RUS New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 1 of 191231819»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Troubleshooting - SpaceEngine 0.97 (Help fixing errors with SE 0.97)
Troubleshooting - SpaceEngine 0.97
HarbingerDawnDate: Wednesday, 01.05.2013, 05:38 | Message # 1
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
The cause of the errors can be found in the "SpaceEngine/system/se.log" log file. It can be opened using a text editor.

The list of known issues and a place for bug reports is here.

1) Obsolete or incompatible drivers
These are the most frequent errors found in SE. You will get a popup window with one of these following messages:

- "You have old OpenGL version (2.1.1). Update your graphics card driver or install compatible hardware"

- "You have old GLSL version (1.2). Update your graphics card driver or install compatible hardware"

- "Critical extensions missing: GL_ARB_vertex_program GL_ARB_vertex_buffer_object"

- "Error loading surface generator shaders. Press YES to run program with procedural planets disabled. Press NO to exit"


Download and install latest drivers for your video card. If you still get this message, it could be that you have an incompatible video card (see next paragraph). But you still can try and run SpaceEngine by disabling checking of critical errors at startup. Open main.cfg and change value of this parameter to 'true':

IgnoreCriticalCheck true // ignore checking of OpenGL version and critical extensions supporting

NOTE: I can give no guaranties that SpaceEngine will be stable and work correctly if you do make this change.

If you have an "Error loading surface generator shaders" error and press Yes, SpaceEngine can run, but it will not be able to render procedural planetary landscapes.

2) Weak system
Most of the forum posts I receive are from users that report an inability to start SpaceEngine, This is because those users have inbuilt Intel graphics card, or some old GeForce 5700 series, or not a proper "gaming" laptop. There is no way but to update your hardware system. There are no plans to make a second version of the engine for weaker systems with simplified graphics, CPU texture generation, etc. It would be like coding another engine from scratch. Once again, I would remind everyone that the minimum system requirements can be found on the Home page, but I will mention it here as well:

CPU 2.0 GHz
RAM 2 Gb
Video GeForce 8600, Radeon HD 2600
vRAM 512 Mb

I stress that the special role played by videocard onboard memory (vRAM). 512 MB is the absolute minimum. The engine uses a large amount of data that must be in video memory (textures, meshes, vbo, etc). If your system meets the recommended requirements, the engine will work, because its development is made for this hardware:

CPU 3.0 GHz
RAM 4 Gb
Video GeForce 9800 GTX, ATI Mobility HD 5730
vRAM 1024 Mb

You can try to start the engine with some OpenGL extensions disabed, if your hardware does not support them: frame buffer objects (FBO), half floats, float textures and 3D textures. Information about this is written at the beginning of the log (SpaceEngine/system/se.log), after the list of extensions:

Framebuffer objects supported
Half floats suppoted
Floating-point pixel format: GL_RGBA16F_ARB
3D textures suppoted


If the log reads 'unsupported, then the extension is not supported and the engine will disable itself. If it seems to support float and 3D textures, but the atmosphere of planets has some monstrous bottleneck, such as the GeForce 6200 and GeForce 6600, then it is best to disable those extensions forcibly. This is done in the file config/main.cfg:

IgnoreFBO false // disable framebuffer objects
IgnoreHalfFloat false // disable half floats
IgnoreFloatTextures false // disable float textures
Ignore3DTextures false // disable 3D textures
IgnoreShaderBinary false // disable binary shaders cache
IgnoreCriticalCheck false // ignore checking of OpenGL version and critical extensions supporting


Reference:
- The Milky Way and other nearby galaxies and nebulae use FBO. HDR rendering mode also use FBO. Disabling it disables the 3D models of galaxies and nebulae, and disables HDR mode.
- Atmospheres using float and 3D textures. Disabling any of them disables the atmosphere. HDR rendering mode uses a float textures, disabling them disables HDR.
- Shader binary cache reduces lags on loading shaders. Works normally on NVidia, onr ATI and Intel it disabled automatically after first laubch of SpaceEngine.

If you have a Intel HD graphics card, it is better to disable asynchronous loading in the main.cfg as well:

LoaderMode 2 // loader mode: 0 = immediate, 1 = interleaved, 2 = asynchronous

3) System with hybrid graphics (NVidia/ATI + Intel HD)
If you're running SE on a laptop with dual graphics, make sure SE runs on NVidia or ATI chip instead of Intel HD. You may see it in the beginning of "SpaceEngine/system/se.log" file. If it says:

Vendor: Intel
Renderer: Intel® HD Graphics 4000

then you should open NVidia Control Panel or ATI Catalyst and force SpaceEngine.exe run on NVidia/ATI graphics card. If you do not founs SpaceEngine profile there, create a new one.

4) Crashing in the interstellar or intergalactic space or after appearing of the nebula in the view field
If you open the "SpaceEngine/system/se.log" file after a crash, and it ends up with line like this:

Creating nebula model "cache/models/nebulae/M42.nm",

then try to disable asynchronous loading of a resources. Open the file config/main.cfg with the Notepad and change this parameter to 1:

LoaderMode 1 // loader mode: 0 = immediate, 1 = interleaved, 2 = asynchronous

After that, delete the cache folder from the SpaceEngine directory. Performance will drop while flying between a stars and galaxies, but stability may be improved. After a while, all models of galaxies and nebulae a being be generated, and you may enable asynchronous loading back (set up LoaderMode 2).

5) Spaceship disappear when far from a star
It is not a bug. Current version have not yet completed spaceships rendering system - they cannot be rendered if there is no stars or planets in the renderlist. Just imagine that ship becomes invisible in interstellar flight smile

6) Blurry textures on Solar system planets
It is not a bug. Our Solar system planets (Mercury, Venus, Earth, Moon, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune and its satellites) have no procedural textures, only real ones with limited level-of-detail. You can download addons with high resolution textures to increase level of detail of real planets.

7) Artifacts on procedural planets
If you get missing landscape blocks, blurry or blinking textures, random spikes sticking out of surface, check out these recommendations here:

a) If you have a laptop with hybrid graphics, read the paragraph 3.

b) Make sure that you make a "clean" installation of SE. If you install a new version overwriting the old one, you may get many bugs and glitches. If you get some glitches after the patch is installed, remove the folder called cache from SpaceEngine's directory.

c) If this does not help, read the paragraph 8.

8) Frequent crashing while generating planetary surface
If you have frequent crashes on planets, or get an "OUT OF MEMORY" message on screen, or "Unexpected deleting of child node" in the log file, try taking these steps first:

  • Close any other programs that can consume the video memory (games, video players, graphics editors, etc.). SpaceEngine is not a small flash type game, video memory is the most important resource for it. It may help to disable the Windows Aero theme too, as it consumes a lot of video memory.
  • Disable "3D water" in Graphics settings (Ctrl-F4)
  • Reduce "Landscape LOD" to -2 in Graphics settings (Ctrl+F4)
  • Set up the amount of video memory in the main.cfg file:

    VideoMemorySize 2048 // video card onboard memory (VRAM) in megabytes

    The value must not be less than 1024, but not more than the total amount of physical video memory plus amount of RAM. For example, if you have a graphics card with 1024 MB of video memory, and more than 2 GB of RAM, you can increase VideoMemorySize to 2048.
  •  
    lopikoDate: Wednesday, 01.05.2013, 09:17 | Message # 2
    Observer
    Group: Users
    Poland
    Messages: 18
    Status: Offline
    I downloaded 0.97, but it's crashing when im pressing planetarium. I got "Loading" and "Close", but when the loading circle appears, the SE crashes. My log is in attachements
    Attachments: 8452689.log(21Kb)
     
    VoekoevakaDate: Wednesday, 01.05.2013, 09:42 | Message # 3
    World Builder
    Group: SE team
    France
    Messages: 1016
    Status: Offline
    You have an intel graphic card. If you have dual graphics, try running SE in your other card, like it is explained here.

    By the way, the thread should be moved on the general 0.97 troubleshooting thread.





    Want some music of mine ? Please go here !

     
    DukeDate: Wednesday, 01.05.2013, 10:19 | Message # 4
    Space Pilot
    Group: SE team
    Antarctica
    Messages: 88
    Status: Offline
    If you have only Intel card try to set this parameter in config\main.cfg
    LoaderMode 1
    And in program in Setting>Graphics chose in both fields for Lens flare Eden string.
     
    SalvoDate: Wednesday, 01.05.2013, 10:59 | Message # 5
    Star Engineer
    Group: Local Moderators
    Italy
    Messages: 1400
    Status: Offline
    Try to do that many times, it happened to me the first times I opened it, but after a while, I don't know why, it worked...

    If it keeps not working try to put IgnoreShaderBinary to true, into main.cfg, PreloadGalaxies and PreloadGenShaders to false and PreloadDrawShaders to 0...





    The universe is not required to be in perfect harmony with human ambition.

    CPU: Intel Core i7 4770 GPU: ASUS Radeon R9 270 RAM: 8 GBs

    (still don't know why everyone is doing this...)
     
    HarbingerDawnDate: Wednesday, 01.05.2013, 12:50 | Message # 6
    Cosmic Curator
    Group: Administrators
    United States
    Messages: 8714
    Status: Offline
    lopiko, I've merged your thread here.




    All forum users, please read this!
    My SE mods and addons
    Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
     
    Jeroll3dDate: Wednesday, 01.05.2013, 16:27 | Message # 7
    Astronaut
    Group: Users
    Brazil
    Messages: 54
    Status: Offline
    Excuse me for asking, more so in the case of a newly released version. Graphically, I found no problems so far, but here I want to talk about the 'jukebox' music player. What format acceptable? Mp3 cared and nothing appeared in the music list.

    Again, always ressalt, great graphic work in version 0.97.

    Thank you.
     
    DoctorOfSpaceDate: Wednesday, 01.05.2013, 16:31 | Message # 8
    Galaxy Architect
    Group: Global Moderators
    Pirate
    Messages: 3600
    Status: Offline
    Quote (Jeroll3d)
    What format acceptable?


    OGG and Wav however it will not always work. The music player is very buggy.





    Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
    G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
    EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
     
    HarbingerDawnDate: Wednesday, 01.05.2013, 16:53 | Message # 9
    Cosmic Curator
    Group: Administrators
    United States
    Messages: 8714
    Status: Offline
    Yes, the music player is broken and unfinished. Do not expect it to work.




    All forum users, please read this!
    My SE mods and addons
    Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
     
    Fireinthehole-Date: Wednesday, 01.05.2013, 19:02 | Message # 10
    Pioneer
    Group: Translators
    Sweden
    Messages: 365
    Status: Offline
    My SE 0.97 crashes very frequently. It seems to be when I fly to different objects. When I fly through galaxies, go to stars and so on, it crashes. It does not seem to be any particular thing that makes it crash. sad
    Attachments: 0782585.log(23Kb)





    Love Space Engine!
     
    spacerDate: Wednesday, 01.05.2013, 20:54 | Message # 11
    Star Engineer
    Group: Users
    Israel
    Messages: 1258
    Status: Offline
    Please help, I play hd resolution and space engine stuck while I move, takes a long time until the surface of the planet is visible, why?
    I can lower the resolution? That's the problem?
    And sometimes it crashes.

    ty





    "we began as wanderers, and we are wanderers still"
    -carl sagan

    -space engine photographer
     
    HarbingerDawnDate: Wednesday, 01.05.2013, 21:19 | Message # 12
    Cosmic Curator
    Group: Administrators
    United States
    Messages: 8714
    Status: Offline
    spacer, no one can help you without more information. Please post your se.log file (in the system folder). Also, you can easily lower the resolution just by shrinking the size of the window. You can change the full screen resolution in the main.cfg file.




    All forum users, please read this!
    My SE mods and addons
    Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
     
    spacerDate: Wednesday, 01.05.2013, 21:31 | Message # 13
    Star Engineer
    Group: Users
    Israel
    Messages: 1258
    Status: Offline
    How do I post it?
    ty





    "we began as wanderers, and we are wanderers still"
    -carl sagan

    -space engine photographer
     
    Fireinthehole-Date: Wednesday, 01.05.2013, 21:47 | Message # 14
    Pioneer
    Group: Translators
    Sweden
    Messages: 365
    Status: Offline
    Nobody knows how I can solve the problem I'm having? unsure




    Love Space Engine!
     
    SnorlaxSquadDate: Wednesday, 01.05.2013, 22:01 | Message # 15
    Observer
    Group: Newbies
    United States
    Messages: 2
    Status: Offline
    Hi guys! My issue is with Planetarium mode crashing during load. Everything else seems to load right, but in the past I've had OpenGL issues. I'm on an Optimus laptop. 2.4Ghz i3, GT520M GPU, 4GB RAM. It's all there in the log file, but just in case, there it is. Playing SpaceEngine has always been something I've wanted to do but never been able to. If anyone knows why this is happening, I'd be more than thankful.

    Thanks!

    Attachments: 3505300.log(21Kb)
     
    Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Troubleshooting - SpaceEngine 0.97 (Help fixing errors with SE 0.97)
    Page 1 of 191231819»
    Search: