RUS New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 152 of 231«12150151152153154230231»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Off-topic Discussions » Totally off-topic thread (Talk about anything.)
Totally off-topic thread
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Tuesday, 11.03.2014, 07:50 | Message # 2266
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3600
Status: Offline
Quote Disasterpiece ()
get about 50 mb/s download and 30 mb/s upload.


Lucky you, I only get this


But I also only pay $5 a month for it






Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
midtskogenDate: Tuesday, 11.03.2014, 09:06 | Message # 2267
Star Engineer
Group: Users
Norway
Messages: 1672
Status: Offline
Quote HarbingerDawn ()
A mobile carrier offering affordable unlimited internet? In the United States? NOPE. No such thing.

I thought it was worth a shot checking out if you hadn't. It was the solution for us at our family cabin. We had ADSL only offering about 700/200 kbps and switched to mobile and now we get up to about 7 Mbps. It's capped at 2 GB/month (the bandwidth drops to 200 kbps if the limit is exceeded), but it's not a big issue for our use. The cost is about $30/month, which actually is slightly less than the ADSL service.

It's a bit strange that the US is so slow adopting new technology, even in the bay area in California. Internet, mobile phones, etc. The rest of the world began surfing the web on phones while people in the US were still walking around with pagers. Do dialup services still exist in the US?


(From Oslo to Amsterdam, from work...)





NIL DIFFICILE VOLENTI


Edited by midtskogen - Tuesday, 11.03.2014, 09:22
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Tuesday, 11.03.2014, 10:05 | Message # 2268
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Quote midtskogen ()
It's a bit strange that the US is so slow adopting new technology

It's mostly that companies can make more money by not upgrading their products and services while still charging a high price for them. The consolidation of so many communications companies into a few giants has made for an effective monopoly here. They don't really compete with each other, and since they lack outside competition they keep prices high. Places where Google Fiber has come to have seen a reduction in prices by other ISPs in an effort to compete, but it will take years before competition from Google and potential other companies to have a nationwide effect.

Quote midtskogen ()
Do dialup services still exist in the US?

I think so, though I don't know anyone who uses them.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Tuesday, 11.03.2014, 10:23 | Message # 2269
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3600
Status: Offline
Quote midtskogen ()
Do dialup services still exist in the US?


I know of a few services you can get still. Best of all some companies charge like $14 a month for dial up and people still pay for it.

The US is backwards in so many ways. When smartphone plans first came out there were an insane amount of unlimited data plans. Now you can't get unlimited data unless you have a previous contract that you renew.

Quote midtskogen ()
The rest of the world began surfing the web on phones while people in the US were still walking around with pagers


When was this? I remember the late 90s when pagers were big but mobile phones and mobile computing was already catching on when DSL/cable services kicked in. The only time I remember pagers being big was in the early and mid 90s when dial up internet was the only thing available and mobile networks were in their infancy.





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
SalvoDate: Tuesday, 11.03.2014, 11:47 | Message # 2270
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Italy
Messages: 1400
Status: Offline
Quote DoctorOfSpace ()
Lucky you, I only get this
...
But I also only pay $5 a month for it

I pay almost $50 for 7 MB/s of download and 1 MB/s of upload...
Italy dry





The universe is not required to be in perfect harmony with human ambition.

CPU: Intel Core i7 4770 GPU: ASUS Radeon R9 270 RAM: 8 GBs

(still don't know why everyone is doing this...)


Edited by Salvo - Tuesday, 11.03.2014, 11:54
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Tuesday, 11.03.2014, 11:55 | Message # 2271
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Quote Salvo ()
I pay almost $50 for 7 MB/s of download and 1 MB/s of upload...

If you mean MB and not Mb, then that's actually not a bad price, it's cheaper than we can get here.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
midtskogenDate: Tuesday, 11.03.2014, 13:11 | Message # 2272
Star Engineer
Group: Users
Norway
Messages: 1672
Status: Offline
Quote HarbingerDawn ()
If you mean MB and not Mb

I meant Mb (Mbps)...

But 40 Mbps should be possible if 4G is available, and you don't pay more for 4G. I have 4G on my phone, but it's not available everywhere. 4G is very hyped, though. My phone often insists switching over to a weak 4G signal rather to stay on a strong "slower" signal, causing some instability.

At our cabin we only have a special 450 MHz network, which requires a different modem. I can't remember if 4G is available there. The price would be about the same.

Quote DoctorOfSpace ()
When was this? I remember the late 90s when pagers were big but mobile phones and mobile computing was already catching on when DSL/cable services kicked in.

I'm exaggerating a bit. This was the early 2000's and pagers weren't very common anymore, but mobile phones still had limited use. I recall a visit to the SF area as late as 2006 and I still found the mobile coverage bad, data coverage extremely bad. It seemed strange to be so offline.

I had dialup until 1994 or 1995, I think, and a proper link since then, but dialup was still in common use until the late 90's and then rapidly declined. I found an article from 2007 stating that there were still 35,000 active dialup subscriptions in Norway.

I've been trying to get fiber for many years but the providers in Oslo are very reluctant to expand into my area. The prefer apartment buildings where the subscription becomes a part of the rent. So I have internet from my cable company currently. 20/5 Mbps for $40-50/month, or so. I can get more download speed, but 20 is fine for me.





NIL DIFFICILE VOLENTI


Edited by midtskogen - Tuesday, 11.03.2014, 13:12
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Tuesday, 11.03.2014, 13:26 | Message # 2273
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Quote midtskogen ()
I meant Mb (Mbps)...

I was talking to Salvo





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
Billy_MayesDate: Tuesday, 11.03.2014, 14:14 | Message # 2274
Pioneer
Group: Users
Finland
Messages: 485
Status: Offline
I haven't used Google Earth in years. It looks impressive nowadays, with all the 3D mountains and other stuff.



EDIT: Since everyone's posting their speedtest results...






AMD Phenom II X4 955 3.2 GHz Quad-Core - AMD Radeon HD 6950 2GB VRAM - 4GB RAM - 1680x1050 75 Hz Samsung screen

Edited by Billy_Mayes - Tuesday, 11.03.2014, 14:18
 
RockoRocksDate: Tuesday, 11.03.2014, 18:43 | Message # 2275
World Builder
Group: Users
Belgium
Messages: 673
Status: Offline
smile





I will be inactive on this forum for the time being. Might come back eventually

AMD AR-3305M APU w/ Radeon HD 1.90 GHz 6,00 GB RAM
 
anonymousgamerDate: Tuesday, 11.03.2014, 21:46 | Message # 2276
World Builder
Group: Global Moderators
United States
Messages: 1011
Status: Offline
I hate my internet, the speeds go all over the place.






Desktop: FX-8350 4.0 GHz, 8 GB DDR3 RAM, EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 FTW 8 GB, 2 TB HDD, 24 inch 1920x1080 screen
Laptop: Core i5 480M 2.66 GHz (turbo 2.93), 8 GB DDR3 RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6550m 1 GB, 640 GB HDD, 17.3 inch 1600x900 screen
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Tuesday, 11.03.2014, 22:27 | Message # 2277
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Quote Billy_Mayes ()
with all the 3D mountains and other stuff

Which it has always had.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
Antza2Date: Tuesday, 11.03.2014, 22:44 | Message # 2278
World Builder
Group: Global Moderators
Finland
Messages: 1049
Status: Offline
Quote HarbingerDawn ()
Which it has always had.

No it hasn't. It has for a while, but not always.





Go to antza2.deviantart.com for cool photos!
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Tuesday, 11.03.2014, 23:21 | Message # 2279
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Quote Antza2 ()
No it hasn't

Well, it had 3D terrain when I first used it, and that was 9 years ago.

EDIT: I just looked it up, and from what I can tell 3D terrain has existed since the creation of the program, dating back to before it was acquired by Google.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM


Edited by HarbingerDawn - Tuesday, 11.03.2014, 23:31
 
werdnaforeverDate: Wednesday, 12.03.2014, 07:22 | Message # 2280
World Builder
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 897
Status: Offline
Recently switched to monopo-cast comcast
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Off-topic Discussions » Totally off-topic thread (Talk about anything.)
Page 152 of 231«12150151152153154230231»
Search: