Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 20 of 39«1218192021223839»
Forum » SpaceEngine » News and Announcements » SpaceEngine FAQ (Ask your SpaceEngine questions here!)
SpaceEngine FAQ
ZargabDate: Thursday, 04.12.2014, 05:07 | Message # 286
Observer
Group: Users
Sweden
Messages: 13
Status: Offline
Quote HarbingerDawn ()
Historically Nvidia has been better.

I could get a good deal on a r9 270x, so I decided to roll the dice. So far so good, no weird issues, nothing weirder than before in any case. The only thing I noticed is that point galaxies twinkle a bit oddly in interstellar space. Turning only sprites on helps, though it reduces the amount of available galaxies quite a bit.

The purchase does lead to another question, though. Performance is quite a bit better, but the card does not seem fully utilised in all cases. For instance, when on a planet, the frames per second drop to 25. The card is only 30-50% loaded, the CPU even less at around 25 or even 10% Yet there seems to be a bottleneck somewhere. Disk i/o does not seem to be the problem, as the game is run from a ssd and there are hardly any writes being done.

Can you help me figure out what the bottleneck might be? Is there some way of seeing what SE is doing in the background so I can figure out what to look at?


Edited by Zargab - Thursday, 04.12.2014, 05:15
 
nboskovicDate: Tuesday, 16.12.2014, 00:53 | Message # 287
Observer
Group: Newbies
Pirate
Messages: 1
Status: Offline
Will the source code ever be released?
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Tuesday, 16.12.2014, 06:10 | Message # 288
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3590
Status: Offline
Quote nboskovic ()
Will the source code ever be released?


No.

In the future a partial release might happen with an SDK but that is a long time from now.





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
steve0390Date: Wednesday, 24.12.2014, 21:31 | Message # 289
Observer
Group: Newbies
United States
Messages: 3
Status: Offline
Is there a mod or setting that I can activate to make objects move, such as planets, comets, clouds, etc? Thank you!
 
WatsisnameDate: Wednesday, 24.12.2014, 22:00 | Message # 290
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
United States
Messages: 2604
Status: Offline
Space Engine is not static -- everything moves (except motion and rotation of galaxies). Use time acceleration.




 
steve0390Date: Wednesday, 24.12.2014, 22:47 | Message # 291
Observer
Group: Newbies
United States
Messages: 3
Status: Offline
Quote Watsisname ()
Space Engine is not static -- everything moves (except motion and rotation of galaxies). Use time acceleration.


thank you


Edited by steve0390 - Wednesday, 24.12.2014, 23:28
 
AerospacefagDate: Thursday, 25.12.2014, 00:42 | Message # 292
Pioneer
Group: Users
Russian Federation
Messages: 401
Status: Offline
steve0390, press "space", it pauses or starts time. Use "J,K,L" to speed up, accelerate or reverse time. There's also a panel in the lower left side of the screen where you can setup your time.
 
RockoRocksDate: Saturday, 27.12.2014, 18:03 | Message # 293
World Builder
Group: Users
Belgium
Messages: 673
Status: Offline
How do I make use of the new PAK file system?




I will be inactive on this forum for the time being. Might come back eventually

AMD AR-3305M APU w/ Radeon HD 1.90 GHz 6,00 GB RAM
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Saturday, 27.12.2014, 20:42 | Message # 294
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3590
Status: Offline
Quote RockoRocks ()
How do I make use of the new PAK file system?


Package everything in a zip and rename zip to pak. Check out the default ships or my mod thread for examples.





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
badassgrunt88Date: Sunday, 28.12.2014, 02:57 | Message # 295
Observer
Group: Newbies
Pirate
Messages: 1
Status: Offline
Sorry if someone already asked this, but where is Alpha Centauri?
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Sunday, 28.12.2014, 03:49 | Message # 296
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8711
Status: Offline
What do you mean? It's right where it's supposed to be.




All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
istacksDate: Sunday, 28.12.2014, 19:00 | Message # 297
Observer
Group: Newbies
Romania
Messages: 2
Status: Offline
Hello everyone.

First of all, I want to thank SpaceEngineer and everyone helping around for what appears to me as truly amazing work. Sometimes too good to be free as it is.

My question is related to 0.9.7.2, specifically the 3D modes. I have a BENQ GW2255 monitor, 21.5'', 1080p @ 60mhz and I want to ask if I really need a monitor that can do 100mhz at least ? ( for the Anaglyph mode) because I googled a bit and I've seen a lot of discussions on how you need 100mhz for 3D movies/games. And if my monitor is fine, should I get red/cyan or green/magenta glasses for SE ?

Thanks in advance!





Core2Duo E7300 @ 2.66 Ghz, 3GB DDR2 RAM, HD7770 OC 1GB DDR5

Edited by istacks - Sunday, 28.12.2014, 19:12
 
abyssoftDate: Sunday, 28.12.2014, 19:49 | Message # 298
Space Tourist
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 27
Status: Offline
Few questions

1) how to fix axial tilt of planet all obliquities are resulting in 180+ degree axial tilts
2a) for rings around planet is there a way to shift the angle so it is not the equator 0
2b) can multiple rings be done? 2-3 or are the handled through the alpha channel of the texture?
3) should the Barycenter of hierarchical multiple be in a Planets.sc or part of a Stars.sc or it doesn't matter.
4) is there a place one can see all the properties and there units of measure for each object type?

Love the program wanting to see what more I can do with it.
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Sunday, 28.12.2014, 22:05 | Message # 299
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8711
Status: Offline
Quote abyssoft ()
for rings around planet is there a way to shift the angle so it is not the equator 0

No, and it's physically impossible for rings to have a non-zero inclination. Tidal forces would pull them into equatorial orbits on a very short time scale.

Quote abyssoft ()
2b) can multiple rings be done? 2-3 or are the handled through the alpha channel of the texture?

I've never tried to put multiple rings around one planet, but since you can specify any configuration you want in the texture alone there isn't really a reason to have more than one rings tag.

Quote abyssoft ()
3) should the Barycenter of hierarchical multiple be in a Planets.sc or part of a Stars.sc or it doesn't matter.

The main barycenter of a system should be in a star catalog. All other objects (including other barycenters) should be in a planet catalog.

Quote abyssoft ()
4) is there a place one can see all the properties and there units of measure for each object type?

I don't understand what you're asking here, but try selecting an object and pressing [I].

Quote abyssoft ()
1) how to fix axial tilt of planet all obliquities are resulting in 180+ degree axial tilts

That should not be the case. Look at default catalogs for examples, and copy their parameters to use as a basis if necessary.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
abyssoftDate: Monday, 29.12.2014, 00:36 | Message # 300
Space Tourist
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 27
Status: Offline
Quote HarbingerDawn ()
Quote abyssoft ()
4) is there a place one can see all the properties and there units of measure for each object type?

I don't understand what you're asking here, but try selecting an object and pressing [I].


I was asking if there is a wiki/faq that lists all the possible tags and sub-tags for planet, star, etc... scripts.

Quote HarbingerDawn ()

Quote abyssoft ()
1) how to fix axial tilt of planet all obliquities are resulting in 180+ degree axial tilts

That should not be the case. Look at default catalogs for examples, and copy their parameters to use as a basis if necessary.


I've run the gambit on Obliquity from -180 to 180 and in every case for the planet I've been working on I get a Axial tilt > 180 degrees. If you need the scripts to further aid me I can attach/inline post them. Its a planet that orbits a quadruple (Double Double). I started with one of the sample scripts posted in the Planets mod thread. and went from there and at some point the planet always ends up with axial > 180.

Side note also as of 0.9.7.2 the Temperature on the planet is now -1.#IN (this part might need to have it's own convo line in another forum, if so just let me know and I'll repost it in the appropriate place.)
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » News and Announcements » SpaceEngine FAQ (Ask your SpaceEngine questions here!)
Page 20 of 39«1218192021223839»
Search: