Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 1 of 211232021»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Known issues and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.97 (Please post here any bugs you find in SpaceEngine)
Known issues and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.97
HarbingerDawnDate: Wednesday, 01.05.2013, 06:26 | Message # 1
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8711
Status: Offline
Please post here all of your reports about bugs or crashes in SpaceEngine. Before you post any bugs, please follow these steps:

  • Read the Troubleshooting for SpaceEngine 0.97. It is possible that your problem can be solved there.

  • Make sure that your bugs are not on the following list of known issues. You can use your browser's word finder to help search the list.

  • If the bug is not on the list then please post it in this thread. Attach to your message a screenshot (if possible) and a log file (it's called the "se.log" and is located in the system folder of SpaceEngine's directory). Only the log file will help me to understand your problem and find a solution.



    Known Issues



    Edited by HarbingerDawn - Monday, 30.09.2013, 22:45
  •  
    midtskogenDate: Wednesday, 01.05.2013, 13:44 | Message # 2
    Star Engineer
    Group: Users
    Norway
    Messages: 1667
    Status: Offline
    I know flying close to objects sometimes reveal rendering glitches, but I found this one a bit cute:

    This is what you see if you fly to an altitude of about 50 meters above the surface of a gas giant.

    Attachments: 6571873.gif(272Kb)





    NIL DIFFICILE VOLENTI
     
    HarbingerDawnDate: Wednesday, 01.05.2013, 18:20 | Message # 3
    Cosmic Curator
    Group: Administrators
    United States
    Messages: 8711
    Status: Offline
    Quote (midtskogen)
    This is what you see if you fly to an altitude of about 50 meters above the surface of a gas giant.

    Interesting bug! It seems to only occur in a very specific height range; the gas giant I visited only showed this effect when viewed from 62-70 meters above the surface.





    All forum users, please read this!
    My SE mods and addons
    Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
     
    apenpaapDate: Wednesday, 01.05.2013, 18:49 | Message # 4
    World Builder
    Group: Users
    Antarctica
    Messages: 1063
    Status: Offline
    I'm having a consistent crash every time I want to go to Sol in 0.97. As soon as the camera turns towards it, the game crashes. This doesn't just happen from the start location, but also from other stars. Pulling back until I can see the entire Milky Way, I can safely have Sol within my sight, but then when I approach it it crashes again.

    EDIT: Never mind, deleting the cache seems to have fixed it.

    Attachments: 8842140.log(20Kb)





    I occasionally stream at http://www.twitch.tv/magistermystax. Sometimes SE, sometimes other games.

    Edited by apenpaap - Wednesday, 01.05.2013, 19:01
     
    BalanceSheetDate: Wednesday, 01.05.2013, 19:49 | Message # 5
    Observer
    Group: Newbies
    Mexico
    Messages: 3
    Status: Offline
    I apologize in advance if I'm missing something here, but I can't seem to change the info field when editing wiki entries. Is this feature intended to be in place yet?
     
    HarbingerDawnDate: Wednesday, 01.05.2013, 19:58 | Message # 6
    Cosmic Curator
    Group: Administrators
    United States
    Messages: 8711
    Status: Offline
    BalanceSheet, there is a list of known issues in this thread, which is also where bugs are reported.

    The text editor for the wiki is incomplete and has not been implemented yet. For now all you can do is save the name of the object, which generates an entry in the database file in the locale folder. To write a description for this object you need to open the file in a text editor.

    In the future you will be able to write descriptions from inside the program.





    All forum users, please read this!
    My SE mods and addons
    Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
     
    apenpaapDate: Wednesday, 01.05.2013, 20:05 | Message # 7
    World Builder
    Group: Users
    Antarctica
    Messages: 1063
    Status: Offline
    I've been getting more crashes when looking in a certain direction, and have determined M 42, the Orion nebula, is the cause of them. Commenting the nebula out has so far avoided these crashes.
    Attachments: 9460858.log(22Kb)





    I occasionally stream at http://www.twitch.tv/magistermystax. Sometimes SE, sometimes other games.

    Edited by apenpaap - Wednesday, 01.05.2013, 20:10
     
    paunstefanDate: Wednesday, 01.05.2013, 20:15 | Message # 8
    Observer
    Group: Newbies
    Romania
    Messages: 6
    Status: Offline
    I have some problems with the mouse. When I click to select something sometimes it works but sometimes it doesn't.

    And I'm not sure if it's a bug, but in settings, when I click to select the lens flare or language (so when it's a list) I must hold hold the mouse or it disappears, but this is not really a problem.
     
    HarbingerDawnDate: Wednesday, 01.05.2013, 20:23 | Message # 9
    Cosmic Curator
    Group: Administrators
    United States
    Messages: 8711
    Status: Offline
    Quote (paunstefan)
    I have some problems with the mouse. When I click to select something sometimes it works but sometimes it doesn't.

    This is mentioned in the known issues list, please search the list before reporting bugs.

    Quote (paunstefan)
    when I click to select the lens flare or language (so when it's a list) I must hold hold the mouse or it disappears

    That is not a bug, it's how the drop down menus work. This is not unique to SE, there are drop down menus in other software that work the same way. Just hold down to open the menu, move the cursor over the option you want, and release to select smile





    All forum users, please read this!
    My SE mods and addons
    Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
     
    midtskogenDate: Wednesday, 01.05.2013, 21:51 | Message # 10
    Star Engineer
    Group: Users
    Norway
    Messages: 1667
    Status: Offline
    Has anyone found a single star system with life (except Sol)?

    All the planets with life that we know of orbit around a single star, so this looks like an obvious bug. smile

    I haven't checked whether some systems with life reported as binary actually are binary and not single.





    NIL DIFFICILE VOLENTI
     
    HarbingerDawnDate: Wednesday, 01.05.2013, 22:20 | Message # 11
    Cosmic Curator
    Group: Administrators
    United States
    Messages: 8711
    Status: Offline
    Quote (midtskogen)
    Has anyone found a single star system with life

    As soon as I saw this I opened the star browser and did a search. I immediately found a bunch of single stars with life. Not one binary. In fact, every single star system picked up by the browser was a one-star system, which seems to be a bug in itself.





    All forum users, please read this!
    My SE mods and addons
    Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
     
    apenpaapDate: Wednesday, 01.05.2013, 22:52 | Message # 12
    World Builder
    Group: Users
    Antarctica
    Messages: 1063
    Status: Offline
    I think I've found a bug with the catalog star bifurcation option. I turned it off as soon as I saw poor Rigel and Wezen were still being plagued by black holes (though this time, both have only a single one instead of a small swarm), but after a while I began to notice I was only coming across single stars, never binaries. (this was in another galaxy, so all were procedural) Turning it back on, I found binaries almost immediately again. So I think the star bifurcation option removes all binaries instead of just removing bifurcated catalog binaries.




    I occasionally stream at http://www.twitch.tv/magistermystax. Sometimes SE, sometimes other games.
     
    HarbingerDawnDate: Wednesday, 01.05.2013, 23:12 | Message # 13
    Cosmic Curator
    Group: Administrators
    United States
    Messages: 8711
    Status: Offline
    Quote (apenpaap)
    So I think the star bifurcation option removes all binaries instead of just removing bifurcated catalog binaries.

    I think you're right.





    All forum users, please read this!
    My SE mods and addons
    Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
     
    VoekoevakaDate: Wednesday, 01.05.2013, 23:15 | Message # 14
    World Builder
    Group: SE team
    France
    Messages: 1016
    Status: Offline
    Quote (apenpaap)
    I've been getting more crashes when looking in a certain direction, and have determined M 42, the Orion nebula, is the cause of them. Commenting the nebula out has so far avoided these crashes.

    Strange. Your log shows that SE crashed during the loading of the cache of M42, so maybe it is corrupted. Try to delete it... Maybe bugs will dissapear.





    Want some music of mine ? Please go here !

     
    midtskogenDate: Thursday, 02.05.2013, 05:28 | Message # 15
    Star Engineer
    Group: Users
    Norway
    Messages: 1667
    Status: Offline
    Quote (HarbingerDawn)
    I immediately found a bunch of single stars with life.

    Strange. I've done a bunch of searches in the star browser, and I've found no single stars with life. Can you give a couple of example coordinates?

    One other thing that I often see is that the browser reports planets for a system, but when I select it, the HUD says none and there are none when I visit it as well. I also frequently saw planets going missing in 0.96 as well.

    Here's another star browser bug - the name of the system occasionally overwriting the class:

    Attachments: 3633421.jpg(131Kb)





    NIL DIFFICILE VOLENTI
     
    Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Known issues and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.97 (Please post here any bugs you find in SpaceEngine)
    Page 1 of 211232021»
    Search: