RUS New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 120 of 221«12118119120121122220221»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
LookAtDatDakkaDate: Thursday, 10.03.2016, 02:56 | Message # 1786
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 156
Status: Offline
Quote PlutonianEmpire ()
I just noticed that the largest size procedural galaxies can be has been halved from about 320 kly to about 160 kly. Is there a reason for this?


No, it has been there ever since the beginning of procedural galaxies.






NVIDIA 960 GTX 2048MB
 
PlutonianEmpireDate: Thursday, 10.03.2016, 03:23 | Message # 1787
Pioneer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 475
Status: Offline
Edit: You're right. I forgot I was using radius instead of diameter. wacko




Specs: Dell Inspiron 5547 (Laptop); 8 gigabytes of RAM; Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-4210U CPU @ 1.70GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.4GHz; Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit; Graphics: Intel® HD Graphics 4400 (That's all there is :( )

Edited by PlutonianEmpire - Thursday, 10.03.2016, 04:38
 
LookAtDatDakkaDate: Thursday, 10.03.2016, 05:08 | Message # 1788
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 156
Status: Offline
Quote PlutonianEmpire ()
Edit: You're right. I forgot I was using radius instead of diameter. wacko


That's okay, here's the same galaxy, instead, it's measured in radius.



You can set the option to use radius here.






NVIDIA 960 GTX 2048MB
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Thursday, 10.03.2016, 08:24 | Message # 1789
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4799
Status: Offline
Quote PlutonianEmpire ()
Is there a full list somewhere of all the elements 0.974 RC 1 uses for atmosphere compositions?

Here the list. BTW if someone could correct values (whose commented with /**/ - do data), and abundances in comets and Jupiter, this will be helpful.


Quote PlutonianEmpire ()
Bummer. I was hoping to find flourine in there.

Fluorine is highly reactive, much more than oxygen, so large amounts of it in atmosphere is not possible. SE have a fake code to add oxygen if there is life present (with some probability), but not fluorine.

Quote jkirchman ()
A quick question, are the high definition solar system add ons included in RC1 and on? because they look the same as they did in the space engine 9.7.2 where i have the full 35 or so gigabytes. Thanks and game is running great for me.

Yes they are work with RC1. Just copy or move the pak files in the right place in RC1 folder. RC2 will have changed folder structure, later I will describe how to "migrate" to it without downloading everything again.





 
InariusDate: Thursday, 10.03.2016, 10:46 | Message # 1790
Explorer
Group: Local Moderators
France
Messages: 237
Status: Offline
A question : would it be difficult/hard to implement a way to avoid memory crash when a player raises the max magnitude and that suddenly the sky displays too many stars/planets/galaxies ?

I think that most players have experimented this kind of crash (and it's quite annoying), and I don't know whether the program can "know" the limit (which, I suppose, is different from one computer to another) or not.
 
dudefinalDate: Thursday, 10.03.2016, 17:44 | Message # 1791
Space Tourist
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 37
Status: Offline
What about formamide, formaldehyde, sulfates, phosphates... do you have hydrogen cyanide? http://speculativeevolution.wikia.com/wiki/Alternative_biochemistry I've designed a planet with exotic aliens that live off this stuff.




"Its impossible" - CASE "No, It's necessary" - Cooper

Piece of crap Toshiba AIO...
 
PlutonianEmpireDate: Thursday, 10.03.2016, 22:24 | Message # 1792
Pioneer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 475
Status: Offline
Quote SpaceEngineer ()
Fluorine is highly reactive, much more than oxygen, so large amounts of it in atmosphere is not possible. SE have a fake code to add oxygen if there is life present (with some probability), but not fluorine.

Does it react with chlorine (Cl and/or Cl2) at all? I was wondering if chlorine-fluorine atmospheres were possible, since I vaguely remember some worldbuilding authors using that mixture, but I don't know if it is possible or not (or who used this combo for their atmospheres).





Specs: Dell Inspiron 5547 (Laptop); 8 gigabytes of RAM; Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-4210U CPU @ 1.70GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.4GHz; Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit; Graphics: Intel® HD Graphics 4400 (That's all there is :( )

Edited by PlutonianEmpire - Thursday, 10.03.2016, 22:27
 
ProtoJeb21Date: Thursday, 10.03.2016, 23:32 | Message # 1793
Observer
Group: Newbies
United States
Messages: 3
Status: Offline
Is the latest patch of 0.9.7.4 compatible with Windows 10?
 
LookAtDatDakkaDate: Thursday, 10.03.2016, 23:37 | Message # 1794
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 156
Status: Offline
Yes, it's compatible with Windows 10.




NVIDIA 960 GTX 2048MB
 
MosfetDate: Thursday, 10.03.2016, 23:46 | Message # 1795
World Builder
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 731
Status: Offline
Chlorine trifluoride (ClF3) higly corrosive used in industrial processes and nuclear reprocessing. extremely reactive with anything organic or not, mostly explosive reactions, even with water. it's dangerous even as rocket propellant. Wikipaedia dixit :)
In a Dante's version of a planetary system, a planet with this compound in atmosphere could be called "Inferno". :)

ProtoJeb21, I see no problems in a freshly installed windows 10 (plus inexplicable three hours of new updates), only pay attention to folder permissions.





"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so."
Douglas N. Adams
My mods
Asus x555ub: cpu i5-6200u - ram 4gb - gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram


Edited by Mosfet - Thursday, 10.03.2016, 23:56
 
SnowfallDate: Friday, 11.03.2016, 02:18 | Message # 1796
Space Tourist
Group: Users
Canada
Messages: 30
Status: Offline
Do brown dwarfs heat up planets properly in the latest patches? I'm thinking of this post http://en.spaceengine.org/forum/11-3249-1 also giving brown dwarfs a custom texture map seems to make them glitch out.

There seems to be a glitch with the titan atmosphere model too. if the atmospheric pressure is above 1 bar, custom cloud maps with any transparency value glitch out making the transparent alpha areas turn black and solid. its really strange.

The new addon file system looks awesome. it gets to be really painful when updating the universe file all the time when moving my addons from one version of space engine to another. keep up the good work. still lots of work that needs to be done yet though!!





sorry for my dyslexia.

never stop imagining beautiful things.
 
the_nerervarineDate: Friday, 11.03.2016, 07:08 | Message # 1797
Space Pilot
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 106
Status: Offline
I was thinking of where to post this and I feel that this is the best place for this. Anyway now that 9.7.4's release is imminent and so much work and improvements were made from 9.7.3 that I can't even begin to imagine what 9.7.5 or whatever the next release will be called will even be like. That said what do you think should be the next major feature implemented in Space Engine? Personally I would love to see truly procedural nebulae and galaxies. Perhaps quasars too.




AMD FX-8320 8 core @4.0ghz , AMD R9 290 4GB, 8GB DDR3 @1866mhz, 1TB Hard Drive
 
DeathStarDate: Friday, 11.03.2016, 12:29 | Message # 1798
Pioneer
Group: Users
Croatia
Messages: 515
Status: Offline
Quote the_nerervarine ()
Personally I would love to see truly procedural nebulae and galaxies


I completely second this. I too personally think that nebulae and galaxies deserve some attention, but I'll be fine with anything else too, considering the fact that all "realism features" will be implemented sooner or later(including procedural nebulae and galaxies).
 
SnowfallDate: Friday, 11.03.2016, 21:39 | Message # 1799
Space Tourist
Group: Users
Canada
Messages: 30
Status: Offline
Quote the_nerervarine ()
procedural nebulae and galaxies

I would love to see this too. but i really fear the generator will have them looking uniform and obviously generated looking, like all the other generated planets and stars in space engine, without the preset realistic textures.





sorry for my dyslexia.

never stop imagining beautiful things.
 
Pjj56Date: Friday, 11.03.2016, 22:56 | Message # 1800
Observer
Group: Users
United Kingdom
Messages: 14
Status: Offline
SpaceEngineer, not sure how useful this is - these are values for most of the smaller hydrocarbons for Jupiter, and some others. They vary wildly at different pressures, so I've included the different ones I could find. Also, what do the values in the react column represent?
Attachments: Jupiter_atmo.txt(3Kb)





System: Windows 10, i5 3570k OC @ 4.2GHz, AMD HD7850 (2GB VRAM), 16GB RAM
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Page 120 of 221«12118119120121122220221»
Search: