Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 7 of 41«12567894041»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress 0.9.7.1
Work progress 0.9.7.1
HarbingerDawnDate: Friday, 14.06.2013, 23:42 | Message # 91
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
SpaceEngineer, is there a simple way for you to implement putting ship models into simple Keplerian orbits with physics disabled (like in Celestia) so that users could place satellites around Earth for example? That seems to be the only part of ships implementation that's missing at this stage of development.




All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM


Edited by HarbingerDawn - Friday, 14.06.2013, 23:43
 
Fireinthehole-Date: Friday, 14.06.2013, 23:52 | Message # 92
Pioneer
Group: Translators
Sweden
Messages: 365
Status: Offline
Quote (HarbingerDawn)
SpaceEngineer, is there a simple way for you to implement putting ship models into simple Keplerian orbits with physics disabled (like in Celestia) so that users could place satellites around Earth for example? That seems to be the only part of ships implementation that's missing at this stage of development.

And is it possible for spacecraft like Voyager 1 & 2 and Cassini to have preset paths, so one can follow the probes on their way through the solar system?





Love Space Engine!
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Saturday, 15.06.2013, 00:43 | Message # 93
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Quote (Fireinthehole)
And is it possible for spacecraft like Voyager 1 & 2 and Cassini to have preset paths

That would be very much more complicated to implement, hence why I didn't ask about it.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
neutronium76Date: Saturday, 15.06.2013, 08:41 | Message # 94
World Builder
Group: Users
Greece
Messages: 718
Status: Offline
Quote (HarbingerDawn)
That would be very much more complicated to implement, hence why I didn't ask about it


I think it wouldn't be that hard.
The only problem woud be that it won't render in interstellar space.
Also the trajectory using pre-calculated method would be inaccurate. i.e. if you set time and date to current time, the position in space of the probe that is on hyperbolic trajectory would be wrong. That is why SE can not accurately calculate the correct time of solar/moon eclipses on earth-moon system I think but I am not 100% sure unsure .





PC1:Core i7 970@3.34GHz, 6 cores/12 threads, 12GB DDR3 RAM@1.34GHz, 2x(SLI) GTX-580 GPUs 3GB VRAM(GDDR5)@1GHz, OS:Win7x64SP1
PC2:Core2Quad X9770@3.2GHz, 2 cores/4 threads 4GB DDR2 RAM@1GHz, GTX-285 GPU 1GB VRAM(DDR3)@1.24GHz, OS:WinVistax64SP2
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Saturday, 15.06.2013, 08:44 | Message # 95
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4798
Status: Offline
I could do anything that I have planned, but every new feature will delay release, as you know.




 
SpaceEngineerDate: Saturday, 15.06.2013, 08:47 | Message # 96
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4798
Status: Offline
Quote (Fireinthehole)
And is it possible for spacecraft like Voyager 1 & 2 and Cassini to have preset paths, so one can follow the probes on their way through the solar system?

This is relatively simple (just splines), but main problem is where from take the trajectories? Steal them from Celestia is not a good method.

Quote (neutronium76)
That is why SE can not accurately calculate the correct time of solar/moon eclipses on earth-moon system I think but I am not 100% sure .

You wrong. Eclipses is inaccurate because Moon's orbit is not static Keplerian ellipse what SE uses for now, but much more complex thing.





 
neutronium76Date: Saturday, 15.06.2013, 09:08 | Message # 97
World Builder
Group: Users
Greece
Messages: 718
Status: Offline
Quote (SpaceEngineer)
but main problem is where from take the trajectories?


What about this? Probably out-of-date though unsure ..
Edit: also found this page

Quote (SpaceEngineer)
You wrong


sorry sad

Quote (SpaceEngineer)
Finally, implemented ship lights


yahoo I sust noticed this now!





PC1:Core i7 970@3.34GHz, 6 cores/12 threads, 12GB DDR3 RAM@1.34GHz, 2x(SLI) GTX-580 GPUs 3GB VRAM(GDDR5)@1GHz, OS:Win7x64SP1
PC2:Core2Quad X9770@3.2GHz, 2 cores/4 threads 4GB DDR2 RAM@1GHz, GTX-285 GPU 1GB VRAM(DDR3)@1.24GHz, OS:WinVistax64SP2


Edited by neutronium76 - Saturday, 15.06.2013, 18:52
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Saturday, 15.06.2013, 09:53 | Message # 98
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Quote (SpaceEngineer)
but every new feature will delay release, as you know.

This is why I was asking if it could be done quickly (I wasn't clear when asking, sorry). If being able to add spaceship models to a catalog as passive objects on Keplerian orbits with physics disabled Celestia-style would only take an hour or less to code, then I think it would definitely be worth putting in this release. If it would take more effort then it should be skipped in favor of more important work.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
Fireinthehole-Date: Saturday, 15.06.2013, 11:52 | Message # 99
Pioneer
Group: Translators
Sweden
Messages: 365
Status: Offline
Quote (SpaceEngineer)
I could do anything that I have planned, but every new feature will delay release, as you know.

Quote (SpaceEngineer)
This is relatively simple (just splines), but main problem is where from take the trajectories? Steal them from Celestia is not a good method.

I just thought it would be a nice feature, but if the time is needed for more important features, then of course those features should be prioritized.





Love Space Engine!
 
DwardenDate: Saturday, 15.06.2013, 16:55 | Message # 100
Astronaut
Group: SE team
Czech Republic
Messages: 63
Status: Offline
the ships related improvements are very neat ...

about the voyager smile what about look here

http://voyager.jpl.nasa.gov/science/Voyager_Science_Data.html

the last link has easy to definable form to select objects including both Voyager probes
which returns e.g. position listing or position vectors in relation to another object etc.
http://cohoweb.gsfc.nasa.gov/helios/heli.html
* I checked and it returns even recent positions

---

what else? well I hope for soon simplified modding w/o need edit SE main files
http://en.spaceengine.org/forum/8-1658-1





Ideas are like ocean w/o borders! https://twitter.com/FoltynD

Edited by Dwarden - Saturday, 15.06.2013, 17:02
 
VoekoevakaDate: Saturday, 15.06.2013, 18:07 | Message # 101
World Builder
Group: SE team
France
Messages: 1016
Status: Offline
Ships are fantastic ! I wish you good luck to implement suck a feature on planets.




Want some music of mine ? Please go here !

 
SpaceEngineerDate: Saturday, 15.06.2013, 22:18 | Message # 102
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4798
Status: Offline
Added "transparent" materials, ie alpha testing. It allow to create grids or trusses.


Attachments: 5890745.jpg(538Kb)





 
werdnaforeverDate: Saturday, 15.06.2013, 23:06 | Message # 103
World Builder
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 897
Status: Offline
Quote (SpaceEngineer)
Added "transparent" materials, ie alpha testing. It allow to create grids or trusses.

Cool! Ships will look even better.

I believe the correct way of putting it is adding an alpha channel.
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Sunday, 16.06.2013, 00:05 | Message # 104
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3599
Status: Online
Quote (SpaceEngineer)
Added "transparent" materials, ie alpha testing. It allow to create grids or trusses.


Does this mean it is either fully transparent or fully opaque?

Or will this allow semi transparent textures? And if that does allow semi transparent textures does that mean one could use a specular to mimic transparent glass with a shine?





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
SHWDate: Sunday, 16.06.2013, 08:40 | Message # 105
Astronaut
Group: SE team
Pirate
Messages: 76
Status: Offline
Quote (DoctorOfSpace)
Does this mean it is either fully transparent or fully opaque?

Yes. Semi transparent material requires additional work with polygon sorting.





Your mind is software. Program it.
Your body is a shell. Change it.
Death is a disease. Cure it.
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress 0.9.7.1
Page 7 of 41«12567894041»
Search: