RUS New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 33 of 39«1231323334353839»
Forum » SpaceEngine » News and Announcements » SpaceEngine FAQ (Ask your SpaceEngine questions here!)
SpaceEngine FAQ
FireintheholeDate: Saturday, 23.04.2016, 17:48 | Message # 481
Pioneer
Group: Translators
Sweden
Messages: 356
Status: Offline
Quote Kokil02 ()
HarbingerDawn what is a Log file and where do I find it

You find it in your SpaceEngine/system directory.





Love SpaceEngine!
 
OstariskDate: Tuesday, 26.04.2016, 22:32 | Message # 482
Pioneer
Group: Users
Australia
Messages: 447
Status: Offline
Is using space engine as a resource thing allowed?
like, uh.....







My mods
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Wednesday, 27.04.2016, 02:54 | Message # 483
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Quote Ostarisk ()
Is using space engine as a resource thing allowed?
like, uh.....

nothing to see in here.

Is... there an actual question in there somewhere?





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
OstariskDate: Thursday, 28.04.2016, 22:41 | Message # 484
Pioneer
Group: Users
Australia
Messages: 447
Status: Offline
Quote HarbingerDawn ()
Is... there an actual question in there somewhere?








My mods


Edited by Ostarisk - Thursday, 28.04.2016, 22:52
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Thursday, 28.04.2016, 22:52 | Message # 485
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
http://en.spaceengine.org/index/faq/0-29#general




All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
OstariskDate: Friday, 29.04.2016, 01:12 | Message # 486
Pioneer
Group: Users
Australia
Messages: 447
Status: Offline
So I can use it in that manner!

and now, I'm looking for some sort of... assembly instructions

and as of right now, I can't find some sort of thread, or tutorial.






My mods


Edited by Ostarisk - Friday, 29.04.2016, 01:27
 
HornblowerDate: Friday, 29.04.2016, 13:26 | Message # 487
World Builder
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 709
Status: Offline
Will space engine ever come to IOS/Android? That would be amazing! biggrin
 
simonecinque1992Date: Friday, 29.04.2016, 13:39 | Message # 488
Pioneer
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 470
Status: Offline
If Planet Nine and J 1407 System get confirmed will you add them?




My Mods and Addons

Packard Bell
Windows 10 Pro
Intel® Celeron® CPU 1000M @ 1.80GHz 1.80 GHz
4 GB
64 bit Operative System
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Friday, 29.04.2016, 14:07 | Message # 489
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Quote Hornblower ()
Will space engine ever come to IOS/Android?

Maybe, if there are ever Android or iOS devices that meet the hardware requirements. So maybe in 10 years.

Quote simonecinque1992 ()
If Planet Nine and J 1407 System get confirmed will you add them?

http://en.spaceengine.org/index/faq/0-29





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
Spitfire7Date: Thursday, 12.05.2016, 12:37 | Message # 490
Astronaut
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 45
Status: Offline
Hey there, I read through the FAQs page, the frequently asked questions and searched through the forums. My questions could be out there somewhere, but I couldn't find them. Can you please help?

First off, thank you guys for this game. It is truly breath taking.

1. My resolution seems to not stay. I set it as Full screen, custom resolution 1920x1080 59Hz and each time I restart it goes back to 640x480. Why is this?

2. I have seen some cool pictures in the gallery and forums on here and they have thankfully put the coordinates to the planet. Where do I put in these coordinates (RS 8404-141-8-10854396-166 2) to see these awesome planets?

3. Is there some strategy to finding areas or planets that have potential life on them, habitable terras, and earth like planets? Is there a galaxy or areas that I should be searching more of that has higher probability or is this entirely random? For example are there higher chances on Yellow Dwarf stars or on White Giants, etc.? Or should I be checking more near the edge of the galaxies where our Sun's location would be?

4. This one gets asked a lot and mine is slightly different. How come the planets in our solar system are not enhanced and as detailed? I would think ours would be the first to be enhanced no? I have the high res add-on's and they look great and I have read about this, but is there a reason others than it being difficult, time consuming, and very hard on a graphics card?

5. Is there any way to turn my velocity to Miles per hour, instead of ft/sec., miles/sec? Also, what are all the abbreviations for the velocity? For example what is Gly/sec? I finally figured out "c" is the speed of light. Very cool. Would love to have an option to have MPH as well. I have changed my units to MPH in the settings, but this doesn't do anything when using the velocity.

I found many of my other questions and am learning a lot. If you can help me with these I sure would appreciate it. Thank you.
 
HornblowerDate: Thursday, 12.05.2016, 12:59 | Message # 491
World Builder
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 709
Status: Offline
Quote Spitfire7 ()
1. My resolution seems to not stay. I set it as Full screen, custom resolution 1920x1080 59Hz and each time I restart it goes back to 640x480. Why is this?

I have no clue, I have never had this problem.
Quote Spitfire7 ()
I have seen some cool pictures in the gallery and forums on here and they have thankfully put the coordinates to the planet. Where do I put in these coordinates (RS 8404-141-8-10854396-166 2) to see these awesome planets?

In the search box. Press F3 or the button on the left side of the screen that looks like a magnifying glass.
Quote Spitfire7 ()
Is there some strategy to finding areas or planets that have potential life on them, habitable terras, and earth like planets? Is there a galaxy or areas that I should be searching more of that has higher probability or is this entirely random? For example are there higher chances on Yellow Dwarf stars or on White Giants, etc.? Or should I be checking more near the edge of the galaxies where our Sun's location would be?

The easiest way is to use the star browser. You can sort your results by planets with life, number of planets, and many other options.
Quote Spitfire7 ()
How come the planets in our solar system are not enhanced and as detailed?

While it would be nice to have higher-res planets. The images we have are taken from space. We can't have a full detail planet because of the resolution of the cameras on earth imaging satellites.
Quote Spitfire7 ()
Is there any way to turn my velocity to Miles per hour, instead of ft/sec., miles/sec?

In the settings menu on the pause menu, there is a button at the top for "Player." You can change that in there.
Quote Spitfire7 ()
Also, what are all the abbreviations for the velocity?

LY=Light Year AU=Astronomical Units Pc=Parsecs. Anything with a k, m, or g is kilo- mega- and giga- respectively.
Hope this helped.
 
MosfetDate: Thursday, 12.05.2016, 13:48 | Message # 492
World Builder
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 728
Status: Offline
Quote
Where do I put in these coordinates (RS 8404-141-8-10854396-166 2) to see these awesome planets?

strictly speaking those are not coordinates but more like an index number. it's the name of the object as calculated by the program. to go there you must write that name in the "find object" window in the left menu bar. Be aware though, the object being calculated from a specific version of the program, like 0.9.7.4 for example, can be very different in another version like 0.9.7.2 or 0.9.7.3, or not existing at all. This is due to the method used by the program, procedural generation.

Quote
but is there a reason others than it being difficult, time consuming, and very hard on a graphics card

The reason is exactly the method used to create such beautiful panoramas, procedural generation. It uses mathematical methods starting from a list of parameters to approximate the realism of a crater or a mountain. But it's way easier to calculate a realistic planet from a bunch of formulae than to find a formula in order to mimicking a structure of a real planet, like the Grand Canyon. I mean, the real thing. So, in order to have this type of realism, we use other techniques involving real images, which are limited by image resolution, or only partial data we have, or limited by the fact that a personal computer can't possibly reach the power and speed to let the gamer flawlessly navigate over a very high detailed mapping of Nepal (that's the "difficult, time consuming very hard" part ;)).

Quote
Is there any way to turn my velocity to Miles per hour, instead of ft/sec., miles/sec?

I don't think that's possible right now.





"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so."
Douglas N. Adams
My mods
Asus x555ub: cpu i5-6200u - ram 4gb - gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram
 
Spitfire7Date: Friday, 13.05.2016, 03:16 | Message # 493
Astronaut
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 45
Status: Offline
Wow guys thank you so much for such great detailed responses. I really appreciate that.

So I think you are right, the problem I am having is the pictures of this certain solar system was taken back in 2012.

You can see the pictures of what I am talking about here http://en.spaceengine.org/forum/10-432-3

Does anyone know where this world is in the current patch 0.9.7.4?
 
OstariskDate: Friday, 13.05.2016, 03:42 | Message # 494
Pioneer
Group: Users
Australia
Messages: 447
Status: Offline
Quote Spitfire7 ()
Does anyone know where this world is in the current patch 0.9.7.4?


Here.






My mods
 
Spitfire7Date: Friday, 13.05.2016, 03:55 | Message # 495
Astronaut
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 45
Status: Offline
Ostarisk, Thank you, but that's not what I meant. I already have that patch. I am asking about the specific solar system that someone found way back in 2012 that no longer exists there in those coordinates anymore. Since the patches, it has most likely been moved. Anyone still have it saved somewhere?
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » News and Announcements » SpaceEngine FAQ (Ask your SpaceEngine questions here!)
Page 33 of 39«1231323334353839»
Search: