Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 56 of 56«12545556
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.7.1
Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.7.1
SpaceEngineerDate: Thursday, 26.12.2013, 00:29 | Message # 1
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4795
Status: Offline
Please post here all of your reports about bugs or crashes in SpaceEngine. Before you post any bugs, please follow these steps:

  • Read the Fixing common issues section below. It is possible that your problem can be solved there.
  • Read the List of known issues section below and make sure that your bugs are not on in it. You can use your browser's word finder to help search the list.
  • If the bug is not on the list then please post it in this thread. Attach to your message a screenshot (if possible) and a log file (it's called the se.log and is located in the SpaceEngine/system/ directory). Only the log file will help me to understand your problem and find a solution!



    Fixing common issues

    1) Obsolete or incompatible drivers
    These are the most frequent errors found in SE. You will get a popup window with one of these following messages:

    - "You have old OpenGL version (2.1.1). Update your graphics card driver or install compatible hardware"

    - "You have old GLSL version (1.2). Update your graphics card driver or install compatible hardware"

    - "Critical extensions missing: GL_ARB_vertex_program GL_ARB_vertex_buffer_object"

    - "Error loading surface generator shaders. Press YES to run program with procedural planets disabled. Press NO to exit"


    Download and install latest drivers for your video card. If you still get this message, it could be that you have an incompatible video card (see next paragraph).

    [CRITICAL NOTE] Some recent NVidia drivers are incompatible with SE. Symptoms are flashing planet images on the screen when you open the F2 menu (see the spoiler), missing lens flares, grayed out options for HDR and FXAA in the Graphics settings menu, and other glitches. The errors in the se.log are look like this:

    If you have run into these problems, update to at least 344.65, or roll back to earlier than 337.xx.


    But you still can try and run SpaceEngine by disabling checking of critical errors at startup. Open main.cfg and change value of this parameter to 'true':

    IgnoreCriticalCheck true // ignore checking of OpenGL version and critical extensions supporting

    NOTE: I can give no guaranties that SpaceEngine will be stable and work correctly if you do make this change.

    If you have an "Error loading surface generator shaders" error and press Yes, SpaceEngine can run, but it will not be able to render procedural planetary landscapes.

    After updating or rollback of the drivers, you must delete the cache folder in the SpaceEngine directory.

    2) Weak system
    Most of the forum posts I receive are from users that report an inability to start SpaceEngine, This is because those users have inbuilt Intel graphics card, or some old GeForce 5700 series, or not a proper "gaming" laptop. There is no way but to update your hardware system. There are no plans to make a second version of the engine for weaker systems with simplified graphics, CPU texture generation, etc. It would be like coding another engine from scratch. Once again, I would remind everyone that the minimum system requirements can be found on the Home page, but I will mention it here as well:

    CPU 2.0 GHz
    RAM 2 Gb
    Video GeForce 8600, Radeon HD 2600
    vRAM 512 Mb

    I stress that the special role played by videocard onboard memory (vRAM). 512 MB is the absolute minimum. The engine uses a large amount of data that must be in video memory (textures, meshes, vbo, etc). If your system meets the recommended requirements, the engine will work, because its development is made for this hardware:

    CPU 3.0 GHz
    RAM 4 Gb
    Video GeForce 9800 GTX, ATI Mobility HD 5730
    vRAM 1024 Mb

    You can try to start the engine with some OpenGL extensions disabed, if your hardware does not support them: frame buffer objects (FBO), half floats, float textures and 3D textures. Information about this is written at the beginning of the log (SpaceEngine/system/se.log), after the list of extensions:

    Framebuffer objects supported
    Half floats suppoted
    Floating-point pixel format: GL_RGBA16F_ARB
    3D textures suppoted


    If the log reads 'unsupported, then the extension is not supported and the engine will disable itself. If it seems to support float and 3D textures, but the atmosphere of planets has some monstrous bottleneck, such as the GeForce 6200 and GeForce 6600, then it is best to disable those extensions forcibly. This is done in the file config/main.cfg:

    IgnoreFBO false // disable framebuffer objects
    IgnoreHalfFloat false // disable half floats
    IgnoreFloatTextures false // disable float textures
    Ignore3DTextures false // disable 3D textures
    IgnoreShaderBinary false // disable binary shaders cache
    IgnoreCriticalCheck false // ignore checking of OpenGL version and critical extensions supporting


    Reference:
    - The Milky Way and other nearby galaxies and nebulae use FBO. HDR rendering mode also use FBO. Disabling it disables the 3D models of galaxies and nebulae, and disables HDR mode.
    - Atmospheres using float and 3D textures. Disabling any of them disables the atmosphere. HDR rendering mode uses a float textures, disabling them disables HDR.
    - Shader binary cache reduces lags on loading shaders. Works normally on NVidia, onr ATI and Intel it disabled automatically after first laubch of SpaceEngine.

    If you have a Intel HD graphics card, it is better to disable asynchronous loading in the main.cfg as well:

    LoaderMode 2 // loader mode: 0 = immediate, 1 = interleaved, 2 = asynchronous

    3) System with hybrid graphics (NVidia/ATI + Intel HD)
    If you're running SE on a laptop with dual graphics, make sure SE runs on NVidia or ATI chip instead of Intel HD. You may see it in the beginning of "SpaceEngine/system/se.log" file. If it says:

    Vendor: Intel
    Renderer: Intel® HD Graphics 4000

    then you should open NVidia Control Panel or ATI Catalyst and force SpaceEngine.exe run on NVidia/ATI graphics card. If you do not found SpaceEngine profile there, create a new one.

    4) Crashing in the interstellar or intergalactic space or after appearing of the nebula in the view field
    If you open the "SpaceEngine/system/se.log" file after a crash, and it ends up with line like this:

    Creating nebula model "cache/models/nebulae/M42.nm",

    then try to disable asynchronous loading of a resources. Open the file config/main.cfg with the Notepad and change this parameter to 1:

    LoaderMode 1 // loader mode: 0 = immediate, 1 = interleaved, 2 = asynchronous

    After that, delete the cache folder from the SpaceEngine directory. Performance will drop while flying between a stars and galaxies, but stability may be improved. After a while, all models of galaxies and nebulae a being be generated, and you may enable asynchronous loading back (set up LoaderMode 2).

    5) Spaceship disappear when far from a star
    It is not a bug. Current version have not yet completed spaceships rendering system - they cannot be rendered if there is no stars or planets in the renderlist. Just imagine that ship becomes invisible in interstellar flight smile

    6) Blurry textures on Solar system planets
    It is not a bug. Our Solar system planets (Mercury, Venus, Earth, Moon, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune and its satellites) have no procedural textures, only real ones with limited level-of-detail. You can download addons with high resolution textures to increase level of detail of real planets.

    7) Artifacts on procedural planets
    If you get missing landscape blocks, blurry or blinking textures, random spikes sticking out of surface, check out these recommendations here:

    a) If you have a laptop with hybrid graphics, read the paragraph 3.

    b) Make sure that you make a "clean" installation of SE. If you install a new version overwriting the old one, you may get many bugs and glitches. If you get some glitches after the patch is installed, remove the folder called cache from SpaceEngine's directory.

    c) If this does not help, read the paragraph 8.

    8) Frequent crashing while generating planetary surface
    If you have frequent crashes on planets, or get an "OUT OF MEMORY" message on screen, or "Unexpected deleting of child node" in the log file, try taking these steps first:

  • Close any other programs that can consume the video memory (games, video players, graphics editors, etc.). SpaceEngine is not a small flash type game, video memory is the most important resource for it. It may help to disable the Windows Aero theme too, as it consumes a lot of video memory.
  • Disable "3D water" in Graphics settings (Ctrl-F4)
  • Reduce "Landscape LOD" to -2 in Graphics settings (Ctrl+F4)
  • Set up the amount of video memory in the main.cfg file:

    VideoMemorySize 2048 // video card onboard memory (VRAM) in megabytes

    The value must not be less than 1024, but not more than the total amount of physical video memory plus amount of RAM. For example, if you have a graphics card with 1024 MB of video memory, and more than 2 GB of RAM, you can increase VideoMemorySize to 2048.



    List of known issues

    Green items have been fixed for the next release

    Not real bugs, but effects caused by limitations in the engine:
    - Ships do not render in interstellar space
    - Star catalog has many errors in star classification, so there are many "giant dwarfs" and "dwarf giants"
    - Many real binary stars rendered as single, and many single rendered as binary - SE simply have incomplete catalog of binary stars
    - An unwanted star (sprite) is visible in the barycenter of a binary star from distance greater than 0.01 pc
    - Comet nucleus star-sprite will shine through planets [example].
    - Galaxy/nebula sprites will rotate when seen from certain angles
    - Auroras, comet tails and rings can be rendered in front of ships/moons sometimes
    - Lens flares are distorted by gravitational lensing (black holes and ship warp drive effect)
    - Text editor for Wiki descriptions is not working - it is not implemented yet
    - Solar system moons don't have extremely accurate orbits (requires implementation of custom orbit models, e.g. VSOP-87)
    - Sunspot distribution is not always realistic
    - Ocean tag not yet implemented in planet editor
    - Rounding errors (e.g. 30° in catalog rounds to 29°59'59.99" displayed on HUD)
    - Ship retro engines have not been implemented yet

    Real bugs:
    - Too many planets with life (panspermia issue)
    - Oceanias have landscapes above water
    - Several bugs with the planet editor
    - Changing "modes" between simulation and orbital when piloting ships can cause glitches
    - Few issues with asynchronous loading (stars don't always generate properly, especially when flying to new galaxies)
    - Holes in some giant stars when camera is directly above a very tall spot [example]
    - Flashing landscape LOD on a planet when Wiki for it is displayed
    - Star clusters not displayed in Wiki
    - GUI response issues with some users (interface items glitchy or not respond easily)
    - GUI toolbars may completely disappear when pressing pin button while half-hidden
    - Deep space objects (e.g. stars, galaxies) will shine through planets when HDR for DSO is off, but HDR is on and Bloom is on [example]
    - Some neutron stars can have very low temperatures [example]
    - Flickering flare color in close binary systems [example]
    - Auto-exposure does not react when a sun is blocked while diffraction spikes are set to normal or super
    - Planet rings have an unrealistic color palette
    - "Eclipse bug" on distant planets (weird dark shimmering on outer planet caused by inner planet crossing the sun or two suns eclipsing)
    - Cloud cyclones have cut edges sometimes
    - Level horizon command (End key) doesn't work properly on oblate objects
    - Problems when releasing Left + Right click
    - Lines or junctures are visible on planetary surface
    - Switching to fullscreen doesn't work sometimes
    - Weird behavior of movement keys in tracking mode (T) and after releasing it
    - Automatic reference object setting with spacecraft doesn't always choose the best object (for example, when near dwarf moons or debris asteroids close to a planet you are trying to orbit)
    - 3D water fog sometimes starts above the water surface
    - Problems with the skybox export interface, and with the planetarium after using it, for some users
    - Music player will unpause when SE window is minimized and restored, or when entering and exiting the main menu
    - If a galaxy model is selected, the camera is not following any object, and the program is in Edit Mode, closing and restarting the program will cause the WASDRF movement keys to behave incorrectly until the camera is set to follow an object
    - "Crop orbits" in the Map mode doesn't work
    - Spaceship and lens flare textures do not load when loader mode is set to "Immediate"
    - Visual atmosphere heights are inconsistently and unrealistically generated
    - Physical atmosphere properties are inconsistently and unrealistically generated, and are not tied to the visual models
    - Dwarf moons can be generated on colliding orbits
    - Moons are never generated with retrograde orbits
    - Bugs with the surfaces of carbon stars and zirconium stars
    - Cyclones are not generated in the southern hemispheres of gas giants
    - Sometimes, worlds which are too small are classed as "selena" when they should be classed as asteroid
    - Shimmering bloom splotch when very close to the surface of a planet [example]
    - CW/CCW rotation keys for ship in atmosphere are reversed
    - Mouse axis inversion settings for spaceship controls are not saved
    - Z faces are switched when exporting skyboxes (pos_Z is really neg_Z)
  •  
    HarbingerDawnDate: Friday, 19.12.2014, 02:27 | Message # 826
    Cosmic Curator
    Group: Administrators
    United States
    Messages: 8711
    Status: Offline
    Frostynk, please read the forum rules before posting in the future.

    Oculus Rift support will be in the next version of SE.





    All forum users, please read this!
    My SE mods and addons
    Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
     
    najmabcDate: Friday, 19.12.2014, 19:31 | Message # 827
    Observer
    Group: Newbies
    Pirate
    Messages: 2
    Status: Offline
    Hello, I have the problem with the obsolete opengl 2.1, I managed to open up the program, but now all the stars are black - I can just see their names. Also some stars are not even there, when I get close up, they disappear. When it opens it says 'error loading texture generator shaders'. I have an Intel HD Sandy bridge integrated graphics card, mobile dual core Intel I3 1st gen processor. Thanks.
     
    HarbingerDawnDate: Friday, 19.12.2014, 19:54 | Message # 828
    Cosmic Curator
    Group: Administrators
    United States
    Messages: 8711
    Status: Offline
    Quote najmabc ()
    I have an Intel HD Sandy bridge integrated graphics card, mobile dual core Intel I3 1st gen processor

    From what I have read, first generation Core i3 processors only support up to OpenGL 2.1. This is not sufficient to run SpaceEngine, which requires OpenGL 3.0 (3.3 for the next version). Your only option is to upgrade your computer with new hardware.

    But I also read that Sandy Bridge was not the first generation of Core i3 processors, and that it should support up to OpenGL 3.1 on Windows, in which case you need to update your Intel video drivers. But even if you do this, it still will not perform well.





    All forum users, please read this!
    My SE mods and addons
    Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM


    Edited by HarbingerDawn - Friday, 19.12.2014, 19:57
     
    najmabcDate: Friday, 19.12.2014, 21:22 | Message # 829
    Observer
    Group: Newbies
    Pirate
    Messages: 2
    Status: Offline
    Oh really? I will look deeper into that and see if I can find a driver. Thanks.
     
    IronDukeDate: Saturday, 20.12.2014, 05:28 | Message # 830
    Observer
    Group: Newbies
    United States
    Messages: 1
    Status: Offline
    I'm getting the same problem as armheadfood7 with the crazy labels in the map. I'll just be looking around the system map, minding what I hope is my own business, when the game suddenly prints infinite labels and sometimes infinite high magnitude stars all over the place, dropping frame rate to less than one. It refuses to close the map no matter what I do, and if I don't close the game with task manager in under a minute, it crashes.
    I've had this problem three times now, and it's a total killjoy. Sometimes the game won't even load the planetarium after restarting after the map blitz.
    It also seems to be totally unrelated to anything I click on or do, as the latest occurrence was when I was simply sitting, not doing anything, just thinking, and BANG!
    Does anyone have a solution, or even have encountered this?

    --IronDuke
     
    PlutonianEmpireDate: Wednesday, 24.12.2014, 21:18 | Message # 831
    Pioneer
    Group: Users
    United States
    Messages: 474
    Status: Offline
    Okay, one thing that has always driven me utterly insane and absolutely infuriates me to no end, literally way beyond the point of punching holes in the wall and physically tossing computers out of 20th floor balconies, with every single computer and 3d space software I have ever had my entire life is chronic frame-skipping:

    https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/3610210/Other/20141224_151020.mp4 (3 megabytes)

    How do I fix this issue once and for all?





    Specs: Dell Inspiron 5547 (Laptop); 8 gigabytes of RAM; Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-4210U CPU @ 1.70GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.4GHz; Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit; Graphics: Intel® HD Graphics 4400 (That's all there is :( )

    Edited by PlutonianEmpire - Wednesday, 24.12.2014, 21:19
     
    DoctorOfSpaceDate: Wednesday, 24.12.2014, 21:30 | Message # 832
    Galaxy Architect
    Group: Global Moderators
    Pirate
    Messages: 3595
    Status: Offline
    Quote PlutonianEmpire ()
    How do I fix this issue once and for all?


    Posting your specs would be very helpful in trying to solve these issues.

    As a fellow person who is plagued by this and wish I could do away with it, it pains me to say there isn't anything you can really do to completely get rid of skips. You need very expensive hardware and top of the line CPUs and GPUs to keep things running smooth all the time. Even then many of the computers I have used with far superior hardware than my own have this issue but it seems like not that many people actually notice it.

    Good news is you can do a few things to reduce it. Check your hard drive and make sure it doesn't have any issues or high fragmentation as this can cause skipping when performing read/write sequences. Next thing you should check is your overall performance when running strenuous programs to see how much RAM/CPU/GPU is being used. You can optimize this by turning off certain windows features like Aero, disable flash, and any other memory and CPU/GPU hungry programs. Make sure your RAM is setup properly, if the clock cycles are off this can cause minor hiccups during data transfers and can cause minor skips. In your video it looks like you have a more severe case which means it could be caused by a few things at the same time. I recommend benchmarking and stress testing your PC and checking for issues.





    Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
    G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
    EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
     
    PlutonianEmpireDate: Wednesday, 24.12.2014, 22:36 | Message # 833
    Pioneer
    Group: Users
    United States
    Messages: 474
    Status: Offline
    OK, my system specs: Dell Inspiron 5547; 8 gigabytes of RAM; Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-4210U CPU @ 1.70GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.4GHz; Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit; Graphics: Intel® HD Graphics Family (That's all there is sad ); this laptop is a pre-made that I ordered from Dell. EDIT: 1 TB hard drive; 933.6 GB total space with currently 642.3 GB free.

    I already have Aero turned off; and I have a third party program called game booster, which I use to help with performance.

    EDIT: I checked defrag, it said 1% fragmentation.





    Specs: Dell Inspiron 5547 (Laptop); 8 gigabytes of RAM; Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-4210U CPU @ 1.70GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.4GHz; Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit; Graphics: Intel® HD Graphics 4400 (That's all there is :( )

    Edited by PlutonianEmpire - Wednesday, 24.12.2014, 22:44
     
    DoctorOfSpaceDate: Wednesday, 24.12.2014, 22:42 | Message # 834
    Galaxy Architect
    Group: Global Moderators
    Pirate
    Messages: 3595
    Status: Offline
    Quote PlutonianEmpire ()
    EDIT: I checked defrag, it said 1% fragmentation.


    You should run disk defrag to fix that. Fragmentation leads to poor hard drive performance and poor system performance.

    Quote PlutonianEmpire ()
    Graphics: Intel® HD Graphics Family


    Thats the main problem. You definitely need something more beefy for programs like SE and since you are using a laptop there isn't really anything that can be done.

    I would recommend running SE in a smaller window to reduce hardware strain. Other than that you would need a new laptop or a desktop made specifically for gaming and one that has Nvidia or ATI.





    Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
    G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
    EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
     
    PlutonianEmpireDate: Wednesday, 24.12.2014, 23:05 | Message # 835
    Pioneer
    Group: Users
    United States
    Messages: 474
    Status: Offline
    Quote DoctorOfSpace ()
    Thats the main problem. You definitely need something more beefy for programs like SE and since you are using a laptop there isn't really anything that can be done.

    Shoot. I was afraid of that. sad Well, even with the skipping, the framerates are otherwise decent, and with terrain LOD at -1 for flying and saving LOD 2 for screenshots, I still seem to enjoy SE to some extent, so that's nice. smile

    As for the 1% fragmentation, I actually didn't even know even just 1% could cause issues.





    Specs: Dell Inspiron 5547 (Laptop); 8 gigabytes of RAM; Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-4210U CPU @ 1.70GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.4GHz; Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit; Graphics: Intel® HD Graphics 4400 (That's all there is :( )
     
    Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.7.1
    Page 56 of 56«12545556
    Search: