Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 1 of 212»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Off-topic Discussions » Mars Expedition1 Mod for Vehicle Simulator (A total conversion mod to explore the entire Mars)
Mars Expedition1 Mod for Vehicle Simulator
JafergonDate: Sunday, 08.09.2013, 23:33 | Message # 1
Observer
Group: Newbies
Spain
Hi!
My name is Javier Fernandez and I'd like to show you a project I've been working for several months. Mars Expedition1 is a total conversion mod that transforms an indie sim called Vehicle Simulator into a Mars simulator. Vehicle simulator is a mix of Flight Simulator and a driving and sailing sim.
I chose it beacuse it has very easy and yet poweful scenery creation tools. It covers 100% of mars surface elevation with a resolution of 128 pix/deg based on NASA's Mars Orbiter Laser Altimeter data. As far as I know it is the first time you can explore freely the entire Mars in a game in first person view, driving rovers, walkin in an EVA suit and many more vehicles. Night/day cycles and controllable weather are also featured.
I've also included some High-resoultion areas based on Mars HIRISE data from NASA. I'll be adding more high resolution areas soon.
The mod includes a series of missions that simulates a future mission to Mars and will help you understand the features of the mod. You can also add objects and vehicles in-game to the scenery to create your own bases or situations.
It has a some limitations, due to the Earth's nature of Vehicle simulator, but they do not ruin the experience.
I've been working for nearly 9 months on it and I released it las week. It's a freeware project and you can download it here:
http://marsexpedition1.com/
more info here:
https://www.facebook.com/marsexpedition1

Trailer here:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Crv5kfc4_pw

Best regards,
Javier Fernandez

NovaSiliskoDate: Monday, 09.09.2013, 00:02 | Message # 2
Explorer
Group: SE team
United States