Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 3 of 19«123451819»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » DoctorOfSpace's Mod Emporium (ships, shaders, tweaks, and edits)
DoctorOfSpace's Mod Emporium
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Tuesday, 07.05.2013, 16:04 | Message # 31
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3595
Status: Offline
I will start posting more ships soon just have a few things going on thats sucking up a bit of time.




Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
DwardenDate: Tuesday, 07.05.2013, 18:28 | Message # 32
Astronaut
Group: SE team
Czech Republic
Messages: 63
Status: Offline
i would be quite interested in this ship design

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AnV0YqoDMj8
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=09dxmLuO6so

unfortunately I can't figure out who made the model or any further details on the model / anim from YT video





Ideas are like ocean w/o borders! https://twitter.com/FoltynD
 
SalvoDate: Tuesday, 07.05.2013, 19:54 | Message # 33
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Italy
Messages: 1400
Status: Offline
I tryed to download 2001 A Space Odyssey Orbiter addon pack but it tells me it's a virus, Doc, is it safe? ._.




The universe is not required to be in perfect harmony with human ambition.

CPU: Intel Core i7 4770 GPU: ASUS Radeon R9 270 RAM: 8 GBs

(still don't know why everyone is doing this...)
 
neutronium76Date: Tuesday, 07.05.2013, 20:01 | Message # 34
World Builder
Group: Users
Greece
Messages: 718
Status: Offline
Quote (Salvo)
I tryed to download 2001 A Space Odyssey Orbiter addon pack but it tells me it's a virus, Doc, is it safe?


Yeah go on. It's this microsoft's smartscreen filter s**t dry . I ignored the warning and no problem smile





PC1:Core i7 970@3.34GHz, 6 cores/12 threads, 12GB DDR3 RAM@1.34GHz, 2x(SLI) GTX-580 GPUs 3GB VRAM(GDDR5)@1GHz, OS:Win7x64SP1
PC2:Core2Quad X9770@3.2GHz, 2 cores/4 threads 4GB DDR2 RAM@1GHz, GTX-285 GPU 1GB VRAM(DDR3)@1.24GHz, OS:WinVistax64SP2
 
AmericaisBabylonDate: Thursday, 09.05.2013, 16:52 | Message # 35
Space Tourist
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 32
Status: Offline
Is it possible to do the star trek modles having lights?? That would be very cool, also this may sound silly but are you willing to do a high res local earth map?? I live in taylor county west virginia and would love to have a high res close up of where I live. If I could learn how I would make local maps for people on demand. From what I understand its possible now.
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Thursday, 09.05.2013, 17:56 | Message # 36
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4796
Status: Offline
Quote (werdnaforever)
What about Larry Niven's ringworld?

Wait until I implement procedural landscape with cylindrical geometry smile





 
SpaceEngineerDate: Thursday, 09.05.2013, 18:24 | Message # 37
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4796
Status: Offline
DoctorOfSpace, Something strange with units in 2001 pack. Space Station V have a diameter of 12 kilometers, shuttle is 555 meters long. Astrounauts are 20 meters long and have a mass of 5 kg...

Also, you have very bad culture of source code formatting. Try use the same tabulation and alignment as I used in my scripts (line begins with tabulation character, space between parameter name and value is filled with 'space' character). Use normal source text editor like Notepad++.




Attachments: 2537253.png(98Kb) · 2263342.png(102Kb)





 
AmericaisBabylonDate: Thursday, 09.05.2013, 18:33 | Message # 38
Space Tourist
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 32
Status: Offline
Question I just downloaded NXO1 enterprize model and I really like the origional model much better due to the metallic look that it had in the star light. The last model was beautiful in how it reflected light almost like a metal mirror. can you fix this or give me some insight as to how to re-create that effect?
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Thursday, 09.05.2013, 18:43 | Message # 39
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8711
Status: Offline
Quote (SpaceEngineer)
Something strange with units in 2001 pack. Space Station V have a diameter of 12 kilometers, shuttle is 555 meters long. Astrounauts are 20 meters long and have a mass of 5 kg...

He said in his post that he did this intentionally to avoid camera clipping plane issues when viewing model interiors.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
AmericaisBabylonDate: Thursday, 09.05.2013, 18:45 | Message # 40
Space Tourist
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 32
Status: Offline
DoctorOfSpace, I would like to know if you can bring back the metallic look of the first nx01 enterprize model or how i can do this. I really think the mirror like reflectivity of light from the origional model in 96 was beautiful. Can you help with this??
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Thursday, 09.05.2013, 18:49 | Message # 41
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3595
Status: Offline
Quote (SpaceEngineer)
Space Station V have a diameter of 12 kilometers, shuttle is 555 meters long. Astrounauts are 20 meters long and have a mass of 5 kg...


I didn't even bother changing the mass because it doesn't have any effect on anything in game at this time. The size is to avoid clipping, if you put them to their actual approximate heights and lengths you can't very close to the astronauts or interiors.

Quote (SpaceEngineer)
Use normal source text editor like Notepad++.


Always use that anyways. The format doesn't seem like that big of a deal if the ships work.

Quote (AmericaisBabylon)
The last model was beautiful in how it reflected light almost like a metal mirror. can you fix this or give me some insight as to how to re-create that effect?


The last one was a specular map used as the default texture. I didn't bother doing that this time because I didn't have to redo the UV map so I used the default textures and cleaned them up a bit.

Quote (AmericaisBabylon)
Is it possible to do the star trek modles having lights


Quote (AmericaisBabylon)
are you willing to do a high res local earth map??


No

Quote (Dwarden)
i would be quite interested in this ship design


Would need a source model sadly as I am no 3D artist.





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Thursday, 09.05.2013, 18:51 | Message # 42
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8711
Status: Offline
AmericaisBabylon, please do not make repeated posts about the same topic, it is against forum rules. You just made this same post a few minutes ago in this same thread, your second post was completely unnecessary.




All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Thursday, 09.05.2013, 20:16 | Message # 43
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4796
Status: Offline
Death Star model is off-centered:



SE calculates offset by found uttermost vertices, but didn't use it. I can add a script option to use it.

Attachments: 8624795.jpg(138Kb)





 
neutronium76Date: Thursday, 09.05.2013, 20:36 | Message # 44
World Builder
Group: Users
Greece
Messages: 718
Status: Offline
Doc and others: Regarding the clipping issue, I reduced the size of 2001 ships by a factor of 10 i.e, brought them back to their normal sizes e.g Discovery one 140 meters, astronauts 2m, etc.. and there is no cliping, just some trembling if you are in the interior / very close to the model:


sorry for the horrible video quality.. it is for illustration purposes only smile





PC1:Core i7 970@3.34GHz, 6 cores/12 threads, 12GB DDR3 RAM@1.34GHz, 2x(SLI) GTX-580 GPUs 3GB VRAM(GDDR5)@1GHz, OS:Win7x64SP1
PC2:Core2Quad X9770@3.2GHz, 2 cores/4 threads 4GB DDR2 RAM@1GHz, GTX-285 GPU 1GB VRAM(DDR3)@1.24GHz, OS:WinVistax64SP2
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Thursday, 09.05.2013, 20:39 | Message # 45
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3595
Status: Offline
That would be nice. Orienting the Death Star in 3DS Max was a pain because I couldn't see the grid properly while the model was visible.

Quote (neutronium76)
astronauts 2m


Thats about the limit on size though and I still see clipping.





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB


Edited by DoctorOfSpace - Thursday, 09.05.2013, 20:41
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » DoctorOfSpace's Mod Emporium (ships, shaders, tweaks, and edits)
Page 3 of 19«123451819»
Search: