Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 4 of 70«1234566970»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress - 0.9.7.2
Work progress - 0.9.7.2
DisasterpieceDate: Wednesday, 05.02.2014, 20:26 | Message # 46
World Builder
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 640
Status: Offline
Quote SpaceEngineer ()
This limit have a technical reason.

So a 6 million ly galaxy will not be possible in SE?





I play teh spase engien
 
JCandeiasDate: Thursday, 06.02.2014, 16:18 | Message # 47
Pioneer
Group: Translators
Portugal
Messages: 382
Status: Offline
Quote Disasterpiece ()
Quote SpaceEngineer ()
This limit have a technical reason.

So a 6 million ly galaxy will not be possible in SE?


I guess SE could find a way. Defining it as a bunch of contiguous galaxies might possibly do the trick, I suppose. Although it wouldn't be straightforward to define its global structure that way.





They let me use this!
 
neutronium76Date: Thursday, 06.02.2014, 16:25 | Message # 48
World Builder
Group: Users
Greece
Messages: 718
Status: Offline
Quote JCandeias ()
Defining it as a bunch of contiguous galaxies might possibly do the trick, I suppose. Although it wouldn't be straightforward to define its global structure that way.


It could use a term similar to star cluster but for galaxies: ''Galactic Cluster''.





PC1:Core i7 970@3.34GHz, 6 cores/12 threads, 12GB DDR3 RAM@1.34GHz, 2x(SLI) GTX-580 GPUs 3GB VRAM(GDDR5)@1GHz, OS:Win7x64SP1
PC2:Core2Quad X9770@3.2GHz, 2 cores/4 threads 4GB DDR2 RAM@1GHz, GTX-285 GPU 1GB VRAM(DDR3)@1.24GHz, OS:WinVistax64SP2
 
GeminiDate: Thursday, 06.02.2014, 16:28 | Message # 49
Observer
Group: Newbies
United States
Messages: 1
Status: Offline
Quote Disasterpiece ()
So a 6 million ly galaxy will not be possible in SE?


I imagine the reasoning behind it would be the resource limitations of computers, a super gaming computer with gobs of video memory could probably handle rendering a galaxy 6 million ly across but most don't have super gaming computers. Unless the galaxy was split up into sections and it rendered each section as you traveled through it.
Still Space engine is a phenomenal software, and haven't found anything like it.
It is by far one of the top space simulation programs.
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Thursday, 06.02.2014, 23:36 | Message # 50
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4795
Status: Offline
GUI must be completely changed to work with Rift.






Attachments: 5954570.jpg(125Kb) · 2982913.jpg(217Kb) · 1954829.jpg(258Kb)





 
DeathStarDate: Thursday, 06.02.2014, 23:49 | Message # 51
Pioneer
Group: Users
Croatia
Messages: 515
Status: Offline
SpaceEngineer, nice work with the progress on Rift support. Also, the gas giant from the first picture looks like something from the planet palettes thread. Are you including some of the palettes in the next version or is it just an old one?

Edited by DeathStar - Thursday, 06.02.2014, 23:50
 
kart32Date: Friday, 07.02.2014, 02:27 | Message # 52
Space Tourist
Group: SE team
United States
Messages: 23
Status: Offline
Looks great and very excited for this. Although I did notice when viewing the images on the rift on 1280x800 fullscreen there seems to be some convergence issues/depth issues. (like the satellite dishes not looking very 3d) I don't usually experience this in any native demos (hl2, titans of space, etc) the images seems to not line up well and strain the eyes a bit (not focused on infinity?). Not sure if it is the ipd setting for the images, as I have exactly 64mm ipd. Just wanted to leave some feedback. as a side note, I recently donated to your project and REALLY appreciate you putting in all the hard work to make this happen for the rift! I have no doubts it will be mind blowing.

Edited by kart32 - Friday, 07.02.2014, 02:32
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Friday, 07.02.2014, 10:13 | Message # 53
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4795
Status: Offline
kart32, thanks. the issue with convergense is because I am not implement yet the offset frustums.




 
SpaceEngineerDate: Friday, 07.02.2014, 17:15 | Message # 54
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4795
Status: Offline
Made offset frustums. Now eye convergence and sense of scale is perfect. GUI is more or less usable with simple scaling, although some GUI windows did not fit in the field of view and must be scrolled.
















Attachments: 4585873.jpg(127Kb) · 1814295.jpg(139Kb) · 3159332.jpg(138Kb) · 2838474.jpg(190Kb) · 1385920.jpg(213Kb) · 5024516.jpg(127Kb) · 2714969.jpg(223Kb) · 6742683.jpg(290Kb)





 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Friday, 07.02.2014, 17:38 | Message # 55
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3595
Status: Offline
I look forward to trying this with the hydra and the rift. I had to setup a profile for the hydra and it works surprisingly well, can't wait to see how much better it is with both.




Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
torcDate: Friday, 07.02.2014, 21:30 | Message # 56
Observer
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 15
Status: Offline
simply amazing guys... can't wait to test it with the Rift:
Is there any way to have an ''alpha build'' just for the rift?
 
DeathStarDate: Sunday, 09.02.2014, 16:55 | Message # 57
Pioneer
Group: Users
Croatia
Messages: 515
Status: Offline
So, to my understanding, irregular galaxy models are procedurally generated. Can the same system be used for diffuse nebulae?
 
VoekoevakaDate: Sunday, 09.02.2014, 17:23 | Message # 58
World Builder
Group: SE team
France
Messages: 1016
Status: Offline
Irregular galaxy models are still not procedurally generated. Both procedural nebulae and galaxy models are on the ToDoList.




Want some music of mine ? Please go here !

 
kart32Date: Sunday, 16.02.2014, 10:39 | Message # 59
Space Tourist
Group: SE team
United States
Messages: 23
Status: Offline
Just got back from a trip and saw you have updated pics with camera "offset frustums" added. It looks SO much better! (viewing pics with rift now) Thank you for posting that. biggrin

Added (16.02.2014, 13:39)
---------------------------------------------
Sorry to double post, this rift "solar system exploration" demo just came out and I was pretty impressed. Figure I would share it and perhaps it would give some more ideas to you (this may top titans of space for me) the warp speed and sound effect sounds awesome and sense of scale/distance between the planets is amazing. https://developer.oculusvr.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=29&t=6321

I know space engine is way more advanced than this, I was just kind of diggin how it was executed.

Edited by kart32 - Monday, 10.02.2014, 04:25
 
ZackGDate: Monday, 17.02.2014, 11:17 | Message # 60
Space Pilot
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 113
Status: Offline

This pic is worth a thousand words. but DANG, this is really fantastic effort. keep it up and I hope I get to try it soon. just take your time of course tongue





MOBO:ASUS Sabertooth Mark I
CPU:Intel I7 4790 3.6Ghz
GPU:NVIDIA GTX960 4GB
Memory:32GB 1600Mhz (Corsair 4x8GB)
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress - 0.9.7.2
Page 4 of 70«1234566970»
Search: