RUS New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 1 of 512345»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Off-topic Discussions » The Space Engine IRC Thread
The Space Engine IRC Thread
ThursDate: Sunday, 30.09.2012, 22:41 | Message # 1
Astronaut
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 49
Status: Offline
Hello all,
The Skype chatroom did not do so well (due to the requirement of Skype), I have created a channel for SpaceEngine on an IRC server so now it should be trivial for anyone to join in on discussion.

You can either simply connect through a web-based app:
http://www.swiftirc.net/index.php?page=chat&client=qwebirc

Or, if you are using a stand-alone client such as mIRC, connect to irc.swiftirc.net

The channel is #spaceengine.

To register an IRC account (optional), type "/msg NickServ register PASSWORD PASSWORD EMAIL EMAIL"

See you there!
 
Antza2Date: Monday, 01.10.2012, 10:04 | Message # 2
World Builder
Group: Global Moderators
Finland
Messages: 1049
Status: Offline
Joined.




Go to antza2.deviantart.com for cool photos!
 
smjjamesDate: Monday, 01.10.2012, 15:17 | Message # 3
World Builder
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 913
Status: Offline
Sounds cool, I'll check it out.

Edit: Nobody else is on at this time though.







Edited by smjjames - Monday, 01.10.2012, 15:18
 
Antza2Date: Monday, 01.10.2012, 15:53 | Message # 4
World Builder
Group: Global Moderators
Finland
Messages: 1049
Status: Offline
Quote (smjjames)
Edit: Nobody else is on at this time though.

I have been there all day.





Go to antza2.deviantart.com for cool photos!
 
smjjamesDate: Monday, 01.10.2012, 15:55 | Message # 5
World Builder
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 913
Status: Offline
Quote (Antza2)
Quote (smjjames)
Edit: Nobody else is on at this time though.

I have been there all day.


Wierd, I went to ##spaceengine since I'm using Chatzilla, but will try again with only one #.

Edit: Same result.... I'll try the link in the OP.

Edit2: I got in through that link, however, does anybody know how to get ChatZilla to connect to this channel?







Edited by smjjames - Monday, 01.10.2012, 16:00
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Monday, 01.10.2012, 16:03 | Message # 6
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3600
Status: Offline
I joined and my browser downloaded a virus dry

Something called WinMonitor.exe and it started playing some weird sounds and people talking.





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
Antza2Date: Monday, 01.10.2012, 16:10 | Message # 7
World Builder
Group: Global Moderators
Finland
Messages: 1049
Status: Offline
Quote (DoctorOfSpace)
I joined and my browser downloaded a virus

Something called WinMonitor.exe and it started playing some weird sounds and people talking.

Well that is strange...
Did you join through the link in the OP?





Go to antza2.deviantart.com for cool photos!
 
smjjamesDate: Monday, 01.10.2012, 16:19 | Message # 8
World Builder
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 913
Status: Offline
DoctorOfSpace, do you have adblock or something? Because both me and Antza have that and we didn't get the virus.




 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Monday, 01.10.2012, 16:26 | Message # 9
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3600
Status: Offline
Quote (Antza2)
Did you join through the link in the OP?



I did

Quote (smjjames)
do you have adblock


I do.

Quote (smjjames)
Because both me and Antza have that and we didn't get the virus.


I've no clue why it did that but now I am scanning my PC and removed all my restore points because of it. It didn't have time to make any registry entries or anything too harmful but it did link to someone else's system.





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
Antza2Date: Monday, 01.10.2012, 16:29 | Message # 10
World Builder
Group: Global Moderators
Finland
Messages: 1049
Status: Offline
Quote (DoctorOfSpace)
I've no clue why it did that but now I am scanning my PC and removed all my restore points because of it. It didn't have time to make any registry entries or anything too harmful but it did link to someone else's system.

Now i'm starting to get paranoid. Better scan my system.

Quote (DoctorOfSpace)
I've no clue why it did that

Did you even get to the chat? it never said that someone was connecting.





Go to antza2.deviantart.com for cool photos!

Edited by Antza2 - Monday, 01.10.2012, 16:33
 
smjjamesDate: Monday, 01.10.2012, 16:32 | Message # 11
World Builder
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 913
Status: Offline
Quote (Antza2)
Quote (DoctorOfSpace)
I've no clue why it did that but now I am scanning my PC and removed all my restore points because of it. It didn't have time to make any registry entries or anything too harmful but it did link to someone else's system.

Now i'm starting to get paranoid. Better scan my system.


I am already doing scans just in case.





 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Monday, 01.10.2012, 16:38 | Message # 12
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3600
Status: Offline
Quote (Antza2)
Now i'm starting to get paranoid. Better scan my system.

Quote (smjjames)
I am already doing scans just in case.


Here is the info I got when I looked into it
http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/startups/random-7609.html

Nothing seems to detect it
https://www.virustotal.com/file....7652282

I removed the exe manually after it launched itself and checked my registry but found no entries.





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
smjjamesDate: Monday, 01.10.2012, 16:42 | Message # 13
World Builder
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 913
Status: Offline
Check again for the latest on that virustotal page, the latest has a hit from Avast, and as long as you have the latest definitions and updates, it should get detected.




 
HarbingerDawnDate: Monday, 01.10.2012, 16:45 | Message # 14
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Quote (DoctorOfSpace)
Nothing seems to detect it

That's not good...





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
smjjamesDate: Monday, 01.10.2012, 16:48 | Message # 15
World Builder
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 913
Status: Offline
It could be something totally random.




 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Off-topic Discussions » The Space Engine IRC Thread
Page 1 of 512345»
Search: