RUS New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 2 of 41«12344041»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress 0.9.7.1
Work progress 0.9.7.1
SpaceEngineerDate: Wednesday, 29.05.2013, 22:02 | Message # 16
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4799
Status: Offline
Added a full list of chages in the OP.




 
SpaceEngineerDate: Friday, 31.05.2013, 16:53 | Message # 17
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4799
Status: Offline
Achieved 30 second for search of 10000 nearest systems in the Star Browser on the i7 3.8 GHz with 4 cores (8 threads).




 
n3xtDate: Friday, 31.05.2013, 21:26 | Message # 18
Explorer
Group: Users
Netherlands
Messages: 184
Status: Offline
SpaceEngineer

Quote
• Updated exoplanets catalog


I have an unrealistic question...

But will we ever see Polyphemus and Pandora back in S.E. ?
Aswell as the Helios solar systems and its 12 planets with life. biggrin

I usually take a 1000 AU/s journey to the Alpha Centauri system to visit Pandora. xD
I kinda miss that, now only Proxima Centauri has a decent amount of planets.

Again... I know it's not realistic but atleast motivative to travel there at slow speeds. biggrin

SpaceEngineer

Quote
• Removed duplicate of the Fomalhaut


Great! Now that's such a relief because if you look carefully and compare Sirius to Fomalhaut (not in luminosity though) it would appear ''brighter'' cause of the duplication! Yaaay biggrin


Edited by n3xt - Saturday, 01.06.2013, 07:52
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Friday, 31.05.2013, 21:29 | Message # 19
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3600
Status: Offline
Quote (SpaceEngineer)
Automatic calculation of the offset of the ship model to make it perfectly centered


Will this require a recompiling of the OBJ to the new SM format or will the ship files I have uploaded work with this change?





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Friday, 31.05.2013, 21:41 | Message # 20
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Quote (n3xt)
But will we ever see Polyphemus and Pandora back in S.E. ?

You can have it in SE now...

If you mean will it be enabled by default, then no.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Friday, 31.05.2013, 23:48 | Message # 21
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4799
Status: Offline
Quote (n3xt)
But will we ever see Polyphemus and Pandora back in S.E. ?

You may copy its script from 0.96 (and apply some tweaks). Or I may upload it as addon.





 
SpaceEngineerDate: Friday, 31.05.2013, 23:49 | Message # 22
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4799
Status: Offline
Quote (DoctorOfSpace)
Will this require a recompiling of the OBJ to the new SM format or will the ship files I have uploaded work with this change?

Yes, just use OBJ (with MTL, if possible) - SE will generate SM and config script automatically.





 
Red_RiverDate: Sunday, 02.06.2013, 13:28 | Message # 23
Astronaut
Group: Users
Canada
Messages: 56
Status: Offline
Quote (SpaceEngineer)
Achieved 30 second for search of 10000 nearest systems in the Star Browser on the i7 3.8 GHz with 4 cores (8 threads).

nice. that's one beefy CPU; does this mean you got a new 'puter? time to update your sig!







Edited by Red_River - Sunday, 02.06.2013, 13:30
 
smjjamesDate: Sunday, 02.06.2013, 18:17 | Message # 24
World Builder
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 913
Status: Offline
Quote (Red_River)
Quote (SpaceEngineer)
Achieved 30 second for search of 10000 nearest systems in the Star Browser on the i7 3.8 GHz with 4 cores (8 threads).

nice. that's one beefy CPU; does this mean you got a new 'puter? time to update your sig!


Or maybe he made the star browser more efficient?

Still, 10,000 stars in 30 seconds? Wow, it takes a few min for me to get to 1024 stars (which I thought was the limit), but 10,000 would take maybe 20 minutes, and it would have lots of stars with blank data.

Quote (SpaceEngineer)
Fixed a slow-down after using the Star Browser


THANK YOU! I kept having that problem constantly after using the star browser, I swore that there was a memory leak or something and the slowdown could get worse over time.







Edited by smjjames - Sunday, 02.06.2013, 18:19
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Sunday, 02.06.2013, 22:31 | Message # 25
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Quote (smjjames)
Or maybe he made the star browser more efficient?

smjjames, the CPU he said he used is not the same CPU that he listed in his sig. So either he has a new computer or he ran this test on someone else's.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Sunday, 02.06.2013, 22:47 | Message # 26
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4799
Status: Offline
Quote (Red_River)
nice. that's one beefy CPU; does this mean you got a new 'puter? time to update your sig!

No, I use a new PC on my job office. It have i7, 64 Gb of RAM and GTX 660 smile

Quote (smjjames)
THANK YOU! I kept having that problem constantly after using the star browser, I swore that there was a memory leak or something and the slowdown could get worse over time.

It was not a memory leak, SE just tries to render 10-20 planetary systems at once. Star browser forces SE to generate all neighboring systems, and many of them have so big size (radius of a outermost planet), so it is bigger that 1 pixel on the screen. So SE must render it. I increased the limit radius to 10 pixels, and make a separate list of planetary system for use with Star browser, so it not affects the main render list. Ie Star browser generates systems in a some sort of sandbox, not related with a renderer.

So to fix that slow-down, you may just fly far away from the point where you are. 100-200 pc in enough.





 
anonymousgamerDate: Sunday, 02.06.2013, 23:16 | Message # 27
World Builder
Group: Global Moderators
United States
Messages: 1011
Status: Offline
Quote (SpaceEngineer)
64 Gb of RAM


May I ask, why so much?





Desktop: FX-8350 4.0 GHz, 8 GB DDR3 RAM, EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 FTW 8 GB, 2 TB HDD, 24 inch 1920x1080 screen
Laptop: Core i5 480M 2.66 GHz (turbo 2.93), 8 GB DDR3 RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6550m 1 GB, 640 GB HDD, 17.3 inch 1600x900 screen
 
Crashman1390Date: Sunday, 02.06.2013, 23:34 | Message # 28
Explorer
Group: Users
Canada
Messages: 229
Status: Offline
SpaceEngineer, the Milky way has been reclassified as an SBa, just want you to notice! smile
I got the notification on Wikipedia





[b]I was wrong, this forum still has a horrible community.[/b]

Edited by Crashman1390 - Sunday, 02.06.2013, 23:43
 
smjjamesDate: Monday, 03.06.2013, 02:33 | Message # 29
World Builder
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 913
Status: Offline
Quote (HarbingerDawn)
Quote (smjjames)
Or maybe he made the star browser more efficient?

smjjames, the CPU he said he used is not the same CPU that he listed in his sig. So either he has a new computer or he ran this test on someone else's.


Whoop, missed that somehow.

Turns out it's a new computer that he has at his office.





 
HarbingerDawnDate: Monday, 03.06.2013, 02:54 | Message # 30
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Quote (smjjames)
Turns out it's a new computer that he has at his office.






All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress 0.9.7.1
Page 2 of 41«12344041»
Search: