Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 8 of 11«1267891011»
Forum » SpaceEngine » News and Announcements » SpaceEngine now on Steam (in closed testing)
SpaceEngine now on Steam
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Thursday, 28.04.2016, 20:11 | Message # 1
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3599
Status: Offline
Closed testing on Steam has started.

There are only a limited number of keys available at this time.

All public keys have been claimed, the remaining keys are for community members and promoters.

Official Steam Group




A select few keys have been reserved for community members and promoters.

If you regularly use SpaceEngine, Steam, and these forums please send me a private message.

If you are someone who regularly uses Steam and SpaceEngine for creating youtube or other media please send me a private message with a link to your profile(s).


There are no more keys available so please stop asking.

Please report any Steam issues in this thread.




More info will be added here soon.





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Sunday, 19.06.2016, 15:04 | Message # 106
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4798
Status: Offline
Quote JackDole ()
Will this remain so, or it is changed again in the future?

Gas giants will changed to the ray-marching rendering in the future. They will be fully volumetric, together with stars and clouds on terrestrial planets.





 
MosfetDate: Sunday, 19.06.2016, 15:09 | Message # 107
World Builder
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 719
Status: Offline
It seems you're doing great things SpaceEngineer, those gas giants are gorgeous. I admit I'm a bit envious of steam testers me too tongue




"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so."
Douglas N. Adams
My mods
Asus x555ub: cpu i5-6200u - ram 4gb - gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram
 
JackDoleDate: Sunday, 19.06.2016, 15:36 | Message # 108
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1737
Status: Offline
Quote SpaceEngineer ()
Gas giants will changed to the ray-marching rendering in the future. They will be fully volumetric, together with stars and clouds on terrestrial planets.

Very good!
But then I can only hope that I have a new computer by then! dry





Don't forget to look here.

 
Bells_TheoremDate: Monday, 20.06.2016, 05:42 | Message # 109
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 188
Status: Offline
Quote SpaceEngineer ()
Bells_Theorem, remove cache folder and try again.


I think that cleared it up. I'll let you know if I see any more.
 
AlienasaDate: Monday, 20.06.2016, 15:01 | Message # 110
Space Tourist
Group: Users
Netherlands
Messages: 37
Status: Offline
With the latest update I feel like sometimes the RAM and VRAM aren't being cleaned properly for some reason. Whenever I'm loading in a lot of nodes and I zoom back out my framerate remains low.

More details available upon request.

Edit:

Also, I know this has been something for quite a while now, but occasionally the procedural generation outputs some rather unnatural looking lines in planetary terrain.

In any case great progress on the latest update. Especially digging the MSAA.

Attachments: 2632373.log(55Kb)





CPU: Intel Core i7 6700K @ 4.2 Ghz
GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+
RAM: 16 Gb Kingston HyperX 2400
Mobo: Asrock Z170 Gaming K4
Storage: 1 x 250 Gb Samsung SSD. 2 x 500 Gb HDD


Edited by Alienasa - Monday, 20.06.2016, 15:17
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Monday, 20.06.2016, 22:10 | Message # 111
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4798
Status: Offline
Quote Alienasa ()
With the latest update I feel like sometimes the RAM and VRAM aren't being cleaned properly for some reason. Whenever I'm loading in a lot of nodes and I zoom back out my framerate remains low.

This is called LRU cache - Last Recently Used. Nodes and other stuff are not being deleted from memory until free memory is needed for new object. It is not a bug or memory leak, it is how SE works.





 
HornblowerDate: Tuesday, 21.06.2016, 12:41 | Message # 112
World Builder
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 709
Status: Offline
Will screenshots on steam show the GUI? Is there a way to make them not show the GUI?
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Tuesday, 21.06.2016, 15:10 | Message # 113
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4798
Status: Offline
Quote Hornblower ()
Will screenshots on steam show the GUI? Is there a way to make them not show the GUI?

No way, Steam screenshot capture just takes the game output image and save it into file. Game couldn't know what it's output was captured.





 
SalvoDate: Wednesday, 22.06.2016, 06:15 | Message # 114
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Italy
Messages: 1400
Status: Offline
Quote SpaceEngineer ()
Game couldn't know what it's output was captured.

You could do that when you press the Steam's capture button the GUI hides for a few frames happy

The problem is: How to know which one is it? (I know that you can change it)





The universe is not required to be in perfect harmony with human ambition.

CPU: Intel Core i7 4770 GPU: ASUS Radeon R9 270 RAM: 8 GBs

(still don't know why everyone is doing this...)
 
BeduinoDate: Friday, 24.06.2016, 00:50 | Message # 115
Observer
Group: Users
Brazil
Messages: 14
Status: Offline
I was forced to make a video out of this.





 
SpaceEngineerDate: Friday, 24.06.2016, 13:02 | Message # 116
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4798
Status: Offline
Updated Steam build:

- Fixed bugs with ship autopilot then ship was spawned in interstellar space
- Fixed ship flight mode stuck in "interstellar" until it exits the warp
- Fixed change of localization of some GUI elements
- Fixed galaxy rendering in Wiki
- Many fixes in catalogs
- Fixed terra moons of planemo
- Fixed modules list in the Ship editor
- Fixed ship's smooth behind camera and cockpit camera
- Fixed Pluto atmosphere
- Camera speed is set to zero after using the "Go to" function
- Installer does not delete addons and other user files during installation/uninstallation
- Added warning log if csv catalog is going to patch some sc catalog
- Fixed issue with clouds in standard depth buffer mode
- Fixed script exporting of gas giants, stars and black holes
- Fixed too hot planets in T and Y brown dwarf systems

Still need to implement a system which will preserve user configs from being overwritten by the update.





 
BeduinoDate: Friday, 24.06.2016, 13:38 | Message # 117
Observer
Group: Users
Brazil
Messages: 14
Status: Offline
Quote SpaceEngineer ()
Updated Steam build:


Nice one, i thought i had lost my saved locations once again, but that was already fixed in a previous build.
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Friday, 24.06.2016, 21:33 | Message # 118
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4798
Status: Offline
Quote Beduino ()
Nice one, i thought i had lost my saved locations once again, but that was already fixed in a previous build.

Steam update shouldn't overwrite user locations file. Isn't it?





 
SpaceEngineerDate: Thursday, 07.07.2016, 20:41 | Message # 119
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4798
Status: Offline
Updated Steam build:

- Changed config files structure and behaviour, user configs does not got overwritten by the patch
- Added support of custom subfolders for addons (nested set of any depth is possible)
- Updated localizations included
- Fixed loading of ship engines effect
- Fixed star spectral class initialization in the Planet editor
- Fixed crash on entering Planetarium if no catalogs was loaded
- Fixed object filters checkboxes if no catalogs was loaded (fully procedural Universe is possible)
- Fixed precision issues with eclipse shadow

More about changes here http://en.spaceengine.org/forum/21-3022-68059-16-1467924075





 
Destructor1701Date: Saturday, 09.07.2016, 00:09 | Message # 120
Pioneer
Group: Users
Ireland
Messages: 531
Status: Offline
Excellent update. Loving the persistent user settings. Nice to have Galaxy model brightness persisting without having to edit Main.cfg, thanks!!!

I'm getting an occasional issue where diffraction spikes being in-frame causes about a 75% slowdown. I've confirmed that it's the "halo" effect, not the ghosts. The slowdown is unaffected by disabling ghosts, but goes away when I disable Diffraction spikes. It doesn't always occur, and doesn't occur immediately. I neglected to grab the SE.log file the last time it happened, but I will next time.





 
Forum » SpaceEngine » News and Announcements » SpaceEngine now on Steam (in closed testing)
Page 8 of 11«1267891011»
Search: