Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 23 of 37«1221222324253637»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.7.3
Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.7.3
SpaceEngineerDate: Thursday, 16.04.2015, 22:59 | Message # 1
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4798
Status: Offline
Please post here all of your reports about bugs or crashes in SpaceEngine. Before you post any bugs, please follow these steps:

  • First of all, make sure you updated your video card drivers. This may solve 99% of all isues.
  • Read the Fixing common issues section below. It is possible that your problem can be solved there.
  • Read the List of known issues section below and make sure that your bugs are not on in it. You can use your browser's word finder to help search the list.
  • If the bug is not on the list then please post it in this thread. Attach to your message a screenshot (if possible) and a log file (it's called the se.log and is located in the SpaceEngine/system/ directory). Only the log file will help us to understand your problem and find a solution!



    Fixing videocard-specific issues

    If you do not know which videocard do you have, open the system/se.log file in the text editor and read the Vendor information in the beginning:

    INITIALIZING OPENGL
    [MT] Vendor: ATI Technologies Inc.


    Then look for a solution for you:

    Nvidia: Major lag spikes


    Nvidia: Water missing on terras, clouds are below the surface


    ATI/AMD: Crash on approaching to the black hole, neutron star or white dwarf, on using ship's hyperdrive, or when enabling the Oculus Rift mode or the Fish Eye mode


    ATI/AMD: Crash on Startup on Windows 10


    Intel HD: Glitchy landscape and textures on planets


    Intel HD: Red clouds on Earth




    Fixing common issues

    1) Obsolete or incompatible drivers


    2) Weak system


    3) System with hybrid graphics (NVidia/ATI + Intel HD)


    4) Artifacts on procedural planets


    5) Frequent crashing while generating planetary surface


    6) Spaceship disappears when far from a star


    7) Blurry textures on Solar system planets


    8) Problems with very high resolution displays


    9) Problems in Windows 10 + AMD/ATI




    List of known issues

    Green items have been fixed for the next release

    Not real bugs, but effects caused by limitations in the engine:


    Real bugs:
  •  
    giacomolawranceDate: Sunday, 08.11.2015, 17:06 | Message # 331
    Observer
    Group: Newbies
    Pirate
    Messages: 1
    Status: Offline
    Giants and supergiants don't load right: https://gyazo.com/182079b060548c812ffabb5d6b8c1682
     
    HarbingerDawnDate: Monday, 09.11.2015, 11:02 | Message # 332
    Cosmic Curator
    Group: Administrators
    United States
    Messages: 8714
    Status: Offline
    giacomolawrance, post your se.log file as described at the top of the thread.




    All forum users, please read this!
    My SE mods and addons
    Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
     
    JadestarDate: Sunday, 15.11.2015, 07:22 | Message # 333
    Astronaut
    Group: Users
    United States
    Messages: 70
    Status: Offline
    It's been 7 months since my first help request on this and 2 months exactly to the day since my last request so I am reposting the following in hopes I might be able to finally run 0.9.7.3 before the end of 2015.

    Please help if you can. I am not the only one having this issue

    I am really hoping that someone can help.

    I've been following this thread for months in hopes that a solution would work.

    I posted back on page 4 the following:

    Quote
    Help needed.....

    The new version is crashing upon launch for me. Meanwhile an installation of 0.9.7.2 runs just fine.

    My video card is an AMD R9 270X.

    My se.log file is attached.


    The solution offered was:

    Quote HarbingerDawn ()
    Quote Jadestar ()
    The new version is crashing upon launch for me.

    Try deleting atioglxx.dll from the system folder.



    I've tried this but still haven't been able to get past the crash at startup. (see screenshot)

    Before deleting atioglxx.dl:


    AFTER deleting atioglxx.dl:


    As you can see, there is no change. :(

    Has anyone else with an ATI card had this problem persist after deleting atioglxx.dll? Did you eventually solve it?

    I have no problems running .0.9.7.2 but 0.9.7.3 and higher all crash on startup.

    I've done several clean installs of 0.9.7.2 + the 0.9.7.3 patch without any success at all. I really hope I am not going to be stuck with 0.9.7.2. That would be incredibly sad. :(

    I love Space Engine, I've even donated. I don't want to get left behind.

    My attached log is here: http://en.spaceengine.org/_fr/29/9039229.log


    Edited by Jadestar - Sunday, 15.11.2015, 07:32
     
    HarbingerDawnDate: Sunday, 15.11.2015, 09:30 | Message # 334
    Cosmic Curator
    Group: Administrators
    United States
    Messages: 8714
    Status: Offline
    Jadestar, try moving your SpaceEngine folder to somewhere other than Program Files. You can also try running as administrator.




    All forum users, please read this!
    My SE mods and addons
    Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
     
    JadestarDate: Sunday, 15.11.2015, 09:55 | Message # 335
    Astronaut
    Group: Users
    United States
    Messages: 70
    Status: Offline
    Quote HarbingerDawn ()
    nistrator.


    Quote HarbingerDawn ()
    Jadestar, try moving your SpaceEngine folder to somewhere other than Program Files. You can also try running as administrator.


    Thanks for the quick reply.

    I just tried both but both failed.

    I do have a question for you, Space Enginere or anyone else who knows though: Someone here suggested I try the latest AMD beta drivers (15 something) via the command line (i think?).

    However, everything I've ever read on this forum cautioned us AMD users from using the beta drivers and last I checked I think 14.12 or was it 14.4 was the preferred AMD driver for Space Engine.

    Also a more general question. What is the prefered way of uninstalling old drivers? I just follow the instructions from AMD but I've seen other people say that's not enough?


    Edited by Jadestar - Sunday, 15.11.2015, 09:56
     
    HarbingerDawnDate: Sunday, 15.11.2015, 13:21 | Message # 336
    Cosmic Curator
    Group: Administrators
    United States
    Messages: 8714
    Status: Offline
    I don't know a whole lot when it comes to uninstalling drivers, and with Nvidia just installing the new driver has always been good enough. So someone else will have to come along and answer that question.




    All forum users, please read this!
    My SE mods and addons
    Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
     
    serejafadeevDate: Thursday, 19.11.2015, 19:29 | Message # 337
    Observer
    Group: Newbies
    Pirate
    Messages: 1
    Status: Offline
    Hi!

    I am having the following error on wine wine-1.7.53:



    What seems to be the problem?
     
    HarbingerDawnDate: Friday, 20.11.2015, 01:13 | Message # 338
    Cosmic Curator
    Group: Administrators
    United States
    Messages: 8714
    Status: Offline
    serejafadeev, please upload your se.log file as described in the opening post.




    All forum users, please read this!
    My SE mods and addons
    Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
     
    SalvoDate: Friday, 20.11.2015, 13:54 | Message # 339
    Star Engineer
    Group: Local Moderators
    Italy
    Messages: 1400
    Status: Offline
    Jadestar, I have an AMD R9 270 (not x) that causes no problems.

    I use the drivers "15.201.1151.0", but SE was working (more or less) even with stock drivers.

    I don't think your problem is related with drivers, because if it was SE would run anyway but with artifacts, it seems like that's not the case here.

    For uninstalling drivers I can't really help you... what I know is that you have to install the ones you actually want...

    I suggest you to try to install a Virtual Machine and try use SE there, that would show if there are some OS related problems.





    The universe is not required to be in perfect harmony with human ambition.

    CPU: Intel Core i7 4770 GPU: ASUS Radeon R9 270 RAM: 8 GBs

    (still don't know why everyone is doing this...)
     
    JATODate: Thursday, 26.11.2015, 10:12 | Message # 340
    Observer
    Group: Newbies
    Australia
    Messages: 4
    Status: Offline
    Resolved (well sorta), see edit for fix

    I have an issue with comet tails, the example for which is below. I normally just run SE without comet tails on but I wish I could. I run a laptop with Intel HD graphics, which are known to be pretty shocking with SE I believe.

    EDIT:

    I resolved the issue with a neat little fix. While having a glance through the log, I noticed there are two sections referring to comets, "shaders/comet_tails.glsl" and "planets/comets.sc". It's the second one that was causing the issue.

    In the catalogs folder there are 2 *.pak files, "catalogs0973.pak" and "catalogsSE.pak". I opened both of those, and "planets/comets.sc" was only in "catalogsSE.pak", so I simply copied it into "catalogs0973.pak" and now I can finally see comet tails!

    I delved deep through every troubleshooting thread in search of this issue that I had and I found nobody else seems to have ever had this issue, which makes me think I may have had a bad download or something like that, I'm not sure. But there's my fix for my own issue in case I'm not the only one!

    EDIT: EDIT:

    Turns out it's not exactly a permanent fix, and it often reverts back to how the image looks. Also I feel like the editing of the files is the reason my Sol system has disappeared, leaving me to explore the procedural universe instead.

    Attachments: 6880151.jpg(101Kb) · 2399033.log(67Kb)


    Edited by JATO - Saturday, 26.12.2015, 13:12
     
    TheRumpusDate: Thursday, 26.11.2015, 17:57 | Message # 341
    Observer
    Group: Newbies
    Pirate
    Messages: 2
    Status: Offline
    I have just had Windows 7 Professional 64 bit installed on a Dell Precision T3500 with 21GB of RAM, W3530 Xeon 3GHz quad core processor, with an NVIDIA FX 4800 graphics card. I am using a 1028*768 screen mode.

    I have installed the latest drivers from the NVIDIA site, well one of the many drivers possible, and I have just installed space engine 0.9.7.2 in "c:\program files" and it didn't even start and Windows reported that it "had stopped working" with the following error info

    Problem signature:
    Problem Event Name: BEX
    Application Name: SpaceEngine.exe
    Application Version: 0.9.7.2
    Application Timestamp: 549da900
    Fault Module Name: SpaceEngine.exe
    Fault Module Version: 0.9.7.2
    Fault Module Timestamp: 549da900
    Exception Offset: 000abcc2
    Exception Code: c0000417
    Exception Data: 00000000
    OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.48
    Locale ID: 2057
    Additional Information 1: 3cc3
    Additional Information 2: 3cc3e5e140f18763c6f3bd3e34639414
    Additional Information 3: b7d9
    Additional Information 4: b7d9da6ecd26bf9014f7664e01e55a0a

    There doesn't seem to be an se.log file in my spaceengine/system directory

    I am new to Windows 7 so I may not be familiar with all of the security/admin issues.

    Help!

    ---------------------------------------------

    Update

    I am pleased to report that running Space engine as administrator fixed the problem.

    Jesus guys!!! It is not very professional to fail to start with an exception and system error just because the program is not run by the administrator account. I thought I was running as an administrator just to add to my confusion.


    Edited by TheRumpus - Thursday, 26.11.2015, 18:04
     
    giftDate: Wednesday, 09.12.2015, 02:48 | Message # 342
    Space Pilot
    Group: Users
    United States
    Messages: 108
    Status: Offline
    When there's a lot of objects in one screen, space engine will ether crash or my entire computer will CRASH AND RESTART. Can you make graphics settings more advanced?
     
    yamizaki-1995Date: Thursday, 10.12.2015, 16:42 | Message # 343
    Observer
    Group: Newbies
    Pirate
    Messages: 4
    Status: Offline
    SpaceEngineer, hello i have an issue where the surface kinda disappears even while using all the addons ( 37 gb ) and 0.9.7.3 version,
    Attachments: 4252488.jpg(183Kb) · 3185881.jpg(179Kb) · 7708021.jpg(144Kb)
     
    hyp_cosDate: Friday, 11.12.2015, 16:17 | Message # 344
    Observer
    Group: Newbies
    China
    Messages: 2
    Status: Offline
    There are 4 problems on star-generating process.

    From data of [Shift+F3] browser, I guess that the stars are first generated by luminosity, then other properties.

    The first bug is the wrong mass-luminosity relation of main-sequence stars.
    In reality, L ~ M^2.3 for M below 0.43 M(sun), L ~ M^4 for M between 0.43 M(sun) and 2 M(sun), L ~ M^3.5 for M between 2 M(sun) and 20 M(sun), and L ~ M for M over 20 M(sun). In SE, I found that L/L(sun) = 0.23 * (M/M(sun))^2.3 for M below 0.43 M(sun), L/L(sun) = (M/M(sun))^4 for M between 0.43 M(sun) and 2 M(sun), and L/L(sun) = (M/M(sun))^3.5 for M between 2 M(sun) and 20 M(sun). The gap on 0.43 M(sun) is a small bug, e.g.
    RS 0-118-8-9449875-533 is an M0V, with mass 0.43006 M(sun) and luminosity 0.034207 L(sun), while
    RS 0-118-8-9449653-414 is an M0V, with mass 0.43656 M(sun) and luminosity 0.034185 L(sun)

    And the gap on 2 M(sun) is a large bug, e.g.
    RS 0-118-5-18458-77 is an F0V, with mass 2.0002 M(sun) and luminosity 11.317 L(sun), while
    RS 0-118-5-18458-484 is an F0V, with mass 1.8337 M(sun) and luminosity 11.306 L(sun)

    The latter one is really a problem!

    The second bug is that the temperature-radius-luminosity relationship breaks the Stefan-Boltzmann equation: L/L(sun) = (T/T(sun))^4 * (R/R(sun))^2 (where T(sun)=5778 K, not 5860 K in SE!). And the luminosity displayed is always lower than the calculated value by Stefan-Boltzmann equation. As a result, the sun in SE has radius 1.0659 R(sun) angry , and a generated star with M = M(sun) and L = L(sun) is a G5V and has radius 1.162 R(sun). What's more, this bug is extremely significant in O-type main-sequence stars - the displayed luminosity is only 0.011 times of the calculated value for an O3V star!

    The third bug is the confusing of bolometric luminosity and visual luminosity if we don't see bug 2 as a bug. It seems that the "luminosity" for mass-luminosity relation is bolometric luminosity (total energy emission), but the "luminosity" for temperature, radius and stellar class is visual luminosity (luminosity only on visual light).

    The fourth bug is that one type of stellar class has only one temperature. As a result, the sun, a G2V star, has temperature 5778 K, but in SE it has temperature 5860 K, because G2V has only one temperature: 5860 K.

    The fifth bug is the wrong generating mode of binary stars. I guess that binary stars generate in this way. First a star generates as usual. Then this star has certain probablity to become a binary. If it becomes a binary, then its companion B "steals" A's luminosity, with the total luminosity stay the same. The problem is: A loses some luminosity but still has the same temperature and stellar class. For star system of over 2 stars, e.g. AA, AB, BA and BB, first the star generates, then B generates and A loses some luminosity. Then AB and BB generates, and both AA and BA lose some luminosity.

    EDIT:
    Bug 3 may lead to those results.
    a. If we see "luminosity" as bolometric luminosity then it doesn't fit Stefan-Boltzmann equation.
    b. If we see "luminosity" as visual luminosity, then it doesn't fit mass-luminosity relation.
    c. Combine a and b we get: the radius, temperature and stellar class don't match the mass of a main-sequence star.


    Edited by hyp_cos - Saturday, 12.12.2015, 00:42
     
    SpaceEngineerDate: Friday, 11.12.2015, 18:41 | Message # 345
    Author of Space Engine
    Group: Administrators
    Russian Federation
    Messages: 4798
    Status: Offline
    Quote hyp_cos ()
    The first bug is the wrong mass-luminosity relation of main-sequence stars.
    In reality, L ~ M^2.3 for M below 0.43 M(sun), L ~ M^4 for M between 0.43 M(sun) and 2 M(sun), L ~ M^3.5 for M between 2 M(sun) and 20 M(sun), and L ~ M for M over 20 M(sun). In SE, I found that L/L(sun) = 0.23 * (M/M(sun))^2.3 for M below 0.43 M(sun), L/L(sun) = (M/M(sun))^4 for M between 0.43 M(sun) and 2 M(sun), and L/L(sun) = (M/M(sun))^3.5 for M between 2 M(sun) and 20 M(sun).

    SE uses exactly this function. It is indeed have a gap at M = 2:



    I will change it to smoothed version near M = 2.

    Quote hyp_cos ()
    The second bug is that the temperature-radius-luminosity relationship breaks the Stefan-Boltzmann equation: L/L(sun) = (T/T(sun))^4 * (R/R(sun))^2 (where T(sun)=5778 K, not 5860 K in SE!).

    SE uses the same data tables for stars as Celestia. In this tables, G2V star have effective temperature oа 5860 K. This value also used in SE as solar temperature constant for all equations.

    Quote hyp_cos ()
    The third bug is the confusing of bolometric luminosity and visual luminosity if we don't see bug 2 as a bug. It seems that the "luminosity" for mass-luminosity relation is bolometric luminosity (total energy emission), but the "luminosity" for temperature, radius and stellar class is visual luminosity (luminosity only on visual light).

    Vice versa. Yes, SE don't have bolometric and visual luminosity as separate parameters for stars, and compute bolometric correction instead. There is may be other confusions with it.

    Quote hyp_cos ()
    The fourth bug is that one type of stellar class has only one temperature. As a result, the sun, a G2V star, has temperature 5778 K, but in SE it has temperature 5860 K, because G2V has only one temperature: 5860 K.

    Why you think this is bug? SE uses data tables to derive temperature, rotation period and other values for stars. This is why the same class have the same temeprature.

    Quote hyp_cos ()
    The fifth bug is the wrong generating mode of binary stars.

    Why "wrong mode"? This is method I choose to ganarate multiple systems. In 99% cases secondary star have much less luminosity than primary, so change in primary luminosity is negligable. I use this method to save "average" speactral class of the whole system, so procufural bifurcation of catalog stars will not change their spectral class. Also, computing of the new spectral class of the star with lowered luminosty is a bit tricky and may give very incorrect result.

    Attachments: 2586990.gif(4Kb)





     
    Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.7.3
    Page 23 of 37«1221222324253637»
    Search: