Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 4 of 41«1234564041»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Science and Astronomy Discussions » Astrophotography (Post your astrophotos here)
Astrophotography
HarbingerDawnDate: Wednesday, 26.09.2012, 01:45 | Message # 46
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8713
Status: Online
I never erase my images either, but I don't need an enormous card since I just transfer them to my computer. Once they're there and backed up I erase them from my card (this was a necessary consequence of using a 2 gig card for over 3 years).

Quote (DoctorOfSpace)
Good news is you can setup the compression and quality.

Where at? I haven't looked through all the settings yet, but I definitely didn't see this option among the ones I've looked through.



Here's my first Moon image from the new camera. I went a little overboard on the sharpening when processing the RAW, but even so it is a definite improvement over my old camera.






All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Wednesday, 26.09.2012, 02:34 | Message # 47
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3598
Status: Online
Quote (HarbingerDawn)
(this was a necessary consequence of using a 2 gig card for over 3 years).


I used a 1GB card for 5 years.... dry

Going from 1GB to 8GBs and then immediately 64GBs was pretty nice.

Quote (HarbingerDawn)
Where at? I haven't looked through all the settings yet, but I definitely didn't see this option among the one's I've looked through.


I haven't messed around with video much so can't remember but I saw a video of someone using the T3i and they showed all the different settings.

Quote (HarbingerDawn)
Here's my first Moon image from the new camera. I went a little overboard on the sharpening when processing the RAW, but even so it is a definite improvement over my old camera.


Looks great





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Wednesday, 26.09.2012, 02:56 | Message # 48
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8713
Status: Online
Quote (DoctorOfSpace)
Going from 1GB to 8GBs and then immediately 64GBs was pretty nice.

I'll bet. I also just noticed that the card was G.Skill brand. I love their products, all the RAM I've ever used in builds has been from them happy





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
SolarisDate: Wednesday, 26.09.2012, 20:54 | Message # 49
World Builder
Group: Global Moderators
France
Messages: 731
Status: Offline
Quote (HarbingerDawn)
I just got a brand new Canon 600D
Great ! + perfect timing with the nice colors who goes with the autumn for testing it.
Quote (HarbingerDawn)
Here's my first Moon image from the new camera.
Thoses images of yours & DoctorOfSpace really make me want to have such a camera.. It look wonderful.

astroniki I enjoyed a lot your blog, nice work cool

Keep the pics comming !
 
Antza2Date: Wednesday, 26.09.2012, 22:36 | Message # 50
World Builder
Group: Global Moderators
Finland
Messages: 1049
Status: Offline
Quote (HarbingerDawn)
Here's my first Moon image from the new camera.

I took this picture with my phone...
https://www.dropbox.com/s/uu483katual2qcs/20120901_024142.jpg





Go to antza2.deviantart.com for cool photos!

Edited by Antza2 - Wednesday, 26.09.2012, 22:38
 
SolarisDate: Thursday, 27.09.2012, 01:47 | Message # 51
World Builder
Group: Global Moderators
France
Messages: 731
Status: Offline
Quote (Antza2)
I took this picture with my phone...

Be happy to have a camera on your phone smile (mine haven't), it's a very artistic shot wink

Since we are all posting shot of our satellite, this is my first and unique moon pic :

I can't remember the time exposure ( few minutes ) and it was taken with a SRT101b last summer in greece.

Attachments: 6166382.jpg(251Kb)
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Thursday, 27.09.2012, 03:22 | Message # 52
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8713
Status: Online
Quote (Solaris)
I can't remember the time exposure ( few minutes )

Very interesting picture. Do you remember the speed of film you were using?

Quote (Solaris)
Thoses images of yours & DoctorOfSpace really make me want to have such a camera.. It look wonderful.

I want to sell my old camera (the Canon 1000D), but I think international shipping might not make that the best option for you sad

Quote (Solaris)
perfect timing with the nice colors who goes with the autumn for testing it.

I still have some nice pictures from last autumn that I have not processed yet smile





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM


Edited by HarbingerDawn - Thursday, 27.09.2012, 03:23
 
SolarisDate: Thursday, 27.09.2012, 03:29 | Message # 53
World Builder
Group: Global Moderators
France
Messages: 731
Status: Offline
Quote (HarbingerDawn)
Do you remember the speed of film you were using?

I usualy work with 400asa but this one was 200 I think, I don't know why I haven't reduce the noise when I edited this pic..

Quote (HarbingerDawn)
but I think international shipping might not make that the best option for you
Surely, but I may have chances to get one of those until the end of the year. smile
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Monday, 08.10.2012, 08:45 | Message # 54
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8713
Status: Online
Here are the first pictures of Jupiter taken with my new camera (finally enough resolution to resolve cloud details!)

Unannotated version:


Annotated version:


As before, the image of Jupiter is from a different exposure than the image of the moons.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Monday, 08.10.2012, 20:28 | Message # 55
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8713
Status: Online
The Orion Nebula smile





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Monday, 08.10.2012, 21:12 | Message # 56
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3598
Status: Online
Very nice pictures. Really like the Orion Nebula.




Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
SolarisDate: Monday, 08.10.2012, 21:14 | Message # 57
World Builder
Group: Global Moderators
France
Messages: 731
Status: Offline
Quote (HarbingerDawn)
(finally enough resolution to resolve cloud details!

I can clearly see at least two dark band cool
Quote (HarbingerDawn)
The Orion Nebula

Great ! What was the time exposure? It seem a little reddish but that kinda procure a nice feeling. Is the image edited?
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Tuesday, 09.10.2012, 06:14 | Message # 58
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8713
Status: Online
My second attempt at capturing the Moon. Definitely not as successful as the first (I doubt any others will be either):



Quote (Solaris)
What was the time exposure?

10 seconds (only possible because of 12800 ISO speed).

Quote (Solaris)
It seem a little reddish but that kinda procure a nice feeling

The overall reddishness of the image is due to the high ISO noise. The color of the nebula itself is natural color (compare with this image)

Quote (Solaris)
Is the image edited?

It is edited somewhat for contrast and brightness, minor things like that to help resolve the nebula better. I also reduced the redness of the noise, though it is still visible. I could have done more edits but I was eager to share the image happy





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
SolarisDate: Tuesday, 09.10.2012, 19:42 | Message # 59
World Builder
Group: Global Moderators
France
Messages: 731
Status: Offline
Quote (HarbingerDawn)
12800 ISO
Wow, max I ever used is 800 smile , and it was awfully noisy..

Did you tried to point your camera to the Pleiades? or is it too far?
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Tuesday, 09.10.2012, 19:54 | Message # 60
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8713
Status: Online
Quote (Solaris)
Did you tried to point your camera to the Pleiades?

I have photographed the Pleiades, but it does not look very spectacular. Next I want to try to capture M 31 and M 110, and M 81 and M 82, and I might try to capture M 51 and NGC 5195 if I can.

I want to try to build a barn door tracker soon too, so I might be able to dramatically increase the quality of photos of deep sky objects, though light pollution will still be a limiting factor.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM


Edited by HarbingerDawn - Tuesday, 09.10.2012, 19:55
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Science and Astronomy Discussions » Astrophotography (Post your astrophotos here)
Page 4 of 41«1234564041»
Search: