Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 8 of 12«126789101112»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Off-topic Discussions » A very PC discussion on tools (POST HERE YOUR PC SPECIFICATIONS)
A very PC discussion on tools
SpaceEngineerDate: Monday, 27.01.2014, 22:07 | Message # 106
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4796
Status: Offline
I will optimize SE to run in SLI mode. Right now it works, but with some bugs (flashing of the screen, bugged lens flares, etc). After this I will purchase two Radeons and make SE work in CrossFire.

And of course I will use my old PC with GeForce 9800 GTX and my laptop with Radeon 5730M to debug SE on mid-end PC.





 
TrulskijDate: Monday, 27.01.2014, 22:17 | Message # 107
Space Tourist
Group: Users
Germany
Messages: 28
Status: Offline
Is Mantle api (ATI grafik) only for direct x and openGL? no points here?^^
 
DIS7RICTDate: Monday, 27.01.2014, 22:28 | Message # 108
Space Pilot
Group: Users
Australia
Messages: 114
Status: Offline
Quote SpaceEngineer ()
And of course I will use my old PC with GeForce 9800 GTX and my laptop with Radeon 5730M to debug SE on mid-end PC.


That's good. I was hoping you would say that. Need to use Space Engine on my laptop as well sometimes.

Quote SpaceEngineer ()
I will optimize SE to run in SLI mode. Right now it works, but with some bugs (flashing of the screen, bugged lens flares, etc). After this I will purchase two Radeons and make SE work in CrossFire.


Hopefully this'll widen the audience to extreme PC gamers now. That's great, AMD needs some love too!





PC: Core i7 3770K 3.5GHz, 8GB RAM, GTX670 2GB, Win 7 64-bit

There'll be another time...
 
SalvoDate: Tuesday, 28.01.2014, 19:30 | Message # 109
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Italy
Messages: 1400
Status: Offline
Quote DIS7RICT ()
He didn't even acknowledge your pain Salvo! Haha, and yeh I figured you wouldn't be that inexperienced.

It's ok, it was just a bad day smile

SpaceEngineer, wow, great computer! You deserve it! For all the work you have done until now happy





The universe is not required to be in perfect harmony with human ambition.

CPU: Intel Core i7 4770 GPU: ASUS Radeon R9 270 RAM: 8 GBs

(still don't know why everyone is doing this...)
 
SalvoDate: Sunday, 02.02.2014, 16:38 | Message # 110
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Italy
Messages: 1400
Status: Offline
My computer is fixed! smile My cousin discovered it was the power pack...

He also gave me his "new" graphics card, but it's basically the same (in performance) as the old one, I just changed between ATI and NVidia biggrin (I could switch back to the old one)
The only problem is that the OS is cracked, and I don't like it... do you think I can install Win8? My cousin says I can't... (I have an iso "bought" on Microsoft's site)





The universe is not required to be in perfect harmony with human ambition.

CPU: Intel Core i7 4770 GPU: ASUS Radeon R9 270 RAM: 8 GBs

(still don't know why everyone is doing this...)


Edited by Salvo - Sunday, 02.02.2014, 16:41
 
neutronium76Date: Monday, 17.03.2014, 12:44 | Message # 111
World Builder
Group: Users
Greece
Messages: 718
Status: Offline
After the recent discussion about 3D support development in SE, I am thinking of purchasing a 3D TV. In particular I am leaning towards this one. What do you guys think?




PC1:Core i7 970@3.34GHz, 6 cores/12 threads, 12GB DDR3 RAM@1.34GHz, 2x(SLI) GTX-580 GPUs 3GB VRAM(GDDR5)@1GHz, OS:Win7x64SP1
PC2:Core2Quad X9770@3.2GHz, 2 cores/4 threads 4GB DDR2 RAM@1GHz, GTX-285 GPU 1GB VRAM(DDR3)@1.24GHz, OS:WinVistax64SP2
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Wednesday, 19.03.2014, 20:27 | Message # 112
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3599
Status: Offline
Oculus Rift Devkit 2 is available for pre-order




Quote
New features:

- Positional Tracking

- Low Persistence OLED Display

- Built-In Latency Tester

What’s included:

- Headset

- 2 pairs of vision lenses

- External camera (for positional tracking)

- Camera USB cable

- HDMI-DVI adapter

- Sync cable

- Power cord with adapter and 3 international power adapters (UK, AU, EU) - (to power the USB located on the Rift)

For specific details, please visit the Oculus Rift Development Kit 2 product page located at http://www.oculus.com/dk2

Devkit 2 info
Order

I really want to order one





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Thursday, 20.03.2014, 01:40 | Message # 113
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Quote DoctorOfSpace ()
New features:

Surprised the increased resolution wasn't mentioned in the features list.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
neutronium76Date: Thursday, 20.03.2014, 10:15 | Message # 114
World Builder
Group: Users
Greece
Messages: 718
Status: Offline
Quote DoctorOfSpace ()
Oculus Rift Devkit 2 is available for pre-order


Oclulus will have a rival but probably not anytime soon:
http://www.cbc.ca/news....2579079

Also it may not be compatible with PC (that's my crude assumption based on the fact that it will be made for PS4)





PC1:Core i7 970@3.34GHz, 6 cores/12 threads, 12GB DDR3 RAM@1.34GHz, 2x(SLI) GTX-580 GPUs 3GB VRAM(GDDR5)@1GHz, OS:Win7x64SP1
PC2:Core2Quad X9770@3.2GHz, 2 cores/4 threads 4GB DDR2 RAM@1GHz, GTX-285 GPU 1GB VRAM(DDR3)@1.24GHz, OS:WinVistax64SP2
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Thursday, 20.03.2014, 11:25 | Message # 115
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Quote neutronium76 ()
Also it may not be compatible with PC

It also has inferior specs to the Rift.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
MintyTwisterDate: Monday, 05.05.2014, 21:48 | Message # 116
Observer
Group: Newbies
United States
Messages: 9
Status: Offline
So, sorry if this still happens to be the wrong place despite being Off Topic, but I feel the other areas for tech support is more aimed towards SE only., I've been getting a LOT of crashing. Just being idle, my screen will go black for 4 seconds then come back with this: http://puu.sh/8Au0I

It happens more frequently when playing /ANY/ game, video, or even opening the web browser.

With SE, I get this message instead: http://puu.sh/8AE76

I'm not sure what to do, I have already uninstalled Nvidia drivers through Start < Uninstall Programs. Then reinstalling afterwards.

This really, really sucks and I haven't been able to do much, it started happening after I started playing a game called Just Cause 2. I have also already did a restore to before this started happening. And I've been keeping an eye usually on the heat of everything through Speccy, and the max heat anything's ever reached is 60C.

Specs: Windows 32 bit
4 gigs ram
Asus GTX 660
AMD Phenom IIx4 965 4 cores ~3.4 GHz
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-78LMT-S2
Corsair 650 Wat

Doesn't matter what game, can be an extremely easy to run game and the issue will happen immediately and shut off the game.

But now I'm at the point where, apparently, my BIOS is out dated. And, I hope do dear God updating this is all that's needed, but the problem is I'm having trouble figuring out how. I've looked up tutorials, but they're usually for other kinds of Motherboards, so I believe that most likely I need a different method for mine: and I can't figure out what.

I've DL'd the newest version, but I can't figure out what next. I have the 3 files, I acivated autoexe sicne it's what will automatically do it for you, but only to receive this: http://puu.sh/8AFbj.jpg

Sorry for the TL:DR, but just giving all info I can so who ever helps has all info he/she needs in-case there's more to this needed.


Edited by MintyTwister - Monday, 05.05.2014, 21:51
 
Billy_MayesDate: Monday, 05.05.2014, 22:03 | Message # 117
Pioneer
Group: Users
Finland
Messages: 485
Status: Offline
I don't know much about this problem, only that I had the same thing you had
but it fixed itself after restarting the computer.

This sounds like a problem with the graphics card. Have you tried opening the case and taking a look at it to see if it's damaged?
You'd probably get better help posting in a tech support forum.

Did you make sure the game was virus-free?

And I think this belongs in here.





AMD Phenom II X4 955 3.2 GHz Quad-Core - AMD Radeon HD 6950 2GB VRAM - 4GB RAM - 1680x1050 75 Hz Samsung screen

Edited by Billy_Mayes - Monday, 05.05.2014, 22:05
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Monday, 05.05.2014, 22:20 | Message # 118
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3599
Status: Offline
Clean your case of dust. Boot into safe mode and uninstall all drivers(and/or clean out your registry), reboot and install latest drivers. Make sure your power cords are properly plugged into the GPU, could be a low voltage issue. If all else fails RMA your GPU as it could have a faulty voltage regulator or other issues.

Considering this is an Nvidia popup I am going with it being your GPU. Updating your mobo BIOS is risky, especially if you have no experience.

Also merged the thread.

Some decent minor monitoring tools
http://www.piriform.com/speccy/download
http://www.cpuid.com/softwares/hwmonitor.html
http://www.techpowerup.com/gpuz/





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Tuesday, 06.05.2014, 00:04 | Message # 119
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
If it is a timeout issue, it's possible that the timeout time value in the registry was altered somehow, though I don't really think so.




All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
werdnaforeverDate: Tuesday, 06.05.2014, 02:38 | Message # 120
World Builder
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 897
Status: Offline
Quote SpaceEngineer ()
I will optimize SE to run in SLI mode.

Nice! My 485Ms will be ready for this
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Off-topic Discussions » A very PC discussion on tools (POST HERE YOUR PC SPECIFICATIONS)
Page 8 of 12«126789101112»
Search: