2016, 18:43 | Message # 2404
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8713
Status: Online
Quote PlutonianEmpire ()
Shouldn't the moon slightly offset the binary to form a secondary barycenter, like in a trinary system?

Technically, every object that orbits with every other object should have a barycenter. But if their mass ratios are skewed enough, you can just ignore that since the practical effect is minimal. Just like how the vast majority of objects in SE don't have barycenters, even though if you want to be TECHNICALLY correct they should have these crazy dynamic barycenters dancing around the center of the primary body. But we ignore this since it just doesn't make a difference.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Monday, 25.04.2016, 21:32 | Message # 2405
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4796
Status: Offline
Quote PlutonianEmpire ()
Shouldn't the moon slightly offset the binary to form a secondary barycenter, like in a trinary system?

In this case - yes, adding next baryceneter in hierarchy must made model of three bodies motion more accurate.
In other cases, like for asteroid Sylvia with 2 moons, this is not possible. Or in the case of Sun-Jupiter barycenter, taking into account presence of another planets. You simply can't point out the correct hierarchy of the barycenters, each model will have bigger errors compared to simple Keplerian orbits around Sun's center.

Quote JackDole ()
I think it is done that way.

The moon is in wrong position relative to the "primary binary" barycenter.





 
JackDoleDate: Monday, 25.04.2016, 21:38 | Message # 2406
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1734
Status: Offline
Quote SpaceEngineer ()
The moon is in wrong position relative to the "primary binary" barycenter.

Therefore, the small correction of the script dry
Quote JackDole ()
Small correction at the script.


Attachments: 4487741.jpg(210Kb)





Don't forget to look here.



Edited by JackDole - Monday, 25.04.2016, 21:39
 
ksgDate: Monday, 25.04.2016, 21:44 | Message # 2407
Observer
Group: Newbies
Finland
Messages: 5
Status: Offline
Technically any object with mass has an infinite, although quickly diminishing gravitational reach, so shouldn't you take every single object in the simulated universe and calculate their barycenters with every single other object?
Way to make a simulation take up several supercomputers worth of processing power, if nothing else. biggrin
 
Bells_TheoremDate: Tuesday, 26.04.2016, 01:11 | Message # 2408
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 188
Status: Offline
Quote SpaceEngineer ()
"primary binary" barycenter.


Say that 5 times fast.
 
PlutonianEmpireDate: Tuesday, 26.04.2016, 01:31 | Message # 2409
Pioneer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 474
Status: Offline
How do I add surface objects again? I can't find the instructions. Is it possible to place them by latitude and longitude coordinates?




Specs: Dell Inspiron 5547 (Laptop); 8 gigabytes of RAM; Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-4210U CPU @ 1.70GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.4GHz; Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit; Graphics: Intel® HD Graphics 4400 (That's all there is :( )
 
MixaDate: Tuesday, 26.04.2016, 17:06 | Message # 2410
Space Tourist
Group: Users
Bosnia and Herzegovina
Messages: 37
Status: Offline
Quick question. I see that RC2 is .exe file, or precisely said, setup file. Do I have to have previous versions of Space Engine installed, or is this a standalone release?
 
FireintheholeDate: Tuesday, 26.04.2016, 17:11 | Message # 2411
Pioneer
Group: Translators
Sweden
Messages: 356
Status: Offline
Quote Mixa ()
Quick question. I see that RC2 is .exe file, or precisely said, setup file. Do I have to have previous versions of Space Engine installed, or is this a standalone release?

Standalone. smile





Love SpaceEngine!
 
MixaDate: Tuesday, 26.04.2016, 17:20 | Message # 2412
Space Tourist
Group: Users
Bosnia and Herzegovina
Messages: 37
Status: Offline
Quote Fireinthehole ()
Standalone.


Thanks. That's great news. I don't really think that adding files to previous versions is a good way of updating things and this is something that I really wanted. I don't know why am I a fan of installers and extractors.
 
yaqdarkDate: Tuesday, 26.04.2016, 17:29 | Message # 2413
Astronaut
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 53
Status: Offline
Anybody know why my bookmarks mostly don't "exist" anymore? Not just talking about from beta builds, but from 9.7.3 etc..
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Tuesday, 26.04.2016, 17:45 | Message # 2414
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8713
Status: Online
Quote yaqdark ()
Anybody know why my bookmarks mostly don't "exist" anymore? Not just talking about from beta builds, but from 9.7.3 etc..

Generation parameters have been changed, which changes the whole universe.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
LookAtDatDakkaDate: Tuesday, 26.04.2016, 22:08 | Message # 2415
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 156
Status: Offline
Quote HarbingerDawn ()
Generation parameters have been changed, which changes the whole universe.


It was changed to make way for procedual subgiants.





NVIDIA 960 GTX 2048MB

Edited by LookAtDatDakka - Tuesday, 26.04.2016, 22:08
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Page 161 of 221«12159160161162163220221»
Search: