Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 8 of 19«126789101819»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Development Status » Work progress - 0.9.8.1
Work progress - 0.9.8.1
yaqdarkDate: Wednesday, 07.09.2016, 02:19 | Message # 106
Astronaut
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 53
Status: Offline
Vlad, if you are happy to add another tester on steam, I happily volunteer. I have a CV1 to test with and a 1080 graphics card.

My steam name: drkaii
 
AzirphaeliDate: Wednesday, 07.09.2016, 11:50 | Message # 107
Space Tourist
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 32
Status: Offline
Quote Nahor ()
Why a ton of work?


Because space engine is a simulation, which means moving everything together messes with the tidal forces/heat/atmospheres/etc..

SE would need to maintain both universes and the new one will need to have it's rules adjusted constantly to address any updates to the main universe (but of course, modified to work with everything being jammed closer together. Since SE is often updated to add or tweak astronomical phenomena that could prove annoying.

Nevertheless, the ultimate issue is that you are asking for a different piece of software that Space Engineer is not building. He's not building a chilled relaxed realistic version of NMS. He's building a simulation of the universe as we know it, and very few of the users here would want him to take development time and resources away from that to work on something entirely different and then shoehorn that into the software.

As for the idea of it being a "map" of the universe. Will yes, that's what Space Engine already is. As soon as you move everything together, though, it's no longer a map of the universe.





~

Edited by Azirphaeli - Wednesday, 07.09.2016, 11:52
 
Syntech_SecuritiesDate: Wednesday, 07.09.2016, 14:19 | Message # 108
Observer
Group: Newbies
India
Messages: 2
Status: Offline
I am rather new and in 0.9.8.0 I sometime get full black screen. Is this issue fix in this version?
Thanks!
 
NahorDate: Wednesday, 07.09.2016, 15:50 | Message # 109
Observer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 10
Status: Offline
Quote Azirphaeli ()
Because space engine is a simulation, which means moving everything together messes with the tidal forces/heat/atmospheres/etc..

SE would need to maintain both universes and the new one will need to have it's rules adjusted constantly to address any updates to the main universe (but of course, modified to work with everything being jammed closer together. Since SE is often updated to add or tweak astronomical phenomena that could prove annoying.


Gee, I'm suggesting a hill, and you're describing a mountain! I'm only suggesting an option to scale down the orbits at rendering time. To display them closer than they really are. Again, even though you conveniently ignore it, it's just a slightly different version of the system map! Nothing more!

Quote Syntech_Securities ()
As for the idea of it being a "map" of the universe. Will yes, that's what Space Engine already is.


And here I was, trying to be accomodating cry , but as the saying goes, there are none so blind as those who will not see ... But fine, then I was talking about the maps within the map, you know, the things that show up when you click the "system map" button or the "universe map" one.

Quote Azirphaeli ()
He's building a simulation of the universe as we know it, and very few of the users here would want him to take development time and resources away from that to work on something entirely different and then shoehorn that into the software.


This is just an option. I never asked to change anything but to add an option to render (and not to simulate) the planets closer to each other than they really are.
And Space Engineer did ask for suggestions and I'm offering one. You may or may not like the idea, that's your prerogative. But there is no need to denigrate my proposal by deforming everything I say just to justify your own personal preferences.
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Wednesday, 07.09.2016, 22:05 | Message # 110
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4796
Status: Offline
Quote Nahor ()
This is just an option. I never asked to change anything but to add an option to render (and not to simulate) the planets closer to each other than they really are.

Ok I heard you. Of course scaling up planets/orbits could be a useful option for the map mode, it was in my plans already. Now it's time to stop this offtopic conversation here. Because

Quote Nahor ()
And Space Engineer did ask for suggestions and I'm offering one.

I am asked about VR, not suggestion in general. There is a special thread for suggestions: http://en.spaceengine.org/forum/8-1386-1





 
Bells_TheoremDate: Thursday, 08.09.2016, 00:07 | Message # 111
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 188
Status: Offline
In VR mode, when increasing the stereobase, the velocity is scaling up disproportionately. i.e. when my stereobase is at a few meters and my velocity is a few meters per second. If I increase my stereobase to a few hundred thousand kilometers, the velocity jumps to a whopping few gly a second. simply tapping my movement keys sends me sometimes into the void outside the universe.

Is there a setting to fix this or is this a bug?
 
NahorDate: Thursday, 08.09.2016, 01:56 | Message # 112
Observer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 10
Status: Offline
Quote SpaceEngineer ()
I am asked about VR, not suggestion in general


It was in the context of VR: laying down on the couch and lazily flying through space. That just got lost with all the debating biggrin .
 
anonymousgamerDate: Thursday, 08.09.2016, 03:37 | Message # 113
World Builder
Group: Global Moderators
United States
Messages: 1011
Status: Offline
Bug(?) regarding particles on the crescent of planet/moon:

Particle appears on one side of the moon



Particle appears on the other side of the moon






Desktop: FX-8350 4.0 GHz, 8 GB DDR3 RAM, EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 FTW 8 GB, 2 TB HDD, 24 inch 1920x1080 screen
Laptop: Core i5 480M 2.66 GHz (turbo 2.93), 8 GB DDR3 RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6550m 1 GB, 640 GB HDD, 17.3 inch 1600x900 screen
 
yaqdarkDate: Thursday, 08.09.2016, 12:40 | Message # 114
Astronaut
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 53
Status: Offline
So any chance to join the steam groups to test? I can let you know how it is for the CV1

steam name: drkaii
 
MosfetDate: Thursday, 08.09.2016, 15:20 | Message # 115
World Builder
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 719
Status: Offline
Quote yaqdark ()
So any chance to join the steam groups to test? I can let you know how it is for the CV1

According to the Steam thread, there are no more keys available now. I'm completely clueless about Steam workings, so I don't know if those keys could be transferred to other users, which I wouldn't permit if I were Mr. Steam.





"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so."
Douglas N. Adams
My mods
Asus x555ub: cpu i5-6200u - ram 4gb - gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram
 
yaqdarkDate: Thursday, 08.09.2016, 16:23 | Message # 116
Astronaut
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 53
Status: Offline
Quote Mosfet ()
Quote yaqdark ()
> So any chance to join the steam groups to test? I can let you know how it is for the CV1

According to the Steam thread, there are no more keys available now. I'm completely clueless about Steam workings, so I don't know if those keys could be transferred to other users, which I wouldn't permit if I were Mr. Steam.


Ok thanks, didn't know there was a page, and I can see that they are angry at people for asking, apologies!


Edited by yaqdark - Thursday, 08.09.2016, 16:26
 
ZackGDate: Saturday, 10.09.2016, 16:38 | Message # 117
Space Pilot
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 113
Status: Offline
Is it possible to make starshine? which planets are illuminated by nearby stars like a globular clusters or a open clusters? An artist and a famous one at that, named David Egge, made this illustration of a planet near proximity of the Pleiades cluster. the planet itself is illuminated by the cluster to a rich blue light.





MOBO:ASUS Sabertooth Mark I
CPU:Intel I7 4790 3.6Ghz
GPU:NVIDIA GTX960 4GB
Memory:32GB 1600Mhz (Corsair 4x8GB)


Edited by ZackG - Sunday, 11.09.2016, 06:04
 
sinsforealDate: Saturday, 10.09.2016, 16:49 | Message # 118
Space Pilot
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 129
Status: Offline
ZackG, Its possible yes. And it is planned




"Man once looked up at the stars and wondered, Now all we do is look at our hands and hesitate"
 
ZackGDate: Sunday, 11.09.2016, 03:26 | Message # 119
Space Pilot
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 113
Status: Offline
Quote sinsforeal ()
Its possible yes. And it is planned

Thats good to hear.





MOBO:ASUS Sabertooth Mark I
CPU:Intel I7 4790 3.6Ghz
GPU:NVIDIA GTX960 4GB
Memory:32GB 1600Mhz (Corsair 4x8GB)
 
FastFourierTransformDate: Sunday, 11.09.2016, 10:00 | Message # 120
Pioneer
Group: Local Moderators
Spain
Messages: 540
Status: Offline
Quote ZackG ()
Is it possible to make starshine? which planets are illuminated by nearby stars


Quote SpaceEngineer ()
Lighting of planets with quasar, galactic core, clusters and nebulae

It figures as planned in the TODO list so it's probably a feasible feature :)
This would be awesome by the way!.

And immagine also nebula reflection on the liquid bodies of planets cry



Edited by FastFourierTransform - Sunday, 11.09.2016, 10:10
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Development Status » Work progress - 0.9.8.1
Page 8 of 19«126789101819»
Search: