Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 7 of 12«12567891112»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Off-topic Discussions » A very PC discussion on tools (POST HERE YOUR PC SPECIFICATIONS)
A very PC discussion on tools
neutronium76Date: Monday, 25.11.2013, 19:01 | Message # 91
World Builder
Group: Users
Greece
Messages: 718
Status: Offline
Quote DoctorOfSpace ()
Those massive radiators are terrible, especially if you have to move your PC.


Terrible is an understatement: Horrible to say the list - I have almost cut my veins trying to install and uninstall this little beast. Not recommended unless you are hydrophobic i,e, afraid of water-cooling like me biggrin
PS edit: even if you don't like watercooling there are many alternatives for air-cooling and much-much better design then this butcher. Look at the fins - they are designed to slaughter!





PC1:Core i7 970@3.34GHz, 6 cores/12 threads, 12GB DDR3 RAM@1.34GHz, 2x(SLI) GTX-580 GPUs 3GB VRAM(GDDR5)@1GHz, OS:Win7x64SP1
PC2:Core2Quad X9770@3.2GHz, 2 cores/4 threads 4GB DDR2 RAM@1GHz, GTX-285 GPU 1GB VRAM(DDR3)@1.24GHz, OS:WinVistax64SP2


Edited by neutronium76 - Monday, 25.11.2013, 19:06
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Monday, 25.11.2013, 19:27 | Message # 92
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3599
Status: Online
Quote neutronium76 ()
afraid of water-cooling like me

Closed loop systems are the best way to go.

Cutting yourself isn't even the worst you can do. I have seen motherboards snap from swaying massive radiators.





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
SalvoDate: Monday, 25.11.2013, 19:40 | Message # 93
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Italy
Messages: 1400
Status: Offline
Quote neutronium76 ()
water-cooling


I have bad memories about this sad





The universe is not required to be in perfect harmony with human ambition.

CPU: Intel Core i7 4770 GPU: ASUS Radeon R9 270 RAM: 8 GBs

(still don't know why everyone is doing this...)
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Tuesday, 26.11.2013, 01:25 | Message # 94
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
I just got a "new" (to me) CPU from my friend, an AMD Athlon II X4 640. I've overclocked it to 3.3 GHz. It idles at 20 °C and maxes out with Prime95 in the ballpark of 55 °C. With just the stock heat sink. So you don't really need fancy coolers on your CPU, just a good case and skillful application of thermal compound.




All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Tuesday, 26.11.2013, 04:29 | Message # 95
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3599
Status: Online
Quote HarbingerDawn ()
So you don't really need fancy coolers on your CPU, just a good case and skillful application of thermal compound.

Unless you are like Antza and myself running one of them fancy 6 cores which heat up real quick.





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Tuesday, 26.11.2013, 05:04 | Message # 96
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Quote DoctorOfSpace ()
Unless you are like Antza and myself running one of them fancy 6 cores which heat up real quick.

This 4-core runs much cooler than my old 3-core, which I attribute to doing a better job with the thermal paste than I have in the past.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
Antza2Date: Tuesday, 26.11.2013, 09:23 | Message # 97
World Builder
Group: Global Moderators
Finland
Messages: 1049
Status: Offline
Quote HarbingerDawn ()

Or better yet, test it with Prime95.

I did. Got around 51°C max with my fans set to "Silent mode".





Go to antza2.deviantart.com for cool photos!
 
ziebol1Date: Saturday, 30.11.2013, 12:49 | Message # 98
Observer
Group: Newbies
Poland
Messages: 3
Status: Offline
Hi guys, recently I started to enjoy SE... However, my PC at present configuration is preventing -lets call it- the full SE experience. My present configuration is: i3 530 @ 2.93 Ghz, 4 GB DDR3 ram, Geforce 210 with 512 MB ram. I decided to change the graphics card. I don't want to spend enormous amounts of cash on it, SE is the only software I would be using it- I'm not a gamer. Soooo, I'm left with two choices. My only condition is for LOD 0 (LOD 1 would be great) to load instantly @ lets say 1440x900. The candidates are:

1.GeForce CUDA GT640 2GB DDR3 @ 80 euros

2.MSI GTX 650, 2GB DDR5 @ over 100 euros

And the big question is- would I feel any significant difference in LOD 0/1 loading with the more expensive model?

Thanks in advance for any help!

Tom


Edited by ziebol1 - Saturday, 30.11.2013, 12:50
 
SalvoDate: Monday, 27.01.2014, 15:13 | Message # 99
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Italy
Messages: 1400
Status: Offline
My Hard Drive broke (probably), since it's 2 days that my computer crashes after 15-20 minutes, I tryed to format it but it doesn't let me finish it, so I lost all my data and I can't use Space Engine anymore cry




The universe is not required to be in perfect harmony with human ambition.

CPU: Intel Core i7 4770 GPU: ASUS Radeon R9 270 RAM: 8 GBs

(still don't know why everyone is doing this...)
 
Billy_MayesDate: Monday, 27.01.2014, 16:10 | Message # 100
Pioneer
Group: Users
Finland
Messages: 485
Status: Offline
Quote Salvo ()
I lost all my data


And kids, that's why you have backups.





AMD Phenom II X4 955 3.2 GHz Quad-Core - AMD Radeon HD 6950 2GB VRAM - 4GB RAM - 1680x1050 75 Hz Samsung screen
 
DIS7RICTDate: Monday, 27.01.2014, 16:37 | Message # 101
Space Pilot
Group: Users
Australia
Messages: 114
Status: Offline
What the hell. I could have sworn I already made a post just before. Anyway I'll re write what I said.

What! You should have asked us for help before you did anything. We could have helped. Stop using your HDD, and wait until you get another one you can access your old one from. You can use a recovery tool to recover all your data. Especially sentimental stuff on there like pictures or videos if you had any, or work related files.

I feel sorry for you now, that's hell bad news!





PC: Core i7 3770K 3.5GHz, 8GB RAM, GTX670 2GB, Win 7 64-bit

There'll be another time...
 
SalvoDate: Monday, 27.01.2014, 17:20 | Message # 102
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Italy
Messages: 1400
Status: Offline
Quote Billy_Mayes ()
And kids, that's why you have backups.

I had some backups, but I can't backup 450 GBs of data...

Quote DIS7RICT ()
What! You should have asked us for help before you did anything. We could have helped.

I know! But my dad did that, if it was for me I would have waited a little more... sad





The universe is not required to be in perfect harmony with human ambition.

CPU: Intel Core i7 4770 GPU: ASUS Radeon R9 270 RAM: 8 GBs

(still don't know why everyone is doing this...)
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Monday, 27.01.2014, 21:56 | Message # 103
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4796
Status: Offline
So, this is my new PC specs:

CPU: Core i7-4930K (Ivy Bridge-E) @ 3.4 GHz, 6 cores (12 threads), 12 Mb L3 cache
GPU: 2 x (in SLI) Zotac GTX 780, 3 Gb VRAM, 2304 CUDA cores
RAM: 32 Gb (4 x 8 Gb) Kingston HyperX Beast @ 2133 MHz
MB: ASUS P9X79 WS (supports 4 GPU and up to 64 Gb RAM)
HDD: 2 Tb Western Digital SE blue (well, it is 2.0 trillion bytes = 1.6 Tb)
SSD: 128 Gb Plextor M5 Pro
PSU: Enhance EPS-0815GB 1500W
Chassis: Corsair Carbide Series Air 540

Photo of parts before assembly:


Photo of working PC (big black cube) next to my old PC:


Chassis is really nice, a lot of place and perfect cooling, and transparent side. It have a place for radiators for water cooling system. Maybe one day I would install it... Graphics cards with default design are looked cool, however it is almost impossible to see them, unless you turn your PC upside down. And they are pretty quiet in 2D mode... But if you run a 3D game... Noise like form a jet plane, and 60°C exhaust... So water cooling would be perfect solution for them smile

Attachments: 0248473.jpg(307Kb) · 0822821.jpg(301Kb) · 7292442.jpg(237Kb) · 0570451.jpg(281Kb)





 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Monday, 27.01.2014, 22:01 | Message # 104
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3599
Status: Online
I cannot wait to see what you do with that monster.




Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
DIS7RICTDate: Monday, 27.01.2014, 22:04 | Message # 105
Space Pilot
Group: Users
Australia
Messages: 114
Status: Offline
@SpaceEngineer: You lucky bugger you! You're still going to build Space Engine from your old PC right? So you can optimize it for low end computers? Or are you relying on other for that?

@Salvo: He didn't even acknowledge your pain Salvo! Haha, and yeh I figured you wouldn't be that inexperienced. You're on the SE team after all. Hopefully all is fixed soon enough.





PC: Core i7 3770K 3.5GHz, 8GB RAM, GTX670 2GB, Win 7 64-bit

There'll be another time...
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Off-topic Discussions » A very PC discussion on tools (POST HERE YOUR PC SPECIFICATIONS)
Page 7 of 12«12567891112»
Search: