Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 1 of 41234»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Interstellar System Addon (Gargantua, Edmund's/Mann's/Miller's planets)
Interstellar System Addon
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Thursday, 05.02.2015, 03:24 | Message # 1
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3600
Status: Offline
After 2 days of editing and testing, and thanks to the help of HarbingerDawn and Destructor1701, here is the Interstellar system.




This is highly buggy, it has 3 oblate stars clipped inside a black hole with adjusted coronas.

Functionality is not guaranteed

Known bugs and issues are:


Accretion disk is yellow not orange, clouds don't look the same as in screenshots (this is because I use Reshade and a custom cloud shader, both are available on these forums if you use the search function)
Screen flickering
Vanishing accretion disk
Jumpy warped skybox
Offset planetary orbits and glitching black hole with orbits enabled
Crashing
Different exposure settings ruin the look of the accretion disk
General instability with wildly changing framerate
Warp shader makes warp effect on white dwarf stars highly reduced
Can't fly ships in the system without them being pulled into the black hole. You need to use "UFO" and/or "Gravity" cheats.

Planet temperatures are wrong(especially Miller's)
Planet orbits/rotations/etc are wrong(?) (honestly don't care about this)
There should be a neutron star (feel free to add it yourself)
Gargantua's rotation speed is wrong (feel free to fix it yourself)
Gargantua should be 10billion light years from Earth (don't care about this either so I crammed it in one of our neighbors)
Can see the sun disks (can't be fixed without messing other stuff up)


And many other issues I won't bother fixing at this time. This addon was simply an experiment so use at your own risk.



How to install

blackhole_warp.glsl goes in system/shaders (rename 2325627.glsl to blackhole_warp)
Interstellar.sc goes in Catalogs/Stars
InterstellarSys goes in Catalogs/Planets

Add the following to the Universe.cfg in the config folder

Under the stars section

"catalogs/stars/Interstellar.sc"

Under the planets section
"catalogs/Planets/InterstellarSys.sc"



Attachments: 2325627.glsl(1Kb) · Interstellar.sc(0Kb) · InterstellarSys.sc(20Kb)





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
GameDate: Thursday, 05.02.2015, 12:53 | Message # 2
Space Tourist
Group: Users
Netherlands
Messages: 22
Status: Offline
Nice work! This is great picture-making material.

One question, if you don't mind me asking. Is it possible to get the accretion disc to appear procedurally? Or do you deem it too unstable for that to happen?
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Thursday, 05.02.2015, 15:15 | Message # 3
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3600
Status: Offline
Quote Game ()
Is it possible to get the accretion disc to appear procedurally?


No.

If you know how to edit catalogs you can do the same method to any and all cataloged black holes or stars.





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
Thomas988Date: Thursday, 05.02.2015, 15:28 | Message # 4
Space Pilot
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 125
Status: Offline
That is insane! Great work, Doctor! I'll be sure to mess around with this once I get home from school. smile




All you need in life are space games and typhlosions.
 
RockoRocksDate: Thursday, 05.02.2015, 16:03 | Message # 5
World Builder
Group: Users
Belgium
Messages: 673
Status: Offline
Very nice addon, DoctorOfSpace, it works fine with no crashes so far for me! However, strangely, Gargantua doesn't have any planets!

And I have a question: How did you get the idea to locate the system inside the Large Magellanic Clouds?





I will be inactive on this forum for the time being. Might come back eventually

AMD AR-3305M APU w/ Radeon HD 1.90 GHz 6,00 GB RAM


Edited by RockoRocks - Thursday, 05.02.2015, 16:07
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Thursday, 05.02.2015, 16:09 | Message # 6
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3600
Status: Offline
Quote RockoRocks ()
Gargantua doesn't have any planets!


The planets orbit the barycenter named "GargaBary" when set to orbit the black hole there were some issues.





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
RockoRocksDate: Thursday, 05.02.2015, 16:15 | Message # 7
World Builder
Group: Users
Belgium
Messages: 673
Status: Offline
Quote DoctorOfSpace ()
The planets orbit the barycenter named "GargaBary" when set to orbit the black hole there were some issues.

It still doesn't show any planets, yet the barycenter, the black hole and the 3 oblate "stars" do show up. Anyways great experimental addon!





I will be inactive on this forum for the time being. Might come back eventually

AMD AR-3305M APU w/ Radeon HD 1.90 GHz 6,00 GB RAM


Edited by RockoRocks - Thursday, 05.02.2015, 16:17
 
griffisjared520Date: Thursday, 05.02.2015, 20:47 | Message # 8
Observer
Group: Newbies
Pirate
Messages: 5
Status: Offline
I must say the system looks incredible specially the movie itself. Also do you think black hole disks will look like this in some future update?
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Thursday, 05.02.2015, 21:23 | Message # 9
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3600
Status: Offline
Quote griffisjared520 ()
do you think black hole disks will look like this in some future update?


Doubtful.

Quote RockoRocks ()
How did you get the idea to locate the system inside the Large Magellanic Clouds?


It's supposed to be in some other galaxy and I was lazy.





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
kham132Date: Tuesday, 10.02.2015, 04:29 | Message # 10
Space Pilot
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 114
Status: Offline
Love you, Doc.

Made Edmund's a terra, too.





"Fancy and inspirational quote."
- Famous Person
 
tropical21Date: Wednesday, 11.02.2015, 02:00 | Message # 11
Observer
Group: Newbies
Germany
Messages: 1
Status: Offline
okay, first: big up for creating this!

..i know that i'm making a massive fool out of myself here but please tell me HOW do i even find the system after installing? i searched for "Gargantua", "GargaBary" and all the planet's names but couldn't find them! does this mean i did not install it properly?

greetings
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Wednesday, 11.02.2015, 03:08 | Message # 12
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3600
Status: Offline
Quote tropical21 ()
does this mean i did not install it properly?


It means you didn't edit the Universe.cfg file or you put the catalogs in the wrong directory.





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
kham132Date: Friday, 13.02.2015, 01:53 | Message # 13
Space Pilot
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 114
Status: Offline
I gave Edmund's some rings, because why not?





"Fancy and inspirational quote."
- Famous Person
 
TemperateTerraIsBestDate: Saturday, 14.02.2015, 16:21 | Message # 14
Space Tourist
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 32
Status: Offline
Can you make it so every black hole looks like this? biggrin




Sample Text
 
WillocrispDate: Monday, 16.02.2015, 16:54 | Message # 15
Space Tourist
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 29
Status: Offline
I'm having a hard time installing this.

I don't quite understand how it works, because every time I try to open up a folder to enter these settings, it just shows random symbols.
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Interstellar System Addon (Gargantua, Edmund's/Mann's/Miller's planets)
Page 1 of 41234»
Search: