RUS New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 148 of 221«12146147148149150220221»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
CanleskisDate: Sunday, 10.04.2016, 16:55 | Message # 2206
Space Pilot
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 117
Status: Offline
Quote LookAtDatDakka ()
This is not a bug. The moon is behind a planet. I think this is intentional.


In fact this is a bug because the main planet cannot receive any light from its moon. This bug probably happen because of engine limitations, but in 0.9.7.4 I noticed that it was somehow fixed.
 
eliotmniDate: Sunday, 10.04.2016, 16:56 | Message # 2207
Observer
Group: Newbies
Pirate
Messages: 4
Status: Offline
System ε Crateris
the 8th planet and the 1st moon ;)

Just for the record, I have the last version of Space Engine


Edited by eliotmni - Sunday, 10.04.2016, 16:57
 
JackDoleDate: Sunday, 10.04.2016, 16:59 | Message # 2208
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1737
Status: Offline
Quote eliotmni ()
As you can see, the planet on the right is totaly hidden from the sun by the planet on the left. So no more light.
But the left planet's night side isn't all black like it should be.
It is still enlightened, just a bit as if the dark one continued to reflect light with an enlightened side.

That might be ambient light, light reflected by the atmosphere.
Switch off the atmosphere; and then look.





Don't forget to look here.

 
eliotmniDate: Sunday, 10.04.2016, 17:04 | Message # 2209
Observer
Group: Newbies
Pirate
Messages: 4
Status: Offline
Quote JackDole ()
That might be ambient light, light reflected by the atmosphere.
Switch off the atmosphere; and then look.


Nope ! Here, with all switched off, still the dark side is a little bit enlighted



Edited by eliotmni - Sunday, 10.04.2016, 17:07
 
Brett001Date: Sunday, 10.04.2016, 17:14 | Message # 2210
Space Pilot
Group: Users
Hungary
Messages: 84
Status: Offline
eliotmni,

In the graphics menu remove the check "planet shine".
 
eliotmniDate: Sunday, 10.04.2016, 17:27 | Message # 2211
Observer
Group: Newbies
Pirate
Messages: 4
Status: Offline
"planet shine" removed, now this is all black.
So this is a bug right ?

 
PlutonianEmpireDate: Sunday, 10.04.2016, 17:55 | Message # 2212
Pioneer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 475
Status: Offline
Pretty much, I think. For some reason, even though the moon is completely in the planet's shadow, yet the moon is still reflecting light back at the planet, so the only way around it for now is to turn off planet shine, like you just did.




Specs: Dell Inspiron 5547 (Laptop); 8 gigabytes of RAM; Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-4210U CPU @ 1.70GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.4GHz; Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit; Graphics: Intel® HD Graphics 4400 (That's all there is :( )
 
FireintheholeDate: Sunday, 10.04.2016, 18:16 | Message # 2213
Pioneer
Group: Translators
Sweden
Messages: 356
Status: Offline
Quote PlutonianEmpire ()
Pretty much, I think. For some reason, even though the moon is completely in the planet's shadow, yet the moon is still reflecting light back at the planet, so the only way around it for now is to turn off planet shine, like you just did.

The problem can be solved by setting Planet shine to super, and zooming out (so far that the planet becomes nothing more than a dot) and then zooming back in.





Love SpaceEngine!
 
PlutonianEmpireDate: Sunday, 10.04.2016, 18:53 | Message # 2214
Pioneer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 475
Status: Offline
D'oh! I forgot about that! lol




Specs: Dell Inspiron 5547 (Laptop); 8 gigabytes of RAM; Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-4210U CPU @ 1.70GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.4GHz; Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit; Graphics: Intel® HD Graphics 4400 (That's all there is :( )
 
Player1Date: Sunday, 10.04.2016, 20:21 | Message # 2215
Astronaut
Group: Users
Mexico
Messages: 48
Status: Offline
I want to make a suggestion about Shuttles thrusters...



Attachments: 9883645.jpg(75Kb) · 0748036.jpg(85Kb)





"We used to look up at the sky and wonder at our place in the stars, now we just look down and worry about our place in the dirt"
-Joseph Cooper, "Interstellar"
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Sunday, 10.04.2016, 21:02 | Message # 2216
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Quote Player1 ()
I mean, the blue thrusters can be implemented only for Interplanetary and Intestellar journeys, but for Aviation journeys it could be turned into a short yellow flame like this...

Why? Exhaust color is a function of what propellants are used, not what type of craft it is or what throttle setting it's at. Kerosene and oxygen produce a yellow flame, hydrogen and oxygen produces a very faint red-orange flame, methane and oxygen produces a blue-violet flame, and so on. Obviously whatever type of engine the shuttles in SE use are supposed to produce a blue flame. I don't see what the problem is.

If you want to nitpick about something, you could point out that the flame should expand more as the air gets thinner... but anyway, the choices made by SpaceEngineer reflect his own personal taste, it's artistic license, and given that we're talking about advanced sci-fi technology here, I think that's reasonable.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Sunday, 10.04.2016, 21:28 | Message # 2217
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4799
Status: Offline
Quote Himself ()
I am still having the same problem with crashing on the splash screen as before. The only things I managed to glean from reading earlier posts was that it could be an issue with OpenGL compatibility, but mine looks like it should be compatible. Another post suggested the problem, whatever it is, might be resolved in RC2, but apparently the software gods have chosen to frown upon me.

Look in the maen.cfg, whether LoaderAsyncShaders is false?

Quote isdebesl ()
Is it possible to add TYC or USNOA2 catalogs to SE?

No. These catalogs have no distance data, so cannot be placed correctly in 3D space. Which is obviousle needed in SE.





 
HimselfDate: Monday, 11.04.2016, 03:19 | Message # 2218
Astronaut
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 45
Status: Offline
It's fine now, SpaceEngineer, I just had to update my graphics driver.

On another note, I did find a couple more small bugs while exploring.
The accretion disk from this black hole suddenly disappeared when I got between 1500 and 2000 AU from it.



The star browser listed this sextuple system as having only 5 stars.

Attachments: 5431047.jpg(256Kb) · 6801838.jpg(276Kb) · 9217054.jpg(403Kb)
 
IdgeliosDate: Monday, 11.04.2016, 06:21 | Message # 2219
Astronaut
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 77
Status: Offline
Do brown dwarves actually superheat the planets around them by cooking them with infrared? I can't tell if this is a bug or not.

Also a strange bug happens to me from time to time where catalog stars inexplicably quantum link to each other and end up having the same planetary systems. Clicking on the star causes it to inexplicably select a different star hundreds of light years away and it seems to be a bug with certain catalog stars. Sol for instance seems to have been overwritten by 36 Ophiuchi and it causes some very weird results.

Attachments: 8647643.jpg(271Kb) · 6018712.jpg(209Kb) · 1989702.jpg(222Kb) · 3527823.jpg(225Kb)
 
Bells_TheoremDate: Monday, 11.04.2016, 06:25 | Message # 2220
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 188
Status: Offline
Quote Idgelios ()
Do brown dwarves actually superheat the planets around them by cooking them with infrared? I can't tell if this is a bug or not.


How close is the planet? If close enough, they may be getting a double whammy of tidal heating + infrared bath.
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Page 148 of 221«12146147148149150220221»
Search: