Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 7 of 70«12567896970»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress - 0.9.7.2
Work progress - 0.9.7.2
Crashman1390Date: Friday, 14.03.2014, 20:03 | Message # 91
Explorer
Group: Users
Canada
Messages: 229
Status: Offline
Wow... Just wow... I'm really anticipating the Solar Corona effects. Great job!




[b]I was wrong, this forum still has a horrible community.[/b]
 
PsauceDate: Tuesday, 25.03.2014, 02:14 | Message # 92
Space Tourist
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 25
Status: Offline
Quote HarbingerDawn ()
This has never worked for me.


you have to cross your eyes a lot.

Hurts my head so bad. But worth. Need to put my hands on some 3D hardware.
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Wednesday, 26.03.2014, 11:23 | Message # 93
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4796
Status: Offline
Fixed FXAA atialiasing. The mistake was applying it after adding a bloom effect (light halo around bright objects). This was effectively disabled antialiasing on brigth areas of the image. Look at screenshots:

FXAA disabled:



FXAA applied after adding bloom effect (wrong):



FXAA applied before bloom effect (correct):



You may notice that bright areas are antialiased now.

Even better example: horizon line on a planets with atmosphere:

FXAA disabled:



FXAA applied after adding bloom effect (wrong):



FXAA applied before bloom effect (correct):


Attachments: 1100709.png(26Kb) · 4246294.png(28Kb) · 7931149.png(29Kb) · 4689722.png(16Kb) · 1999901.png(16Kb) · 0963276.png(17Kb)





 
HarbingerDawnDate: Wednesday, 26.03.2014, 12:00 | Message # 94
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8713
Status: Offline
Much better!




All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
Destructor1701Date: Friday, 28.03.2014, 05:00 | Message # 95
Pioneer
Group: Users
Ireland
Messages: 531
Status: Offline
That's one of those subtle changes that has a big pay-off in immersion - nice catch!




 
InariusDate: Friday, 28.03.2014, 11:40 | Message # 96
Explorer
Group: Local Moderators
France
Messages: 236
Status: Offline
Is the fact that the Oculus has been bought by Facebook and focus on advertising will change anything for space Engine ?
 
DeathStarDate: Friday, 28.03.2014, 11:47 | Message # 97
Pioneer
Group: Users
Croatia
Messages: 515
Status: Offline
No, the next version of SE already has(or is very near to having) Oculus support, so it would be pointless if it was cancelled now. HarbringerDawn mentioned this on another thread just a few minutes ago.

Edited by DeathStar - Friday, 28.03.2014, 11:47
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Friday, 28.03.2014, 11:48 | Message # 98
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8713
Status: Offline
Quote Inarius ()
Is the fact that the Oculus has been bought by Facebook and focus on advertising will change anything for space Engine ?

No, why would it? What Facebook does with Oculus should not have any effect on SE. SE has Rift hardware support, which has nothing to do with Facebook's business strategies. Unless they radically change the way Rift support has to be implemented (possible in the long term but unlikely in the short term), it will make no difference.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM


Edited by HarbingerDawn - Friday, 28.03.2014, 11:48
 
torcDate: Friday, 28.03.2014, 15:40 | Message # 99
Observer
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 15
Status: Offline
Quote HarbingerDawn ()
Is the fact that the Oculus has been bought by Facebook and focus on advertising will change anything for space Engine ?

No, why would it? What Facebook does with Oculus should not have any effect on SE. SE has Rift hardware support, which has nothing to do with Facebook's business strategies. Unless they radically change the way Rift support has to be implemented (possible in the long term but unlikely in the short term), it will make no difference.


Good to hear this... can't wait to test the game with the Rift.
PS: give us the chance to select the 1080p resolution on rift...it works much better than 800p
 
Crashman1390Date: Saturday, 29.03.2014, 04:32 | Message # 100
Explorer
Group: Users
Canada
Messages: 229
Status: Offline
Quote SpaceEngineer ()
Animated procedural stellar corona


Attachments: 7220637.gif(446Kb)





[b]I was wrong, this forum still has a horrible community.[/b]
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Saturday, 29.03.2014, 17:25 | Message # 101
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4796
Status: Offline
Quote torc ()
PS: give us the chance to select the 1080p resolution on rift...it works much better than 800p

It is true for demo/games which uses incorrect 1280*800 framebuffer size. For Rift, it is neccessary to use 25-30% bigger framebuffer, to compensate a tiny zoom that done by distortion shader.





 
torcDate: Saturday, 29.03.2014, 22:13 | Message # 102
Observer
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 15
Status: Offline
Quote SpaceEngineer ()
It is true for demo/games which uses incorrect 1280*800 framebuffer size. For Rift, it is neccessary to use 25-30% bigger framebuffer, to compensate a tiny zoom that done by distortion shader.


Well now i understand...just a couple of questions: do you experience a big FPS drop in Rift mode? with my rig the game runs pretty smooth right now, but i wonder if it would be playable or not.

Plus i'd like to know if your engine works with the Oculus configuration utility (you know just for help with drift issues and different IPD) or do you use a recenter bind button and you have a dedicated table to configure correctly the Rift mode.
Thanks in advance smile
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Sunday, 30.03.2014, 11:44 | Message # 103
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4796
Status: Offline
FPS increased in Rift, because its resolution lower than resolution of my Full HD display (even taking into account scaling of the render buffer).

I used functions from libovr to initialize rift and read its parameters such as IPD. I used button to reset orientation - I simply didn't implement full sensor support yet.





 
torcDate: Sunday, 30.03.2014, 13:14 | Message # 104
Observer
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 15
Status: Offline
Thanks for the info Spaceengineer...Great job so far smile

You know, it's a bit frustrating to know that a funcional rift build is in your hand and i can't play with it! sad


Edited by torc - Sunday, 30.03.2014, 13:15
 
laiodDate: Sunday, 30.03.2014, 16:09 | Message # 105
Space Pilot
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 95
Status: Offline
The corona looks really awesome! Keep up the good work!




ASUS Radeon HD 7770 2GB, Crucial Ballistix 8GB x2, AMD FX-4130 3.8GHz, 1TB 7200rpm drive
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress - 0.9.7.2
Page 7 of 70«12567896970»
Search: