Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 1 of 11
Forum » SpaceEngine » Off-topic Discussions » Overclocking (Share you experiences or knowledge)
Overclocking
j0KeRDate: Monday, 01.10.2012, 07:00 | Message # 1
Explorer
Group: Users
Greece
Messages: 178
Status: Offline
Since there is no thread about overclocking i thought that i should start one

Overclocking can include CPU/RAM - GPU(engine clock, Memory clock, Voltages)

Here you could explain/learn/share experiences or knowledge you had from overclocking post some guides/tutorials for anyone who wishes to put a stress on his rig. You thinking overclocking might be risky and dangerous but as long as you keep an eye on temperatures you should be fine wink

Well let me share my attemps and failures.

GPU

I tried overlocking my GPU Sapphire ATi HD5850 (Reference card) with MSi Afterburner , well it seems that i managed it but since its a non-reference* card you cant change Voltage and that's where you get into deep overclocking , voltages . The only way that you change voltage in a reference cards is flashing BIOS of gpu BUT BE VERY careful it might brick you card LIKE I DID sad .
Now Im looking for another card might get GTX560 not sure yet biggrin

CPU

Now as for my e6850 intel core 2 duo i managed to get it @3.2 ghz after raising FSB @bios but here is my problem raising FSB only seems that cant go any further than 3.2ghz of course i should also raise voltages and perhaps RAM frequency but im not sure on that anyone have any thoughts ?





"Novus Ordo Seclorum"

Intel Core(E6850) 2 Duo 3.00 GHz \ Geforce GTX560 1024MB \ 4GB 667(MHz) 2 Channel RAM \ Windows 7 (32bit) \ Samsung SA700D 120hz (3D)


Edited by j0KeR - Monday, 01.10.2012, 07:20
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Monday, 01.10.2012, 13:11 | Message # 2
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8711
Status: Offline
Quote (j0KeR)
Now as for my e6850 intel core 2 duo i managed to get it @3.2 ghz after raising FSB @bios but here is my problem raising FSB only seems that cant go any further than 3.2ghz of course i should also raise voltages and perhaps RAM frequency but im not sure on that anyone have any thoughts ?

To get the most out of my CPU OC, I increased the FSB, I dropped the multiplier on my RAM (RAM was crapping out before my CPU was so I now have it slightly underclocked) and I set my voltages to auto since I don't feel like taking the time to mess with them. I managed to OC from 2.6 GHz to 3.12 GHz this way with no problems on my Phenom II x3 710.

Raising voltages will not affect the actual clock speed, just the stability of the CPU (which is very important). Too little voltage and it will not have enough power to run, and too much voltage will overload it. I think with careful manual tweaking of voltage you can get some very high overclocks, but this would be something that you should only do with a lot of experience (I use automatic settings for mine, which are sufficient for moderate overclocking).

I tried to OC my GPU one time, but I was only able to increase it by around 17% while keeping it stable (this was with my old card) and it had no measurable impact on framerate, so I just set it back to stock.

My specs for reference





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
neutronium76Date: Monday, 01.10.2012, 13:26 | Message # 3
World Builder
Group: Users
Greece
Messages: 718
Status: Offline
Good thread J0ker!

My experience is similar to HarbingerDawn's: I have an 920 D0 Stepping with a base Frequebcy of 2.67GHz. Currently happily running at 3.41GHz. Have actually managed to get it up to 4.1something GHz but Vcore was rising above 1.35V which is the max recommended Vcore based on IntelSpec. So I set Vcore to 1.35 but after a few hrs --> blue screens sad . So now I am at 3.41GHz and everythin is on auto. The ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 mainboard proved to be a very good investment 3 yrs ago wink . It auto raises the voltages to appropriate levels when u raise the FSB/multiplier. My memory can handle up to 1.6GHz which is more than enough for the 3.41GHz CPU clock (I think it sets itself around 1.3somthing or 1.2something can't remember.

As for the GPU I once had a 6600GT which was pretty low end and I managed to brake her by increasing voltages and core/mem frequencies. I think there was smoke coming out of the tower and a very unpleasant smell smile . from then on I am not fildling with GPUs any more dry .





PC1:Core i7 970@3.34GHz, 6 cores/12 threads, 12GB DDR3 RAM@1.34GHz, 2x(SLI) GTX-580 GPUs 3GB VRAM(GDDR5)@1GHz, OS:Win7x64SP1
PC2:Core2Quad X9770@3.2GHz, 2 cores/4 threads 4GB DDR2 RAM@1GHz, GTX-285 GPU 1GB VRAM(DDR3)@1.24GHz, OS:WinVistax64SP2
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Monday, 01.10.2012, 14:40 | Message # 4
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3590
Status: Offline
Quote (neutronium76)
As for the GPU I once had a 6600GT which was pretty low end and I managed to brake her by increasing voltages and core/mem frequencies. I think there was smoke coming out of the tower and a very unpleasant smell smile . from then on I am not fildling with GPUs any more


I did that to an old ATI card I had. Some friend was trying to tell me how to do it properly but his recommendations ended up melting the card.

I try to avoid overclocking and just get better parts rather than overclock weaker/older models.





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Monday, 01.10.2012, 15:01 | Message # 5
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8711
Status: Offline
Quote (DoctorOfSpace)
I try to avoid overclocking and just get better parts rather than overclock weaker/older models.

I personally have observed overclocking to be more effective on CPUs than GPUs. I always leave my graphics cards at stock settings, but I always run my CPU overclocked (for probably about 98% of the time I've had this CPU it's been overclocked with no issues). Overclocking the CPU is a much more forgiving process than overclocking the GPU, even if it can be more complicated.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
MarcusDate: Sunday, 07.10.2012, 15:49 | Message # 6
Astronaut
Group: Users
United Kingdom
Messages: 44
Status: Offline
You'll want to take into account the quality of your Motherboard as VRMs, MOSFETS are extremely important for voltages. Read this thread: http://www.overclock.net/t....cessors

For example, you don't want to be upping voltages on a motherboard with unsinked, poor quality 3+1 phase VRMs as you'll end up frying it. Generally, although not entirely true, a higher amount of phases means a more stable and clean voltage being passed through. However, there are other factors such as actual phase quality. Sometimes a good quality, well sinked 4+1 phase can be much better than a poor quality, unsinked 8+2.

My motherboard is quite cheap so I haven't dared to increase voltages. I've left my 960T at 3.6GHz without voltage changes, which, for me, only required upping the multiplier. I'm not sure if I could go any higher with stock voltages, haven't had the courage to try :P

And, in my opinion, it's just best to keep your RAM at stock settings. You'd notice no real difference in performance.

My GPU has been made specifically for overclocking as the board itself has been designed to use higher quality than reference VRM chokes. I've not tried upping voltages yet and have remained at something like 950MHz (from 860MHz core) and 1150MHz memory clock. It's extremely rare that I get artifacting. And there certainly has been a difference in performance.





AMD Phenom II x4 960T @3.6GHz
8GB DDR3 1600MHz CL9 Kingston Hyper X Blu
MSi R6850 Cyclone 1GD5 950MHz Core 1150MHz Mem
Gigabyte GA-880GM USB 3 motherboard AM3+
 
j0KeRDate: Wednesday, 02.01.2013, 03:49 | Message # 7
Explorer
Group: Users
Greece
Messages: 178
Status: Offline
(Marcus)
You'll want to take into account the quality of your Motherboard as VRMs, MOSFETS are extremely important for voltages.


Marcus, i didnt know about VRM , that's good guide you posted there thanks smile

Well that's the problem my mobo doesn't like overclocking and its a bit old (ASUS P5E-vm do 2007).
It seems that i have to spend a lot of time changing settings in bios to be able to reach some satisfying overclock and notice any difference in performance.
Maybe if i updated my bios version ? maybe it would help i dont know ?

(DoctorOfSpace)
I try to avoid overclocking and just get better parts rather than overclock weaker/older models.


Well yes and no, the way the technology evolves you would have to buy new parts every 6 months or so and people i know including me dont want to spend money on something that is slightly better in performance just to get 7-10 fps more in games

Added (02.01.2013, 06:49)
---------------------------------------------
Its been a while since i tried to overclock my crap mobo (asus p5e vm do) but i did a little bit more research and i found out that in order to pass 350 fsb some suggested that i should raise PCIe Frequency from 100 to 110-115 for some short period of time 10-15 to see how it goes and i just wanted to know if by any chance can cause or caused damage to my Video Card

At least i passed the limit of 3.2ghz that i was stuck for so long ;p





"Novus Ordo Seclorum"

Intel Core(E6850) 2 Duo 3.00 GHz \ Geforce GTX560 1024MB \ 4GB 667(MHz) 2 Channel RAM \ Windows 7 (32bit) \ Samsung SA700D 120hz (3D)


Edited by j0KeR - Wednesday, 02.01.2013, 03:50
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Wednesday, 02.01.2013, 04:02 | Message # 8
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3590
Status: Offline
(j0KeR)
Well yes and no, the way the technology evolves you would have to buy new parts every 6 months or so and people i know including me dont want to spend money on something that is slightly better in performance just to get 7-10 fps more in games


Not true at all when talking about games. Although newer/better stuff does come out every few months the old stuff still performs just fine on current games and software so the need to upgrade only really matters after a few years. Every 3 to 5 years I usually build a new PC and inbetween that time I add some things to my current PC. Its not cheap but it keeps a PC going for longer periods without having to sacrifice performance in games.





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB


Edited by DoctorOfSpace - Wednesday, 02.01.2013, 04:07
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Off-topic Discussions » Overclocking (Share you experiences or knowledge)
Page 1 of 11
Search: