Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 1 of 121231112»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Off-topic Discussions » A very PC discussion on tools (POST HERE YOUR PC SPECIFICATIONS)
A very PC discussion on tools
RobbieDate: Monday, 10.10.2011, 09:03 | Message # 1
Pioneer
Group: Global Moderators
United Kingdom
Messages: 590
Status: Offline
I thought I would liven this board up. It needs more posts!

We all know that we guys love to compare tools -it's a machismo thing - smile So I thought it would be a good idea to discuss how much we play with our tools. Where we can compare how well-equipped we are to each other. I know this all sounds rather gay, but it isn't, honest. smile So how much pleasure do we get from our tools: You know the ones, the hardware and software PC tools that equip us to get the job done satisfactorily. So, please feel free to post your hardware system specs and softwares you use that benefits (or pleasures) you in your daily life. I'll start the ball rolling here:

Here's my custom-made gaming rig:

Intel Quad Core i7 930 CPU overclocked 3.8 GHz
Akasa Nero dedicated CPU cooler
Asus P6X58D-E Motherboard (USB 3, SATA 3, 3-way SLI/Crossfire)
6GB DDR3 1600MHz RAM
Radeon HD 5870 1024MB VRAM
SSD 80GB Intel X25-M Gen 2 (God it's fast! Damn expensive at the time, but well worth the money)
1000GB SATA II Hard disk
500GB SATA II Hard disk
850W Thermaltake PSU
Cooler Master Cosmo RC-1000 (biggest tower-case I’ve ever owned)
LG Blu-Ray Drive
24 x Sony DVD RW Drive
Creative X-Fi Extreme Audio Sound Card
Logitech X-540 Surround Speakers
Dell Widescreen LCD Monitor 22" HD 1920 x 1080
Logitech G110 Macro keyboard
Razer Imperator 5 button Macro Mouse
Windows 7 HP 64 bit

The power-hungry software I use:

SpaceEngine (of course!)
AutoCAD 2010
Blender 3D
Google Sketch-Up
FrontPage HTML Web editor
CorelDraw Photo-Paint 10
Soundation Studio (Music creation tool)
Video Editing Tools
And...many beloved 3D games (too many to mention here)

No doubt some of you will want to shame me about how under-equipped I am smile

.....





Quad Core i7 930 CPU o/c 3.8 GHz - 6GB DDR3 1600MHz RAM - ATI HD 5870 1024Mb - Intel SSD X25-M Gen 2 - Win 7 64-bit
Add Your PC Spec To Your Signature Or Post It Here
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Monday, 10.10.2011, 11:08 | Message # 2
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4798
Status: Offline
PC:
Intel Core 2 Duo E7300 oveclocked 3 GHz
4 Gb RAM
Gigabyte EP45-DS3 Motherboard
GeForce 9800 GTX+ 1024 Mb VRAM
500+500+400 Gb HDD
850W Thermaltake PSU (LOL :D)
Creative X-Fi Extreme Audio Sound Card (LOL :D)
Soviet acoustic system Radiotehnika S-90F (90W RMS power, LOL)
A4Tech X-7 mouse (several times resoldered: repaired cable, buttons, mouse wheel... don't buy X7 mouse!)
Samsung 23" LCD monitor

Laptop:
ASUS N61J
Intel Core i5
8 Gb RAM
ATI Mobility RAdeon HD 5730 1Gb VRAM
320 Gb HDD

*





 
boyan3001Date: Monday, 10.10.2011, 16:01 | Message # 3
Astronaut
Group: Users
Serbia
Messages: 45
Status: Offline
AMD Phenom 9950 BE 2,6 GHz
2 x 2GB Geil Ultra DDR2 800MHz
DFI LanParty DK 790GX-M2RS
Gainward Radeon HD4870 GS 512MB
Creative SB X-Fi Titanium HD
3 x Seagate Barracuda 500GB 7200.12 @ RAID 5 1TB (integrated controller)
Chieftec 4 in 1 card reader
Chieftec APS-550S
Chieftec Aegis tower CX-05B-b
Noctua NH-D14 CPU cooler
Noctua NF-P12, NF-S12, 3 x NF-B9 fans
Logitech MX Revolution
Logitech G510
Saitek Cyborg 3D
Asus PW201 (W20" MVA panel)
Sennheiser HD598

For SE, pain in the a... is Gainward Radeon and his 512MB of video memory. I am glad to see that Engineer have Radeon on notebook, so there is a hope for ATI bugs biggrin

Machine is quite old for today standards, but still can handle most of new games and intensive software. I know, graphics must be updated at first, than CPU. But I wont give a cent for that stuff before equiping some SSD (Intel 510 120GB is my target for now). I am also very disapointed for DFI and their decision to retire LanPary series dry





Realno...
 
neutronium76Date: Monday, 17.10.2011, 19:33 | Message # 4
World Builder
Group: Users
Greece
Messages: 718
Status: Offline
Robbie I envy you angry . Just kidding wink

PC1 (living room):
ASUS P6T DELUXE V2 Mainboard
Intel Core i7 920 (D0 Stepping) OC @ 3.41GHz
Thermalsomething IFX14 aircooling with 2x14'' Scythe Mungen Fans = Noise angry
Armor + Full Tower case (The biggest case I ever owned) By thermalsomething company (Thermalsomething=thermaltake OR thermalright but I can never remember biggrin )
A lot of Case Fans that generate a Lot of noise angry (I think around 7)
RAM: 6GB DDR3 1600MHz (3x2GB Tripple Channel)
NVIDIA GTX285 1GB GDDR3 or above can't remeber ASUS build (Not the MARS edition sad )
2TB Seagate SATA3 64MB cache 7200RPM (Win7x64bit SP1 OS Drive)
2TB WD RAID EDITION 4 SATA2 Drive 7200RPM, Fastest 2TB drive at the time (many FSX ADDONS, Orbiter SpaceSim AND SpaceEngine 0.94 anxiously awaitin to be upgraded to 0.95 biggrin )
1.5TB Seagate SATA2 for Backups, Internet downloads and storage
LG Blu-Ray Drive (Never Used it yet biggrin )
Plextor DVDRW 820 ATAPI Drive
1000Watt Solitech (Crap Brand angry ) but adequate for the time being dry ) PSU
1600mamper UPS cause I live in Greece dry
42" Philips CINEOS LCD TV @ 1920x1080 FullHD

PC2 (office room)
MAinboard: ASUS P5E
CPU: Intel Core2Extreme QX9770 QuadCore @ 3.2GHz stock frequency
RAM: 4GB DDR2 Kingston HyperX @ 1066MHz (4x1GB DualChannel)
GPU: Nvidia GTX275 with 896MB DDR3 (or Above but at least DDR3 i think) EVGA build
Cooling RedScorpion direct touch copper heat pipe CPU cooler with 2x12" Fans (1 is noctua=silence the other is stock RedScorpion)
ThermalTake Soprano case: can marginally acommodate the GTX275 GPU wacko
ThermalTake 750Watt PSU
300GB WD Velociraptor SATA2@10000RPM 16MB cache (OS Drive: WinVista Ultimate x64bit SP2)
300GB WD Velociraptor SATA2@10000RPM 16MB cache (FS 2004 addons, Orbiter spacesim and guess what else: SE 0.94 cool )
1TB Samsung drive: now that one has proved to be one very good drive in benchmark tests back in 2007 i think. Mainly used for Backups and storage.
2 monitors: 1 Philips 19 inch @ 1440x900 @ 75Hz and 1 LG Flatron 20" at 1680x1050@60Hz (primary display for SE and games)
Main Programs Used:
FSX (on PC1), FS2004 (on PC2) with a lot of addons
Universe Sandbox (a realistic gravity space sim)
Orbiter 2010 and 2006 editions
SE obviously
burning Software: Roxio 2011 on PC1, Roxio 2010 on PC2, Alcohol 120,
AnyDVD HD, Clone DVD, MKVmerge (MKVtoolnix) for splitting HD videos.
Many movies and games (Recently I played World In Conflict: Soviet Assault which is a RTS game with very good graphics and very beatiful nuke explosions biggrin )





PC1:Core i7 970@3.34GHz, 6 cores/12 threads, 12GB DDR3 RAM@1.34GHz, 2x(SLI) GTX-580 GPUs 3GB VRAM(GDDR5)@1GHz, OS:Win7x64SP1
PC2:Core2Quad X9770@3.2GHz, 2 cores/4 threads 4GB DDR2 RAM@1GHz, GTX-285 GPU 1GB VRAM(DDR3)@1.24GHz, OS:WinVistax64SP2


Edited by neutronium76 - Monday, 17.10.2011, 19:36
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Saturday, 29.10.2011, 18:23 | Message # 5
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4798
Status: Offline
I have a suggestion: Write our PC specs in our signature, like in my post shown here below. The signature can be edited at your profile page. It will help me to understand probable cause of problems within SE, when you send me your error reports.

*





 
HamguyDate: Saturday, 10.12.2011, 09:30 | Message # 6
Observer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 16
Status: Offline
my specs in sig
 
DeathFromBelowDate: Tuesday, 17.01.2012, 14:22 | Message # 7
Observer
Group: Newbies
United States
Messages: 9
Status: Offline
Hello all, this seems like as good a thread as any to jump into. Not much activity in this part of the forum.

CPU: AMD FX-8120 @ 4.6 GHz
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
RAM: 16 GB DDRIII 1600
GPU: Radeon HD 4890

Data Storage:
1x 60 GB SSD (64-bit Windows 7 and important applications)
2x 10,000 RPM Western Digital Velociraptors in RAID0 (scratch disk, pagefile, games)
3x 64GB SSD's in RAID0 (Games)
1 TB HDD (Important Stuff...)
1 TB HDD (Backup of 'Important Stuff')
2 TB HDD (Games, Movies, Music, etc)

The CPU, motherboard, and GPU are water cooled. The case is a Silverstone TJ07. I also have a TV tuner and a Soundblaster X-Fi Titanium HD installed. I'm using a 32" 1080p LED Sharp Aquos as my monitor. cool



I probably should have waited and bought an Intel Ivy Bridge i5 or i7 whenever they come out, but this is fast enough for me.

Edit: The Captain's... desk.


Edited by DeathFromBelow - Tuesday, 17.01.2012, 14:40
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Tuesday, 17.01.2012, 14:32 | Message # 8
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4798
Status: Offline
Nice comp DeathFromBelow. I dream about making my own water cooling system smile

*





 
DevonXDate: Tuesday, 17.01.2012, 21:49 | Message # 9
Space Pilot
Group: Users
Norway
Messages: 113
Status: Offline
Here's my Laptop :P

Name: Origin EON17

Intel Hex Core i7 990x 3.47 GHz (Turbo 3.65)
12GB DDR3 1600MHz RAM
2x nVidia Geforce GTX 485 2048MB VRAM SLI (total 4062MB VRAM)
2x SSD 256GB Crucial RealSSD C300 SATA 3 RAID 0
1TB 5200rpm SATA 300 Hard Drive
Integrated High-Definition Audio and up to 7.1 Channel support
Logitech z5500
Full HD 17 Inch Screen (1920 x 1080)
Logitech G700 Mouse
Windows 7 Ulitimate 64 bit
2 USB 3 ports and 3 USB 2
Etc

Can run anything i have tested so far on max except Metro 2033. smile


Edited by DevonX - Tuesday, 17.01.2012, 21:55
 
HardtsDate: Wednesday, 18.01.2012, 01:04 | Message # 10
Space Pilot
Group: Users
Denmark
Messages: 112
Status: Offline
Sick machine man!

And erh..

Quote (DevonX)
Intel Hex Core i7 990x 3.47 GHz (Turbo 3.65)
12GB DDR3 1600MHz RAM
2x nVidia Geforce GTX 485 2048MB VRAM SLI (total 4062MB VRAM)
2x SSD 256GB Crucial RealSSD C300 SATA 3 RAID 0
1TB 5200rpm SATA 300 Hard Drive
Integrated High-Definition Audio and up to 7.1 Channel support
Logitech z5500
Full HD 17 Inch Screen (1920 x 1080)
Logitech G700 Mouse
Windows 7 Ulitimate 64 bit
2 USB 3 ports and 3 USB 2


Tell me how on earth you could cram that much in a labtop?
Processor is way over the top for a labtop,
two 256GB SSD's (and they are expensive..), AND a 1TB HDD? and so on.......

At first I thought you where trolling, but then I went to the manufactures site..
All I can say is.. Sh*t - need a new pc. Technology is really coming along once again.





i5 2500k 3,3 GHz @3,6GHz
8 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
3HDD (1TB+500GB+320GB)
Gainward Gtx 460 1GB
2 monitors: Samsung 27" P2770, 22" Samsung BW226
+A sh*tload of palmtree's around my computer :)
 
DevonXDate: Wednesday, 18.01.2012, 13:26 | Message # 11
Space Pilot
Group: Users
Norway
Messages: 113
Status: Offline
Quote (Hardts)
Tell me how on earth you could cram that much in a labtop?

What can i say... its fat XD


Edited by DevonX - Wednesday, 18.01.2012, 13:26
 
anonymousgamerDate: Wednesday, 18.01.2012, 23:11 | Message # 12
World Builder
Group: Global Moderators
United States
Messages: 1011
Status: Offline
Might as well chip in..

Heres my laptop (primary computer)

Intel Core i5 480M 2.66 GHz (2.93 turbo)
4GB DDR3 RAM, up-gradable to 8 (but i havent yet)
ATI Radeon HD 6550m 1GB
640 GB HDD (a lil slow, but whatever)
17.3 inch screen, 1600x900
No blu-ray sad
Windows 7 Home Premium
A random Logitech mouse :-0
3 USB 2's
Other junk that I don't know/wont mention

I love the gaming performance I get on this.
Space Engine, of course, runs well.
 
Elbarto84Date: Monday, 23.01.2012, 21:45 | Message # 13
Space Tourist
Group: Users
Brazil
Messages: 37
Status: Offline
I currently have:

Imac 27" core i7 2,9ghz
4 GB DDR3 RAM
ATI Radeon 4850 512MB
1 TB 7200 rpm harddisk

It's still performing well with even the latest games, however i am not able to play most of them with every setting maxed out.

Question for SpaceEngineer since he wrote the code; (though anyone knowledgable on the subject could also answer)
I'm looking to get a new system in about 6 months and i wonder if any system would be powerful to render details at LOD 1 or 2 incredibly fast. Preferably realtime or close to it. What would it take? In terms of the way you wrote the program, which is more important for processing planetary detail for example, the CPU or GPU?

With just 512MB of memory on my graphics card right now i am sad to say that i am not able to enjoy Space Engine in all it's glory and detail. I've read accounts from people here that say 1024MB makes quite a big difference. But for my new system i am looking for at least 2gb or more of video memory. Would this impact performance dramatically?


Edited by Elbarto84 - Monday, 23.01.2012, 21:46
 
DevonXDate: Monday, 23.01.2012, 21:53 | Message # 14
Space Pilot
Group: Users
Norway
Messages: 113
Status: Offline
Quote (Elbarto84)
I'm looking to get a new system in about 6 months and i wonder if any system would be powerful to render details at LOD 1 or 2 incredibly fast. Preferably realtime or close to it. What would it take? In terms of the way you wrote the program, which is more important for processing planetary detail for example, the CPU or GPU?


I dont think that is even possible. With my specs i load lod 1 in like 2 min and lod 2 i can just forget about(gave up after 5 min)


Edited by DevonX - Monday, 23.01.2012, 21:53
 
Elbarto84Date: Monday, 23.01.2012, 21:59 | Message # 15
Space Tourist
Group: Users
Brazil
Messages: 37
Status: Offline
Quote (DevonX)
I dont think that is even possible. With my specs i load lod 1 in like 2 min and lod 2 i can just forget about(gave up after 5 min)


Hehe and you have a super badass system! Ever since i saw your system on here i've been thinking about getting one from Origin too.
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Off-topic Discussions » A very PC discussion on tools (POST HERE YOUR PC SPECIFICATIONS)
Page 1 of 121231112»
Search: