RUS New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 1 of 411234041»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Science and Astronomy Discussions » Astrophotography (Post your astrophotos here)
Astrophotography
HarbingerDawnDate: Monday, 18.06.2012, 20:07 | Message # 1
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
This community has a screenshot thread and a space art thread, so I figured it could use an astrophotography thread too. If you've gone out and taken any cool photos of the sky, post them here!


Uranus with Jupiter and the Galilean moons



Venus



Saturn



Moon closeup



Crescent Moon with Earthshine



Crescent Moon closeup






Close conjunction of the Moon and Mars




Lunar eclipse



Jupiter





Iridium flare and Orion



Messier 42 (Orion Nebula)



Messier 31 (Andromeda Galaxy) and Messier 110



Messier 82 and Messier 81 (Bode's Galaxy)





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM


Edited by HarbingerDawn - Friday, 23.08.2013, 23:45
 
TalismanDate: Monday, 18.06.2012, 22:09 | Message # 2
Pioneer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 409
Status: Offline
Very nice images! What type of telescope do you have?

Here's a shot of the moon through my 8 inch dobsonian with an Iphone camera.






 
HarbingerDawnDate: Monday, 18.06.2012, 22:49 | Message # 3
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Thanks. I don't have a telescope anymore, most of these shots were taken with my Canon EOS 1000D and 300mm lens. There were a few that were taken through telescopes of various sizes while I held a small camera up to the eyepiece. What I really want is a motorized equatorial mount to take good long-exposure images of the sky, but for that to be very effective I would also need to go to darker skies. There's too much light pollution where I'm at to get the kind of pictures that I really want to capture.

That's a nice image through your scope Talisman, with the right camera equipment I'd bet that you could get some really nice planetary shots with it.

It's also worth noting (for those who don't habitually check this) that a few of the images I posted have a higher resolution than can be displayed in the post, so dragging them to a new tab, or selecting "View Image" will display the full res versions smile





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM


Edited by HarbingerDawn - Monday, 18.06.2012, 22:55
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Tuesday, 19.06.2012, 07:45 | Message # 4
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3600
Status: Offline
Wow for just a camera those look fantastic.




Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Tuesday, 19.06.2012, 10:13 | Message # 5
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4799
Status: Offline
http://en.spaceengine.org/forum/22-626-1

smile





 
SpicaDate: Tuesday, 19.06.2012, 10:21 | Message # 6
Astronaut
Group: Users
Germany
Messages: 45
Status: Offline
A mosaik of three picture, that I took through my 8" Dobson with a little digital camera. The background picture in the middle is a bit brighter than the backgrounds of the others, because the brightness of the moon should be the same over the whole picture. But I like this brighter area. It gives the picture something special.



Spica

Attachments: 4802695.jpg(589Kb)





Spica

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
AMD Phenom II X4 4x3.2 GHz
8 Gb RAM DDR3
GeForce GTX 650 TI 1024 Mb


Edited by Spica - Tuesday, 19.06.2012, 10:29
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Tuesday, 19.06.2012, 11:36 | Message # 7
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Nice mosaic Spica, I like it smile




All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Friday, 24.08.2012, 03:20 | Message # 8
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Here's a picture I took this morning of Venus, Jupiter, Orion, and the Hyades and Pleiades star clusters. A beautiful sight, and nature's sign that summer will end smile


Click on the image to go to its page, where you can find the camera data and other such stuff.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Friday, 24.08.2012, 04:07 | Message # 9
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3600
Status: Offline
Nice image Harb.

Did you add the noise or is that from your exposure/ISO settings?





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Friday, 24.08.2012, 04:21 | Message # 10
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Quote (DoctorOfSpace)
Did you add the noise or is that from your exposure/ISO settings?

It's from the long exposure and ISO, exaggerated by the adjustments I made to the image. I never add noise to astrophotos smile





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Friday, 24.08.2012, 04:32 | Message # 11
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3600
Status: Offline
Quote (HarbingerDawn)
I never add noise to astrophotos

Good to know tongue

Quote (HarbingerDawn)
It's from the long exposure and ISO


Whats your cameras max ISO? My new camera goes up to 6400 but I try to stay below 400, highest I will use is 800. Also do you use jpeg or RAW?

Just wondering because, as I said, I got a new camera and I'm not entirely sure where to begin on images of things at night.





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Friday, 24.08.2012, 04:45 | Message # 12
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Quote (DoctorOfSpace)
My new camera goes up to 6400 but I try to stay below 400, highest I will use is 800. Also do you use jpeg or RAW?

My camera is a few years old, and an entry-level model, so it's a little short on the features. The highest ISO it can do is 1600, and it looks awful with it. I don't like to use anything higher than 400.

I use JPEG, but I really should use RAW. I just keep forgetting to switch my settings tongue For most everyday shooting though jpeg is fine. I haven't messed around with RAW very much since I only recently learned enough about this stuff to know what I'm doing with regards to that. But I will probably start using RAW for all my astrophotos from now on. I don't know whether it will make any difference at all, but I'll start working with it.

Quote (DoctorOfSpace)
I'm not entirely sure where to begin on images of things at night.

I suggest just going out and trying anything and everything! Everything that I know I learned from trial and error. That's the most marvelous thing about a digital camera: you can take hundreds of pictures at a time, and you can see the results of each immediately, so you can learn very quickly.

I could always offer advice for any particular shot, but my only general advice is to have fun and experiment. The only necessity is a tripod cool

Oh, also enable mirror lockup to reduce camera vibrations. It's best to use a remote shutter, but if you don't have one then the 2-second timer works well too. And once you get a good focus using a very distant bright light, or a bright object like the Moon or Venus, switch the focus mode to manual to prevent the camera from trying to refocus and ruining everything. Just be careful not to touch the focus ring once you're in manual mode. Focusing the camera correctly for astrophotography is a nightmare.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Friday, 24.08.2012, 04:56 | Message # 13
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3600
Status: Offline
Quote (HarbingerDawn)
I don't know whether it will make any difference at all, but I'll start working with it.


It makes a huge difference if you use a high ISO and longer exposures. You can do quite a bit of tweaks, however you may need a larger memory card.

Quote (HarbingerDawn)
The only necessity is a tripod

Well I got that, its not the best one but it let me take this with my telephoto.


Quote (HarbingerDawn)
Oh, also enable mirror lockup to reduce camera vibrations.

Not sure how to do that, as you can see from the blur on the previous picture. I'll have to check my cameras manual.

Quote (HarbingerDawn)
It's best to use a remote shutter

Yeah I noticed the slight movements on very long exposures ruining images. I'm going to look into getting one soon.

Quote (HarbingerDawn)
switch the focus mode to manual

That was the main reason I got a new camera. I got tired of the auto focusing digitals I had and wanted to move up to a DSLR.

Quote (HarbingerDawn)
Just be careful not to touch the focus ring once you're in manual mode.


Oh don't worry I've been doing stuff with cameras for quite some time now.

Quote (HarbingerDawn)
Focusing the camera correctly for astrophotography is a nightmare.

Large bodies are easy, meaning the moon. Long exposures for stars are also easy, but I haven't yet been able to do anything with Venus/Jupiter/Mars/Saturn.





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Friday, 24.08.2012, 05:16 | Message # 14
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Quote (DoctorOfSpace)
Yeah I noticed the slight movements on very long exposures ruining images.

The biggest killer when doing very long exposures (30 sec or more) is star trailing. Best remedy for that is an equatorial mount, but they are usually a little pricy. Wish I had one... It's also very easy for the camera to jump a bit or for the tripod to slip, so try to jostle it into stability before shooting. Also, stay very still smile

Quote (DoctorOfSpace)
Not sure how to do that, as you can see from the blur on the previous picture. I'll have to check my cameras manual.

Look under custom functions. Add it to your favorites menu when you find it. If you don't have a Canon then never mind smile

Quote (DoctorOfSpace)
Well I got that, its not the best one but it let me take this with my telephoto.

That's a pretty nice shot! What kind of lens did you use?

For shooting the Moon, ISO 100 and shutter speed in the 1/200 to 1/400 area is usually good, depending on the phase. Makes for very low noise images.

Quote (DoctorOfSpace)
It makes a huge difference if you use a high ISO and longer exposures. You can do quite a bit of tweaks, however you may need a larger memory card.

Thanks for the info





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Friday, 24.08.2012, 05:24 | Message # 15
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3600
Status: Offline
Quote (HarbingerDawn)
If you don't have a Canon then never mind


I have a Canon 550D.

This isn't astrophotography but its what I usually do with cameras
http://i.imgur.com/hnvju.jpg

Quote (HarbingerDawn)
That's a pretty nice shot! What kind of lens did you use?


Was around when I got my camera and I was testing it out in comparison to my old one. I could probably get a better one now that I've learned more about my camera.

I was using a Canon EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 III Telephoto Zoom Lens. Have to use a tripod for obvious reasons.

Quote (HarbingerDawn)
For shooting the Moon, ISO 100 and shutter speed in the 1/200 to 1/400 area is usually good, depending on the phase. Makes for very low noise images.


I figured that one out in the last few weeks. When I took that picture however I was using ISO 1600. Would have been better to use a lower ISO and a longer exposure.

Quote (HarbingerDawn)
Thanks for the info


More info that I used
http://www.all-things-photography.com/raw-or-jpeg.html





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB


Edited by DoctorOfSpace - Friday, 24.08.2012, 05:26
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Science and Astronomy Discussions » Astrophotography (Post your astrophotos here)
Page 1 of 411234041»
Search: