RUS New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 2 of 3«123»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Development Status » [Contest] Main menu background
[Contest] Main menu background
sclarinvalDate: Tuesday, 23.08.2016, 00:40 | Message # 16
Astronaut
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 41
Status: Offline
Quote SpaceEngineer ()
I tried these places in SE, and... Well, banding artefact is awful even on exported images. They should be at least 16-bit floating point to avoid this. But this will make file size huge, and even more video memory will be needed to load them.
Or maybe don't use dawn scenes. In deep space scenes banding is also noticeable, this time on milky way.
Maybe I indeed should use full 3D scene for main menu, despite on it's loading time.

Oh, that's really too bad. I can continue looking for a good scene (That's not dusk) if you like, but my personal preference would be a 3D scene. Regarding the loading time, as you suggested, I think it would look quite nice if it were to show a blurred picture of the scene while it loads. My only concern would be that on slower computers, the loading could take a significant amount of time. It could look strange if the blurred picture stayed there for a while before switching to the 3D scene. So I think it should definitely be of a galaxy, nebula, or some other large structure that doesn't take too long to load. Possibly something like this?


Edited by sclarinval - Tuesday, 23.08.2016, 00:42
 
SalvoDate: Tuesday, 23.08.2016, 06:27 | Message # 17
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Italy
Messages: 1400
Status: Offline
Quote SpaceEngineer ()
Maybe I indeed should use full 3D scene for main menu, despite on it's loading time.

How much time does it take to make a small cubemap? The resolution could be the lowest possible smile





The universe is not required to be in perfect harmony with human ambition.

CPU: Intel Core i7 4770 GPU: ASUS Radeon R9 270 RAM: 8 GBs

(still don't know why everyone is doing this...)
 
yaqdarkDate: Tuesday, 23.08.2016, 23:57 | Message # 18
Astronaut
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 53
Status: Offline
My 3 submissions. Skybox export takes AGES, so I've shared the locations too from the places-user.cfg. I'll upload the skyboxes later if it saves you time Vlad.






Edited by yaqdark - Wednesday, 24.08.2016, 00:20
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Wednesday, 24.08.2016, 16:54 | Message # 19
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4799
Status: Offline
Quote sclarinval ()
My only concern would be that on slower computers, the loading could take a significant amount of time. It could look strange if the blurred picture stayed there for a while before switching to the 3D scene. So I think it should definitely be of a galaxy, nebula, or some other large structure that doesn't take too long to load. Possibly something like this?

Scenes with planets in a distance, like in yaqdark's second place, would not take much time to load. You may test it yourself: exit SE in such place and launch it again. Measure time between pressing "Planetarium" and disppearing of the loading circle.

Quote Salvo ()
How much time does it take to make a small cubemap? The resolution could be the lowest possible

Few missiseconds smile Black holes and ship warp effect are using dynamic skyboxes with resolution of 1/4 of the screen resolution.

Quote yaqdark ()
My 3 submissions.

Dawn scene is bad becaue of banding artefact...

Ok, maybe this thread should be changed to "contest for the loading screen place, made using scripts". It can be exported real procedural system, tweaked to have better visuals, performance and loading time. I.e. changed atmosphere model, reduced number of cloud layers, removed unnecessary objects (other planet with their moons, asteroids, comets), tweaked radius and orbit parameters, etc.

I will make support of special catalog entries files for such systems. Easy way is support only custom star catalog and planets catalog for them, ie locate system in a real galaxy/near real nebula. More complex is support of custom galaxies and nebulae, but this also will require more work to make a startup scene.

If there are multiple startup scenes provided, they could switch randomly at SE loading, or even at each exit to the main menu. Or, alternatively, link to the startup screen catalog files will be in the skin script. This will enable easy making of mods/addons: just add a new skin, and user would be able to switch to it in the players settings menu.

What do you think?





 
MosfetDate: Wednesday, 24.08.2016, 17:38 | Message # 20
World Builder
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 729
Status: Offline
Linking the startup scene to a skin could boost customizations, I like it: Some faction-related theme, for a customized Stargate universe maybe...




"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so."
Douglas N. Adams
My mods
Asus x555ub: cpu i5-6200u - ram 4gb - gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram
 
spacerDate: Wednesday, 24.08.2016, 21:20 | Message # 21
Star Engineer
Group: Users
Israel
Messages: 1258
Status: Offline
my submit:


trying to take skybox but the game always crashes after a minute when doing it sad





"we began as wanderers, and we are wanderers still"
-carl sagan

-space engine photographer
 
quarior14Date: Wednesday, 24.08.2016, 21:47 | Message # 22
World Builder
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 646
Status: Offline
Spacer, very beautiful.

Quote Mosfet ()
Linking the startup scene to a skin could boost customizations

Good idea.

Otherwise since it is a space simulation that ships, why not take a catch in a vessel and if there is a dash or a screen, it will serve to put the interactive buttons.





Quarior
 
sclarinvalDate: Wednesday, 24.08.2016, 22:23 | Message # 23
Astronaut
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 41
Status: Offline
Quote spacer ()
my submit:

Are you /u/oriklo on Reddit? https://redd.it/4z8htm
Anyway, SpaceEngineer said that dawn photos would not work.
 
spacerDate: Thursday, 25.08.2016, 07:59 | Message # 24
Star Engineer
Group: Users
Israel
Messages: 1258
Status: Offline
Quote sclarinval ()
Are you /u/oriklo on Reddit? https://redd.it/4z8htm

yeah
Quote sclarinval ()
Anyway, SpaceEngineer said that dawn photos would not work.

only day time will work?





"we began as wanderers, and we are wanderers still"
-carl sagan

-space engine photographer


Edited by spacer - Thursday, 25.08.2016, 09:39
 
sclarinvalDate: Thursday, 25.08.2016, 16:11 | Message # 25
Astronaut
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 41
Status: Offline
Quote spacer ()
only day time will work?

Yes, unfortunately. Well, if we were doing a screenshot that is, instead of a 3D scene, which it looks like isn't going to happen.
Quote SpaceEngineer ()
Dawn scene is bad becaue of banding artefact...

He also said that it coudn't be close up of a planet's surface, because that would take a long time to load. Which is a shame, because that screenshot you have is absolutely gorgeous.
You can read the descussions earlier in the thread if you want.


Edited by sclarinval - Thursday, 25.08.2016, 16:13
 
JolamarDate: Sunday, 28.08.2016, 18:44 | Message # 26
Observer
Group: Newbies
United States
Messages: 4
Status: Offline
Here is my submission. Edit: I don't have Photoshop so I can't add anything to it.
Attachments: 7671988.jpg(132Kb)


Edited by Jolamar - Sunday, 28.08.2016, 18:46
 
JackDoleDate: Wednesday, 07.09.2016, 18:36 | Message # 27
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1737
Status: Offline
Okay, I've also tried to make a few menu skins.
This is one of them.





Code

Place    "Helli #10"
{
    Ver  980
    Body    "Helliconia"
    Parent    "Batalix"
    Date    "2016.01.29 11:25:41.47"
    Pos  (-0000000000000126ED5F1D98E3E978A7 +00000000000000388632495E846C5148 -000000000000003DDC6749AC7A1931ED)
    Rot  (0.08964981421370444 0.9627225125933959 0.2165947670878096 0.1349628890750511)
    Vel  1.0067355e-010
    Mode    2
}

It is a custom system. It currently only consists of two suns and one planet.

Helliconia



Here are some other start screens. But they are not made with a Space Engine standard version.

Attachments: 0297122.jpg(177Kb) · 9766091.jpg(191Kb) · Helliconia.pak(4Kb) · 1013987.jpg(220Kb) · 9390746.jpg(113Kb) · 3764452.jpg(294Kb) · 8857923.jpg(273Kb) · 6442655.jpg(250Kb) · 6467759.jpg(147Kb) · 5080151.jpg(153Kb)





Don't forget to look here.



Edited by JackDole - Wednesday, 12.10.2016, 04:10
 
second-ichDate: Friday, 09.09.2016, 13:59 | Message # 28
Space Pilot
Group: Users
Germany
Messages: 87
Status: Offline
Quote SpaceEngineer ()
If there are multiple startup scenes provided, they could switch randomly at SE loading, or even at each exit to the main menu.


Hmm, I think that's a bit too game like. Since SE is supposed to be a scientific program the menu should be clear and plain and not change every time (my opinion). :)

I designed a new menu interface using the image of sclarinval. What do you think about it?

EDIT: or that

I will also make some own backgrounds in the future.

Attachments: 7676770.jpg(156Kb) · 9062093.jpg(208Kb)


Edited by second-ich - Monday, 12.09.2016, 21:41
 
sclarinvalDate: Tuesday, 11.10.2016, 15:24 | Message # 29
Astronaut
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 41
Status: Offline
Quote second-ich ()
I designed a new menu interface using the image of sclarinval. What do you think about it?

I like these! Though personally, I think that if the look of the menu is going to be redesigned, the rest of the interface should be redesigned to match.
 
second-ichDate: Monday, 17.10.2016, 07:56 | Message # 30
Space Pilot
Group: Users
Germany
Messages: 87
Status: Offline
Quote sclarinval ()
I like these! Though personally, I think that if the look of the menu is going to be redesigned, the rest of the interface should be redesigned to match.


Thx. Some time ago I made also a redesign of the interface. http://en.spaceengine.org/forum/21-2761-11

But today I would make it like this but with a different font:

Attachments: 2198710.jpg(306Kb)


Edited by second-ich - Monday, 17.10.2016, 09:40
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Development Status » [Contest] Main menu background
Page 2 of 3«123»
Search: