Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 33 of 41«1231323334354041»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Science and Astronomy Discussions » Astrophotography (Post your astrophotos here)
Astrophotography
HarbingerDawnDate: Thursday, 07.05.2015, 19:36 | Message # 481
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8711
Status: Offline
Quote pzampella ()
Canon Rebel EOS T5

That certainly has mirror lockup, so you have no problem there. Find it in somewhere in the advanced settings and map it to your custom menu. Refer to the user manual if necessary.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
pzampellaDate: Thursday, 07.05.2015, 19:42 | Message # 482
Space Pilot
Group: Users
Venezuela
Messages: 115
Status: Offline
HarbingerDawn, That's a relief, thank you! At this moment I don't have the camera in my hands but I have read in a forum that it did not have this feature. Thanks God it wasn't truth!

Edited by pzampella - Thursday, 07.05.2015, 19:43
 
midtskogenDate: Thursday, 07.05.2015, 20:05 | Message # 483
Star Engineer
Group: Users
Norway
Messages: 1668
Status: Offline
As Harb says, a tripod doesn't help, but if you have a very short exposure time (say, 1/1000s), the problem is reduced. But with f/8 you don't get these short exposures unless you photograph the sun with a relatively weak ND filter.




NIL DIFFICILE VOLENTI


Edited by midtskogen - Thursday, 07.05.2015, 20:05
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Thursday, 07.05.2015, 21:35 | Message # 484
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8711
Status: Offline
Quote pzampella ()
I don't have the camera in my hands but I have read in a forum that it did not have this feature.

Well, it's possible that I'm wrong, but I used to have the Canon Rebel XS, which was an earlier model in the same product line, and it had that feature, and my current Rebel T3i also has it, so it would be extremely weird for the T5 to not have it.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
astronikiDate: Monday, 18.05.2015, 20:55 | Message # 485
Space Pilot
Group: SE team
Poland
Messages: 115
Status: Offline
So i used a remote telescope at itelescope.net to capture this 10x300s image of M16
That's from a upgraded demo account I've spent a few bucks on.
Better deal than buying hardware for tens of thousands of dollars smile





Check out my astrophotography:
http://www.astroniki.fbl.pl
http://www.facebook.com/AstroNiki1


Edited by astroniki - Monday, 18.05.2015, 21:05
 
WatsisnameDate: Friday, 22.05.2015, 07:54 | Message # 486
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
United States
Messages: 2608
Status: Online
Awesome image! Those remote telescopes seem like a pretty good deal.

How do the preparations for data collection work? Do you choose filters, observing period and calculate exposure times yourself?





 
astronikiDate: Friday, 22.05.2015, 08:06 | Message # 487
Space Pilot
Group: SE team
Poland
Messages: 115
Status: Offline
The telescope i used has a color camera, so i just input the exposure time and amount of frames. Very easy to do, and there are some video tutorials on the site.
You get 50 points i think for the free demo and another 30 points if you pay 5 aud for the extended demo that gives you access the raw data, so you can process the images properly. Better telescopes (with filters ect) cost more points per hour. This one is 4x300s and the cost was 16 points so there's some noise in the darker parts. The nebula was at the edge of the frame so i complained and got a refund :P Still managed to squeeze a nice picture out of it.






Check out my astrophotography:
http://www.astroniki.fbl.pl
http://www.facebook.com/AstroNiki1
 
pzampellaDate: Tuesday, 02.06.2015, 13:18 | Message # 488
Space Pilot
Group: Users
Venezuela
Messages: 115
Status: Offline
Would it be possible to photograph the Cat's Eye Nebula with a 75-300mm lens (f/4-5.6) and no equatorial mount?
 
astronikiDate: Tuesday, 02.06.2015, 20:09 | Message # 489
Space Pilot
Group: SE team
Poland
Messages: 115
Status: Offline
I doubt you could get any hint of it without tracking. Its a very small nebula, so even on a tracking mount it would appear star-like on that lens. You can try shooting comet C/2014 Q2 Lovejoy while it's near Polaris. When shooting near the celestial poles you won't need a tracking mount to get a long exposure whit minimal star trails.




Check out my astrophotography:
http://www.astroniki.fbl.pl
http://www.facebook.com/AstroNiki1
 
WatsisnameDate: Tuesday, 02.06.2015, 21:11 | Message # 490
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
United States
Messages: 2608
Status: Online
In short, yes, but don't expect it to see much of its structural detail.

Your biggest challenge is that the Cat's Eye is very small: the brighter central region of it is only about 20 arcseconds across, versus 36 arcmin for Omega Centuari. Even going the full 300mm, it's going to be about 1/100th the size of your earlier capture of Omega Centauri.

On the positive side, even though the Cat's Eye is fainter (~8th mag vs 4th for Omega Cen), its small size means it has much higher surface brightness (by about 40 or 50x). So it should be visible, if even as a fuzzy star-like object.

If you try it, use the same method as before: high zoom, high ISO, longest exposure you can without trailing, and stack a large number of images.





 
astronikiDate: Wednesday, 03.06.2015, 00:29 | Message # 491
Space Pilot
Group: SE team
Poland
Messages: 115
Status: Offline
Quote Watsisname ()
same method as before

Ah, i missed the earlier shots. Well you can definetley get it, but as Watsisname said, it's a small target for an 300mm.





Check out my astrophotography:
http://www.astroniki.fbl.pl
http://www.facebook.com/AstroNiki1
 
SonofStarsDate: Monday, 22.06.2015, 03:31 | Message # 492
Observer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 11
Status: Offline







 
Rhysy27Date: Monday, 22.06.2015, 03:48 | Message # 493
Space Tourist
Group: Users
United Kingdom
Messages: 31
Status: Offline
I made this video that basically showcases areas around Cornwall, under the night sky, as well as a narrative I wrote (apart from the ending Carl Sagan quote). The audio isn't as good as it could have been and can be a tad quiet but it's not too bad.



After finishing this video and then calculating all the mileage I traveled for the different areas, it turns out I traveled around 750 miles! surprised A few of the locations come with a story each, but maybe that's something for another time happy





"It is far better to grasp the universe as it really is than to persist in delusion, however satisfying and reassuring." - Carl Sagan
 
astronikiDate: Tuesday, 23.06.2015, 06:48 | Message # 494
Space Pilot
Group: SE team
Poland
Messages: 115
Status: Offline
Here's another photo from itelescope.net The North America and Pelican nebulae.
This time i used telescope t20 which is brighter and has lower magnification so seeing is not an issue and the image is very sharp. 300s through Red, Green, Blue, and H alpha filters. And I've ran out of points so i might be buying a regular membership later.
I'll use these to make models for Space Engine.





Check out my astrophotography:
http://www.astroniki.fbl.pl
http://www.facebook.com/AstroNiki1
 
SalvoDate: Tuesday, 23.06.2015, 07:57 | Message # 495
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Italy
Messages: 1400
Status: Offline
Quote astroniki ()
Here's another photo from itelescope.net

OMG It's... awesome cry

Why don't you do a stream on YouTube/Twich and we go through the universe all together? happy





The universe is not required to be in perfect harmony with human ambition.

CPU: Intel Core i7 4770 GPU: ASUS Radeon R9 270 RAM: 8 GBs

(still don't know why everyone is doing this...)
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Science and Astronomy Discussions » Astrophotography (Post your astrophotos here)
Page 33 of 41«1231323334354041»
Search: