Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 5 of 21«12345672021»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Known issues and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.97 (Please post here any bugs you find in SpaceEngine)
Known issues and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.97
HarbingerDawnDate: Wednesday, 01.05.2013, 06:26 | Message # 1
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8711
Status: Offline
Please post here all of your reports about bugs or crashes in SpaceEngine. Before you post any bugs, please follow these steps:

  • Read the Troubleshooting for SpaceEngine 0.97. It is possible that your problem can be solved there.

  • Make sure that your bugs are not on the following list of known issues. You can use your browser's word finder to help search the list.

  • If the bug is not on the list then please post it in this thread. Attach to your message a screenshot (if possible) and a log file (it's called the "se.log" and is located in the system folder of SpaceEngine's directory). Only the log file will help me to understand your problem and find a solution.



    Known Issues



    Edited by HarbingerDawn - Monday, 30.09.2013, 22:45
  •  
    Red_RiverDate: Saturday, 04.05.2013, 16:01 | Message # 61
    Astronaut
    Group: Users
    Canada
    Messages: 56
    Status: Offline
    Can see a dwarf star through a planet(see attached):
    Attachments: 6829098.jpg(228Kb)





     
    HarbingerDawnDate: Saturday, 04.05.2013, 16:04 | Message # 62
    Cosmic Curator
    Group: Administrators
    United States
    Messages: 8711
    Status: Offline
    Quote (Red_River)
    Can see a dwarf star through a planet(see attached):

    Are you using Points or Points and Sprites as your star style?





    All forum users, please read this!
    My SE mods and addons
    Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
     
    Red_RiverDate: Saturday, 04.05.2013, 16:19 | Message # 63
    Astronaut
    Group: Users
    Canada
    Messages: 56
    Status: Offline
    Quote (HarbingerDawn)
    Are you using Points or Points and Sprites as your star style?

    both Points and Sprites
    also notice the atmo pressue is unrealistically high. I see this on many terra worlds...

    Attachments: 6839067.jpg(189Kb)







    Edited by Red_River - Saturday, 04.05.2013, 16:28
     
    HarbingerDawnDate: Saturday, 04.05.2013, 16:31 | Message # 64
    Cosmic Curator
    Group: Administrators
    United States
    Messages: 8711
    Status: Offline
    Quote (Red_River)
    also notice the atmo pressue is unrealistically high. I see this on many terra worlds...

    Why couldn't that terra have an atmosphere that thick?





    All forum users, please read this!
    My SE mods and addons
    Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
     
    smjjamesDate: Saturday, 04.05.2013, 16:46 | Message # 65
    World Builder
    Group: Users
    United States
    Messages: 913
    Status: Offline
    Quote (HarbingerDawn)
    Quote (Red_River)
    also notice the atmo pressue is unrealistically high. I see this on many terra worlds...

    Why couldn't that terra have an atmosphere that thick?


    Venus's atmosphere is actually twice as thick as the one in the screenshot, so I don't see an issue with that world. The ones with hundreds or thousands of atmospheres I find somewhat unrealistic, then again, we simply don't know the range that would be typical in nature.

    Sometimes the star browser will bug out and not include the multiplicity, planets, and 'with life' data for some stars. Seems to happen after doing it a whole bunch of times or doing a search radius of 100 and there are a thousand it detects.



    I don't know if it's only reproduceable in certain locations or something, so here is the location code that I observed the problem at:
    Place "star brower problem"
    {
    Body "RS 7748-160379-5-24402-214"
    Parent ""
    Pos (-1.075417603910557e-008, 1.503665999344679e-007, 3.401785003481154e-008)
    Rot (0.6455748137129678, -0.6184515966215766, 0.1541823973736597, -0.4206882110016881)
    Date "2013.05.04 15:27:34.46"
    Vel 1.4607331e-008
    Mode 1
    }

    Attachments: 1781392.jpg(247Kb)







    Edited by smjjames - Saturday, 04.05.2013, 17:43
     
    Donatelo200Date: Saturday, 04.05.2013, 20:47 | Message # 66
    Explorer
    Group: Users
    United States
    Messages: 261
    Status: Offline
    I found a star that is spinning so fast that it has negative G's at the equator. It should be torn apart because of this.


    Attachments: 3583353.jpg(235Kb)





    CPU: Intel Core i7-4790K
    GPU: Nvidia GTX 1080
    SSD: Samsung 850 Evo 250GB
    HDD: Toshiba DT01ACA200 2TB
    HDD: WD Blue 1TB (2012)
    RAM: Unknown 16G-D3-1600-MR 2x8GB
    MBD: MSI Z97S SLI Krait Edition (MS-7922)
     
    smjjamesDate: Sunday, 05.05.2013, 05:30 | Message # 67
    World Builder
    Group: Users
    United States
    Messages: 913
    Status: Offline
    Quote (Donatelo200)
    I found a star that is spinning so fast that it has negative G's at the equator. It should be torn apart because of this.


    Ran into another example of this bug, not quite as extreme as the one donatelo found. Also, not sure if it's me or if very oblate stars always have a rotation of two days? In an OB type star pair, both stars had rotations of exactly two days, which seems a bit odd, and no they weren't close orbiting binaries.


    Attachments: 9832913.jpg(201Kb)





     
    HarbingerDawnDate: Sunday, 05.05.2013, 05:50 | Message # 68
    Cosmic Curator
    Group: Administrators
    United States
    Messages: 8711
    Status: Offline
    Quote (smjjames)
    not quite as extreme as the one donatelo found

    Actually it's more extreme...





    All forum users, please read this!
    My SE mods and addons
    Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
     
    smjjamesDate: Sunday, 05.05.2013, 06:50 | Message # 69
    World Builder
    Group: Users
    United States
    Messages: 913
    Status: Offline
    Quote (HarbingerDawn)
    Quote (smjjames)
    not quite as extreme as the one donatelo found

    Actually it's more extreme...


    Oh, me being tired then I guess.

    Edit: I may be tired, but I'm pretty sure this galaxy isn't supposed to look this colorless. It also looks exactly like a procedural galaxy that I saw which looked the same way. Clearing cache doesn't do anything. Btw, this is one of the galaxies listed in the models text file.

    The first time it happened, I thought it was the program glitching out because there was another galaxy that looked ghostly, but was fine after a restart, looks like it's not glitching out this time and it actually is being rendered as almost colorless.


    Attachments: 9568103.jpg(93Kb)







    Edited by smjjames - Sunday, 05.05.2013, 07:15
     
    HabitDate: Sunday, 05.05.2013, 08:34 | Message # 70
    Observer
    Group: Newbies
    United States
    Messages: 1
    Status: Offline
    Howdy, everyone. Been following Space Engine for a little over a year now, and I thought now would be as good as ever to make an account to report 2 bugs I found.

    1. The terrain engine, while generating snow caps for mountains, completely ignores planetary temperature.

    For example, this image was taken on a hot desert within .97's default system.

    $image1$

    2. There appears to be a SEVERE problem with comet trail rendering. Every time I go to render a comet with a trail, my computer is brought to its knees.

    Here is my system while not rendering a comet trail.



    Here is my system while rendering a comet trail.



    Note: this is a non-issue when rendering non-trailing cold asteroids. It seems to only happen when the comet has a trail.

    Here's my driver info in case it is necessary.



    Hope this is all helpful!

    Attachments: 6006874.jpg(311Kb) · 5777389.jpg(176Kb) · 5399043.jpg(162Kb) · 8184348.jpg(185Kb)


    Edited by Habit - Sunday, 05.05.2013, 08:36
     
    HarbingerDawnDate: Sunday, 05.05.2013, 14:03 | Message # 71
    Cosmic Curator
    Group: Administrators
    United States
    Messages: 8711
    Status: Offline
    Habit, welcome to the forum.

    The increased system load when rendering a comet tail is pretty normal, and snowcaps on hot worlds aren't necessarily a "bug", just a shortcoming in the terrain generation code which will probably be refined in the future.





    All forum users, please read this!
    My SE mods and addons
    Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
     
    smjjamesDate: Sunday, 05.05.2013, 16:03 | Message # 72
    World Builder
    Group: Users
    United States
    Messages: 913
    Status: Offline
    Just thought I'd make note that the grey shaded gas giant glitch is still around, though not common. Actually, if you remove the atmosphere, you can see that it is actually a light blue color.

    Attachments: 4370228.jpg(179Kb)





     
    HarbingerDawnDate: Sunday, 05.05.2013, 16:50 | Message # 73
    Cosmic Curator
    Group: Administrators
    United States
    Messages: 8711
    Status: Offline
    Quote (smjjames)
    Just thought I'd make note that the grey shaded gas giant glitch is still around

    What glitch? I don't see anything wrong.





    All forum users, please read this!
    My SE mods and addons
    Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
     
    smjjamesDate: Sunday, 05.05.2013, 17:10 | Message # 74
    World Builder
    Group: Users
    United States
    Messages: 913
    Status: Offline
    Quote (HarbingerDawn)
    Quote (smjjames)
    Just thought I'd make note that the grey shaded gas giant glitch is still around

    What glitch? I don't see anything wrong.


    You know how sometimes in DoctorofSpace's gas giant palette addon for 0.96 there would be the occasional gas giant which looks colorless? That's what I mean. They aren't common anyway.





     
    anonymousgamerDate: Sunday, 05.05.2013, 17:13 | Message # 75
    World Builder
    Group: Global Moderators
    United States
    Messages: 1011
    Status: Offline
    Quote (smjjames)
    there would be the occasional gas giant which looks colorless?


    That isn't a glitch.





    Desktop: FX-8350 4.0 GHz, 8 GB DDR3 RAM, EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 FTW 8 GB, 2 TB HDD, 24 inch 1920x1080 screen
    Laptop: Core i5 480M 2.66 GHz (turbo 2.93), 8 GB DDR3 RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6550m 1 GB, 640 GB HDD, 17.3 inch 1600x900 screen
     
    Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Known issues and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.97 (Please post here any bugs you find in SpaceEngine)
    Page 5 of 21«12345672021»
    Search: