Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 14 of 70«1212131415166970»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress - 0.9.7.2
Work progress - 0.9.7.2
SanoconDate: Monday, 19.05.2014, 07:42 | Message # 196
Space Tourist
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 33
Status: Offline
Quote SpaceEngineer ()

I finished implementing joystick and gamepad support. I will made a video soon.


Can't wait, but take your time, better an Epic project than a ruched project.

BTW, will spaceship animations be implmented soon? I'm almost finished with a spaceship I've been cooking up. biggrin
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Monday, 19.05.2014, 09:10 | Message # 197
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3595
Status: Offline
Quote Sanocon ()
will spaceship animations be implmented soon?


Probably not. There are a lot more important things that need to be fixed and updated before ships become a major concern.





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
BetelgeuzeDate: Monday, 19.05.2014, 09:53 | Message # 198
Space Pilot
Group: Banned
Belgium
Messages: 118
Status: Offline
You can add Muitverse? unsure ?
 
Donatelo200Date: Monday, 19.05.2014, 12:38 | Message # 199
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 261
Status: Offline
I dont think adding a multiverse would be practical since they wouldn't follow our physics. Plus how would you even reach the other universes.




CPU: Intel Core i7-4790K
GPU: Nvidia GTX 1080
SSD: Samsung 850 Evo 250GB
HDD: Toshiba DT01ACA200 2TB
HDD: WD Blue 1TB (2012)
RAM: Unknown 16G-D3-1600-MR 2x8GB
MBD: MSI Z97S SLI Krait Edition (MS-7922)
 
spacerDate: Monday, 19.05.2014, 13:06 | Message # 200
Star Engineer
Group: Users
Israel
Messages: 1257
Status: Offline
Donatelo200, maybe he means that if you go gigaparsecs away from the universe you will see dots (another universes) and if you press 2 times g you will fly to that universe and in the universe there will be galaxies like the universe that we have now in spaceengine, with the same physics...




"we began as wanderers, and we are wanderers still"
-carl sagan

-space engine photographer


Edited by spacer - Monday, 19.05.2014, 13:06
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Monday, 19.05.2014, 18:44 | Message # 201
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3595
Status: Offline
Quote Betelgeuze ()
You can add Muitverse?


No.

In practical terms I am sure a random seed change could be added which would technically generate a new universe, but actual multiverse gameplay or physics will not be added.

Use the search function and stop asking questions like that in the work progress thread. You can find literally all the information you need to know spread around the forum.





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
Tca_11aDate: Monday, 19.05.2014, 22:08 | Message # 202
Space Tourist
Group: Users
Portugal
Messages: 26
Status: Offline
Please do not force HDR and Bloom onto the engine, people that don't like bloom or HDR will be annoyed. I think that you should still keep that option.
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Monday, 19.05.2014, 22:49 | Message # 203
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8711
Status: Offline
Quote Tca_11a ()
Please do not force HDR and Bloom onto the engine, people that don't like bloom or HDR will be annoyed

You can always disable bloom by setting the bloom effect slider to 0. As for HDR, SE does not work properly when not in HDR mode, it has been developed specifically for that mode, so there is no sense in having the ability to turn it off. It just causes bugs.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
KimbDate: Tuesday, 20.05.2014, 17:23 | Message # 204
Astronaut
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 66
Status: Offline
On the multiverse topic: if realism is the paramount issue, then multiverse is DEFINITELY OUT. The existence of other universes has (to my knowledge) not been proven; same for possibility thereof. Yes, there IS theory and speculation but these are a far cry from actual proof.

Edited by Kimb - Tuesday, 20.05.2014, 17:25
 
Antza2Date: Tuesday, 20.05.2014, 21:45 | Message # 205
World Builder
Group: Global Moderators
Finland
Messages: 1049
Status: Offline
Quote Kimb ()
On the multiverse topic: if realism is the paramount issue, then multiverse is DEFINITELY OUT. The existence of other universes has (to my knowledge) not been proven; same for possibility thereof. Yes, there IS theory and speculation but these are a far cry from actual proof.

This is off topic. If you want to discuss the structure of the universe, please do it somewhere else.





Go to antza2.deviantart.com for cool photos!
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Friday, 23.05.2014, 17:06 | Message # 206
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4795
Status: Offline
I know, last news was very long ago, but it is not because I stopped working on SE, but becuase my work is deep inside the engine. No visual changes, so no screenshots. Recently I was working on implementing support of joysticks and gamepads, and now it may be considered as 'ready'. This is my test configuration (Logitech Extreme 3D Pro, 3D Connection SpaceNavigator, and XBox360 controller):



Now SE supports up to 16 controllers simultaneously. You can assign each axis and button for any action in SE (axes can be assigned to 'analog' actions like rotation or aileraons control, buttons - for any, including 'analog' ones). This is the screenshots of new controls menu. In the first tab, 'Common controls', almost nothing changed, except that 3 new columns was added for binding the joysticks buttons (yes, you may bind any button for any action):



Next two tabs, 'Camera controls' and 'Ship controls', are changed a lot (and there is no more separate 'Ship in space' and 'Ship in atmosphere' tabs):



The table now have 2 parts - 'analog' controls in the top, and 'button' controls in the bottom. Buttons also may control analog actions, for example W key moves camera forward, altogether with controller stick. 'Button' controls like 'Center object' cannot be controlled by sticks or mouse, so 'analog' columns for them are empty. And yes, you may bind mouse axis for camera movement, this look cool but very weird smile



At the very bottom, there are sensitivity controls for mouse axes and all joysticks axes. I can implement sensitivity control for any action (for example, 'turn left' with joystick 1 have sensitivity of 1.5, while 'turn up' with the same joystick have sensitivity of 0.75), but I found this useless and extremely overloading the menu. So you can adjust sensitivity only per joystick. In addition, there are 'sensitivity' settings for keyboard/buttons (i.e. rotation rate - different for turn left/right/up/down and roll CW/CCW, because these actions really needed different speed settings).

Similar controls you can found on the 'Ship controls' tab, however it have more controls than the camera:







You may set the same sticks/buttons for avionics controls (elevator, rudder, ailerons) as for space controls (turn in all direction with thrusters), because ship cannot use both together, it switches between them automatically, based on its speed and air density. The new cool capability for ships - is controlling the engines thrust, what may be binded on the throttle stick (the black feature in front of the main stick on the Logitech joystick). It is cool to bind this throttle stick to the 'Move forward' action for the free camera - you can smoothly control you speed with it. But it may confuse if you switch from the ship mode to the free mode, and forget to disable the engines first smile I also want to make the mouse wheel available for binding, but probably not in this version.

The new keyboard/button commands what was asked for implementing many times - is a look back/left/right/down. They smoothly rotates the camera on 90° in the chosen direction (look back rotates by 180° of course) when you pressing the key, and returned its orientation back when you releasing the key. it is just like the middle-mouse drag. It is handy to assign the joystick hat on this actions (hat is the 'mini-joystick' on the top of the Logitech's main stick). However, I prefer to use the hat to move camera left/right/up/down, because that joystick have only one stick. What else? I usually bind the most usable actions to the joystick/gamepad buttons. Those are increasing/decreasing the velocity and switching to the next velocity preset (1, 10, 100 km/s, etc).

The 'Ship controls' tab have its own axes/buttons sensitivity, that saved in the config separately off the 'Camera controls'. The config format is changed a bit too, but I think you will never edit it manually smile To bind a new button, you simply click in the table's cell and press the button. To bind the axis, you click in the table's cell and move selected joystick stick to the end or move the mouse a bit.

Here the video where I trying to fly with all my 3 controllers:



Note the more smooth rotations with the Logitech joystick compared to the XBox gamepad - this is because it have bigger size and bigger 'working area', that allow to make more precise rotations. SpaceNavigator is a cool 6D controller - it detects movements and rotations of its single stick in all directions. It is possible to perform a natural-looking flights with it, but it is quite tricky. It have very small 'working area', so you must strain your hand to keep the motion/rotation direction.

I designed the new system for selecting the objects with joystick (not show in this video). You press the button - I usually bind it to the main (fire) button - and the crosshair appearing in the center of the screen. Next you rotate the camera or the ship with joystick, to match the crosshair with the star or planet, and release the button. This method may confuse for the first time, but you can adapt to it very quickly. Bind another button to the 'Goto' command, and you may perform basic navigation in SE with a single joystick/gamepad only! It is very handy when you sit far from the keyboard, for example on your sofa:). It is also good for playing in the Oculus Rift, because you cannot see you keyboard.

Also, joystick binding for Oculus Rift must be completely different that for the regular display. It is very, very bad idea to rotate your view with the mouse or joystick while you are in the Oculus. You must rotate yourself only with your head, or you will get motion sickness very quickly. So, for Oculus, you must bind sticks for motion only. SE will support joystick profiles in the future, maybe in the next version.

PS: BTW, I quit my job, and now work on SE full time. It is thanks to your donations!

Attachments: 2956967.jpg(475Kb) · 1002690.jpg(494Kb) · 4224850.jpg(470Kb) · 1304170.jpg(498Kb) · 6983723.jpg(467Kb) · 9208672.jpg(464Kb)





 
torcDate: Friday, 23.05.2014, 21:28 | Message # 207
Observer
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 15
Status: Offline
awesome....
 
JonasTheRomanDate: Friday, 23.05.2014, 21:30 | Message # 208
Observer
Group: Users
Germany
Messages: 18
Status: Offline
Good work, really looking forward to the next release smile
 
curiousepicDate: Saturday, 24.05.2014, 02:00 | Message # 209
Space Pilot
Group: SE team
United States
Messages: 141
Status: Offline
Nice! Right when I was thinking about getting a flight stick for Elite: Dangerous.

Could you also work on support for TrackIR or other (less expensive) headtrackers? Or at least, consider supporting them when building these controls.





My ideal preferences for visual design of the mothership and technology in SE
Harry Potter and the Methods of Rationality


Edited by curiousepic - Saturday, 24.05.2014, 02:00
 
Zanac-XDate: Saturday, 24.05.2014, 16:20 | Message # 210
Observer
Group: Newbies
Iraq
Messages: 2
Status: Offline
hi smile

there is this problem when pressing f1 to get out of the system and return to the normal view and all the objects names (in details) in the universe gradually begin to appear until the system is too slow. sorry if im too late about this, may be you already know about this but i thought i tell you

please tell me if you already fixed it
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress - 0.9.7.2
Page 14 of 70«1212131415166970»
Search: