Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 5 of 39«12345673839»
Forum » SpaceEngine » News and Announcements » SpaceEngine FAQ (Ask your SpaceEngine questions here!)
SpaceEngine FAQ
RockoRocksDate: Friday, 20.12.2013, 16:17 | Message # 61
World Builder
Group: Users
Belgium
Messages: 673
Status: Offline
Quote Ivvi ()
1. Is it normal that procedural (generated) stars move MUCH faster than real stars do when I fly through the galaxy? Is there a way to reduce their fly-by speed in relation to the real stars?

You can change your speed by scrolling
Quote Ivvi ()
2. Is there a way to tune the interface for stars to disappear when I approach bright objects such as stars and sunlit sides of planets? I mean, there is not a single star close to the Earth in real photos, as Earth outshines them.
Thank you!

On stars, you can turn on "Real star brightness" and then when you are on the surface of a star you will not see stars (just a white void). Why would you want stars to disappear on the sunlit sides of planets unless they have atmospheres?





I will be inactive on this forum for the time being. Might come back eventually

AMD AR-3305M APU w/ Radeon HD 1.90 GHz 6,00 GB RAM
 
IvviDate: Friday, 20.12.2013, 17:06 | Message # 62
Observer
Group: Newbies
Russian Federation
Messages: 9
Status: Offline
RockoRocks, thanks for your help with the second issue. This option can be toggled on and off with 'V' - precisely what I want.
Back to the first issue: suppose you fly to Betelgeuse, or any other 'real' star you pick in the space. As you fly and the star is approaching, thousands of procedural stars appear from nothing and approach MUCH faster, giving the impression that whether they are not stars but stray boulders / asteroids or the 'real' star is an object comparable to the center of galaxy, since it approaches MUCH slower than these stars are. Sorry for my jumbled explanation, but this is how I see it.
 
midtskogenDate: Friday, 20.12.2013, 17:11 | Message # 63
Star Engineer
Group: Users
Norway
Messages: 1668
Status: Offline
I think "auto exposure" is what he's looking for. EDIT: Oh, he found it. Good.




NIL DIFFICILE VOLENTI


Edited by midtskogen - Friday, 20.12.2013, 17:11
 
JCandeiasDate: Friday, 20.12.2013, 17:11 | Message # 64
Pioneer
Group: Translators
Portugal
Messages: 382
Status: Offline
Quote Ivvi ()
1. Is it normal that procedural (generated) stars move MUCH faster than real stars do when I fly through the galaxy? Is there a way to reduce their fly-by speed in relation to the real stars?


How do you know which ones are procedural, and which ones are real? There's no way of knowing, unless you have your labels on. And if that's the case, then you should check to see if the real stars you're seing moving slower aren't very luminous and distant stars, which naturally would move slower due to their distance, and the ones procedurally generated aren't low-luminosity stars, that zip by much faster because they're much closer.

Quote Ivvi ()
2. Is there a way to tune the interface for stars to disappear when I approach bright objects such as stars and sunlit sides of planets? I mean, there is not a single star close to the Earth in real photos, as Earth outshines them.


Yeah, there is. Just type V.





They let me use this!
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Friday, 20.12.2013, 18:53 | Message # 65
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8711
Status: Offline
Quote RockoRocks ()
On stars, you can turn on "Real star brightness" and then when you are on the surface of a star you will not see stars (just a white void). Why would you want stars to disappear on the sunlit sides of planets unless they have atmospheres?






All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
RockoRocksDate: Friday, 20.12.2013, 20:00 | Message # 66
World Builder
Group: Users
Belgium
Messages: 673
Status: Offline
I didn't really understand his question...




I will be inactive on this forum for the time being. Might come back eventually

AMD AR-3305M APU w/ Radeon HD 1.90 GHz 6,00 GB RAM
 
IvviDate: Friday, 20.12.2013, 20:15 | Message # 67
Observer
Group: Newbies
Russian Federation
Messages: 9
Status: Offline
JCandeias, thanks for help with that. I did think about the star luminosity, but obviously underestimated the visual impression. The effect struck my eyes pretty far away from the Solar System vicinity where Celestia (which I used before SE) does not show low-luminosity stars, but SE shows procedural low-luminosity stars, which makes the effect so powerful. Thanks again.
 
DeathStarDate: Tuesday, 24.12.2013, 20:08 | Message # 68
Pioneer
Group: Users
Croatia
Messages: 515
Status: Offline
I noticed something rather odd. Why is Sedna classified as an asteroid?
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Tuesday, 24.12.2013, 22:12 | Message # 69
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4796
Status: Offline
Quote DeathStar ()
I noticed something rather odd. Why is Sedna classified as an asteroid?

Because Sedna is officially classified as asteroid.





 
DeathStarDate: Tuesday, 24.12.2013, 22:25 | Message # 70
Pioneer
Group: Users
Croatia
Messages: 515
Status: Offline
Quote SpaceEngineer ()
Because Sedna is officially classified as asteroid.


Oh, ok. I could have sworn I saw that it is a dwarf planet.
 
VinnyDate: Thursday, 26.12.2013, 08:48 | Message # 71
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 172
Status: Offline
Hi, guys!

I cannot seem to find the manual for SE 0.9.7.1. Where can I download it on the website? Thanks!

Cheers,
Vincent
 
OrgymeyerDate: Thursday, 26.12.2013, 13:45 | Message # 72
Observer
Group: Users
Canada
Messages: 19
Status: Offline
Quote Vinny ()
I cannot seem to find the manual for SE 0.9.7.1. Where can I download it on the website? Thanks!


Ditto on this, I'm loving this update, but I can't seem to figure out how to fly the ships very well. I can't find the brakes! Also got flung outside of the universe while trying to switch mode, and the orbital seems to change the direction but couldn't get into a stable orbit. But I'm sure that's just me, I wasn't exactly the best at the last version flight controls, but at least I could stop that one biggrin
 
DeathStarDate: Thursday, 26.12.2013, 13:57 | Message # 73
Pioneer
Group: Users
Croatia
Messages: 515
Status: Offline
Quote Orgymeyer ()
couldn't get into a stable orbit.


Me too!
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Thursday, 26.12.2013, 15:08 | Message # 74
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8711
Status: Offline
Quote Orgymeyer ()
Also got flung outside of the universe while trying to switch mode, and the orbital seems to change the direction but couldn't get into a stable orbit.

Orbital mode is not a flight mode, it locks the spacecraft into the current orbital elements. There are currently bugs with it, so generally you should stay in simulation mode.

Quote Orgymeyer ()
I can't find the brakes!

Spacecraft don't have "brakes"; if you want to slow down, point opposite your direction of travel and use your engines.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
neutronium76Date: Thursday, 26.12.2013, 16:15 | Message # 75
World Builder
Group: Users
Greece
Messages: 718
Status: Offline
Quote HarbingerDawn ()
Orbital mode is not a flight mode, it locks the spacecraft into the current orbital elements. There are currently bugs with it, so generally you should stay in simulation mode.


Aha! My little bug question solved! Thanks Harb!





PC1:Core i7 970@3.34GHz, 6 cores/12 threads, 12GB DDR3 RAM@1.34GHz, 2x(SLI) GTX-580 GPUs 3GB VRAM(GDDR5)@1GHz, OS:Win7x64SP1
PC2:Core2Quad X9770@3.2GHz, 2 cores/4 threads 4GB DDR2 RAM@1GHz, GTX-285 GPU 1GB VRAM(DDR3)@1.24GHz, OS:WinVistax64SP2
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » News and Announcements » SpaceEngine FAQ (Ask your SpaceEngine questions here!)
Page 5 of 39«12345673839»
Search: