Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 5 of 8«12345678»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Development Status » Skybox and procedural planetary texture exporting
Skybox and procedural planetary texture exporting
HarbingerDawnDate: Sunday, 08.12.2013, 07:28 | Message # 61
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8711
Status: Offline
It's in the main menu: Editor > Export Planet, or Export Skybox. Note: there are issues with texture exports in the current version which will be fixed in the next one.




All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
fmilluminatusDate: Sunday, 08.12.2013, 13:26 | Message # 62
Observer
Group: Newbies
United States
Messages: 5
Status: Offline
Awesome, thanks!
 
TenebristhedarkenedDate: Sunday, 23.02.2014, 03:08 | Message # 63
Space Tourist
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 29
Status: Offline
Is there a way to get the heightmap of a procedural world? I want to figure out how to convert a few into minecraft maps.
 
kairunotabiDate: Sunday, 23.02.2014, 05:07 | Message # 64
Astronaut
Group: Users
Philippines
Messages: 70
Status: Offline
Hello, I would like to ask about how to properly recontruct the exported textures as a single compiled/compressed texture in Photoshop. I'm planning to use those texture on Universe Sandbox.




 
Laine115Date: Wednesday, 19.03.2014, 15:21 | Message # 65
Space Tourist
Group: Users
Finland
Messages: 26
Status: Offline
Go to your space engine folder location, then to textures > planets > (planetname) > bump




i7 3770K @4Ghz
gtx 660
8Gb ram


Edited by Laine115 - Wednesday, 19.03.2014, 15:24
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Wednesday, 19.03.2014, 16:07 | Message # 66
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8711
Status: Offline
Quote Laine115 ()
Go to your space engine folder location, then to textures > planets > (planetname) > bump

No.

Quote Tenebristhedarkened ()
Is there a way to get the heightmap of a procedural world? I want to figure out how to convert a few into minecraft maps.


Select a planet. Go to main menu. Export > export planet. You can only get a full planet map up to a resolution that your graphics card can support, so probably no more than 16384 x 8192. If you have some small region of the planet you want to export, you're out of luck, sorry.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
SolarLinerDate: Wednesday, 19.03.2014, 16:26 | Message # 67
Explorer
Group: Users
France
Messages: 267
Status: Offline
You can't have a local heightmap from a procedural planet, but you can export the whole map into files.

Here's how:
Go to your planet, (select it if not selected yet), then hit Escape -> Editor-> Export planet ...
Uncheck all the clouds layer, just let the "Surface" layer checked.
Uncheck the textures you don't want, for your case "Elevation map" is the one to leave checked

Once the export is done, go to your Space Engine folder, and open the "export" folder. Here they are, your maps are here, you can do whatever you want with them.





custom landing page to share: http://bit.ly/spaceengine
 
Laine115Date: Wednesday, 19.03.2014, 17:43 | Message # 68
Space Tourist
Group: Users
Finland
Messages: 26
Status: Offline
I knew i shouldnt bother posting anything since im such a noob with space engine, well at least i tried to help smile




i7 3770K @4Ghz
gtx 660
8Gb ram
 
ExognosisDate: Wednesday, 26.03.2014, 21:49 | Message # 69
Space Tourist
Group: Users
Portugal
Messages: 39
Status: Offline
How would one go about fusing the _bump and _diff maps in photoshop?

I don't think using Overlay as a blending option on _diff is enough. Any thoughts?





http://exognosis.tumblr.com - Space travel logs by Captain Mirowe aboard the S. E. Exognosis.
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Wednesday, 26.03.2014, 22:39 | Message # 70
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8711
Status: Offline
Quote Exognosis ()
How would one go about fusing the _bump and _diff maps in photoshop?

Why do you need to?





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
ExognosisDate: Thursday, 27.03.2014, 02:04 | Message # 71
Space Tourist
Group: Users
Portugal
Messages: 39
Status: Offline
Space Engine is also a great tool for private sci-fi RP sessions, and to simulate the scanning of the surface of a planet, it would be interesting to actually see the elevations in the _diff map colour scheme. Or does _norm provide a better overlay?




http://exognosis.tumblr.com - Space travel logs by Captain Mirowe aboard the S. E. Exognosis.

Edited by Exognosis - Thursday, 27.03.2014, 02:08
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Thursday, 27.03.2014, 08:34 | Message # 72
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8711
Status: Offline
I'm not sure I understand what you're trying to do.




All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Thursday, 27.03.2014, 11:22 | Message # 73
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4795
Status: Offline
He want something like this:



Maps like this will be implemented for a game.





 
SolarLinerDate: Thursday, 27.03.2014, 18:41 | Message # 74
Explorer
Group: Users
France
Messages: 267
Status: Offline
Quote Exognosis ()
it would be interesting to actually see the elevations

Take the grayscale bump map into GIMP or Photoshop, and color the texture following a gradient. You will have then a colored height map that looks like the map SpaceEngineer posted.





custom landing page to share: http://bit.ly/spaceengine
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Thursday, 27.03.2014, 18:53 | Message # 75
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8711
Status: Offline
Quote SolarLiner ()
Take the grayscale bump map into GIMP or Photoshop, and color the texture following a gradient.

How?





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Development Status » Skybox and procedural planetary texture exporting
Page 5 of 8«12345678»
Search: