RUS New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 151 of 221«12149150151152153220221»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
VoekoevakaDate: Tuesday, 12.04.2016, 19:25 | Message # 2251
World Builder
Group: SE team
France
Messages: 1016
Status: Offline
Quote SpaceEngineer ()
What do you mean? This is not as yellow dwarf, yellow dwarfs looked differently:

OK. I wasn't able to reproduce this bug far from earth, but this bug occur for stars near the earth. I launched a search for stars, and some of the brown dwarves looked like this :




By the way, I noticed the new texture of white dwarves take into account the light beam distortion, allowing us to see more than half the surface. This is well done !


Attachments: 1219729.jpg(196Kb) · 7287286.jpg(195Kb)





Want some music of mine ? Please go here !



Edited by Voekoevaka - Tuesday, 12.04.2016, 19:43
 
ProteusDate: Tuesday, 12.04.2016, 19:30 | Message # 2252
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 172
Status: Offline
Quote x264fhdbenchmark ()
Can we also have real 3D craters in SE like in Elite Dangerous?
https://youtu.be/0jE7UhIyRnA

Quote x264fhdbenchmark ()
I wish that planet generation in SE was as advanced as in Elite Dangerous
https://youtu.be/Elc04JxJKas

Notice how diverse is surface of the rocky planets!
You have some giant cracks ,canyons , small and huge craters.


Are you sure its Space Engine you've been playing?... It doesn't sound like it. lol





 
ShodanDate: Tuesday, 12.04.2016, 20:23 | Message # 2253
Observer
Group: Newbies
Netherlands
Messages: 1
Status: Offline
I have just started with space engine and have downloaded the beta version.

Everything works good in the build, but for me the RC2 version is not stable at all.

Every 10 minutes the engine crashes. No real detailed error message, just stopped working. It particularly happens close to planets and in motion.

My specs should be more than adequate to play the simulator:

- i5 2500k
- gtx 980
- 8GB mem
- win 10 (tried win 7 compatibility mode)

It's quite frustrating, this is an amazing piece of software, but it is unstable as hell for me. I have no other issues in any other game or software on my computer.

Any suggestions what this could be? I'd love to be able to play :-(
 
PlutonianEmpireDate: Tuesday, 12.04.2016, 20:37 | Message # 2254
Pioneer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 475
Status: Offline
I seem be unable to completely remove catalog binary stars. In my addons>catalog>planets folder, I'll have a script to remove both individual stars, and then a RemoveStar in the stars folder. But when I load up the game, the star is still there, with procedural planets. Adding a custom csv without the original star did not work either. This has made replacing real systems with fictional equivalents and fictional names impossible. This is in RC 2.

Is there anything I can do to get it to work?





Specs: Dell Inspiron 5547 (Laptop); 8 gigabytes of RAM; Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-4210U CPU @ 1.70GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.4GHz; Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit; Graphics: Intel® HD Graphics 4400 (That's all there is :( )
 
SpaceHopperDate: Tuesday, 12.04.2016, 21:18 | Message # 2255
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 183
Status: Offline
Quote Jonahrf ()
Its possible to find Hot/Scorched or Frozen Terras with unrealiatic temperatures.

That's nothing...Look at this Titan in RC2. At such a temperature, the ice should melt and then boil (I don't think water can sublime like carbon dioxide):

The heating appears to be caused by the fact that its binary planet partner is a hothouse Desert world:

The star the Titan orbits is RSC 8476-10184-3-283-50.
Quote Yantra ()
I have installed the latest version of SpaceEngine (0.974 RC2) and I have noticed that some stuff have changed. First of all, there is one location on the pre-saved list titled "These guys have very complex calendar" (RS 8476-1355-7-1350374-381 4.4) which, upon being selected, yields an "Object Not Found" message. In a similar vein, I tried searching for RS 8414-2303-8-8184277-691 (a star I had previosly visited in the prior version) but I can't even find stars beginning with RS 8414 on the finder.

Your second problem is because new galaxies were added in between RC1 and RC2 (I think), and so the Milky Way's stars now start with RS 8476 (RS 8486 for me, 'cause I added some overlooked galaxies like 3C 273 and Hanny's Voorwerp). If you type RN 8414-0 into the search bar and go there, you will be able to find out what galaxy RS 8414 now corresponds to. And about your first problem... I was able to sort of bypass that by changing the selected object next to the LocName in the places-def.cfg file to "Milky Way". But then I found that during development of RC2 (I suppose that's when it happened), the "Complex calendar" star had moved 4200 light-years from its original destination, and the nearest star was now 1.67 light-years away. Wonder if SpaceEngineer can re-find us a planet with a complex calendar, or maybe post the exported star system?

Attachments: 0857668.jpg(315Kb) · 2765051.jpg(307Kb)





3.14% of all seafarers are PIrates.
***
Got Mole Problems? Call Avogadro at 602-1023
***
Google Search my picture to discover whom it depicteth.
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Tuesday, 12.04.2016, 21:24 | Message # 2256
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Quote SpaceHopper ()
I don't think water can sublime like carbon dioxide

Of course it can, if the ambient pressure is below the triple point.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
JackDoleDate: Tuesday, 12.04.2016, 21:25 | Message # 2257
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1737
Status: Offline
Quote PlutonianEmpire ()
Is there anything I can do to get it to work?

I think currently is the only way the two files 'Stars-bin.sc' from the '.pak' file in the folders 'data\catalogs\planets' and. 'data\catalogs\stars' to copy and the 'Del Tri' stars to remove manually from these files!





Don't forget to look here.

 
the_nerervarineDate: Tuesday, 12.04.2016, 22:03 | Message # 2258
Space Pilot
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 106
Status: Offline
I know I made a fool out of myself with my mistake but RC 2 /9.7.4 is ready for release this is incredible RC2 is out of this world.




AMD FX-8320 8 core @4.0ghz , AMD R9 290 4GB, 8GB DDR3 @1866mhz, 1TB Hard Drive
 
KoshDate: Tuesday, 12.04.2016, 22:32 | Message # 2259
Space Tourist
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 29
Status: Offline
Some of these bugs in SE 0.974 RC2. I already know to have been reported, but here's some more detailed information.

The stars Nuki (34 Sgr) And 27 Sgr are missing which make up part of the “teapot” of the constellation Sagittarius. But unlike Capella, these stars are missing. Or at least it appears that way.

The star Keid 40 Eridani west of the star Rigel in Orion, doesn't have an apparent magnitude of -0.17. It does in SE 0.974 RC2.

The star Mintaka (34 Orionis) I already know that the duplicate has already been reported, but there's more. Mintaka appears to be off in Right Ascension and Declination in SE 0.974 RC2. Just look at the belt of Orion, and compare it in RC2 and other versions of SE. It will become obvious.

I'm glad to see some new double stars added to SE, such as the companions to Rigel, Antares; and Aldebaran. I'm getting a higher frame rate in SE RC2 as well. Anybody out there might look at all the constellations in both hemispheres and see if there's any stars that might be missing as well. cool
 
PlutonianEmpireDate: Tuesday, 12.04.2016, 22:47 | Message # 2260
Pioneer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 475
Status: Offline
Quote JackDole ()
I think currently is the only way the two files 'Stars-bin.sc' from the '.pak' file in the folders 'data\catalogs\planets' and. 'data\catalogs\stars' to copy and the 'Del Tri' stars to remove manually from these files!

Yikes! I was afraid of that. Thank you for the heads up. smile





Specs: Dell Inspiron 5547 (Laptop); 8 gigabytes of RAM; Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-4210U CPU @ 1.70GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.4GHz; Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit; Graphics: Intel® HD Graphics 4400 (That's all there is :( )
 
MosfetDate: Wednesday, 13.04.2016, 00:34 | Message # 2261
World Builder
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 731
Status: Offline
Greetings Ambassador biggrin
Quote Kosh ()
The star Keid 40 Eridani west of the star Rigel in Orion, doesn't have an apparent magnitude of -0.17. It does in SE 0.974 RC2.


I don't understand. Apparent magnitude change with the distance from the object, and so it does correctly for Keid system, both in RC1 and RC2.





"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so."
Douglas N. Adams
My mods
Asus x555ub: cpu i5-6200u - ram 4gb - gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram
 
JackDoleDate: Wednesday, 13.04.2016, 00:41 | Message # 2262
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1737
Status: Offline
Kosh;
Quote Kosh ()
The stars Nuki (34 Sgr) And 27 Sgr are missing which make up part of the “teapot” of the constellation Sagittarius. But unlike Capella, these stars are missing. Or at least it appears that way.

The stars 'Nunki (34 Sgr)' and '37 Sgr' are both in the catalog of SE 0.974 RC2




Quote Kosh ()
Mintaka appears to be off in Right Ascension and Declination in SE 0.974 RC2.

About the incorrect position of Mintaka has been discussed in this thread.
There are a quite a number of stars who have this error.
A '.zip' file with corrected scripts can be found here.

Quote Kosh ()
The star Keid 40 Eridani west of the star Rigel in Orion, doesn't have an apparent magnitude of -0.17.

Maybe you could create a corrected script and post here? wink

Attachments: 2474643.jpg(231Kb) · 6342150.jpg(271Kb)





Don't forget to look here.



Edited by JackDole - Wednesday, 13.04.2016, 00:41
 
JackDoleDate: Wednesday, 13.04.2016, 01:05 | Message # 2263
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1737
Status: Offline
Quote Mosfet ()
I don't understand. Apparent magnitude change with the distance from the object, and so it does correctly for Keid system, both in RC1 and RC2.

I think Kosh means the 'AppMagn' from Earth seen.
But in Wikipedia, the values for the three stars are given individually.
I have no idea how to calculate the total brightness of all three stars, but I suspect that it is brighter than 4.43, the 'AppMagn' of the brightest of the three stars, but probably not 0.18, which SE shows for me.





Don't forget to look here.

 
PlutonianEmpireDate: Wednesday, 13.04.2016, 01:49 | Message # 2264
Pioneer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 475
Status: Offline
Is anyone else finding visible plant life textures on deserts that only have terrestrial unicell life in RC 2? I don't know if it's normal or a bug.




Specs: Dell Inspiron 5547 (Laptop); 8 gigabytes of RAM; Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-4210U CPU @ 1.70GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.4GHz; Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit; Graphics: Intel® HD Graphics 4400 (That's all there is :( )

Edited by PlutonianEmpire - Wednesday, 13.04.2016, 01:51
 
KoshDate: Wednesday, 13.04.2016, 02:25 | Message # 2265
Space Tourist
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 29
Status: Offline
JackDole You are correct on what I meant. Keid 40 Eridani looks brighter than Rigel as seen from Earth in SE RC2. I'm going to reinstall RC2 and see if Nuki shows up. I suspect on the next release of SE a lot of this will be fixed.
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Page 151 of 221«12149150151152153220221»
Search: