RUS New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 7 of 39«12567893839»
Forum » SpaceEngine » News and Announcements » SpaceEngine FAQ (Ask your SpaceEngine questions here!)
SpaceEngine FAQ
neutronium76Date: Tuesday, 31.12.2013, 09:44 | Message # 91
World Builder
Group: Users
Greece
Messages: 718
Status: Offline
Quote Voekoevaka ()
Yes, just delete the line on models with "UseForType".


Thanks! That does indeed keep the numbers unchanged!

Quote HarbingerDawn ()
Quote neutronium76 ()
The reason is to avoid having a seperate SE installation for challenges

In that case then you can't stop using the galaxy models, because galaxies generate stars and nebulae based on the model. If you're having performance problems with the models, you can tweak the model scripts to use fewer sprites (I usually do this because a lot of user-created nebulae have really high detail that kills FPS).


Sorry but I really don't understand what you are trying to say wacko





PC1:Core i7 970@3.34GHz, 6 cores/12 threads, 12GB DDR3 RAM@1.34GHz, 2x(SLI) GTX-580 GPUs 3GB VRAM(GDDR5)@1GHz, OS:Win7x64SP1
PC2:Core2Quad X9770@3.2GHz, 2 cores/4 threads 4GB DDR2 RAM@1GHz, GTX-285 GPU 1GB VRAM(DDR3)@1.24GHz, OS:WinVistax64SP2
 
ProteusDate: Thursday, 02.01.2014, 03:30 | Message # 92
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 172
Status: Offline
A few questions:

Is there a way to modify one of the fly modes so that I can use the inertia of aircraft/spacecraft mode, but letting go of a move key (or the mouse while looking around) decelerates the motion at a particular speed? This way, I have a more realistic feeling of movement, while having a bit more convenience of stopping where I want to.

What are some useful ways I can use the equatorial grid? What are some examples? (I'm a bit new at using something like that, and am just curious how it fits into the current play of SE)

Is there any kind guide to navigating a ship that is a bit easier to understand? Maybe someone has or could make a video explaining it? Although I see controls here and there for doing it, they're not very easy to understand, and understand how they work.

Is there any key that could select the next nearest object? (next nearest star for example), to allow me to simply hop from one to another, in a certain direction? (I think this would be quite fun)





 
apenpaapDate: Thursday, 02.01.2014, 03:36 | Message # 93
World Builder
Group: Users
Antarctica
Messages: 1063
Status: Offline
Quote Proteus ()
Is there any key that could select the next nearest object? (next nearest star for example), to allow me to simply hop from one to another, in a certain direction? (I think this would be quite fun)


You can use map mode (f1 or M) or the star browser (shift+F3) for this. To simply find out the nearest body, you can also teleport a ship to your current location, take control, and look at what it says the reference body is.





I occasionally stream at http://www.twitch.tv/magistermystax. Sometimes SE, sometimes other games.
 
VoekoevakaDate: Thursday, 02.01.2014, 03:39 | Message # 94
World Builder
Group: SE team
France
Messages: 1016
Status: Offline
Quote Proteus ()
What are some useful ways I can use the equatorial grid? What are some examples? (I'm a bit new at using something like that, and am just curious how it fits into the current play of SE)

I sometime use it when placing nebulae and galaxies. I thing is could be useful for amateur astronomers who use SE to find objects.





Want some music of mine ? Please go here !

 
neutronium76Date: Thursday, 02.01.2014, 16:25 | Message # 95
World Builder
Group: Users
Greece
Messages: 718
Status: Offline
Is there a way to disable music&sound completely i.e. from loading into memory? (I don't mean turning the vol all the way down)




PC1:Core i7 970@3.34GHz, 6 cores/12 threads, 12GB DDR3 RAM@1.34GHz, 2x(SLI) GTX-580 GPUs 3GB VRAM(GDDR5)@1GHz, OS:Win7x64SP1
PC2:Core2Quad X9770@3.2GHz, 2 cores/4 threads 4GB DDR2 RAM@1GHz, GTX-285 GPU 1GB VRAM(DDR3)@1.24GHz, OS:WinVistax64SP2
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Thursday, 02.01.2014, 16:32 | Message # 96
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Quote neutronium76 ()
Is there a way to disable music&sound completely i.e. from loading into memory? (I don't mean turning the vol all the way down)

Rename the music and sound folders to something else.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
neutronium76Date: Thursday, 02.01.2014, 18:05 | Message # 97
World Builder
Group: Users
Greece
Messages: 718
Status: Offline
Quote HarbingerDawn ()
Rename the music and sound folders to something else.


Ah! That simple! And I was looking isnide config folder for a switch.. wacko





PC1:Core i7 970@3.34GHz, 6 cores/12 threads, 12GB DDR3 RAM@1.34GHz, 2x(SLI) GTX-580 GPUs 3GB VRAM(GDDR5)@1GHz, OS:Win7x64SP1
PC2:Core2Quad X9770@3.2GHz, 2 cores/4 threads 4GB DDR2 RAM@1GHz, GTX-285 GPU 1GB VRAM(DDR3)@1.24GHz, OS:WinVistax64SP2
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Thursday, 02.01.2014, 20:24 | Message # 98
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4799
Status: Offline
Quote neutronium76 ()
Is there a way to disable music&sound completely i.e. from loading into memory? (I don't mean turning the vol all the way down)

Turning volume down is what you have to do. Close music player, and if volume is at zero, music will be disabled.





 
VinnyDate: Friday, 03.01.2014, 07:15 | Message # 99
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 172
Status: Offline
Hi, guys!

I'm not 100 % sure, what does the hyperjump in SE 0.9.7.1 do? Thanks!

Cheers,
Vincent
 
DeathStarDate: Sunday, 05.01.2014, 13:08 | Message # 100
Pioneer
Group: Users
Croatia
Messages: 515
Status: Offline
Vinny, hyperjump is basically the go-to of spaceships. Say you are in the Milky Way and want to go to the Large Magellanic Cloud. You select it, click G which automatically activates hyperflight mode and your ship will fly to the LMC at a very high speed, just like in free mode.
 
VinnyDate: Monday, 06.01.2014, 03:18 | Message # 101
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 172
Status: Offline
Hi, Deathstar!

Got it! That makes sense! Thanks!

Cheers,
Vincent

Added (06.01.2014, 06:18)
---------------------------------------------
Hi, guys!

Question for you, in SE how do I translate the ship left, right, up, and down? Thanks!

Cheers,
Vincent

 
HarbingerDawnDate: Monday, 06.01.2014, 04:07 | Message # 102
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Vinny, this information is in the SpaceEngine readme file. Please consult the readme before asking questions here.




All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
VinnyDate: Monday, 06.01.2014, 04:27 | Message # 103
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 172
Status: Offline
Hi, HarbingerDawn!

Got it but I cannot seem to find the space engine read me file, I know it is in the space engine folder, but I don't know how to get into get the SE folder. I'm going to see if I can get into the space engine folder to find the read me. Thanks!

Cheers,
Vincent

Added (06.01.2014, 07:27)
---------------------------------------------
Hi, HarbingerDawn!

I cannot seem to find a way to get into the space engine folder. I looked at x86 programs, programs, and common files I still cannot seem to find the SE folder. All I see is the SE.exe on the desktop and the program list in the start menu. Thanks!

Cheers,
Vincent

 
ProteusDate: Monday, 06.01.2014, 04:57 | Message # 104
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 172
Status: Offline
It installs in C:\Games\Space Engine smile




 
VinnyDate: Friday, 10.01.2014, 03:08 | Message # 105
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 172
Status: Offline
Hi, proteus!

Thanks! Great! How do I convert the SE readme to PDF so I can put it on my kindle? Thanks!

Cheers,
Vincent

Added (06.01.2014, 09:03)
---------------------------------------------
Hi, Proteus!

I figured out how to convert the SE readme to PDF. Thanks though!

Cheers,
Happy SE user

Added (10.01.2014, 06:08)
---------------------------------------------
Hi, guys!

I got a question for you, I'm using the shuttle in SE, when I do the reentry for example earth's atmosphere, would the shuttle heat up to bright red/yellow color and the spacecraft speed will decrease when entering the earth's atmosphere at entry interface which is at about 122 kilometers or 400,000 feet? Thanks!

Cheers,
Vincent

 
Forum » SpaceEngine » News and Announcements » SpaceEngine FAQ (Ask your SpaceEngine questions here!)
Page 7 of 39«12567893839»
Search: