Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 6 of 12«12456781112»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Off-topic Discussions » A very PC discussion on tools (POST HERE YOUR PC SPECIFICATIONS)
A very PC discussion on tools
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Saturday, 19.01.2013, 21:38 | Message # 76
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3599
Status: Offline
Quote (Kimb)
I assumed that 7 is no longer marketed.....

That is a silly assumption when I still see stores selling Windows Xp.

Quote (Kimb)
Really what I seek is a 64-bit OS so I am not pegged to 4 GB sysRAM


They've been making 64 bit Operating Systems, Windows that is, since Xp in 2005.





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
expandoDate: Monday, 21.01.2013, 13:20 | Message # 77
Space Pilot
Group: Users
Australia
Messages: 87
Status: Offline
I have I5 2500, 16GB of DDR3, ATI 850 1GB memory. It runs fine but still pauses and freezes alot when loading objects and it is not smooth when doing a full 360 turn with lots of stars.




"Religion is regarded by the common people as true - by the wise as false - and by the rulers as useful."
Lucius Annaeus Seneca
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Monday, 21.01.2013, 14:15 | Message # 78
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Quote (Kimb)
I assumed that 7 is no longer marketed.....

7 is definitely still being sold, and probably will for quite some time

Quote (Kimb)
I didn't see any copies of Win 7 at the store in question

Which store was this? And anyway it is far better to shop online. Newegg.com is the probably the best place for computer-related stuff.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM


Edited by HarbingerDawn - Monday, 21.01.2013, 14:16
 
expandoDate: Tuesday, 22.01.2013, 15:56 | Message # 79
Space Pilot
Group: Users
Australia
Messages: 87
Status: Offline
I ment 5850 ATI card. Abit long in the tooth, but still a great performer, those cards are pretty cheap as well.

I would buy windows 8, It has support for Hyper V which is shaping up to be better than VMware.





"Religion is regarded by the common people as true - by the wise as false - and by the rulers as useful."
Lucius Annaeus Seneca
 
Ignuus66Date: Wednesday, 20.02.2013, 23:38 | Message # 80
Space Tourist
Group: Users
Hungary
Messages: 28
Status: Offline
CPU two xeon Dual core 5150 (2 cores each and clocked 2.66 ghz)
9 gb-s of DDR 2 ram clocked at around 660 (actually 10, but for some reason windows does not recognize the extra 1 gb, but linux does)
Radeon HD 6770
1 tb seagate HDD at 7200 RPM
I do not know what the rest of the specs in it are, getting information on macs is terrible. My family got it used for a great deal, owner thought it was broke, but after changing ram and GPU, it runs perfectly. (200 USD, with the upgrading/repairing faulty parts costing around another 200-250)
OS:
Windows 7 64 bit ultimate edition
Linux Mint 14

I use an apple keyboard, a ?selectline? mouse, and a samsung 1920x1200 monitor.
Runs everything surprisingly well, but the slow ram and hard drive make loading times slow. Runs Space engine at a stable 50-60 FPS. Very much playable.
 
Billy_MayesDate: Sunday, 19.05.2013, 16:03 | Message # 81
Pioneer
Group: Users
Finland
Messages: 485
Status: Offline
Windows 7 Ultimate

Intel ® Core 2 Quad Cpu 2.83 GHz

4 GB RAM

Nvidia GeForce 9400 GT 0,5 GB

1 TB hard drive

Samsung 1920x1200 screen

Gigabyte M6900 mouse

Very dirty keyboard biggrin





AMD Phenom II X4 955 3.2 GHz Quad-Core - AMD Radeon HD 6950 2GB VRAM - 4GB RAM - 1680x1050 75 Hz Samsung screen

Edited by Billy_Mayes - Sunday, 19.05.2013, 16:04
 
DisasterpieceDate: Tuesday, 21.05.2013, 00:04 | Message # 82
World Builder
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 640
Status: Offline
Quote (Robbie)
I know this all sounds rather gay, but it isn't, honest. So how much pleasure do we get from our tools

M-m-m-my innocence. Its gone. What happened to "Stay gold, Ponyboy?"





I play teh spase engien
 
Chris94Date: Thursday, 01.08.2013, 02:51 | Message # 83
Space Pilot
Group: Users
Norway
Messages: 118
Status: Offline
I have just recently ordered a computer, here's the specs of it:

Intel Core i7-3770 3.4GHz(can overclock up to 3.9GHz)
Windows 8 64-bit
1 TB harddisk + 1TB extern harddisk
12GB DDR3 RAM
Nvidia GeForce GTX 660 3GB

PC model: ASUS CG8350-NR001S
 
neutronium76Date: Thursday, 14.11.2013, 20:44 | Message # 84
World Builder
Group: Users
Greece
Messages: 718
Status: Offline
Just ordered 2 GTX580s with 3GB VRAM from ebay. I hope that they will provide enough GPU power for current and future SE releases smile




PC1:Core i7 970@3.34GHz, 6 cores/12 threads, 12GB DDR3 RAM@1.34GHz, 2x(SLI) GTX-580 GPUs 3GB VRAM(GDDR5)@1GHz, OS:Win7x64SP1
PC2:Core2Quad X9770@3.2GHz, 2 cores/4 threads 4GB DDR2 RAM@1GHz, GTX-285 GPU 1GB VRAM(DDR3)@1.24GHz, OS:WinVistax64SP2
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Thursday, 14.11.2013, 21:37 | Message # 85
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3599
Status: Offline
Quote neutronium76 ()
Just ordered 2 GTX580s with 3GB VRAM






Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
neutronium76Date: Monday, 25.11.2013, 10:03 | Message # 86
World Builder
Group: Users
Greece
Messages: 718
Status: Offline
For 500€? Quite a bargain actually. These cost around 300-400 each..

Added (25.11.2013, 13:03)
---------------------------------------------

Quote DoctorOfSpace ()
Sounds like a good idea because everyone knows AMD/ATI users are second class PC gamers. In fact why not just drop support for AMD/ATI since no one uses it anyway.

Quote SeptimusOraka ()
Hi, HarbingerDawn! happy could you please tell me which is the best? AMD or Nvidia? unsure

Quote HarbingerDawn ()
This is mostly a matter of opinion. I would say Nvidia, which has had better driver support in recent years, but AMD has cheaper prices. Anyway, both are good, and in the future both should work equally well with SE.
Personally, I always buy Nvidia hardware.

Quote SeptimusOraka ()
Thanks. So I'll buy Nvidia too. happy


Dear AMD/ATI users please continue to support AMD/ATI by buying their products because if you don't then AMD/ATI will bankrupt and NVidia/Intel will be the only option in the market. As a result, prices will go up and quality down because of no competition.
Thank You
An Intel/Nvidia (enslaved) user





PC1:Core i7 970@3.34GHz, 6 cores/12 threads, 12GB DDR3 RAM@1.34GHz, 2x(SLI) GTX-580 GPUs 3GB VRAM(GDDR5)@1GHz, OS:Win7x64SP1
PC2:Core2Quad X9770@3.2GHz, 2 cores/4 threads 4GB DDR2 RAM@1GHz, GTX-285 GPU 1GB VRAM(DDR3)@1.24GHz, OS:WinVistax64SP2
 
Antza2Date: Monday, 25.11.2013, 10:59 | Message # 87
World Builder
Group: Global Moderators
Finland
Messages: 1049
Status: Offline
I installed a Corsair Hydro H55 cooler to my PC. Here are the temperatures after messing around in SE with LOD2.

My CPU used to be around 42°C on idle with my old CPU fan.

Attachments: 5791778.jpg(65Kb)





Go to antza2.deviantart.com for cool photos!
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Monday, 25.11.2013, 14:49 | Message # 88
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Quote Antza2 ()
LOD2

That only affects the GPU. You should have flown around the galaxy generating stars while using asynchronous loading (in the next version, the fixes to the star browser will make that the preferred option).

Or better yet, test it with Prime95.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
neutronium76Date: Monday, 25.11.2013, 18:38 | Message # 89
World Builder
Group: Users
Greece
Messages: 718
Status: Offline
I am currently running latest version of prime95x64bit, in-place large FFTs (maximum heat&power stress), and my CPU temp is reported by my mainboard utility (ASUS AIsuite&PCProbe) at 48C and by CoreTemp at 53C max (ranges from 48C-53C) per core. I find it pretty low and I am on air cooling. Iddle is 29-34C reported from ASUS utils and 21-30C from CoreTemp. I am using [url=http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/cpu-cooler-charts-2008,1779-8.html]this[/url] CPU cooler and CPU is at stock frequency unsure

The bbcode is not working so here is a pic of the cooler:

Attachments: 3388853.jpg(54Kb)





PC1:Core i7 970@3.34GHz, 6 cores/12 threads, 12GB DDR3 RAM@1.34GHz, 2x(SLI) GTX-580 GPUs 3GB VRAM(GDDR5)@1GHz, OS:Win7x64SP1
PC2:Core2Quad X9770@3.2GHz, 2 cores/4 threads 4GB DDR2 RAM@1GHz, GTX-285 GPU 1GB VRAM(DDR3)@1.24GHz, OS:WinVistax64SP2


Edited by neutronium76 - Monday, 25.11.2013, 18:56
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Monday, 25.11.2013, 18:49 | Message # 90
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3599
Status: Offline
Quote neutronium76 ()
pic of the cooler:


Those massive radiators are terrible, especially if you have to move your PC.





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Off-topic Discussions » A very PC discussion on tools (POST HERE YOUR PC SPECIFICATIONS)
Page 6 of 12«12456781112»
Search: