RUS New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 29 of 39«1227282930313839»
Forum » SpaceEngine » News and Announcements » SpaceEngine FAQ (Ask your SpaceEngine questions here!)
SpaceEngine FAQ
HarbingerDawnDate: Wednesday, 27.01.2016, 22:38 | Message # 421
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
When the HTML manual is finished it will then be converted to PDF format.




All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
FireintheholeDate: Thursday, 28.01.2016, 22:05 | Message # 422
Pioneer
Group: Translators
Sweden
Messages: 356
Status: Offline
Why are comets so common in red dwarf systems?




Love SpaceEngine!
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Thursday, 28.01.2016, 22:12 | Message # 423
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
I don't think they're more common in red dwarf systems, it's just that they're closer to their stars. I think it has something to do with how the engine generates semi-major axes of worlds with respect to the size of their suns.




All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
LookAtDatDakkaDate: Friday, 29.01.2016, 02:41 | Message # 424
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 156
Status: Offline
Why are orange giants more common than red giants in 0.9.7.4 patch 8? surprised




NVIDIA 960 GTX 2048MB

Edited by LookAtDatDakka - Friday, 29.01.2016, 02:43
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Friday, 29.01.2016, 02:57 | Message # 425
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Quote LookAtDatDakka ()
Why are orange giants more common than red giants in 0.9.7.4 patch 8?

That's something I've been wondering myself, I'd love to know the answer. I don't think I've found a single procedural red giant.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
PlutonianEmpireDate: Friday, 29.01.2016, 05:18 | Message # 426
Pioneer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 475
Status: Offline
I destroyed life on Earth and gave it procedural textures and clouds as part of an ongoing personal world building project. Is there a reason why the cloud twists point the wrong way? cry This happens even at standard temperatures.


Attachments: 2323068.jpg(250Kb)





Specs: Dell Inspiron 5547 (Laptop); 8 gigabytes of RAM; Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-4210U CPU @ 1.70GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.4GHz; Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit; Graphics: Intel® HD Graphics 4400 (That's all there is :( )

Edited by PlutonianEmpire - Friday, 29.01.2016, 05:21
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Friday, 29.01.2016, 20:53 | Message # 427
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Quote PlutonianEmpire ()
Is there a reason why the cloud twists point the wrong way?

Do they? They look ok to me. Have you tried changing the twist values?





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
PlutonianEmpireDate: Friday, 29.01.2016, 22:11 | Message # 428
Pioneer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 475
Status: Offline
Yeah after posting that, I realized I was using Rodrigo's mod (which includes clouds), and when I exported the script, I noticed a bug, where twistMagn is set to 0, both in the script file and in the in-game editor. (I now see this both with and without cloud mods, and on every single planet.)

Regardless, I am referring to the "twist" appearances of the Earth Clouds Map, and the procedural ones, where with completely default Earth, the cloud patterns "point" to the left, with North being up, giving a "trailing" appearance with respect to the planet's rotation:



But with procedural clouds, the patterns "point" to the right, with North again being up, giving a "leading" appearance with respect to the planet's rotation:



I remember being able to set a "negative" value for twistMagn, which would make procedural clouds "point" left, in older versions of SE (0.971, specifically). Now, trying to set custom twistMagn, both positive and negative values, doesn't work, again with or without cloud shader mods. SE uses it's own procedural twistMagn.

Attachments: 7649975.jpg(345Kb) · 8573784.jpg(276Kb)





Specs: Dell Inspiron 5547 (Laptop); 8 gigabytes of RAM; Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-4210U CPU @ 1.70GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.4GHz; Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit; Graphics: Intel® HD Graphics 4400 (That's all there is :( )

Edited by PlutonianEmpire - Friday, 29.01.2016, 22:16
 
nmoavinisDate: Saturday, 30.01.2016, 13:01 | Message # 429
Observer
Group: Newbies
Pirate
Messages: 6
Status: Offline
I have a question:Why can't i post new threads.Is it not allowed anymore?
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Saturday, 30.01.2016, 16:16 | Message # 430
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Quote nmoavinis ()
I have a question:Why can't i post new threads.Is it not allowed anymore?

You must make 10 posts in existing threads before being allowed to create a new thread. This cuts down on the amount of spam and redundant threads on the forum. For almost any topic you might wish to post about there is probably an existing thread already, so this shouldn't be a problem. Use the forum's search function to sort through existing threads.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
VostokTheROBOTDate: Friday, 05.02.2016, 17:57 | Message # 431
Observer
Group: Newbies
United States
Messages: 5
Status: Offline
Is there any way I can turn off the gravitational lensing effect when using the hyperdrive/hyperjump in 0.9.7.4? Now that ships are visible in interstellar space I want to hyperdrive through galaxies/nebulae and watch the stars and gas go by. Kind of hard to see anything when it's distorted so heavily.
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Friday, 05.02.2016, 19:55 | Message # 432
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3600
Status: Offline
Quote VostokTheROBOT ()
Is there any way I can turn off the gravitational lensing effect when using the hyperdrive/hyperjump in 0.9.7.4


I have attached a blank ship_warp.glsl shader to this post

Make sure it is named ship_warp

Put it in System/Shaders

Attachments: 9561291.glsl(0Kb)





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
VostokTheROBOTDate: Friday, 05.02.2016, 20:51 | Message # 433
Observer
Group: Newbies
United States
Messages: 5
Status: Offline
Nice, that worked! Thanks for your help. Time to sail through nebulae FTL style.
 
huishbDate: Saturday, 06.02.2016, 20:48 | Message # 434
Astronaut
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 72
Status: Offline
How do i add images to comments? I have some really cool images i would like to share!

I do know about the img icon above the word "images" i typed, and it asked for a url. I tried adding my images from my screenshot folder, but it wouldn't let me copy the image url (if that's even correct) I just don't know how to do it!

Any help please?





Possessor: AMD FX™-4100 Quad-Core Possessor (CPUs), ~3.6 GHz
Memory: 8192MB RAM. Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce GT 610. Approx total memory: 4045 MB
 
MosfetDate: Saturday, 06.02.2016, 21:11 | Message # 435
World Builder
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 731
Status: Offline
use the "Attachment" option below:



then use the code assigned, like in my case $IMAGE1$, to embed your image into the message.

Attachments: 8141631.png(40Kb)





"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so."
Douglas N. Adams
My mods
Asus x555ub: cpu i5-6200u - ram 4gb - gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram


Edited by Mosfet - Saturday, 06.02.2016, 21:13
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » News and Announcements » SpaceEngine FAQ (Ask your SpaceEngine questions here!)
Page 29 of 39«1227282930313839»
Search: