Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 1 of 191231819»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Development Status » Work progress - 0.9.8.1
Work progress - 0.9.8.1
SpaceEngineerDate: Sunday, 14.08.2016, 17:03 | Message # 1
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4796
Status: Offline
Ok, lets start the new dev progress thread.

Full changelog for 0.9.8.1 (21 August 2016)

 
SpaceEngineerDate: Sunday, 14.08.2016, 17:03 | Message # 2
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4796
Status: Offline
Oh no... I typed very long post, but uTorrent has requested 110 Gb of RAM form OS, everything start glitch and closing itself, and I lost what I has typed...

I wanted to say what I implemented rendering on Vive, but have some performance issues for now. Work is in progress. Also, I upated SE to Oculus SDK 1.6 (I will keep native support for Oculus), and it works much better than old SDK 0.8. Sadly, it didn't recognize my DK1, but the code for 0.8 is still in SE, so I can compile a build for it, for those who needed.

This is what I have now: Oculus Rift DK1 and DK2, and HTC Vive:


Attachments: 9520436.jpg(372Kb)





 
DeathStarDate: Sunday, 14.08.2016, 17:52 | Message # 3
Pioneer
Group: Users
Croatia
Messages: 515
Status: Offline
Always nice to see a great piece of software available for more platforms :).
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Monday, 15.08.2016, 00:16 | Message # 4
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4796
Status: Offline
OMG, room-scale VR is SE is amazing, if you are using the god-size mode!
When I release the Vive version, those of you who have VR headset should try these things:

- make yourself a size of 1000 km, and walk on a planet
- look at planets orbits at a size of yourself of a several AUs
- walk in stellar neighborhood in Star Wars holographic map style
- walk through nebulae
- make a galaxy in size of your room, align it horizontally and explore - it is the most amazing experience
- bonus: find a black hole without accretion disk, make it 1-2 meters across and walk inside... I should finish wormholes and try to use them as portals

Oculus Rift can be used in room-scale VR too: I am able to walk 3 meters far from the DK2 camera sensor. You must just try to not go outside it's field of view.





 
spacerDate: Monday, 15.08.2016, 00:27 | Message # 5
Star Engineer
Group: Users
Israel
Messages: 1257
Status: Offline
SpaceEngineer, wow amazing spaceengineer! i surly need to buy VR soon for that!!




"we began as wanderers, and we are wanderers still"
-carl sagan

-space engine photographer
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Monday, 15.08.2016, 04:28 | Message # 6
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4796
Status: Offline
It seems I made SLI work in SE, by changing some in the rendering pipeline. It sometimes disables itself, and glitches if Solar system browser or Wiki are opened (screen is blinking), but it works! I got 50-90% FPS increase in hard scenes (LOD 1, aurora quality high, MSAA 32x).

Edit: I renamed SpaceEngine.exe to etqw.exe and these glitches are gone. This is a "dirty" way to force SLI profile in NV driver - rename exe to exe of the Enemy Territory Quake Wars game, which is OpenGL game with SLI profile. Now I need to contact with someone from NVidia and ask them to add SLI to SE profile in future driver release.

Edit2: I'm curious, will CrossFire work now?





 
VilfateDate: Monday, 15.08.2016, 04:33 | Message # 7
Astronaut
Group: Users
China
Messages: 49
Status: Offline
Quote SpaceEngineer ()
I should finish wormholes and try to use them as portals


How will wormholes work (in SE)?

SE with room-scale VR will be sooooo amazing!





 
BambusmanDate: Monday, 15.08.2016, 13:23 | Message # 8
Pioneer
Group: SE team
Germany
Messages: 408
Status: Offline
Looking forward for other stuff you are going to implement smile
Is this going to be a major update?
 
Destructor1701Date: Monday, 15.08.2016, 14:29 | Message # 9
Pioneer
Group: Users
Ireland
Messages: 531
Status: Offline
Quote SpaceEngineer ()
OMG, room-scale VR is SE is amazing, if you are using the god-size mode!
When I release the Vive version, those of you who have VR headset should try these things:

- make yourself a size of 1000 km, and walk on a planet
- look at planets orbits at a size of yourself of a several AUs
- walk in stellar neighborhood in Star Wars holographic map style
- walk through nebulae
- make a galaxy in size of your room, align it horizontally and explore - it is the most amazing experience
- bonus: find a black hole without accretion disk, make it 1-2 meters across and walk inside... I should finish wormholes and try to use them as portals

Oculus Rift can be used in room-scale VR too: I am able to walk 3 meters far from the DK2 camera sensor. You must just try to not go outside it's field of view.


I'm loving your enthusiasm for this! Fantastic!

I mocked up what I imagine you were seeing in photoshop using Antza's photo of you:






 
SpaceEngineerDate: Monday, 15.08.2016, 14:56 | Message # 10
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4796
Status: Offline
Quote Destructor1701 ()
I mocked up what I imagine you were seeing in photoshop using Antza's photo of you:

LOL yes, it's me yesterday smile





 
FastFourierTransformDate: Monday, 15.08.2016, 16:39 | Message # 11
Pioneer
Group: Local Moderators
Spain
Messages: 540
Status: Online
Quote Destructor1701 ()
I mocked up what I imagine you were seeing in photoshop using Antza's photo of you


hahahaha. Lord of the universe
 
Donatelo200Date: Monday, 15.08.2016, 20:44 | Message # 12
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 261
Status: Offline
Dang I really need to get my hands on a Vive now.




CPU: Intel Core i7-4790K
GPU: Nvidia GTX 1080
SSD: Samsung 850 Evo 250GB
HDD: Toshiba DT01ACA200 2TB
HDD: WD Blue 1TB (2012)
RAM: Unknown 16G-D3-1600-MR 2x8GB
MBD: MSI Z97S SLI Krait Edition (MS-7922)
 
spacerDate: Monday, 15.08.2016, 21:59 | Message # 13
Star Engineer
Group: Users
Israel
Messages: 1257
Status: Offline
seems like i wont be able to have the vive anytime soon. i checked how will it cost to bring it here from amazon or other countries. and it will cost 1800$ with all of the taxes etc... sad
maybe in few years





"we began as wanderers, and we are wanderers still"
-carl sagan

-space engine photographer
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Tuesday, 16.08.2016, 00:46 | Message # 14
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3599
Status: Online
Quote spacer ()
maybe in few years


Better to wait anyway as the price will drop and quality will improve. The next Vive will be wireless and be much higher resolution and there may be more HMDs on the market forcing the prices lower.

SE with the Vive is quite amazing though smile





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
sinsforealDate: Tuesday, 16.08.2016, 01:37 | Message # 15
Space Pilot
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 129
Status: Offline
DoctorOfSpace, Yeah I've been contemplating purchasing a used dk1 or dk2 just for space engine




"Man once looked up at the stars and wondered, Now all we do is look at our hands and hesitate"
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Development Status » Work progress - 0.9.8.1
Page 1 of 191231819»
Search: