Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 131 of 221«12129130131132133220221»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
SpaceEngineerDate: Thursday, 31.03.2016, 14:14 | Message # 1951
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4795
Status: Offline
HarbingerDawn made even better Ceres Map, based on texture with 20k x 10k resolution. But now it looks much better without bump, because bump map have too low resolution, and actually it is fake. What is your opinion?

With bump:



Without bump:



With bump:



Without bump:


Attachments: 0323915.jpg(321Kb) · 3531734.jpg(325Kb) · 3210027.jpg(304Kb) · 6104603.jpg(320Kb)





 
SalvoDate: Thursday, 31.03.2016, 14:22 | Message # 1952
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Italy
Messages: 1400
Status: Offline
Quote SpaceEngineer ()
What is your opinion?

I would prefer without bump, because the bump maps are quite exaggerated and they make Ceres look chubby, while in reality it's pretty round:






The universe is not required to be in perfect harmony with human ambition.

CPU: Intel Core i7 4770 GPU: ASUS Radeon R9 270 RAM: 8 GBs

(still don't know why everyone is doing this...)


Edited by Salvo - Thursday, 31.03.2016, 14:22
 
quarior14Date: Thursday, 31.03.2016, 14:29 | Message # 1953
World Builder
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 640
Status: Offline
Quote Salvo ()
I would prefer without bump, because the bump maps are quite exaggerated and they make Ceres look chubby, while in reality it's pretty round:

Don't forget that in reality, much of the asteroids are not perfectly circular and Ceres is actually a slightly larger asteroid (wherever it is considered a dwarf planet).

But it is true that in the first picture, we see that it is a lower resolution, it looks a little fuzzy, or it is an impression? It is true that there I prefer without, unless it is possible that HarbingerDawn a better resolution.





Quarior
 
KexittDate: Thursday, 31.03.2016, 14:31 | Message # 1954
Pioneer
Group: Users
Russian Federation
Messages: 393
Status: Offline
Quote Salvo ()
it's pretty round:

It isn't. SE version of it is really very exaggerated but without it Ceres looks like a big balloon.






http://kexitt.deviantart.com/

Edited by Kexitt - Thursday, 31.03.2016, 14:31
 
quarior14Date: Thursday, 31.03.2016, 14:44 | Message # 1955
World Builder
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 640
Status: Offline
I forget to ask Space Engineers but is what the development of wormholes have advanced or it is suspended for the moment ? And also where is the shaders of wormholes, I know that it uses blackhole.glsl but there must be something else not ?
Also, do you plan to put rogue planet ?
I wish you a good continuation for your job and the team also who participates (for example here for the textures of the celestial body) for this wonderful intergalactic travel.





Quarior

Edited by quarior14 - Thursday, 31.03.2016, 15:46
 
FireintheholeDate: Thursday, 31.03.2016, 15:15 | Message # 1956
Pioneer
Group: Translators
Sweden
Messages: 356
Status: Offline
Quote SpaceEngineer ()
What is your opinion?

I think without. If it has too low resolution and also is not real, then it's better not to include it. Those who want it can download it.





Love SpaceEngine!
 
SalvoDate: Thursday, 31.03.2016, 15:16 | Message # 1957
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Italy
Messages: 1400
Status: Offline
Quote Kexitt ()
It isn't

Yeah, of course it's not perfectly round, you can see that even in the image I've posted. Still it's pretty round for being an asteroid. (due to its very high mass)

The best thing would be a middle way!





The universe is not required to be in perfect harmony with human ambition.

CPU: Intel Core i7 4770 GPU: ASUS Radeon R9 270 RAM: 8 GBs

(still don't know why everyone is doing this...)
 
FastFourierTransformDate: Thursday, 31.03.2016, 17:33 | Message # 1958
Pioneer
Group: Local Moderators
Spain
Messages: 538
Status: Offline
Quote SpaceEngineer ()
What is your opinion?

Way better without bump

Quote quarior14 ()
Also, do you plan to put rogue planet ?

Yes. It is stated in the TODO list:

Quote SpaceEngineer ()
Anyway, I should note: as long as SE is a scientifically accurate Universe simulator, then one day it will implement ALL space objects and phenomenon that are known to modern astronomy

Quote SpaceEngineer ()
The planets floating in the interstellar space (planemo)


And it's discussed in more detail here smile
 
huishbDate: Thursday, 31.03.2016, 17:50 | Message # 1959
Astronaut
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 72
Status: Offline
Quote Fireinthehole ()
huishb, it says nothing about your video card.

Where can i find that?

Quote DoctorOfSpace ()
You can find it in User.cfg

Thanks, i'll give it a try. but keep in mind i tried it in 0.9.7.4, and it didn't help.





Possessor: AMD FX™-4100 Quad-Core Possessor (CPUs), ~3.6 GHz
Memory: 8192MB RAM. Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce GT 610. Approx total memory: 4045 MB
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Thursday, 31.03.2016, 19:06 | Message # 1960
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3595
Status: Offline
Quote huishb ()
but keep in mind i tried it in 0.9.7.4, and it didn't help.


It could be your PC is just not up to doing this kind of rendering in that case sad





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
huishbDate: Thursday, 31.03.2016, 20:26 | Message # 1961
Astronaut
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 72
Status: Offline
So, would a more powerful graphics card work?




Possessor: AMD FX™-4100 Quad-Core Possessor (CPUs), ~3.6 GHz
Memory: 8192MB RAM. Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce GT 610. Approx total memory: 4045 MB
 
Donatelo200Date: Thursday, 31.03.2016, 20:46 | Message # 1962
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 261
Status: Offline
Yes, but first what is your current card?




CPU: Intel Core i7-4790K
GPU: Nvidia GTX 1080
SSD: Samsung 850 Evo 250GB
HDD: Toshiba DT01ACA200 2TB
HDD: WD Blue 1TB (2012)
RAM: Unknown 16G-D3-1600-MR 2x8GB
MBD: MSI Z97S SLI Krait Edition (MS-7922)
 
huishbDate: Thursday, 31.03.2016, 21:06 | Message # 1963
Astronaut
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 72
Status: Offline
Quote Donatelo200 ()
Yes, but first what is your current card?


my graphics card is a: NVIDIA GeForce GT 610. Approx total memory: 4045 MB.





Possessor: AMD FX™-4100 Quad-Core Possessor (CPUs), ~3.6 GHz
Memory: 8192MB RAM. Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce GT 610. Approx total memory: 4045 MB


Edited by huishb - Thursday, 31.03.2016, 21:09
 
huishbDate: Thursday, 31.03.2016, 21:20 | Message # 1964
Astronaut
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 72
Status: Offline
Quote DoctorOfSpace ()
Disable high quality black holes, this should reduce the impact on performance.


ok i just tried this now, it dident work sad





Possessor: AMD FX™-4100 Quad-Core Possessor (CPUs), ~3.6 GHz
Memory: 8192MB RAM. Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce GT 610. Approx total memory: 4045 MB
 
Donatelo200Date: Thursday, 31.03.2016, 21:26 | Message # 1965
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 261
Status: Offline
Yea I'm afraid your graphics card is far to old and weak to handle any kind of rendering like this. You are long overdue for an upgrade. If you have the money I'd suggest getting the Gtx 970 as it is the most powerful for the money you spend.




CPU: Intel Core i7-4790K
GPU: Nvidia GTX 1080
SSD: Samsung 850 Evo 250GB
HDD: Toshiba DT01ACA200 2TB
HDD: WD Blue 1TB (2012)
RAM: Unknown 16G-D3-1600-MR 2x8GB
MBD: MSI Z97S SLI Krait Edition (MS-7922)
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Page 131 of 221«12129130131132133220221»
Search: