Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 108 of 221«12106107108109110220221»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
abrasaxDate: Wednesday, 17.02.2016, 23:40 | Message # 1606
Space Tourist
Group: Users
Serbia
Messages: 33
Status: Offline
If I understand correctly star glow is rendered only on the cube faces which hold the said star. Since this is the most prominent glitch (visible cube edges when the star is close to it) when viewing in cube, fisheye or cyllindrical projection I was wondering if it was possible to turn off star glow. I mean just the post processing effect (if this is the case). This would greatly improve the overall experience in fisheye mode. Or if it was possible to render the glow on all faces but i think that would be more work.
 
PlutonianEmpireDate: Thursday, 18.02.2016, 02:15 | Message # 1607
Pioneer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 475
Status: Offline
Gas and Ice giants will lose detail textures when seen from a distance, as if the base cylindrical was missing:



This issue seems difficult to reproduce, as far as I can tell. :/

Attachments: 5026899.jpg(284Kb) · tmp_24457-se190.log(130Kb)





Specs: Dell Inspiron 5547 (Laptop); 8 gigabytes of RAM; Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-4210U CPU @ 1.70GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.4GHz; Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit; Graphics: Intel® HD Graphics 4400 (That's all there is :( )
 
LookAtDatDakkaDate: Thursday, 18.02.2016, 02:18 | Message # 1608
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 156
Status: Offline
If a catalog planet is too small and has an atmosphere, then the atmosphere height will be undefined with no atmosphere composition.

Example


To reproduce this:
Code

Planet
{
Radius 500
Atmosphere
{
Height <ANY>
Pressure <ANY>
}
Orbit
{
<orbital parameter goes here>
}
}

Attachments: 7582922.png(169Kb)





NVIDIA 960 GTX 2048MB

Edited by LookAtDatDakka - Thursday, 18.02.2016, 02:19
 
SalvoDate: Thursday, 18.02.2016, 07:25 | Message # 1609
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Italy
Messages: 1400
Status: Offline
SpaceEngineer, why you've used a simple Pluto map and not one of those fictional "complete" maps? smile




The universe is not required to be in perfect harmony with human ambition.

CPU: Intel Core i7 4770 GPU: ASUS Radeon R9 270 RAM: 8 GBs

(still don't know why everyone is doing this...)
 
MixaDate: Thursday, 18.02.2016, 09:57 | Message # 1610
Space Tourist
Group: Users
Bosnia and Herzegovina
Messages: 37
Status: Offline
I found an easter egg... Y-wing spacecraft. It's right next to the Milky Way, but I didn't get a chance to see it closely because I quickly clicked away, and now I can't find it. Was it always there or is it there as of this update?
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Thursday, 18.02.2016, 12:53 | Message # 1611
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Quote Salvo ()
SpaceEngineer, why you've used a simple Pluto map and not one of those fictional "complete" maps?

Because they're not real, and the focus of SE is realism. Why would he choose to falsely represent bodies in the solar system?





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Thursday, 18.02.2016, 13:05 | Message # 1612
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4798
Status: Offline
Quote n0b0dy ()
I did what you said (engaged hj sequence and quickly change control another ship) and it didn't crash. So it is graphic-related.

Ok thanks for tha info.

Quote abrasax ()
If I understand correctly star glow is rendered only on the cube faces which hold the said star. Since this is the most prominent glitch (visible cube edges when the star is close to it) when viewing in cube, fisheye or cyllindrical projection I was wondering if it was possible to turn off star glow. I mean just the post processing effect (if this is the case). This would greatly improve the overall experience in fisheye mode. Or if it was possible to render the glow on all faces but i think that would be more work.

That's not star glow, but star sprites. They cannot be turned off (otherwise you can't see stars in the galaxy).

Quote Salvo ()
SpaceEngineer, why you've used a simple Pluto map and not one of those fictional "complete" maps?

They are "too fictional". I didn;t saw fictional maps like used for Triton.

Quote Mixa ()
I found an easter egg... Y-wing spacecraft. It's right next to the Milky Way, but I didn't get a chance to see it closely because I quickly clicked away, and now I can't find it. Was it always there or is it there as of this update?

There are no easter eggs. It may be a spacecraft you have built in previous patch. If you install RC1 correctly (in it's own separate folder), there must be no spacecraft.





 
MixaDate: Thursday, 18.02.2016, 13:18 | Message # 1613
Space Tourist
Group: Users
Bosnia and Herzegovina
Messages: 37
Status: Offline
Quote SpaceEngineer ()
There are no easter eggs. It may be a spacecraft you have built in previous patch. If you install RC1 correctly (in it's own separate folder), there must be no spacecraft.


I haven't built any spacecrafts, ever. I use SE only for exploring, relaxing and screenshots. No other person than me have access to SE. Mentioned spacecraft is a commonly known spacecraft from Star Wars ( I did not watched Star Wars, so I had to google that up).

I have no idea how that ended up there. Now I'm genuinely scared.
 
Destructor1701Date: Thursday, 18.02.2016, 14:11 | Message # 1614
Pioneer
Group: Users
Ireland
Messages: 531
Status: Offline
There is a default spacecraft in SE called the "Y-wing", iirc. It's not the Star Wars one. Ctrl-F3 will bring up the list of existing spacecraft, you should be able to find it again there.




 
JackDoleDate: Thursday, 18.02.2016, 14:45 | Message # 1615
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1737
Status: Offline
Quote Destructor1701 ()
There is a default spacecraft in SE called the "Y-wing"

However, these ships are no longer present in SE 0974-RC1. If Mixa uses this version, and has instatlliert correctly, this ship should no longer exist.





Don't forget to look here.

 
VinnyDate: Thursday, 18.02.2016, 17:22 | Message # 1616
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 172
Status: Offline
Hi, Spaceengineer!

On the beginning of your post on this thread, I noticed the SE 0.9.7.4 RC1 released date is wrong, it should be 15 February 2016, not 15 February 2015. Thanks!

Cheers,
Vincent
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Thursday, 18.02.2016, 19:18 | Message # 1617
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Quote JackDole ()
these ships are no longer present in SE 0974-RC1

Incorrect, they are still there.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
JackDoleDate: Thursday, 18.02.2016, 19:42 | Message # 1618
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1737
Status: Offline
Quote HarbingerDawn ()
Incorrect, they are still there.

But the ships have to be built first. In the previous version, some ships were already flying around somewhere in the universe. dry





Don't forget to look here.



Edited by JackDole - Thursday, 18.02.2016, 19:42
 
Ettore_bilboDate: Thursday, 18.02.2016, 21:06 | Message # 1619
Space Pilot
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 93
Status: Offline
great work SpaceEngineer, thanks!

Until now all of terra with multicellular life that I found have an atmosphere composed by ~95% CO2 and ~5% SO2... there's some specific scientific reason for that? it should not be assumed that the presence of complex life could influences a bit more the atmospheric composition?
but the real question is, in this version of space engine you can find something else? and how likely? :-D
 
Tangle10Date: Friday, 19.02.2016, 00:38 | Message # 1620
Space Pilot
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 129
Status: Offline
Ettore_bilbo, I don't think he's implemented life changing oxygen content yet.




Tips for finding Earth-Like planets: Look for F, G, or K Class stars. M class habitables will almost always be tidelocked. Oceanias can, of course, also be habitable, they just have tiny amounts of land.
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Page 108 of 221«12106107108109110220221»
Search: