Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 106 of 221«12104105106107108220221»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
hanvulansiaDate: Tuesday, 16.02.2016, 22:48 | Message # 1576
Observer
Group: Users
Spain
Messages: 13
Status: Offline
Quote HarbingerDawn ()
hanvulansia, SE requires OpenGL 3.3, and you have 3.1. Try updating your video drivers.

Thank you for your answer.

So it seems to be a problem with intel not optimizing well their own drivers for Windows 10.

I hope they fix it soon. I'll go back to 0.9.7.2.
 
LookAtDatDakkaDate: Tuesday, 16.02.2016, 23:27 | Message # 1577
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 156
Status: Offline
Can you remove "first time" from "Compiling shaders first time"?


Attachments: 7644443.png(173Kb)





NVIDIA 960 GTX 2048MB

Edited by LookAtDatDakka - Tuesday, 16.02.2016, 23:28
 
RodrigoDate: Tuesday, 16.02.2016, 23:52 | Message # 1578
Explorer
Group: Local Moderators
Brazil
Messages: 285
Status: Offline
I cannot find any procedural red giant in the last release.
 
LookAtDatDakkaDate: Tuesday, 16.02.2016, 23:53 | Message # 1579
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 156
Status: Offline
ATTENTION ALL CATALOG MODDERS

No atmosphere model like this?



The atmosphere's name for the model has changed. If the planet's atmosphere model on your custom catalog is "Greenworld" and you want to fix this problem, you must change this above to "Chlorine".

If your catalog uses "Pinkworld",



sadly, this model have been removed. You must use another atmosphere model and change the hue and saturation to get the same pinkworld effect.

Attachments: 4398325.png(2Kb) · 1025583.jpg(128Kb)





NVIDIA 960 GTX 2048MB
 
parameciumkidDate: Wednesday, 17.02.2016, 00:22 | Message # 1580
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 277
Status: Offline
Okay I know it's sort of bad form, but given that the last page ended with a response from SpaceEngineer to some recent posts that didn't include mine, I worry he didn't end up seeing it and that it's been buried. So here it is again:

Alas, I too have found a bug.
Some of the moons (I have yet to find a planet that does this) have a temperature of -1 K. They cause serious lag when pulled up in the solar system chart thing (F2), never load their textures (just a black sphere), and after a few seconds will crash the game, unless the chart is closed and the system unloaded.
Here's a screenshot with an example of such a moon:

And an SE.log on the off chance that it helps: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/13276416/SpaceEngine/se.log

Hopefully this is just something wrong with my configuration settings. This didn't happen in Patch 8. The affected moons appear to mainly be titans, although this may be a coincidence.
A hypothesis: When certain moons are warmed by tidal heating, things that should be ice get converted to greenhouse gases, causing their temperatures to rise exponentially, turning even more of their interiors into greenhouse gas, until the temperature becomes infinite.
Interestingly, these moons also seem to not have proper diameter values, even though the information panel claims to define one. Zooming in on such a moon shows nothing (no moon), and then at a certain distance threshold the entire screen becomes black - there is at most a single frame in between these states.





Intel HD Graphics 4000 ;P
 
LookAtDatDakkaDate: Wednesday, 17.02.2016, 00:58 | Message # 1581
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 156
Status: Offline
Quote parameciumkid ()
Okay I know it's sort of bad form, but given that the last page ended with a response from SpaceEngineer to some recent posts that didn't include mine, I worry he didn't end up seeing it and that it's been buried. So here it is again:

Alas, I too have found a bug.
Some of the moons (I have yet to find a planet that does this) have a temperature of -1 K. They cause serious lag when pulled up in the solar system chart thing (F2), never load their textures (just a black sphere), and after a few seconds will crash the game, unless the chart is closed and the system unloaded.
Here's a screenshot with an example of such a moon:

And an SE.log on the off chance that it helps: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/13276416/SpaceEngine/se.log

Hopefully this is just something wrong with my configuration settings. This didn't happen in Patch 8. The affected moons appear to mainly be titans, although this may be a coincidence.
A hypothesis: When certain moons are warmed by tidal heating, things that should be ice get converted to greenhouse gases, causing their temperatures to rise exponentially, turning even more of their interiors into greenhouse gas, until the temperature becomes infinite.
Interestingly, these moons also seem to not have proper diameter values, even though the information panel claims to define one. Zooming in on such a moon shows nothing (no moon), and then at a certain distance threshold the entire screen becomes black - there is at most a single frame in between these states.


I went to your planets and the atmosphere model for this planet above crashed my simulator. Not even a beast can handle this.

Here's the event that slowly crashed my simulator

First, it looked like this for less than a second,


then, my framerate slowed,



and eventually, it crashed due to simulator's memory problems.



I also got a log.

Attachments: 5350587.png(223Kb) · 4607506.png(292Kb) · 1529238.png(8Kb) · 9467274.log(41Kb)





NVIDIA 960 GTX 2048MB

Edited by LookAtDatDakka - Wednesday, 17.02.2016, 00:59
 
the_nerervarineDate: Wednesday, 17.02.2016, 02:50 | Message # 1582
Space Pilot
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 106
Status: Offline
I don't know if this has been touched upon but I really enjoy the new music tracks that were added.




AMD FX-8320 8 core @4.0ghz , AMD R9 290 4GB, 8GB DDR3 @1866mhz, 1TB Hard Drive
 
Wicker1MDate: Wednesday, 17.02.2016, 03:38 | Message # 1583
Astronaut
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 55
Status: Offline
I want the Pinkworld model back.
 
Tangle10Date: Wednesday, 17.02.2016, 04:02 | Message # 1584
Space Pilot
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 129
Status: Offline
I feel that now that we have atmospheric composition and terras with multicellular land and sea life are so much more rare, we either need atmospheric composition in the filters or more than 10000 stars detection in the filter.




Tips for finding Earth-Like planets: Look for F, G, or K Class stars. M class habitables will almost always be tidelocked. Oceanias can, of course, also be habitable, they just have tiny amounts of land.

Edited by Tangle10 - Wednesday, 17.02.2016, 04:02
 
SiliconDate: Wednesday, 17.02.2016, 04:41 | Message # 1585
Astronaut
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 51
Status: Offline
Asteroids still have extremely long rotation periods.
 
PlutonianEmpireDate: Wednesday, 17.02.2016, 06:02 | Message # 1586
Pioneer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 474
Status: Offline
Quote Tangle10 ()
I feel that now that we have atmospheric composition and terras with multicellular land and sea life are so much more rare, we either need atmospheric composition in the filters or more than 10000 stars detection in the filter.

So, Space Engine more closely matches the reality of the Rare Earth Theorem Theory? Cool! biggrin





Specs: Dell Inspiron 5547 (Laptop); 8 gigabytes of RAM; Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-4210U CPU @ 1.70GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.4GHz; Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit; Graphics: Intel® HD Graphics 4400 (That's all there is :( )
 
the_nerervarineDate: Wednesday, 17.02.2016, 06:54 | Message # 1587
Space Pilot
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 106
Status: Offline
Quote PlutonianEmpire ()
So, Space Engine more closely matches the reality of the Rare Earth Theorem Theory? Cool!


Also the Terra's with multicellular life I've been finding(terrestrial and marine) have atmospheres that are either toxic enough to shorten the human lifespan significantly or even near instantly lethal. It makes you want to take care of our home even more because perhaps truly Earth is the only place in the Universe we can live.





AMD FX-8320 8 core @4.0ghz , AMD R9 290 4GB, 8GB DDR3 @1866mhz, 1TB Hard Drive

Edited by the_nerervarine - Wednesday, 17.02.2016, 06:55
 
ZatSoloDate: Wednesday, 17.02.2016, 07:38 | Message # 1588
Space Pilot
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 111
Status: Offline
Here is a little bug I've found.

Using, in user.cfg, FOV 70.0 and DefaultFOV 70.0 ,when I am in front of a nebula and I save the place and/or exit SE, when I restart SE (or reload the place) the nebula disappears.

Temporary Workaround
If I set down FOV to 50 or 45 this doesn't happen. ;)

EDIT
------
I forgot:
it seems that the problem occurs by setting, in user.cfg, FOV and DefaultFOV >= 60.
Between 60 and 65 it occurs sometimes. Above FOV 70 occurs always.


Edited by ZatSolo - Wednesday, 17.02.2016, 10:11
 
PlutonianEmpireDate: Wednesday, 17.02.2016, 09:27 | Message # 1589
Pioneer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 474
Status: Offline
Quote the_nerervarine ()
Also the Terra's with multicellular life I've been finding(terrestrial and marine) have atmospheres that are either toxic enough to shorten the human lifespan significantly or even near instantly lethal. It makes you want to take care of our home even more because perhaps truly Earth is the only place in the Universe we can live.

I was being silly. In reality I find the Rare Earth theory depressing and it makes me feel lonely when I look up, especially since, from my understanding of astronomy and space, our ever-expanding knowledge of space seems to increasingly bring us closer to proving it.

Doesn't stop me from enjoying Space Engine and my own world building projects. biggrin





Specs: Dell Inspiron 5547 (Laptop); 8 gigabytes of RAM; Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-4210U CPU @ 1.70GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.4GHz; Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit; Graphics: Intel® HD Graphics 4400 (That's all there is :( )

Edited by PlutonianEmpire - Wednesday, 17.02.2016, 09:29
 
SalvoDate: Wednesday, 17.02.2016, 10:23 | Message # 1590
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Italy
Messages: 1400
Status: Offline
Quote the_nerervarine ()
Earth is the only place in the Universe we can live.

Yeah. It like having a key and trying to open all the doors you can see.

You might find some of them who seems perfectly fitting, but for a matter of millimeters, you can't open
that door, even if its key seems pretty identical to the one you have.





The universe is not required to be in perfect harmony with human ambition.

CPU: Intel Core i7 4770 GPU: ASUS Radeon R9 270 RAM: 8 GBs

(still don't know why everyone is doing this...)
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Page 106 of 221«12104105106107108220221»
Search: