RUS New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 35 of 56«1233343536375556»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.7.1
Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.7.1
SpaceEngineerDate: Thursday, 26.12.2013, 00:29 | Message # 1
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4799
Status: Offline
Please post here all of your reports about bugs or crashes in SpaceEngine. Before you post any bugs, please follow these steps:

  • Read the Fixing common issues section below. It is possible that your problem can be solved there.
  • Read the List of known issues section below and make sure that your bugs are not on in it. You can use your browser's word finder to help search the list.
  • If the bug is not on the list then please post it in this thread. Attach to your message a screenshot (if possible) and a log file (it's called the se.log and is located in the SpaceEngine/system/ directory). Only the log file will help me to understand your problem and find a solution!



    Fixing common issues

    1) Obsolete or incompatible drivers
    These are the most frequent errors found in SE. You will get a popup window with one of these following messages:

    - "You have old OpenGL version (2.1.1). Update your graphics card driver or install compatible hardware"

    - "You have old GLSL version (1.2). Update your graphics card driver or install compatible hardware"

    - "Critical extensions missing: GL_ARB_vertex_program GL_ARB_vertex_buffer_object"

    - "Error loading surface generator shaders. Press YES to run program with procedural planets disabled. Press NO to exit"


    Download and install latest drivers for your video card. If you still get this message, it could be that you have an incompatible video card (see next paragraph).

    [CRITICAL NOTE] Some recent NVidia drivers are incompatible with SE. Symptoms are flashing planet images on the screen when you open the F2 menu (see the spoiler), missing lens flares, grayed out options for HDR and FXAA in the Graphics settings menu, and other glitches. The errors in the se.log are look like this:

    If you have run into these problems, update to at least 344.65, or roll back to earlier than 337.xx.


    But you still can try and run SpaceEngine by disabling checking of critical errors at startup. Open main.cfg and change value of this parameter to 'true':

    IgnoreCriticalCheck true // ignore checking of OpenGL version and critical extensions supporting

    NOTE: I can give no guaranties that SpaceEngine will be stable and work correctly if you do make this change.

    If you have an "Error loading surface generator shaders" error and press Yes, SpaceEngine can run, but it will not be able to render procedural planetary landscapes.

    After updating or rollback of the drivers, you must delete the cache folder in the SpaceEngine directory.

    2) Weak system
    Most of the forum posts I receive are from users that report an inability to start SpaceEngine, This is because those users have inbuilt Intel graphics card, or some old GeForce 5700 series, or not a proper "gaming" laptop. There is no way but to update your hardware system. There are no plans to make a second version of the engine for weaker systems with simplified graphics, CPU texture generation, etc. It would be like coding another engine from scratch. Once again, I would remind everyone that the minimum system requirements can be found on the Home page, but I will mention it here as well:

    CPU 2.0 GHz
    RAM 2 Gb
    Video GeForce 8600, Radeon HD 2600
    vRAM 512 Mb

    I stress that the special role played by videocard onboard memory (vRAM). 512 MB is the absolute minimum. The engine uses a large amount of data that must be in video memory (textures, meshes, vbo, etc). If your system meets the recommended requirements, the engine will work, because its development is made for this hardware:

    CPU 3.0 GHz
    RAM 4 Gb
    Video GeForce 9800 GTX, ATI Mobility HD 5730
    vRAM 1024 Mb

    You can try to start the engine with some OpenGL extensions disabed, if your hardware does not support them: frame buffer objects (FBO), half floats, float textures and 3D textures. Information about this is written at the beginning of the log (SpaceEngine/system/se.log), after the list of extensions:

    Framebuffer objects supported
    Half floats suppoted
    Floating-point pixel format: GL_RGBA16F_ARB
    3D textures suppoted


    If the log reads 'unsupported, then the extension is not supported and the engine will disable itself. If it seems to support float and 3D textures, but the atmosphere of planets has some monstrous bottleneck, such as the GeForce 6200 and GeForce 6600, then it is best to disable those extensions forcibly. This is done in the file config/main.cfg:

    IgnoreFBO false // disable framebuffer objects
    IgnoreHalfFloat false // disable half floats
    IgnoreFloatTextures false // disable float textures
    Ignore3DTextures false // disable 3D textures
    IgnoreShaderBinary false // disable binary shaders cache
    IgnoreCriticalCheck false // ignore checking of OpenGL version and critical extensions supporting


    Reference:
    - The Milky Way and other nearby galaxies and nebulae use FBO. HDR rendering mode also use FBO. Disabling it disables the 3D models of galaxies and nebulae, and disables HDR mode.
    - Atmospheres using float and 3D textures. Disabling any of them disables the atmosphere. HDR rendering mode uses a float textures, disabling them disables HDR.
    - Shader binary cache reduces lags on loading shaders. Works normally on NVidia, onr ATI and Intel it disabled automatically after first laubch of SpaceEngine.

    If you have a Intel HD graphics card, it is better to disable asynchronous loading in the main.cfg as well:

    LoaderMode 2 // loader mode: 0 = immediate, 1 = interleaved, 2 = asynchronous

    3) System with hybrid graphics (NVidia/ATI + Intel HD)
    If you're running SE on a laptop with dual graphics, make sure SE runs on NVidia or ATI chip instead of Intel HD. You may see it in the beginning of "SpaceEngine/system/se.log" file. If it says:

    Vendor: Intel
    Renderer: Intel® HD Graphics 4000

    then you should open NVidia Control Panel or ATI Catalyst and force SpaceEngine.exe run on NVidia/ATI graphics card. If you do not found SpaceEngine profile there, create a new one.

    4) Crashing in the interstellar or intergalactic space or after appearing of the nebula in the view field
    If you open the "SpaceEngine/system/se.log" file after a crash, and it ends up with line like this:

    Creating nebula model "cache/models/nebulae/M42.nm",

    then try to disable asynchronous loading of a resources. Open the file config/main.cfg with the Notepad and change this parameter to 1:

    LoaderMode 1 // loader mode: 0 = immediate, 1 = interleaved, 2 = asynchronous

    After that, delete the cache folder from the SpaceEngine directory. Performance will drop while flying between a stars and galaxies, but stability may be improved. After a while, all models of galaxies and nebulae a being be generated, and you may enable asynchronous loading back (set up LoaderMode 2).

    5) Spaceship disappear when far from a star
    It is not a bug. Current version have not yet completed spaceships rendering system - they cannot be rendered if there is no stars or planets in the renderlist. Just imagine that ship becomes invisible in interstellar flight smile

    6) Blurry textures on Solar system planets
    It is not a bug. Our Solar system planets (Mercury, Venus, Earth, Moon, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune and its satellites) have no procedural textures, only real ones with limited level-of-detail. You can download addons with high resolution textures to increase level of detail of real planets.

    7) Artifacts on procedural planets
    If you get missing landscape blocks, blurry or blinking textures, random spikes sticking out of surface, check out these recommendations here:

    a) If you have a laptop with hybrid graphics, read the paragraph 3.

    b) Make sure that you make a "clean" installation of SE. If you install a new version overwriting the old one, you may get many bugs and glitches. If you get some glitches after the patch is installed, remove the folder called cache from SpaceEngine's directory.

    c) If this does not help, read the paragraph 8.

    8) Frequent crashing while generating planetary surface
    If you have frequent crashes on planets, or get an "OUT OF MEMORY" message on screen, or "Unexpected deleting of child node" in the log file, try taking these steps first:

  • Close any other programs that can consume the video memory (games, video players, graphics editors, etc.). SpaceEngine is not a small flash type game, video memory is the most important resource for it. It may help to disable the Windows Aero theme too, as it consumes a lot of video memory.
  • Disable "3D water" in Graphics settings (Ctrl-F4)
  • Reduce "Landscape LOD" to -2 in Graphics settings (Ctrl+F4)
  • Set up the amount of video memory in the main.cfg file:

    VideoMemorySize 2048 // video card onboard memory (VRAM) in megabytes

    The value must not be less than 1024, but not more than the total amount of physical video memory plus amount of RAM. For example, if you have a graphics card with 1024 MB of video memory, and more than 2 GB of RAM, you can increase VideoMemorySize to 2048.



    List of known issues

    Green items have been fixed for the next release

    Not real bugs, but effects caused by limitations in the engine:
    - Ships do not render in interstellar space
    - Star catalog has many errors in star classification, so there are many "giant dwarfs" and "dwarf giants"
    - Many real binary stars rendered as single, and many single rendered as binary - SE simply have incomplete catalog of binary stars
    - An unwanted star (sprite) is visible in the barycenter of a binary star from distance greater than 0.01 pc
    - Comet nucleus star-sprite will shine through planets [example].
    - Galaxy/nebula sprites will rotate when seen from certain angles
    - Auroras, comet tails and rings can be rendered in front of ships/moons sometimes
    - Lens flares are distorted by gravitational lensing (black holes and ship warp drive effect)
    - Text editor for Wiki descriptions is not working - it is not implemented yet
    - Solar system moons don't have extremely accurate orbits (requires implementation of custom orbit models, e.g. VSOP-87)
    - Sunspot distribution is not always realistic
    - Ocean tag not yet implemented in planet editor
    - Rounding errors (e.g. 30° in catalog rounds to 29°59'59.99" displayed on HUD)
    - Ship retro engines have not been implemented yet

    Real bugs:
    - Too many planets with life (panspermia issue)
    - Oceanias have landscapes above water
    - Several bugs with the planet editor
    - Changing "modes" between simulation and orbital when piloting ships can cause glitches
    - Few issues with asynchronous loading (stars don't always generate properly, especially when flying to new galaxies)
    - Holes in some giant stars when camera is directly above a very tall spot [example]
    - Flashing landscape LOD on a planet when Wiki for it is displayed
    - Star clusters not displayed in Wiki
    - GUI response issues with some users (interface items glitchy or not respond easily)
    - GUI toolbars may completely disappear when pressing pin button while half-hidden
    - Deep space objects (e.g. stars, galaxies) will shine through planets when HDR for DSO is off, but HDR is on and Bloom is on [example]
    - Some neutron stars can have very low temperatures [example]
    - Flickering flare color in close binary systems [example]
    - Auto-exposure does not react when a sun is blocked while diffraction spikes are set to normal or super
    - Planet rings have an unrealistic color palette
    - "Eclipse bug" on distant planets (weird dark shimmering on outer planet caused by inner planet crossing the sun or two suns eclipsing)
    - Cloud cyclones have cut edges sometimes
    - Level horizon command (End key) doesn't work properly on oblate objects
    - Problems when releasing Left + Right click
    - Lines or junctures are visible on planetary surface
    - Switching to fullscreen doesn't work sometimes
    - Weird behavior of movement keys in tracking mode (T) and after releasing it
    - Automatic reference object setting with spacecraft doesn't always choose the best object (for example, when near dwarf moons or debris asteroids close to a planet you are trying to orbit)
    - 3D water fog sometimes starts above the water surface
    - Problems with the skybox export interface, and with the planetarium after using it, for some users
    - Music player will unpause when SE window is minimized and restored, or when entering and exiting the main menu
    - If a galaxy model is selected, the camera is not following any object, and the program is in Edit Mode, closing and restarting the program will cause the WASDRF movement keys to behave incorrectly until the camera is set to follow an object
    - "Crop orbits" in the Map mode doesn't work
    - Spaceship and lens flare textures do not load when loader mode is set to "Immediate"
    - Visual atmosphere heights are inconsistently and unrealistically generated
    - Physical atmosphere properties are inconsistently and unrealistically generated, and are not tied to the visual models
    - Dwarf moons can be generated on colliding orbits
    - Moons are never generated with retrograde orbits
    - Bugs with the surfaces of carbon stars and zirconium stars
    - Cyclones are not generated in the southern hemispheres of gas giants
    - Sometimes, worlds which are too small are classed as "selena" when they should be classed as asteroid
    - Shimmering bloom splotch when very close to the surface of a planet [example]
    - CW/CCW rotation keys for ship in atmosphere are reversed
    - Mouse axis inversion settings for spaceship controls are not saved
    - Z faces are switched when exporting skyboxes (pos_Z is really neg_Z)
  •  
    VoekoevakaDate: Tuesday, 24.06.2014, 00:53 | Message # 511
    World Builder
    Group: SE team
    France
    Messages: 1016
    Status: Offline
    I had the same with Io.




    Want some music of mine ? Please go here !

     
    SpaceEngineerDate: Tuesday, 24.06.2014, 17:30 | Message # 512
    Author of Space Engine
    Group: Administrators
    Russian Federation
    Messages: 4799
    Status: Offline
    I've found and fix the bug in clouds generation code. SE tries to generate procedural clouds for catalog planet even if it have DiffMap specified in the Clouds{} tag (reversed condition check). And SE disables procedural clouds if a planet have atmospheric pressure less than 0.05 (the case of Mars and Io). So temporary solution for now - increase atmospheric pressure on Mars and Io to 0.06.




     
    ZatSoloDate: Thursday, 26.06.2014, 22:47 | Message # 513
    Space Pilot
    Group: Users
    Italy
    Messages: 111
    Status: Offline
    It's long time since I've found an annoying problem, but I have not yet been reported. wink

    I noticed that SE crashes after loading from 5 to 10 saved locations.
    It sometimes happens after 5/6 loadings, sometimes after 10/11 loadings.

    The sequence of events is this:
    1) I launch the program.
    2) I press F6 and load a saved location and I wait until rendering reaches the end.
    3) I repeat step 2 again and again until the SE crashes. It happens after 5/6 or 10/11 loadings at most.

    No one else has noticed this problem? sad


    Edited by ZatSolo - Saturday, 28.06.2014, 21:48
     
    RockoRocksDate: Thursday, 03.07.2014, 14:55 | Message # 514
    World Builder
    Group: Users
    Belgium
    Messages: 673
    Status: Offline
    I seem to be having a really annoying glitch sometimes when I use some of my custom spacecraft. The lens-flare texture gets replaced by a spaceship texture, and a few moments later the game crashed. A while ago I was able to capture an example of this glitch:



    Does anybody know the cause/solution for this glitch?

    Attachments: 8785760.jpg(288Kb)





    I will be inactive on this forum for the time being. Might come back eventually

    AMD AR-3305M APU w/ Radeon HD 1.90 GHz 6,00 GB RAM
     
    TuskinDate: Thursday, 03.07.2014, 21:33 | Message # 515
    Space Pilot
    Group: Users
    Canada
    Messages: 94
    Status: Offline
    I posted a month ago that the latest AMD beta drivers killed the planet rendering. I did roll back and that fixed it.

    AMD just released another Beta Driver last week and I downloaded and see if it was fixed yet. It wasn't.

    So if these beta drivers go live, anyone with a AMD card who wants to keep using SE properly shouldn't update to them.

    What is interesting is it only breaks planet rendering. Suns and Asteroids still show up fine.


    Edited by Tuskin - Thursday, 03.07.2014, 21:52
     
    HotsoupDate: Friday, 04.07.2014, 05:26 | Message # 516
    Observer
    Group: Newbies
    United States
    Messages: 7
    Status: Offline
    Ok if anyone can help, please feel free to comment. I can not figure out why I have this problem. It does not appear all the time. I have these screen shots to show you.


    The lines I do not know why this happens.

    Attachments: 8129024.jpg(263Kb) · 9503322.jpg(211Kb)





    Intel®Core™i7Cpu 930@2.80GHz OC@3.36GHz-Ati Radeon R9 280X 3GB-9GB DDR3 RAM-2 SSHD 120GB & 260GB-Creative SB X-Fi Titanium.

    Edited by Hotsoup - Friday, 04.07.2014, 05:30
     
    anonymousgamerDate: Friday, 04.07.2014, 05:44 | Message # 517
    World Builder
    Group: Global Moderators
    United States
    Messages: 1011
    Status: Offline
    Hello Hotsoup, I merged your thread here because there is no need to create a new thread to report a bug.

    Quote Hotsoup ()
    Ok if anyone can help, please feel free to comment. I can not figure out why I have this problem. It does not appear all the time. I have these screen shots to show you.


    It's basically just bad seams in the skybox. If it bugs you too much (terrible pun), you can disable skyboxes in the settings menu, at the cost of some performance.





    Desktop: FX-8350 4.0 GHz, 8 GB DDR3 RAM, EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 FTW 8 GB, 2 TB HDD, 24 inch 1920x1080 screen
    Laptop: Core i5 480M 2.66 GHz (turbo 2.93), 8 GB DDR3 RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6550m 1 GB, 640 GB HDD, 17.3 inch 1600x900 screen
     
    HotsoupDate: Friday, 04.07.2014, 06:02 | Message # 518
    Observer
    Group: Newbies
    United States
    Messages: 7
    Status: Offline
    Thank you so much. It was bugging me because I did no know what was causing it. Thanks again.




    Intel®Core™i7Cpu 930@2.80GHz OC@3.36GHz-Ati Radeon R9 280X 3GB-9GB DDR3 RAM-2 SSHD 120GB & 260GB-Creative SB X-Fi Titanium.

    Edited by Hotsoup - Friday, 04.07.2014, 06:03
     
    noobieDate: Friday, 04.07.2014, 06:45 | Message # 519
    Observer
    Group: Newbies
    Australia
    Messages: 1
    Status: Offline
    I can't install Space Engine 9.7.1

    Fresh download, 3GHz CPU, nvidia 9800 GPU 512mb . Windows XP sp3

    I get the error.

    The application failed to initialize properly (0xc0150002). Click OK to terminate the application.

    Appreciate any advice.
    Google wasn't helpful as this can be a common error for many programs.


    Edited by noobie - Friday, 04.07.2014, 07:06
     
    anonymousgamerDate: Sunday, 06.07.2014, 04:58 | Message # 520
    World Builder
    Group: Global Moderators
    United States
    Messages: 1011
    Status: Offline
    So, I launched up SE to do typical SE things, when this... sorta happened....



    Here's my SE.log, clearly something went wrong. It might be new Nvidia drivers.

    http://pastebin.com/TuzW4jpA





    Desktop: FX-8350 4.0 GHz, 8 GB DDR3 RAM, EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 FTW 8 GB, 2 TB HDD, 24 inch 1920x1080 screen
    Laptop: Core i5 480M 2.66 GHz (turbo 2.93), 8 GB DDR3 RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6550m 1 GB, 640 GB HDD, 17.3 inch 1600x900 screen
     
    SpaceEngineerDate: Sunday, 06.07.2014, 07:47 | Message # 521
    Author of Space Engine
    Group: Administrators
    Russian Federation
    Messages: 4799
    Status: Offline
    Yes, you should revert your old drivers...




     
    Captain_CrowbarDate: Tuesday, 08.07.2014, 19:23 | Message # 522
    Observer
    Group: Users
    United Kingdom
    Messages: 12
    Status: Offline
    So far I'm having a handful of problems that only happen in the recent beta driver (on a GTX 580 3GB), wondering if anyone else can conform these problems. I have since rolled back to 337.88 and everything is fine, I've also posted on their official forum thread asking for feedback on said driver. The problems I'm having are:

    1) In the settings menu, HDR and FXAA settings are blacked out as if the hardware has been detected as not supporting them.

    2) When travelling between systems and especially when opening the system browser (F2) stretched planet/star models rapidly flash on screen and when using the system browser, the small 3D duplicates of the planets and stars that should be listed in the browser window are gone (they are probably the same models that flash on screen).

    3) When pausing the game, the background is supposed to blur and the menu is then displayed over the top, but on the beta driver it just fades to black with a one pixel white border around the edge.

    4) When the program is closed, it takes a screen of your last position that is then used as the background for the main menu when next started up (similar to in point 3) but it just reverts to the first photo. (3 and 4 are probably the same problem with capturing the scene for the menu background)





    i5 4670k @ 3.4Ghz
    Asus Sabertooth Z97 Mark 1
    GTX 980 4GB
    Corsair Vengeance Black @1600MHz, 16GB
    Asus Xonar D2X Soundcard
    Samsung SSD 840 120GB (OS)
    Corsair TX850 v2 850W PSU
    Windows 10 Pro 64-bit


    Edited by Captain_Crowbar - Tuesday, 08.07.2014, 19:24
     
    SpaceEngineerDate: Wednesday, 09.07.2014, 11:44 | Message # 523
    Author of Space Engine
    Group: Administrators
    Russian Federation
    Messages: 4799
    Status: Offline
    This look like broken or unsupported rendering to texture. The procedural planets must also be flat and detail-less. Is it true?
    Did you trying to remove the cache folder?

    By the way, such things must be posted in this thread: http://en.spaceengine.org/forum/4-1946-1





     
    Captain_CrowbarDate: Wednesday, 09.07.2014, 15:57 | Message # 524
    Observer
    Group: Users
    United Kingdom
    Messages: 12
    Status: Offline
    Quote anonymousgamer ()
    So, I launched up SE to do typical SE things, when this... sorta happened....


    Same problem I came across with the new Beta driver, I started my own thread on it, being new here I was pointed by SpaceEngineer here. There are also problems in the way of changing settings for FXAA and HDR in the graphics settings and the automatic saving of screenshots for use as a background in the menus.

    Replying to SpaceEngineer in my past thread, I did not notice any flat or detail-less procedural planets, symptoms were just as in anonymousgamer's video. I had cleared my cache folder, even re-downloaded and installed the program but to no change.





    i5 4670k @ 3.4Ghz
    Asus Sabertooth Z97 Mark 1
    GTX 980 4GB
    Corsair Vengeance Black @1600MHz, 16GB
    Asus Xonar D2X Soundcard
    Samsung SSD 840 120GB (OS)
    Corsair TX850 v2 850W PSU
    Windows 10 Pro 64-bit


    Edited by Captain_Crowbar - Wednesday, 09.07.2014, 16:04
     
    Captain_CrowbarDate: Wednesday, 09.07.2014, 16:03 | Message # 525
    Observer
    Group: Users
    United Kingdom
    Messages: 12
    Status: Offline
    My bad, continuing discussion over there.




    i5 4670k @ 3.4Ghz
    Asus Sabertooth Z97 Mark 1
    GTX 980 4GB
    Corsair Vengeance Black @1600MHz, 16GB
    Asus Xonar D2X Soundcard
    Samsung SSD 840 120GB (OS)
    Corsair TX850 v2 850W PSU
    Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
     
    Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.7.1
    Page 35 of 56«1233343536375556»
    Search: