Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 4 of 37«1234563637»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.7.3
Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.7.3
SpaceEngineerDate: Thursday, 16.04.2015, 22:59 | Message # 1
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4798
Status: Offline
Please post here all of your reports about bugs or crashes in SpaceEngine. Before you post any bugs, please follow these steps:

  • First of all, make sure you updated your video card drivers. This may solve 99% of all isues.
  • Read the Fixing common issues section below. It is possible that your problem can be solved there.
  • Read the List of known issues section below and make sure that your bugs are not on in it. You can use your browser's word finder to help search the list.
  • If the bug is not on the list then please post it in this thread. Attach to your message a screenshot (if possible) and a log file (it's called the se.log and is located in the SpaceEngine/system/ directory). Only the log file will help us to understand your problem and find a solution!



    Fixing videocard-specific issues

    If you do not know which videocard do you have, open the system/se.log file in the text editor and read the Vendor information in the beginning:

    INITIALIZING OPENGL
    [MT] Vendor: ATI Technologies Inc.


    Then look for a solution for you:

    Nvidia: Major lag spikes


    Nvidia: Water missing on terras, clouds are below the surface


    ATI/AMD: Crash on approaching to the black hole, neutron star or white dwarf, on using ship's hyperdrive, or when enabling the Oculus Rift mode or the Fish Eye mode


    ATI/AMD: Crash on Startup on Windows 10


    Intel HD: Glitchy landscape and textures on planets


    Intel HD: Red clouds on Earth




    Fixing common issues

    1) Obsolete or incompatible drivers


    2) Weak system


    3) System with hybrid graphics (NVidia/ATI + Intel HD)


    4) Artifacts on procedural planets


    5) Frequent crashing while generating planetary surface


    6) Spaceship disappears when far from a star


    7) Blurry textures on Solar system planets


    8) Problems with very high resolution displays


    9) Problems in Windows 10 + AMD/ATI




    List of known issues

    Green items have been fixed for the next release

    Not real bugs, but effects caused by limitations in the engine:


    Real bugs:
  •  
    SpaceEngineerDate: Sunday, 19.04.2015, 13:44 | Message # 46
    Author of Space Engine
    Group: Administrators
    Russian Federation
    Messages: 4798
    Status: Offline
    Quote HarbingerDawn ()
    Just type set ClipZNear 0.002 in the console, or use whatever other values you want. You can also adjust it in the config, but console is easier.

    And be ready for z-fighting of clouds and water with planet surface (blinking polygons).

    Quote parameciumkid ()
    I would have posted my SE.log but, unsurprisingly to me, it didn't say anything useful whatsoever. I don't mean it was unintelligible, rather it just said a bunch of normal things like "starting SE", "loading blah blah blah..." and then just ended when the game crashed.

    Just give me the log after crashing. I guess you have AMD and it crashed on generating mipmaps, so changing MipmapsMode in main.cfg to 1 or even to 0 might fix that.

    Quote masterchief117kd ()
    i think i fixed the lag of the game i had to switch to VGA cable

    LOLWUT?





     
    BlueDracheDate: Sunday, 19.04.2015, 19:20 | Message # 47
    Space Pilot
    Group: Users
    United States
    Messages: 87
    Status: Offline
    So ... ran into this after leaving SE running while I had to supervise my horse's hooves being trimmed. Space Engine ran behind the screensaver for about an hour while I was away. Came back and went back into SE and toodled around the system listed, flying from the first planet to the last planet and then noodling around the planet's moon system. Flew out to the 10th moon to about half a LY out, turned on orbits, turned them off, then flew into the first moon and was looking for a place to land.

    NVIDIA didn't like it. :/

    Attached is a copy of my se.log and a screenshot of the specific error that popped up.



    (Edit: Fixed typo)

    Attachments: 5076997.log(49Kb)


    Edited by BlueDrache - Sunday, 19.04.2015, 21:06
     
    FaceDeerDate: Sunday, 19.04.2015, 19:52 | Message # 48
    Space Pilot
    Group: Users
    Canada
    Messages: 117
    Status: Offline
    Here's one I haven't seen reported yet. At one point I was flying around near a planet's surface and found a strange little black triangle among the craggy peaks of a mountain range. It was only a few meters across and looked like it wasn't a natural part of the landscape, but I kind of shrugged and moved on. It was such an isolated little glitch it didn't seem important at the time.

    But I just came across a more extreme example. The moon RS 8409-1792-7-215462-162 4.1 has large areas that are speckled all over with similar black polygons. From very high altitude it's just a bunch of dark pixels scattered around, but as I lower my altitude the pattern randomly changes and then when I get to within a few kilometers I can see that the black spots are variously-shaped polygons.

    My guess would be that the new texturing system that reduces the appearance of tiling is leaving "gaps" in some rare circumstances?

    Attachments: se-black_textur.log(40Kb) · 6567096.jpg(191Kb) · 1415100.jpg(359Kb)


    Edited by FaceDeer - Sunday, 19.04.2015, 20:00
     
    BambusmanDate: Sunday, 19.04.2015, 19:58 | Message # 49
    Pioneer
    Group: SE team
    Germany
    Messages: 408
    Status: Offline
    Quote BlueDrache ()
    Attached is a copy of my se.log and a screenshot of the specific error that popped up.

    i had the same error everytime i entered an planet but after i changed my OS it worked again.
     
    TheOutsiderDate: Sunday, 19.04.2015, 20:59 | Message # 50
    Observer
    Group: Users
    Antarctica
    Messages: 12
    Status: Offline
    How about this...
    Is it a bug or whatever?

     
    HarbingerDawnDate: Sunday, 19.04.2015, 21:23 | Message # 51
    Cosmic Curator
    Group: Administrators
    United States
    Messages: 8714
    Status: Offline
    Quote TheOutsider ()
    How about this...
    Is it a bug or whatever?

    The ice world being hot? Yes, it's probably a result of bad tidal heating calculations.





    All forum users, please read this!
    My SE mods and addons
    Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM


    Edited by HarbingerDawn - Sunday, 19.04.2015, 21:24
     
    FaceDeerDate: Monday, 20.04.2015, 00:52 | Message # 52
    Space Pilot
    Group: Users
    Canada
    Messages: 117
    Status: Offline
    Quote HarbingerDawn ()
    I also notice that not one person who has reported this problem has posted their log, or even their system specs! This is necessary information for determining the cause. Like it says in the OP, everyone, PLEASE POST YOUR LOGS!


    I'm one of the ones who's encountered the aurora framerate problem. I fixed it with the DETAIL/TEX_NOISE swap in the aurora shader that SpaceEngineer suggested earlier in this thread. Attached are two logs, one made with DETAIL enabled and the other made with TEX_NOISE enabled. I did my testing with the camera down near the surface of the north pole of RS 0-0-0-251-25161-7-2016163-527 B6.1, which is a close-in moon of an ice world where both moon and parent have aurorae. I figured this was a good way to maximize any impact aurora shaders might be having.

    Attachments: se_DETAIL_auror.log(33Kb) · se_TEX_NOISE_au.log(33Kb)
     
    Pjj56Date: Monday, 20.04.2015, 09:17 | Message # 53
    Observer
    Group: Users
    United Kingdom
    Messages: 14
    Status: Offline
    I'm also having the same lava bug as Joey_Penguin:



    System specs:

    Intel 4570k @ 4.3 GHz
    2x AMD HD7850 (2GB VRAM)
    8GB DDR3 RAM

    Attachments: 0614025.log(136Kb)





    System: Windows 10, i5 3570k OC @ 4.2GHz, AMD HD7850 (2GB VRAM), 16GB RAM
     
    JOEBLOGGSDate: Monday, 20.04.2015, 10:21 | Message # 54
    Observer
    Group: Newbies
    United Kingdom
    Messages: 7
    Status: Offline
    Graphics error. When I land on the planet and look up into the sky, I see these black dots appear. Is this a bug or a GPU error? My graphics processing unit is Intel HD 4000 integrated.

    The picture is the first attachment the second is my log.

    Attachments: 5953547.jpg(204Kb) · 5935321.log(41Kb)





    ONE DAY I WILL HAVE A POWERFUL GPU TO RUN THIS GAME

    Edited by JOEBLOGGS - Monday, 20.04.2015, 10:21
     
    parameciumkidDate: Tuesday, 21.04.2015, 00:10 | Message # 55
    Explorer
    Group: Users
    United States
    Messages: 277
    Status: Offline

    For those concerned, I actually managed to stabilize it, but I had to be naughty and install a graphics driver that was "not recommended" for my PC. SpaceEngine is now free of game-breaking bugs, although I still have those pesky red clouds ^^;
    I'm leaving my bug report up here since there's still some sort of loophole in the generator that's going to need attention sooner or later wink





    Intel HD Graphics 4000 ;P

    Edited by parameciumkid - Tuesday, 21.04.2015, 19:00
     
    the_nerervarineDate: Tuesday, 21.04.2015, 22:51 | Message # 56
    Space Pilot
    Group: Users
    United States
    Messages: 106
    Status: Offline
    Any fix for the buggy lava flows yet? Sticking with 9.72 for now...




    AMD FX-8320 8 core @4.0ghz , AMD R9 290 4GB, 8GB DDR3 @1866mhz, 1TB Hard Drive

    Edited by the_nerervarine - Tuesday, 21.04.2015, 22:51
     
    JadestarDate: Wednesday, 22.04.2015, 03:07 | Message # 57
    Astronaut
    Group: Users
    United States
    Messages: 70
    Status: Offline
    Help needed.....

    The new version is crashing upon launch for me. Meanwhile an installation of 0.9.7.2 runs just fine.

    My video card is an AMD R9 270X.

    My se.log file is attached.

    Attachments: 7965113.log(8Kb)
     
    HarbingerDawnDate: Wednesday, 22.04.2015, 09:04 | Message # 58
    Cosmic Curator
    Group: Administrators
    United States
    Messages: 8714
    Status: Offline
    Quote Jadestar ()
    The new version is crashing upon launch for me.

    Try deleting atioglxx.dll from the system folder.





    All forum users, please read this!
    My SE mods and addons
    Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
     
    cyprienarnaudDate: Wednesday, 22.04.2015, 19:10 | Message # 59
    Observer
    Group: Newbies
    Pirate
    Messages: 1
    Status: Offline
    First of all: hello everyone.

    Since I applied the 0.9.7.3 update to Space Engine, I am experiencing massive stutters during any planetary landscape generation: it's impossible for me to "fly" around a planet (or any generated celestial body) smoothly.
    But my framerate is "over the top" (80 fps) when all the landscape around me is fully generated, or when I'm travelling around the interstellar void.
    I've never had these stutters on the 0.9.7.2 version of Space Engine.

    I first tried to lower my LOD setting: no deal, stutters are happening as a landscape "tile" is generated.
    I tried to tweak most of the "loading" parameters that I could understand into the Main.cfg: no success.
    So I enabled the LoaderBenchmark and it seems that sometimes, some tasks that are qualified of "creating image" are taking more than 20 ms to be performed:

    Example:

    [01] Creating stars block "S 1792-7-1060650"
    [MT] 22.508 ms

    [MT] Creating image "11/Clouds0/Bump/neg_z/9_12_177"
    [MT] 22.506 ms
    [03] Creating stars block "S 1792-8-8601635"
    [MT] 24.563 ms
    [MT] Creating image "11/Clouds0/Bump/neg_z/9_12_178"
    [MT] 22.567 ms
    [00] Creating stars block "S 1575-4-296"
    [MT] 21.600 ms
    [01] Creating stars block "S 1792-5-12337"
    [MT] Creating image "11/Clouds0/Bump/neg_z/9_13_178"
    [00] Creating stars block "S 1550-3-446"
    [MT] 22.437 ms
    [00] Creating stars block "S 1792-6-30884"
    [MT] Creating image "11/Clouds0/Bump/neg_z/9_13_179"
    [01] Creating stars block "S 1792-7-1060621"
    [MT] 24.234 ms

    Here is also the first part of the se.log:


    For info, my setup is:

    AMD FX-8350 (4GHz)
    AMD RADEON HD 7950 (3 Go VRAM)
    16 Go Ram DDR3
    Windows 8.1 64bits

    Nevertheless, thanks you Space Engineer for creating this wonderful software!
     
    GalaxusDate: Friday, 24.04.2015, 23:04 | Message # 60
    Observer
    Group: Newbies
    United Kingdom
    Messages: 2
    Status: Offline
    Hi folks. First of all, I wanted to say how impressed I am with Space Engine - it's amazing. I'm sad to say I know very little about astronomy, but I'm just enjoying the fantastic views that the program generates.

    Anyway, I think I've encountered a bug. I installed the .973 patch a few days ago, and I'd not experienced this issue with .972. After I first had the problem, I updated my video driver, but the problem persists.

    What's happening is that when viewing the sky from a particular planet's surface, while moving the camera, the sky will suddenly flash from blue to almost completely white. Angling the camera around reveals what appears to be an enormous sun as viewed through cloud, and the sun that was visible when the sky was blue was much smaller. After a few attempts at moving the camera to get the sky to switch back to blue, Space engine will go completely black, except for the text. This has happened on a few occasions (I have stayed on this planet for a while as it's a nice one, so I'm not sure if it will happen on others). When SE goes black I have always exited. I'm attaching a log file copied just after the most recent 'blackout' occurred and before I exited.

    Here's a screenshot of RS 0-0-0-312-11134-8-11262404-126 B4 with a blue sky...



    moving the camera angle slightly flashes the sky to white...



    moving the camera a bit more reveals the giant ghost sun...



    Then, as mentioned above, after a few more camera moves to try to regain the blue sky, SE goes completely black (except for the text).

    Thanks for all your hard work on this fantastic creation!

    Attachments: 8369936.log(36Kb)
     
    Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.7.3
    Page 4 of 37«1234563637»
    Search: