Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 39 of 41«123738394041»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress 0.9.7.1
Work progress 0.9.7.1
Fireinthehole-Date: Saturday, 21.12.2013, 16:04 | Message # 571
Pioneer
Group: Translators
Sweden
Messages: 365
Status: Offline
Quote HarbingerDawn ()
Real model of Vesta for 0.9.7.1

Wow, I'm impressed! I hope that Mimas and other irregular objects will get more detailed models soon! smile





Love Space Engine!
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Saturday, 21.12.2013, 17:13 | Message # 572
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4795
Status: Offline
Quote Fireinthehole ()
I hope that Mimas and other irregular objects will get more detailed models soon!

This is possible only for objects that have detailed elevation map.

Quote JCandeias ()
Wait. How?! SE now supports asteroidal meshes?

It do support any mesh that can be described by elevation map. Procedural and real asteroids in SE uses the same terrain engine that planet do.





 
JCandeiasDate: Saturday, 21.12.2013, 17:51 | Message # 573
Pioneer
Group: Translators
Portugal
Messages: 382
Status: Offline
Quote SpaceEngineer ()
It do support any mesh that can be described by elevation map. Procedural and real asteroids in SE uses the same terrain engine that planet do.


I knew that, but I didn't think it'd be possible to get this kind of detail by that method, hence the surprise. What's the limit? Would you be able to add a properly-shaped 216 Kleopatra, for instance?





They let me use this!
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Saturday, 21.12.2013, 18:16 | Message # 574
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8711
Status: Offline
Quote JCandeias ()
Wait. How?! SE now supports asteroidal meshes?

Have you never visited Phobos, Deimos, or Amalthea in SE?

Quote JCandeias ()
What's the limit?

There is no limit, besides the 10-meter-per-pixel limit to terrain resolution common to all planets in SE at present.

Quote JCandeias ()
Would you be able to add a properly-shaped 216 Kleopatra, for instance?

Only if you can get a height map for it, and the exact parameters of the reference ellipsoid that it's relative to.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM


Edited by HarbingerDawn - Saturday, 21.12.2013, 18:21
 
Fireinthehole-Date: Saturday, 21.12.2013, 19:03 | Message # 575
Pioneer
Group: Translators
Sweden
Messages: 365
Status: Offline
Quote SpaceEngineer ()
This is possible only for objects that have detailed elevation map.

Mimas doesn't have that? sad





Love Space Engine!
 
JCandeiasDate: Saturday, 21.12.2013, 19:04 | Message # 576
Pioneer
Group: Translators
Portugal
Messages: 382
Status: Offline
Quote HarbingerDawn ()
Have you never visited Phobos, Deimos, or Amalthea in SE?


Phobos yeah but, I have to admit, only at some distance. Ditto for Amalthea. I never got this close to either.

Quote HarbingerDawn ()
Only if you can get a height map for it, and the exact parameters of the reference ellipsoid that it's relative to.


I thought it would be problematic to do it, if that reference ellipsoid had to be much smaller than the object as a whole. Kleopatra, with its dog-bone shape, striked me as a hard one to model that way. Then again I don't know much about 3D modelling, so I'm just learning here.

Say, wouldn't that need for exact parameters be somewhat problematic for objects with chaotic rotation, like Hyperion?





They let me use this!
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Saturday, 21.12.2013, 22:24 | Message # 577
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8711
Status: Offline
Quote JCandeias ()
Say, wouldn't that need for exact parameters be somewhat problematic for objects with chaotic rotation, like Hyperion?

No, why? Its shape doesn't change as it rotates, so it has no effect. All that is needed is a radius and oblateness value (although for some objects you'd probably need support for triaxial ellipsoids, which SE currently lacks).





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
JCandeiasDate: Saturday, 21.12.2013, 23:18 | Message # 578
Pioneer
Group: Translators
Portugal
Messages: 382
Status: Offline
Quote HarbingerDawn ()
No, why?


Because, unless I'm much mistaken, as it is currently defined in SE oblateness kind of "squishes" the objects along their rotation axis. That is, the polar radius has to be the smallest of the two... at least in what concerns the refference ellipsoid. But if an object has chaotic rotation, it won't be.

What I mean here is: geometrically there shouldn't be problems in setting any kind of base ellipsoid and then overlapping it with an adecuate elevation map. But some objects might be problematic when you try to adapt their ellipsoids and elevation maps to their rotational patterns.

Right?





They let me use this!
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Saturday, 21.12.2013, 23:43 | Message # 579
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8711
Status: Offline
All of which is irrelevant if you can't actually simulate the chaotic rotation anyway (which SE can't).




All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
JCandeiasDate: Sunday, 22.12.2013, 00:12 | Message # 580
Pioneer
Group: Translators
Portugal
Messages: 382
Status: Offline
True, that.

Although I wonder if precessional processes couldn't create cases where non-chaotically rotating bodies become misaligned between their rotational axis and their ellipsoidal axis.





They let me use this!


Edited by JCandeias - Sunday, 22.12.2013, 00:13
 
Universe2077Date: Sunday, 22.12.2013, 13:12 | Message # 581
Observer
Group: Newbies
Ukraine
Messages: 8
Status: Offline
SpaceEngineer Hello, I found a new problem that I download too much catalogs (.sc files) from official mods, it can produce a bug and it is impossible to find existing objects (example Earth). Can you fix this problem, Vladimir?
 
Billy_MayesDate: Sunday, 22.12.2013, 16:14 | Message # 582
Pioneer
Group: Users
Finland
Messages: 485
Status: Offline
Universe2077, all bugs should be reported in this thread.




AMD Phenom II X4 955 3.2 GHz Quad-Core - AMD Radeon HD 6950 2GB VRAM - 4GB RAM - 1680x1050 75 Hz Samsung screen
 
TheBigBangDate: Tuesday, 24.12.2013, 08:34 | Message # 583
Observer
Group: Newbies
United States
Messages: 1
Status: Offline
Looks amazing! I know your working on it but seeing some trees and other natural bodies of nature would really add a sense of realism. Make it seem more like a planet with life other than awesome looking mountains and flat grasslands. Keep up the good work!! biggrin




Intel i7 3770k @3.5GHz / GEForce 660 TI w/3GB video memory / 16GB RAM / Windows 7 Ultimate
 
dblackDate: Tuesday, 24.12.2013, 09:57 | Message # 584
Space Tourist
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 35
Status: Offline
Just a question. Would anybody here be willing to take a day away from their life in order to have 0.9.7.1 right now? lol
 
midtskogenDate: Tuesday, 24.12.2013, 11:00 | Message # 585
Star Engineer
Group: Users
Norway
Messages: 1667
Status: Offline
Quote dblack ()
Would anybody here be willing to take a day away from their life in order to have 0.9.7.1 right now?

Rather, I think some here are willing to let 0.9.7.1 take a day from their life when they have it.





NIL DIFFICILE VOLENTI
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress 0.9.7.1
Page 39 of 41«123738394041»
Search: