RUS New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 1 of 41234»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Off-topic Discussions » What web browser do you prefer? [POLL]
What web browser do you prefer? [POLL]
What's your preferred web browser?
1.Internet Explorer[ 1 ][1.35%]
2.Chrome[ 42 ][56.76%]
3.Firefox[ 22 ][29.73%]
4.Opera[ 6 ][8.11%]
5.Safari[ 1 ][1.35%]
6.Other[ 2 ][2.70%]
Answers total: 74
KyleDate: Friday, 03.08.2012, 20:50 | Message # 1
Space Tourist
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 36
Status: Offline
Mine is Chrome. I'm just curious as to other's opinions happy




PC: i7 4790k 4.0GHz Geforce GTX 980ti 16GB DDR3 RAM
 
j0KeRDate: Friday, 03.08.2012, 20:58 | Message # 2
Explorer
Group: Users
Greece
Messages: 178
Status: Offline
Mozilla ftw smile




"Novus Ordo Seclorum"

Intel Core(E6850) 2 Duo 3.00 GHz \ Geforce GTX560 1024MB \ 4GB 667(MHz) 2 Channel RAM \ Windows 7 (32bit) \ Samsung SA700D 120hz (3D)
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Friday, 03.08.2012, 20:58 | Message # 3
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Firefox smile




All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
apenpaapDate: Friday, 03.08.2012, 20:58 | Message # 4
World Builder
Group: Users
Antarctica
Messages: 1063
Status: Offline
Firefox for me.




I occasionally stream at http://www.twitch.tv/magistermystax. Sometimes SE, sometimes other games.
 
KyleDate: Friday, 03.08.2012, 20:58 | Message # 5
Space Tourist
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 36
Status: Offline
I haven't used Firefox in a couple years. What's changed?




PC: i7 4790k 4.0GHz Geforce GTX 980ti 16GB DDR3 RAM
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Friday, 03.08.2012, 20:58 | Message # 6
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3600
Status: Offline
Firefox is just so simple and with a few plugins it does what I want. Haven't had a reason to switch to chrome yet and doubt I will for a long time, if ever.




Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
KyleDate: Friday, 03.08.2012, 20:59 | Message # 7
Space Tourist
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 36
Status: Offline
As soon as I tried Chrome I switched over from Firefox. Albeit it's been a year and I haven't seen Firefox since.




PC: i7 4790k 4.0GHz Geforce GTX 980ti 16GB DDR3 RAM
 
TalismanDate: Friday, 03.08.2012, 20:59 | Message # 8
Pioneer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 409
Status: Offline
I thought you guys would be Chrome types. cool

I used to use Firefox exclusively, but it always took 4+ minutes to open up right after I started my computer, Unacceptable.

I switched to Chrome and have had no problems.





 
neutronium76Date: Friday, 03.08.2012, 20:59 | Message # 9
World Builder
Group: Users
Greece
Messages: 718
Status: Offline
At Work: Chrome
at Home: Explorer 9

Firefox has become too hardware resource intensive sad





PC1:Core i7 970@3.34GHz, 6 cores/12 threads, 12GB DDR3 RAM@1.34GHz, 2x(SLI) GTX-580 GPUs 3GB VRAM(GDDR5)@1GHz, OS:Win7x64SP1
PC2:Core2Quad X9770@3.2GHz, 2 cores/4 threads 4GB DDR2 RAM@1GHz, GTX-285 GPU 1GB VRAM(DDR3)@1.24GHz, OS:WinVistax64SP2
 
RobbieDate: Friday, 03.08.2012, 20:59 | Message # 10
Pioneer
Group: Global Moderators
United Kingdom
Messages: 590
Status: Offline
Chrome.




Quad Core i7 930 CPU o/c 3.8 GHz - 6GB DDR3 1600MHz RAM - ATI HD 5870 1024Mb - Intel SSD X25-M Gen 2 - Win 7 64-bit
Add Your PC Spec To Your Signature Or Post It Here
 
anonymousgamerDate: Friday, 03.08.2012, 20:59 | Message # 11
World Builder
Group: Global Moderators
United States
Messages: 1011
Status: Offline
I use Chrome. All Hail Google!




Desktop: FX-8350 4.0 GHz, 8 GB DDR3 RAM, EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 FTW 8 GB, 2 TB HDD, 24 inch 1920x1080 screen
Laptop: Core i5 480M 2.66 GHz (turbo 2.93), 8 GB DDR3 RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6550m 1 GB, 640 GB HDD, 17.3 inch 1600x900 screen
 
AerospacefagDate: Friday, 03.08.2012, 20:59 | Message # 12
Pioneer
Group: Users
Russian Federation
Messages: 401
Status: Offline
Good old Opera is still best best browser for my needs.
Though, sometimes I use Chrome for some unusual features.
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Friday, 03.08.2012, 21:00 | Message # 13
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Quote (Talisman)
I used to use Firefox exclusively, but it always took 4+ minutes to open up right after I started my computer, Unacceptable.

Did you wait for everything to properly load first upon booting? Because if you try to open something as soon as you log in to your desktop it will always take forever. Even task manager will take a minute or two. I've never had problems with Firefox taking too long to load.

Quote (neutronium76)
Firefox has become too hardware resource intensive

A little bit, it does use a lot of RAM, but I have 8 gigs so I can afford it smile
I would like a faster, sleeker browser, but the amount of functionality and personalization I can achieve through addons in Firefox is what keeps me using it. And I have very little bandwidth, so having a slower browser isn't as noticeable wink





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
TalismanDate: Friday, 03.08.2012, 21:00 | Message # 14
Pioneer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 409
Status: Offline
Quote (HarbingerDawn)
Did you wait for everything to properly load first upon booting? Because if you try to open something as soon as you log in to your desktop it will always take forever. Even task manager will take a minute or two. I've never had problems with Firefox taking too long to load.


Yes, with all my settings and skins and extensions and such it would take incredibly long, even vanilla with nothing it took long, with chrome I can double click it right after entering desktop and it will open in 20 seconds or less while everything is still loading. Those minutes are precious in the morning before I go to work. cool





 
HarbingerDawnDate: Friday, 03.08.2012, 21:00 | Message # 15
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Well I'm not sure what to attribute that to. When I go to open Firefox it just opens right up, takes no time at all.




All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Off-topic Discussions » What web browser do you prefer? [POLL]
Page 1 of 41234»
Search: